Tennessee Board of Social Worker Licensure



Newsletter



2010

A Regulatory Agency of the state of Tennessee

Vol. 7, No. 2

227 French Landing, Suite 300, Heritage Place MetroCenter, Nashville, TN 37243 http://tennessee.gov/health (615) 532-5088 or 1-800-778-4123 extension 25088 • Office Hours: Monday – Friday 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Central Time (except state and federal holidays) Fax: (615) 532-5369

In conjunction with the purpose and goals of the Department of Health, the Mission of the Bureau of Health Licensure and Regulation is to: Monitor, access and enforce health care laws and regulations; Protect, promote and enhance quality health care for all citizens; Continuously strive to meet the needs of our customers in a respectful and caring manner; Provide quality work-life necessary to attract and retain competent, caring employees; Empower our employees to become entrepreneurs in their jobs; Increase awareness and public confidence in our services; and, Utilize our resources efficiently and cost effectively.

Board Welcomes New Member

The board is pleased to welcome its newest member, Dr. Reverend L. LaSimba M. Gray, Jr., citizen member from Collierville, TN. Dr. Gray was appointed on April 23, 2010.

Current Composition of the Board

The Board of Social Worker Licensure is composed of the following members: Teresa Housteau, LCSW, chair; Sheryl DeMott, LAPSW, secretary; Pamela Sams, LCSW; Frances Mazzaferro, LMSW; Georgia Alexander, LCSW; Julia Axley, LBSW; Michelle Horton, MSW; Steven Pharris, LMSW; Vickie Williams, MSW; Amy Gasser, BSW; and, Dr. Reverend LaSimba Gray, Jr., citizen member.

Board of Social Worker Licensure Website

You may download a copy of the rules, applications and forms, board member list, board meeting schedule, policy statements, and other pertinent information at the board's web site:

http://www.state.tn.us/boards/SW/index.htm.

Association of Social Work Boards

ASWB is seeking qualified social workers to write questions for the licensing tests used in the United States and Canada. Interested applicants must have a degree in social work, a currently valid social work license, currently practicing social work, and have the ability to produce 30 multiple choice questions that meet ASWB standards. All writers must attend a training session, typically held during the last weekend in June with food, lodging and travel expenses paid by ASWB. Social workers from all levels are needed. Successful applicants will be paid \$1000 for a set of 30 test questions determined to meeting ASWB standards, written over a six (6) to eight (8) month time frame. Visit www.aswb.org for more information and application materials.

Practitioners Currently Under Monitoring

The board's disciplinary coordinator is currently monitoring seven (7) practitioners:

3 LCSW - revoked

1 LMSW - revoked

1 LMSW - probation

1 unlicensed practice - board order

1 CMSW - reprimand

2011 Board Meeting Dates

February 3-4, 2011 9:00 a.m., Iris Room

May 5-6, 2011 9:00 a.m., Poplar Room

August 4-5, 2011 9:00 a.m., Iris Room

November 3-4, 2011 9:00 a.m., Iris room



All board meetings will be held at 227 French Landing, Suite 300 Heritage Place MetroCenter, Nashville TN, unless otherwise noted.

Change of Address

Must be reported in writing or by e-mail to the board's office within 30 days! Please include the following:

- your name and license number;
- your profession;
- your old address and phone number;
- your new address and phone number, e-mail address, and/or your fax number;
- your signature!

Keeping the board's administrative staff up to date on your location facilitates the timely notification to you of important information such as your application for licensure renewal and important statutory and rule changes.

You may fax your change to the board's administrative office at (615) 532-5369 or by mail at: 227 French Landing, Heritage Place MetroCenter, Suite 300, Nashville, TN 37243.

You may e-mail the Board at: <u>TN.Health@tn.gov</u>, call the Board at 615/532-5088, or visit the website at: www.health.state.tn.us/boards/SW/index.htm

Continuing Education Requirements

The board's rules requires all social workers to obtain continuing education.

Licensed baccalaureate social workers shall obtain nine (9) continuing education clock hours relative to social work during each calendar year. Four (4) of the nine (9) hours shall be in professional ethics; three (3) of the nine (9) hours shall be in professional ethics; two (2) of the nine (9) hours shall be in either social work or professional ethics. Those licensees who hold more than one (1) category of licensure to practice social work must separately satisfy the continuing education requirements for each level of licensure.

Licensed master's social workers shall obtain twelve (12) continuing education clock hours relative to social work during each calendar year. Seven (7) of the twelve (12) hours shall be in social work; three (3) of the twelve (12) hours shall be in professional ethics; two (2) of the twelve (12) hours shall be in either social work or professional ethics. Those licensees who hold more than one (1) category of licensure to practice social work must separately satisfy the continuing education requirements for each level of licensure.

Licensed advanced practice social workers and licensed clinical social workers shall obtain fifteen (15) continuing education clock hours relative to sock work during each calendar year; ten (10) of the fifteen (15) hours shall be in social work; three (3) of the fifteen (15) hours shall be in professional ethics; two (2) of the fifteen (15) hours shall be in either social work or professional ethics. Those licensees who hold more than one (1) category of licensure to practice social work must separately satisfy the continuing education requirements for each level of licensure.

