

State of Tennessee

Department of Health

Tennessee Board of Social Worker Licensure

665 Mainstream Drive Nashville, TN 37243

1-800-778-4123 ext. 741-5735 (615) 741-5735 http://www.tn.gov/health/

Application and Procedures for Licensure

LICENSED BACCALAUREATE SOCIAL WORKER

Below is an explanation of the items requested to be submitted in the checklist. When reviewing the checklist, refer to this section if you need clarification.

- 1. It is the applicant's responsibility to review the current Rules and Laws for Social Workers. To determine if you meet the qualifications for licensure, you may obtain a copy by going to http://tn.gov/health/topic/sw-board.
- 2. Fill out the application completely making sure that you indicate the correct level of licensure. The application must be signed. Incomplete forms will be returned thus delaying the application process.
- 3. **FEES**. Check or money order is to be made payable to the Board of Social Workers in the amount indicated according to the method under which you are applying. The fee amount being collected with the application includes the state regulatory fee of ten dollars (\$10).
- 4. **PHOTOGRAPH**. Submit a recent passport size photograph (taken within the last twelve (12) months) preceding the date the application is submitted to the Board office.
- 5. **TRANSCRIPT**. Must be sent to the Board's office directly from the institution. Please instruct the institution to indicate any name change since completion of the course work.
- 6. **VERIFICATION OF LICENSURE**. Must be sent from each state licensing board which indicates the applicant holds a certificate or license and whether it is in good standing presently, or was at the time it became inactive.
- 7. **VERIFICATION OF EXAM**. Exam results must be sent from the testing agency (ASWB) to the administration office indicating level of exam.
- 8. **DECLARATION OF CITIZENSHIP.** All applicants must complete the Declaration of Citizenship form found at: http://tn.gov/assets/entities/health/attachments/PH-4183.pdf.
- 9. Criminal background check (For instructions go to: http://www.tn.gov/health/topic/CBC-check.
- 10. Send your application, fees and supporting materials to:

Board of Social Worker Licensure 665 Mainstream Drive Nashville, TN 37243

GENERAL INFORMATION

Individuals who do not qualify for licensure at this time are encouraged to complete deficient requirements if you intend to practice as a social worker in Tennessee.

It is the applicant's responsibility to keep the Board notified whenever a change of name or mailing address occurs. Such notification must be in writing and you must reference your profession and the Board in your correspondence. Supporting documentation and written request for a name change must state the reason for the change, i.e., marriage, divorce, etc .

Every effort is made to keep you informed, in writing, of the status of your application and to process your application in a timely, efficient manner. Inquiries regarding the status of a file will be responded to in writing. Please refrain from calling the board office to check on the status of your application. It generally takes 4-6 weeks to process an application.

APPLICATION PROCESS FOR LICENSED BACCALAUREATE SOCIAL WORKER

SECTION I

LICENSED BACCALAUREATE SOCIAL WORKER BY EXAM:

CHECK LIST FOR LICENSED BACCALAUREATE SOCIAL WORK

You send	You request others to send		
Completed and signed application Fees of 85.00 (\$25.00 application fee plus \$50.00 license fee plus \$10.00 State regulatory fee) payable to the Board of Social Worker Licensure	Request that an official transcript be mailed from the educational institution at which you completed your degree in social work directly to the Board of Social Worker Licensure.		
Passport-style photograph Notarized Declaration of Citizenship form found at: http://tn.gov/assets/entities/health/attachments/PH-4183.pdf Completed Mandatory Practitioner Profile Questionnaire http://tn.gov/assets/entities/health/attachments/PH-3585.pdf (mail with the application)	If you are or have ever been licensed, certified, registered, or permitted by any state to practice as a social worker (or as any other health care professional), you must request a verification from each and every state. The verification must be mailed directly to the Board's Office from the other state(s).		
	Criminal Background Check For instructions go to: http://www.tn.gov/health/topic/CBC-check (once you have successfully passed the ASWB exam you must apply for the criminal background check).		

WHEN DEEMED ELIGIBLE, LICENSE WILL BE MAILED WITHIN TWO (2) WEEKS FOLLOWING THE NEXT SCHEDULED BOARD MEETING.

SECTION II

LICENSED BACCALAUREATE SOCIAL WORKER BY RECIPROCITY:

CHECK LIST FOR LICENSED BACCALAUREATE SOCIAL WORK

You Send	You request others to send		
Completed and signed application Fees of \$ 110.00 (\$50.00 application fee plus \$ 50.00 license fee plus \$ 10.00 State regulatory fee) payable to the Board of Social Worker Licensure Passport-style photograph A copy of the original State's law and rules, if available Photo copy of the original license from the original state of licensure with applicants current license number, if available Photo copy of the applicants current renewal certificate with the license number and expiration date Notarized Declaration of Citizenship form found at: http://tn.gov/assets/entities/health/attachments/PH-4183.pdf Completed Mandatory Practitioner Profile Questionnaire http://tn.gov/assets/entities/health/attachments/PH-3585.pdf (mail with the application) (mail with the application)	Request that an official transcript be mailed from the educational institution at which you completed your degree in social work directly to the Board of Social Worker Licensure. If you are or have ever been licensed, certified, registered, or permitted by any state to practice as a social worker (or as any other health care professional), you must request a verification from each and every state. The verification must be mailed directly to the Board's Office from the other state(s). Verification of applicant taking and passing the ASWB examination Criminal Background Check For instructions go to: http://www.tn.gov/health/topic/CBC-check		

WHEN DEEMED ELIGIBLE, LICENSE WILL BE MAILED WITHIN TWO (2) WEEKS FOLLOWING THE NEXT SCHEDULED BOARD MEETING.

