## COVID-19: Policy Regarding Health, Safety, Advertising, and Continuing Education

## Safety

Amid heightened concerns about Coronavirus (COVID-19), we want to reassure licensees and the general public that the Tennessee Board of Chiropractic Examiners (hereinafter "Board") remains focused on our mission to protect, promote and improve the health and prosperity of people in Tennessee.

We encourage all Tennessee chiropractic physicians to remain current and follow the guidelines set forth from the Tennessee Department of Health, OSHA, and the Centers of Disease Control. The Board expects all licensed professionals in chiropractic healthcare to properly employ safeguards to ensure the safety of their employees as well as promote the safety of the public. These guidelines do not replace or supersede any requirements applicable to chiropractic businesses or licensed employees pursuant to law or regulation. Rather, these guidelines are intended as a supplement to assist with safely providing services in response to COVID-19.

It is recommended to screen all employees before they begin work each day as well as each patient upon entering the clinic each visit. These screenings should consist of obtaining temperature, and questioning to determine the safety for entering the clinic each time per federal, state and local guidelines.

Examples include:

- Have you had a fever greater than 100.4 in the last 48 hours?
- · Are you experiencing a cough, shortness of breath or a sore throat?
- · Have you had vomiting or diarrhea in the last 24 hours?
- · Have you had new loss of taste or smell?
- Have you been in close contact with anyone who has a confirmed case of COVID-19 in the last 14 days?

The Board recommends regular review of health and safety protocols for COVID-19. Baseline recommendations are to solidify proper hygiene/sanitation practices, to recommend proper physical distancing throughout the clinic, and utilization of personal protective equipment such as a face covering consistent with federal, state, and local guidelines.

## Advertising

We further recommend reviewing statute (T.C.A 63-4- 101) and rules (0260-02-.02) with attention to rule (0260-02-.20) as it provides boundaries for advertising. The Board recommends caution in advertising and to refrain from making claims that are not substantiated by peer-reviewed, evidence-based studies. With regards to COVID-19, there is no credible evidence or evidenced-based clinical guidelines that chiropractic spinal adjustments/manipulation increases immunity or provides a cure for those suffering with the flu or Coronavirus. All licensees are advised that anyone making claims that spinal adjustments/manipulation can boost immunity or provide a cure for the flu or Coronavirus is likely in violation of statute and rule relating both to scope of practice and advertising claims. Please frequent the board website for the most current information about this and other important issues pertaining to chiropractic licensing and regulation.

## Policy Update On Continuing Education and Compliance

Licensees are directed to review Tennessee rules and regulations and existing policy statements regarding continuing education and compliance. In addition, due to the COVID-10 pandemic, the Board is providing further guidance for navigating the current situation.

Effective July 16, 2020, the Board authorizes new licensee risk management, sexual/ professional boundaries and Tennessee statutory and regulatory chiropractic jurisprudence class may be obtained online via real-time live interaction courses when offered by the Tennessee Chiropractic Association to fulfill statutory requirements as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic. This authorization extends through December 31, 2021

Effective July 16, 2020, Tennessee chiropractic physicians, chiropractic therapy assistants, and chiropractic x-ray technologists continuing education requirements for the calendar year 2020 have been extended through 2021. As a point of clarification, the 24 hours due in 2020 calendar year may be obtained along with 24 hours required in 2021 to be taken and submitted by December 31, 2021. All other aspects regarding approved continuing education parameters and submission requirements as referenced above remain intact. This amendment is in response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

For additional information regarding COVID-19 guidelines please visit the Department of Health's webpage <a href="https://www.tn.gov/governor/covid-19/economic-recovery.html">https://www.tn.gov/governor/covid-19/economic-recovery.html</a>

Adopted by the Board of Chiropractic Examiners on the 16th day of July, 2020

Rationale: To provide clarity to Tennessee licensed chiropractic physicians, chiropractic therapy assistants, and chiropractic x-ray technologists regarding health, safety, advertising, and continuing education considerations during the COVID-19 pandemic.