MINUTES TENNESSEE BOARD OF DENTISTRY DENTAL HYGIENE PRESCRITPIVE AUUTHORITY TASKFORCE MEETING

Date: November 4, 2019

Location: Tennessee Department of Health

665 Mainstream Drive Nashville, TN 37243

Members Present: Maricela Rodriguez, D.D.S.

Thao Kinsey, R.D.H. Airica Puckett, R.D.H.

Staff Present: Dea Smith, Executive Director

Jennifer Putnam, Senior Assistant General Counsel

Dr. Maricela Rodriguez called the meeting to order at 2:00 p.m. A roll call of members present was taken and all members were present at the start of the meeting. Carmen Pinkston, representing the Tennessee Dental Hygiene Association was present and addressed the taskforce stating they association was in agreement with the rules as presented and reviewed.

The taskforce reviewed proposed rules.

0460-03-.12 PRESCRIPTIVE AUTHORITY CERTIFICATION. A licensed dental hygienist in Tennessee must obtain certification to prescribe fluoride agents, topical oral anesthetic agents, and nonsystemic oral antimicrobials to any patient.

- (1) Application and Qualifications for Certification
 - (a) Tennessee licensed dental hygienists are eligible to take a Board-approved prescriptive authority certification course. The Board-approved course must include dosage and writing recommendations and the limitations of dental hygiene prescribing authority pursuant to T.C.A. 63-5-108, effective July 1, 2020.
 - (b) Tennessee licensed dental hygienists, who have successfully completed a comparable dental hygiene training program on prescriptive authority in another state, which is comparable to the Board-approved course, are eligible to apply directly to the Board for certification in prescriptive authority without additional training, provided the course is determined by the Board consultant to be equivalent to the Board-approved course in Tennessee. The information regarding content of the course and proof of completion must be sent directly from the course provider to the Board's administrative office. If a certification or permit was issued by the other state, verification of the certificate or permit must be received directly from the other

board. If it is determined that the course is not equivalent, the licensed dental hygienist will be required to comply with the provisions of subparagraph (1)(a) before certification can be issued.

- (c) Tennessee licensed dental hygienists applying for a prescriptive authority certificate must have actively practiced as a licensed dental hygienist for no less than 1600 hours.
- (d) Tennessee licensed dental hygienists applying for a prescriptive authority certificate must submit proof of successful completion of a two (2) hour pharmacology continuing education course.

(2) Prescriptive Authority Certification

- (a) Licensed dental hygienists with a prescriptive authority certificate shall be limited to prescribing fluoride agents, topical oral anesthetic agents, and nonsystemic oral antimicrobials that are not controlled substances under state and federal drug laws; and do not require a license from the federal drug enforcement agency.
- (b) Licensed dental hygienists with a prescriptive authority certificate shall only prescribe for patients under the general supervision of a dentist, as provided in T.C.A. 63-5-115
 (a) (2). A prescription written by a dental hygienist under this section must be reviewed by a dentist within 30 days.
- (c) Licensed dental hygienists with a prescriptive authority certificate shall prominently display, at their place of employment, the current certificate, which is received upon licensure and renewal.
- (d) A prescriptive authority certificate is only valid as long as the licensed dental hygienist has a current license to practice dental hygiene. If the license expires or is retired, the certification is also considered expired or retired and the dental hygienist may not prescribe fluoride agents, topical oral anesthetic agents, and nonsystemic oral antimicrobials to any patient until the license is reinstated or reactivated.

(3) Allowable Percentages of Prescribed Agents

- (a) Topical anti-caries treatments using sodium fluoride unless otherwise stated:
 - 1. Toothpastes 1.1 percent (or stannous fluoride 0.4 percent);
 - 2. Topical gels 1.1 percent (or stannous fluoride 0.4 percent);
 - 3. Oral rinses 0.05 percent, 0.2 percent, 0.44 percent, 0.5 percent or oral rinse concentrate at 0.63 percent stannous fluoride;
 - 4. Fluoride varnish 5 percent;
 - 5. Prophy paste 1.25 percent and;

- 6. Fluoride paste 5 percent
- (b) Topical oral anesthetic agent:
 - 1. Up to 20 percent benzocaine;
 - 2. Up to 2 percent viscous lidocaine and;
 - 3. Cetacaine to include 14 percent benzocaine, 2 percent butamben and2 percent Tetracaine hydrochloride
- (c) Nonsystemic oral antimicrobials/topical anti-infectives:
 - 1. Chlorhexidine gluconate rinses 0.12 percent;
 - 2. Arestin- minocycline hydrochloride microspheres, 1mg inserted into periodontal sulcus and;
 - 3. Atridox doxycycline hyclate 10% gel inserted into periodontal sulcus

After discussion, Ms. Puckett made the motion approve without any changes. Ms. Kinsey seconded the motion. Motion carried. The proposed rules will be presented to the Board at the January meeting.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 2:12 p.m.