Immunization Requirement Summary for Child Care through 12" Grades
Tennessee Department of Health Rule 1200-14-1-.29

Infants entering child care must be up to date at the time of enrollment and are required to provide an updated certificate
after completing all of the required vaccines due no later than 18 months of age.
e Haemophilus influenzae type B (Hib): if younger than 5 years only
Pneumococcal conjugate vaccine (PCV): if younger than 5 years only
Diphtheria-Tetanus-Pertussis (DTaP, or DT if appropriate)
Poliomyelitis (IPV or OPV)
Hepatitis B (HBV)
Hepatitis A: 1 dose, required by 18 months of age or older
Measles, Mumps, Rubella (1 dose of each, normally given together as MMR)
Varicella (1 dose or credible history of disease)

Diphtheria-Tetanus-Pertussis (DTaP, or DT if appropriate)

Poliomyelitis (IPV or OPV): final dose on or after the 4" pirthday required

Hepatitis B (HBV)

Hepatitis A: total of 2 doses, spaced at least 6 months apart (recommended 6-18 months apart)
Measles, Mumps, Rubella (2 doses of each, usually given together as MMR)

Varicella (2 doses or history ofdisease)

¢ Tetanus-diphtheria-pertussis booster (“Tdap”): evidence of one Tdap dose given before 7" grade entry
(administered at or after age 10) is required regardless of Td history (2013 update)

o Effective 2018, verification of 2 doses of Varicella for currently enrolled students entering 7th grade is no longer
required. All currently enrolled students entering 7th grade were assessed for 2 doses of Varicella at school entry.
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e Poliomyelitis (IPV or OPV): final dose on or after the 4th birthday required
e Hepatitis B (HBV)
[ ]
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Measles, Mumps, Rubella (2 doses of each, normally given together as MMR)
Varicella (2 doses or credible history of disease)

e Tdap: New students to TN schools entering 71" grade only. New students
entering grades other than 7" grade are not required to have Tdap
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e Medical: Physician (MD, DO) or Public Health Nurse authorized to indicate specific vaccines medically exempted
(because of risk of harm) on the new form. Other vaccines remain required. The medical reason for the exemption
does not need to be provided.

e Religious: This exemption requires a signed statement by the parent/guardian that vaccination conflicts with their
religious tenets or practices. If the child needs documentation of a health examination for the school, it must be
noted by the healthcare provider on the immunization certificate. In that case, the provider should check the box
that the parent has sought a religious exemption to explain why immunization information is absent or incomplete.

Minimum ages or dose intervals: Tennessee follows published CDC guidelines. For vaccines with critical minimum age
requirements or minimum dose intervals, doses are considered valid if given up to 4 days before the minimum age or dose
interval. Doses administered more than 4 days early are considered invalid and should be repeated as recommended.

Injectable or nasally administered live vaccines not administered on the same day should be administered at least 4 weeks
apart. The 4-day "grace period" should not be applied to the 28-day interval between injectable or nasally administered live
vaccines not administered at the same visit. If injectable or nasally administered live vaccines are separated by less than 4
weeks, the second vaccine administered should not be counted as a valid dose and should be repeated. The repeat dose
should be administered at least 4 weeks after the last invalid dose.

Alternative proof of immunity for certain diseases: A positive serology is acceptable as an alternative to immunization
for measles, mumps, rubella, hepatitis A, hepatitis B or varicella. For varicella, documentation of provider diagnosed
varicella or provider-verified credible history of iliness given by a parent or guardian also is acceptable. By documenting a
history of disease, the provider is asserting that he or she is convinced that the child has had chickenpox.



A. Certificates may be signed by persons licensed by the TN Board of Medical Examiners or the Board of Osteopathic
Examiners (MD, DO, PA), advanced practice nurses (APNSs) licensed by the TN Board of Nursing, or Public Health Nurses
(PHN) in a TN health department. A medical exemption requires the signature of a physician or PHN. Any user of the TN
Immunization Information System (“Registry”) may produce and print Certificates validated for the appropriate grade level
using the Registry’s Immunization Certificate Validation Tool (ICVT); the ICVT certificates do not require a signature.
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A. The ICVT compares a child’s immunizations record in the Registry to state requirements for preschool or school
attendance. The user must specify the correct type of certificate needed (the tool will offer age-appropriate options).
Certificates validated by the ICVT conform to all state requirements for the selected assessment and may be printed and
provided to the parent without signature. A child whose Registry record does not meet requirements for a particular
category may be given a “failed validation report” that identifies specific missing (or invalid) doses that require correction in
order to complete requirements and produce a valid Certificate. Specific guidance for the use of the ICVT is available on
the Registry website.
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A1l. Hard copies are available to healthcare providers (not to parents) from local health departments or the TN
Immunization Program (call 615-741-7247 or 1-800-404-3006).

