Tennessee Board of Athletic Trainers Policy Statement on Continuing Education Deficiencies

An athletic trainer licensed in Tennessee is required to complete fifty (50) hours of acceptable continuing education during the two (2) calendar years (January 1 – December 31) that precede the licensure renewal year. (See Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0150-01-.12 on continuing education requirements.) Prior to the institution of any disciplinary proceedings for continuing education deficiencies, a letter shall be sent from the board's administrative office to licensee's last known address of record in the board's office stating the deficiency and asking that licensee cure the deficiency within ninety (90) days from the date of notification. If the deficiency is cured within the 90 days grace period, no disciplinary action shall ensue.

Should an athletic trainer be determined to have failed to obtain the necessary number of continuing education ("CE") hours for the period in which they were due and failed to cure the deficiency within the allowed grace period after notification, the following shall occur:

- 1. The athletic trainer must pay a civil penalty in the amount of two hundred dollars (\$200.00). Payment must be rendered within sixty (60) days of receiving notification from the Board. Discipline for CE violations will be assessed by the Department via Agreed Citation, which will detail the licensee's rights and obligations under the Uniform Administrative Procedures Act, T.C.A.§§ 4-5-301, et seq. The discipline assessed in accordance with this Continuing Education Policy constitutes formal discipline against a practitioner's license, and as such, will be reported on the Department's Disciplinary Action Report ("DAR") and noted on the practitioner's licensure profile.
- 2. The athletic trainer must make up the amount of continuing education hours that he/she is lacking. The deficient hours must be made up within sixty (60) days of receipt of the notice of Agreed Citation. Documented proof of the deficient hours obtained must be submitted to the Board upon completion.
- 3. The continuing education hours obtained as a result of receiving notice of violation of the board's continuing education requirements or pursuant to issuance of any Agreed Citation, shall not be credited toward the continuing education hours required to be obtained in the current continuing education cycle. Licensee must complete the continuing education hours requirement for the current continuing education cycle.

If an athletic trainer fails to demonstrate that he or she has cured the continuing education deficiency in the manner prescribed by this policy, the Department shall file a licensure complaint for an investigation and, if appropriate, formal disciplinary action shall be instituted in accordance with the Uniform Administrative Procedures Act, T.C.A, §§ 4-5-301, et seq.

Adopted by the Board of Athletic Trainers on November 15, 2018.