2009 Audit Results

34 LMSWs audited

25 (75%) compliant

9 (26%) non-compliant

48 LCSWs audited

38 (79) compliant

10 (21%) non-compliant

Non-compliant practitioners are subject to board discipline which includes a fine of \$100 and make up the delinquent hours. The action taken against the practitioner is reportable on the Department of Health website on the monthly disciplinary action report.

Reminder about Practitioner Profiles

The Health Care Consumer Right-to-Know Act of 1998, Tenn Code Ann. § 63-51-101 et seq, requires designated licensed health professionals to furnish certain information to the Tennessee Department of The information for public dissemination Health. includes: (1) A description of any criminal convictions for felonies within the most recent ten (10) years. (2) A description of any final disciplinary actions of licensing boards in other states within the most recent ten (10) years. (3) A description of any final disciplinary actions of licensing boards in other states within the most recent ten (10) years. Only cases which have occurred within the most recent ten (10) years shall be disclosed by the department to the public. (5) All malpractice court judgments in which a payment is awarded to a complaining party and all settlements of malpractice claims in which a payment is made to a complaining

party beginning with reports for 1998 and each subsequent year; provided, such reports shall not be disseminated beyond the most recent ten-year period, but shall include the most recent ten-year period for which reports have been filed. From the information submitted, the Department will compile a practitioner profile which is required to be made available to the public via the World Wide Web and toll-free telephone line after May 1, 1999. Each practitioner who has submitted information must update that information in writing by notifying the Department of Health, Healthcare Provider Information Unit, within 30 days after the occurrence of an event or an attainment of a status that is required to be reported by the law. A copy of your initial or updated profile will be furnished to you for your review prior to publication. That opportunity will allow you to make corrections, additions and helpful explanatory comments. Failure to comply with the requirement to submit and update profiling information constitutes a ground for disciplinary action against your license.

A blank copy of the profile may be obtained at: http://health.state.tn.us/Downloads/g6019027.pdf

Statutory Changes of Interest to Tennessee Social Workers

The 2010 Legislative Session has ended, and the administrative staff of the Board of Social Worker Licensure has monitored several bills that are of interest to social workers in the state of Tennessee. Below is a brief summary of those bills.

The complete text of Public Acts is available at: http://www.tennessee.gov/sos/acts/index.htm

Public Chapter 862

This Public Chapter amends Tenn Code Ann. Title 63 (Professions of the Healing Arts), Chapter 2 (Medical Records), Part 1 (Release of Medical Records) and Title 68 (Health, Safety and Environmental Protection), Chapter 11 (Health Facilities and Resources), Part 15 (Protection of Patient's Privacy), to enact the "Colby Stansberry Act" relative to the authorized release of medical records. This Public Chapter allows a patient's authorized representative or next of kin (in the event that there is no authorized representative) to obtain the patient's medical records after the patient is incapacitated or deceased. Current law (Tenn Code Ann. §63-2-101, Release of medical records) already provides that a health care provider shall provide a patient or the patient's authorized representative with a copy or summary of the patient's medical records upon the patient's or authorized representative's written request. Current law does not require that the informed consent must be presented to the health care provider when the patient is alive or is competent. The Public Chapter, which adds a new section to current law, does not change an authorized representative's ability to

obtain the patient's medical records; it clarifies that the authorized representative's informed consent survives the patient's death and incapacity and that a health care provider shall provide the medical records to the representative even if the representative provides the informed consent after the patient's death or incapacity. The Public Chapter also provides that should the patient not have an authorized representative, upon the patient's death or incapacity, the patient's next of kin could obtain the patient's medical records. Current law does not contain a provision authorizing the patient's next of kin to obtain the patient's medical records. The Public Chapter also adds a new subsection to the law to specify what the patient's informed consent must contain. The form must include the name of the patient; type of information; name of facility; permitted purpose, individuals, agencies, or organization to whom disclosure may be made; signature of patient or representative; date signed; and effective time period of consent. Current law does not contain a provision about what must be contained in an informed consent. The Public Chapter also amends current law (Tenn Code Ann. §68-11-1503(a)(1) Confidentiality) relative to the obligations of a licensed health care facility in releasing a patient's medical records. The Public Chapter contains the same language about the release of medical records after the patient's death or incapacity that was placed in Title 63 as stated above. The Public Chapter also adds a new subsection to the law relative to licensed health care facilities to specify what the patient's informed consent must contain; the Public Chapter contains the same language as provided in Title 63 as stated above. The Public Chapter became effective April 30, 2010.

