# 10/25/23 Committee Meeting Minutes

Attendees: Greg Miller, Drew Hooker, Jeanie Diden, Chris Wheat, Stacy Prater

#### **Air Ambulance Committee**

Motion made by D. Hooker to re-establish the AAC/Second by C. Wheat – Motion passed unanimously. This committee's purpose is to discuss and resolve issues r/t air ambulance services in TN.

11 Active Air Ambulances throughout the state.

Decision was made to a (1) representative from each AA, to serve on the committee.

This committee will meet quarterly. All members of the committee will be required to attend 50% of the meetings. If a committee member does not attend 50% of the meetings, then the Committee on Committees will re-evaluate their status once every year. This committee must provide a quarterly report to the State EMS Board.

A proposal was made by Stacy Prater to add an air medical physician to this committee. This physician must be a medical director for a licensed air medical service in TN. Decision was made to have the AAC appoint this physician to the committee.

The decision was made to let this committee appoint their own Chairperson, previously Chairperson was Robbie Tester.

#### **Recommended Committee Members:**

Robbie Tester - Erlanger

Mark Pierce - AirEvac Lifeteam

John Smith – HEART (previously WINGS)

Kevin Nooner - Vanderbilt LifeFlight

Matt Owens – HCA SkyLife

Cindy Bailey – Hospital Wing

Les Roberts - UT Lifestar

Renee Jacobs – Survival Flight

Nita Jernigan – EMS Consultant

Brian Tompkins – EMS Consultant

#### **Ambulance Service Committee**

Motion was made by C. Wheat to re-establish the ASC, motion seconded by S. Prater – Motion passed unanimously.

This committee will meet quarterly. All members of the committee will be required to attend 50% of the meetings. If a committee member does not attend 50% of the meetings, then the Committee on Committees will re-evaluate their status once every year. This committee must provide a quarterly report to the State EMS Board.

It was discussed that this was the only committee that has an alternate committee member.

A proposal was made for the State EMS Office to send a letter to each Director's Association in the state requesting that each Association appoint a committee member and an alternate. A letter will also be sent to TASA for recommendations for a committee member/alternate. The deadline is December 15, 2023, for the recommendations to be made.

Kevin Cagle – EMS Consultant

Jonathon Beaty – EMS Consultant

### **Leadership and Advancement Committee**

Motion made by D. Hooker to create the Leadership and Advancement Committee, which will focus on leadership, education, and quality. This committee will advise and provide guidance to the State EMS Board on recruitment and retention, practitioner wellness, patient and practitioner safety, and career development. D. Hooker said the sky is the limit with this committee and the future of EMS in our state. The motion was passed unanimously.

This committee will meet quarterly. All members of the committee will be required to attend 50% of the meetings. If a committee member does not attend 50% of the meetings, then the Committee on Committees will re-evaluate their status once every year. This committee must provide a quarterly report to the State EMS Board.

**Recommended Committee Members:** 

# **Chair - Eric Claus (Vanderbilt)**

Matt Tidwell (Nashville Fire – Middle)

Greg Miller (Amerimed – Middle)

Corey Prater (Erlanger LifeForce – East)

Kenny Moffit (Motlow State – Middle)

Jeremy Crook (Physician at Vanderbilt – Middle)

Nathan Schrupp (AirEvac – West)

"Young Guns Representative" - Recommendation to be made by Brandon Ward

Phil Sanderson (AMB/Leadership - Middle)

Tyler Starnes (Community Healthcare/Arlington Fire – West)

Nathan Sweet (Anderson County EMS – East)

Region I recommendation Pending Nominee from John Dabbs

Brandon Ward - State EMS Office

Chip Cook – State EMS Office

#### **Education Committee**

A motion was made to combine the Initial Education Committee and the Continuing Education Committee into just the Education Committee, that can then be broken down into two Sub-Committees (Initial and Continuing Education). There was a unanimous vote for the Education Committee with the two sub-committees. Suggestions were made to have a Chair and a Co-Chair. And the decision was made to have the Education Committee divided into 3 Grand Divisions with 24 members (8 members for each Grand Division).

This committee will meet quarterly. All members of the committee will be required to attend 50% of the meetings. If a committee member does not attend 50% of the meetings, then the Committee on Committees will re-evaluate their status once every year. This committee must provide a quarterly report to the State EMS Board.

East Division	West Division

Kirk Harris Aaron Carl

Jason Fox Mark Walker

William Andrews Kenneth Oxford

Mike Terrell Baker McCool

Katie Hall Merry Mattix

John Reeves Frank Miller

Mark Eidson Kevin King

Curt Aukerman Mike Alberson

Middle Division EMS Consultants

Greg Johnson Russell Gupton

Houston Austin Brian Tompkins

**Chris Davis** 

Erik Jesse

**Shannon Morphis** 

Lee Blair

January Bukowitz

Paula Todd

### Chair – Greg Johnson – By unanimous vote

# **Clinical Issues Committee**

A motion was made and seconded to re-establish the Clinical Issues Committee; vote was unanimous. This is the only committee mentioned in the EMS Rule, and there must be quality representation on this committee, rather than necessarily being divided up by divisions.

The CIC will report any changes to equipment to the State EMS Board in September of that year, so that changes can be implemented and in place by July of the following year.

There was a recommendation made for there to be a Medical Director for Ground, Air Ambulance, and Event Medicine.

This committee will meet quarterly. All members of the committee will be required to attend 50% of the meetings. If a committee member does not attend 50% of the meetings, then the Committee on Committees will re-evaluate their status once every year. This committee must provide a quarterly report to the State EMS Board.

Chair – Dr. Joe Holley – motion made by D. Hooker/Second J. Diden

Practicing AEMT – Gary Ross (West)

Practicing AEMT – Scotty Chambers (Middle)

Practicing Paramedic – Christopher Cox (Middle)

Practicing CC Paramedic – Brandon Quillen (Middle)

Community Paramedic – Kevin Spratlin (West) - NEW POSITION \*\*\*

EMS Service Administrator – Jonathon Wood (West)

EMS Training Officer – David Burdette (East)

Representative Adult ER – Jeremy McCreary (East) - This is a change from Hospital Admin. \*\*\*

Representative Peds ER – Tucker Anderson (Middle) - This is a change from Hospital Admin\*\*\*

Medical Director – Amanda Derington (Middle)

Medical Director – Ron Buchheit (East)

Medical Director – Michael Revelle (West)

Air Ambulance Committee – Matt Owens (Middle)

Ambulance Committee - PENDING

CoPEC – PENDING

Trauma Core Advisory Committee – PENDING

Neonatology Specialist – Mary Lee Lemley (Middle) - NEW POSITION \*\*\*

# **Clinical Issues Committee Continued....**

The above-named positions were voted on/passed unanimously.

Recommendation was made for Eric Claus as Representative Adult ER – Declined due to there being Vanderbilt Representative already on the committee.

Recommendation for Todd Heffron for Representative Adult ER – There was no second for this recommendation.

- \*\*\*Ambulance Committee Recommendation pending recommendation\*\*\*
- \*\*\*CoPEC is pending legislation and recommendation\*\*\*
- \*\*\*Trauma Core Advisory Committee pending recommendation\*\*\*
- \*\*\*Motion was made to add a Neonatology Specialist to the Committee\*\*\*
- \*\*\*Motion was made to re-title the two Hospital Administrator positions to Representative Adult ER and Representative Pediatric ER. \*\*\*