A2. (Preferred) Once a child’s complete immunization history is entered in the Registry, use the ICVT to evaluate and
validate the Official Immunization Certificate. A validated certificate is pre-populated with all demographic, immunization,
and provider information (Section 1 cannot be completed, see below) and the signature area will contain the statement
“Validated by the Tennessee Immunization Information System.” An original certificate number will appear in the bottom
margin. No signature is required. Access to the Registry and the ICVT are free to authorized users: visit
https://tennesseeiis.gov .

A3. If not using the ICVT, blank or pre-populated forms can be printed from the Registry website (above). The ICVT cannot
be used for children who have a medical exemption. Pre-populated Certificates include demographic information and
vaccination dates. If the child’s Registry record is incomplete or if none exists, users can update or create a record before
printing the Certificate. Fields may be completed by hand.


https://tennesseeiis.gov/

Note: a revised version was introduced in July 2018. The previous versions (Rev. 3/10, 5/11, or 4/13) are acceptable.

Child’s identifying and contact details (Demographics): Upper left corner, complete as indicated.

Section 1. This section is subject to local school policy, health departments do not regulate this.

Section la. Religious Exemption: check this box if the Certificate is needed to provide documentation of a required
health examination for a child not fully immunized for religious reasons.

Sections 1b and 1c. Health Examination Documentation (if required): Requirements set by local educational
authorities. If necessary, provide date of examination and signature/stamp of the certifying healthcare provider. Also,
check if dental or vision screening is needed.

Section 2a. Required Vaccines: dates of each valid dose are required (if the Registry printout has errors, simply write in
and initial corrections).

Additional columns of required vaccine table (complete by hand):

Diagnosed: Use if clinician diagnosed varicella illness.

+Serology: Accepted for hepatitis B or A, MMR and varicella.

History: Use if parent provides credible history of varicella illness.

Medical Exemption: Mark an X if a specific vaccine is medically contraindicated (valid only with a physician or Public
Health Nurse signature). The medical reason does not need to be provided.

Section 2b, Recommended Vaccines (optional): Dates not required, for information only.
Section 3. Provider Assessment Options: Certificate is pot valid if Section 3 is incorrect or blank.

Box A) Temporary Certificate — Expires [1 month after next catch up dose due]: Use only if a child is behind
schedule on required vaccines. Give as many catch-up doses as possible, writing in the expiration date 1 month after
the next catch-up dose(s) is (are) due. A new certificate should be issued at each catch-up visit until required
vaccinations are completed.

Box B) Up to Date for Child Care Entry and <18 Months of Age: Use when the child is younger than 18 months
and age-appropriately vaccinated, but has not completed requirements (Box C). Depending on the schedule used by
the healthcare provider, a child should complete requirements (Box C) between 12 and 18 months of age. Certificates
with Box B marked are only valid until age 19 months: after then the parent or guardian must provide the child care
facility with a new certificate showing the child is complete (Box C). If a child enrolling at 12-18 months is complete,
use Box C.

Box C) Complete for Child Care / Pre-School: The child has completed all requirements for child care or pre-school
/ pre-K. Requirements are routinely completed between 12-18 months of age.

Box D) Complete K-6" Grade: The child is at least 4 years old and has completed all requirements for enrolling in
Kindergarten through 6" grade.

*Boxes C and D): Check poth boxes only if the child is at least 4 years old and has completed the requirements for
pre-school (or pre-K) and Kindergarten.

Box E): Complete 7"‘grade or higher:

e New TN students in grades 7-12 should meet requirements for new students (only new students in
7" grade are required to have the Tdap booster).

e Ifthe child is a current TN student entering 7" grade — Requirements are only met after the Tdap
booster dose is given (normally at age 11-12 years, but could be as early as age 10). The Registry ICVT

will validate a current 7" grade student only if the Tdap is recorded in the Registry.

Section 4: Printed name, address, phone and signature or stamped signature of the qualified provider and date of issue.

Back Page of Official Certificate: Reference for vaccine schedule, accepted minimum intervals/ages.
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