Public Chapter 865

This Public Chapter amends Tenn Code Ann. Title 63 (healing Arts), Chapter 2 (Medical Records), Part 1, relative to charges for copying and certifying medical records. The Public Chapter increases the costs of obtaining medical records from health care providers by lowering the threshold amount of pages that can be provided to a requestor for twenty dollars (\$20.00). Current law (Tenn Code Ann. §63-2-102, Costs of reproduction, copying or mailing of records) provides that the cost for obtaining medical records shall not exceed twenty dollars (\$20.00). Current law (Tenn Code Ann. §63—2-102, Costs of reproduction, copying or mailing of records) provides that the cost for obtaining medical records shall not exceed twenty dollars (\$20.00) for medical records that do not exceed forty (40) pages; the bill changes the forty (40) page limit to five (5) pages. Current law provides that the cost for those records exceeding forty (40) pages is twenty-five cents (\$.25) for each page. The Public Chapter changes the per page cost from twenty-five cents (\$.25) to fifty cents (\$.50) for those pages of the medical record that exceed the five (5) page limit. The Public Chapter also adds a provision that is not contained in current law providing that if the requested records are delivered by email, then the processing fee may not exceed fifty dollars (\$50.00). Mailing or shipping costs may be added on to this

processing fee should the digital or electronic records be shipped to the requestor. The Public Chapter adds another provision indicating that the health care provider may charge a fee not to exceed twenty dollars (\$20.00) for certifying medical records that require notarization. The Public Chapter removes provisions contained in current law that provide that payment of the costs may be required by the provider prior to the records being furnished and that upon payment, the records shall be provided without delay. Also removed is a provision providing that in workers' compensation cases, a request for medical records shall include a medical or anatomical impairment rating. The Public Chapter also removes a provision providing that the payment requirements contained in current law will not supersede any other provision of the law that establishes costs for reproduction and copying. The Public Chapter became effective July 1, 2010.

Public Chapter 1043

This Public Chapter amends Tenn Code Ann. §63-6-210(b)(2) and (c) and provides that a licensee may renew a license within sixty (60) days following the license expiration date upon payment of the renewal fee in addition to a late penalty established by the board for each month or fraction of a month that payment for renewal is late; provided that the late penalty shall not exceed twice the renewal fee. When any licensee fails to renew a license and pay the biennial renewal fee within sixty (60) days after renewal becomes due, as provided in this section, the license shall be automatically revoked at the expiration of sixty (60) days after the renewal was required without further notice or hearing.

Further, any licensee whose license is automatically revoked as provided in subjection (b), may apply in writing to the board for reinstatement of such license, which may be granted by the board upon the payment of all past due fees and reinstatement fees established by the board, and upon further conditions as the board may require. The Public Chapter became effective May 27, 2010.

Public Chapter 1084

This Public Chapter amends Tenn. Code. Ann. §63-1-149 and requires that on and after October 1, 2010, before employing or contracting with any person who would be providing direct patient care, for whom a background check has not been completed, a health care professional licensed under any chapter of title 63 or title 68, chapters 24 and 140, shall initiate and perform a "registry check" which for the purposes of this section is defined as:

- (1) A state-by-state look in any state in which the person has lived in the previous seven (7) years of the national sex offender public registry website coordinated by the United States Department of Justice, including but not limited to the sexual offender registry maintained by the Tennessee Bureau of Investigation pursuant to Title 40, Chapter 39, Part 2; and
- (2) Any adult abuse registry maintained for any state in which the person has lived in the previous seven (7) years; and
- (3) The Department of Health's Elder Abuse Registry established pursuant to Title 68, Chapter 11, Part 10.

Additionally, should an applicant be listed on any of the registries listed above in subdivisions (a)(1)-(3), the health care professional shall not employ or contract with the person if the person would be providing direct patient care.

A health care professional who complies with the requirements to perform registry checks under subsection (a), or relies on a documented representation provided by an entity with which the health care professional contracts that the person who will work in the office is not on any of these registries, shall not be subject to civil or criminal liability solely based upon the information provided through a registry check under this section. This immunity shall extend to a claim related to the professional's refusal to employ or contract with a person based on information obtained from a registry check.

This section is not intended to apply to contracted, external staff who provide such services as cleaning services, maintenance of office or medical equipment or other services where direct patient contact is not intended.

This section shall not apply to health care professionals licensed under Title 63, Chapter 12.

The Department of Health posted on its website as well as the website of each applicable licensing board a link to all potential databases the health care professional would be required to check pursuant to subsection (a) above. In addition, each applicable licensing board shall notify all of its licensees at least annually through board newsletters of their obligations under this statute. This Public Chapter became effective June 3, 2010.



Tennessee Board of Social Worker Licensure

Board Members

Teresa Housteau, LCSW Chair

Pamela Sams, LCSW

Sheryl DeMott, LAPSW Secretary

Michelle Horton, MSW

Frances Mazzaferro, LMSW

Vickie Williams, MSW

Georgia Y. Alexander, LCSW

Steven Pharris, LMSW

Julia Axley, LBSW

Amy Smith, BSW

Dr. Reverend LaSimba Gray, Jr. Citizen Member

Board Staff

James Hill Board Administrator

Michael Anderson Licensing Technician

Barbara Maxwell Administrative Director