APPLICATION FOR TEMPORARY LICENSED BACCALAUREATE SOCIAL WORKER

SECTION III

Temporary license can be issued for licensed Baccalaureate Social Worker who graduated from a university, college, or school of social work that at the time of the applicant's graduation has applied for, but has not yet received, accreditation by the Council on Social Work Education.

CHECK LIST FOR TEMPORARY LICENSE

You send	You request others to send		
Completed and signed application Fees of \$60.00 (\$50.00 temporary fee plus \$10.00 State regulatory fee) payable to the Board of Social Worker Licensure	Request that an official transcript be mailed from the educational institution at which you completed your master's degree in social work directly to the Board of Social Worker Licensure.		
Passport-style photograph Notarized Declaration of Citizenship form found at: http://tn.gov/assets/entities/health/attachments/PH-4183.pdf Completed Mandatory Practitioner Profile Questionnaire http://tn.gov/health/article/sw-prac (mail with the application)	If you are or have ever been licensed, certified, registered, or permitted by any state to practice as a social worker (or as any other health care professional), you must request a verification from each and every state. The verification must be mailed directly to the Board's Office from the other state(s). Criminal Background Check For instructions go to: http://www.tn.gov/health/topic/CBC-check		

PLEASE NOTE - A TEMPORARY LICENSED BACCALAUREATE SOCIAL WORKER MUST SUBMIT AN APPLICATION FOR LICENSED BACCALAUREATE SOCIAL WORKER SIXTY (60) DAYS AFTER HIS/HER EDUCATION INSTITUTION RECEIVES ACCREDITATION FROM THE COUNCIL ON SOCIAL WORK EDUCATION, OR THE TEMPORARY LICENSE SHALL NO LONGER BE VALID.

WHEN DEEMED ELIGIBLE, LICENSE WILL BE MAILED WITHIN TWO (2) WEEKS FOLLOWING THE NEXT SCHEDULED BOARD MEETING.

ATTACH PASSPORT TYPE PHOTO HERE



Application Fee 45-001 \$50 Licensing Fee 45-001 \$50 State Reg Fee 45-006 \$10 \$110

Temporary Fee 45-001 \$50 State Reg Fee 45-006 \$10

Tennessee Board of Social Worker Licensure 665 Mainstream Drive Nashville, TN 37243

615-741-5735 or 800-778-4123 http://www.tn.gov/health/

Licensed Baccalaureate Social Worker

NAME.					
(Last)		(First)		(Middle/Maide	en)
Authorization Letter and or etc.) at the testing center. T	e used to register you with the ne currently valid, non-expire The name on your ID MUST feit your exam fee without the	ed government-issued match your name as	I photo-bearing ID (d it appears on your A	lriver's license, militar Authorization Letter. Y	y ID, passport
Current Home Mailing Add	ress:	Curre	nt Practice Address: *	k	
Home Phone # ()		Work Phone # ()		
E-Mail Address:					
Do you wish to receive notify opting in, all correspond	fications, <u>including renewal n</u> lence from the Department of mail from our office. Yes	Health will be deliv			
Do you wish to receive notify opting in, all correspond no longer receive physical in	lence from the Department of	Health will be deliv	ered to the email add		ou will
Do you wish to receive notify opting in, all correspond no longer receive physical resocial Security No.	lence from the Department of mail from our office. Yes	f Health will be deliv No	ered to the email add: Birth Date: U.S. Citizen.	ress on file for you. Y/	ou will
Do you wish to receive notify opting in, all correspond no longer receive physical and Social Security No.	lence from the Department of mail from our office. Yes Gender: Female	f Health will be deliv No	ered to the email add: Birth Date: U.S. Citizen.	ress on file for you. Y	ou will
Do you wish to receive notice by opting in, all corresponds no longer receive physical of Social Security No. Race: Entitled to Live and Work in Are you a member of the discharge other than a disher	lence from the Department of mail from our office. Yes Gender: Female	Health will be deliv No Male within the precedin armed forces, or bee	Birth Date: U.S. Citizen: All applicants must con g 180 days, retired for released from activ	ress on file for you. Y / Yes No nplete the Declaration of Cit	ou will izenship form. received any
Do you wish to receive notice by opting in, all corresponds no longer receive physical responds to longer receive physical receivers physical receive	dence from the Department of mail from our office. Yes Gender: Female n the U.S. Yes No U.S. armed forces who has, onorable discharge from the	Male within the precedin armed forces, or bee Yes No who has been transfe ived a discharge other.	Birth Date: U.S. Citizen: All applicants must con g 180 days, retired for released from activ — rred by the military is	yes on file for you. Y yes No	izenship form. , received any mponent of the mas, within the
Do you wish to receive notice by opting in, all corresponds no longer receive physical responds to longer receive physical received have a longer received be a longer received by the longer received have a longer received have received	dence from the Department of mail from our office. Yes Gender: Female The U.S. Yes No U.S. armed forces who has, onorable discharge from the use provide proof of status.) The member of the armed forces will from the armed forces, received.	Male Within the precedin armed forces, or bee Yes No who has been transfe ived a discharge other (If yes, please provi-	Birth Date: U.S. Citizen: All applicants must con g 180 days, retired for released from activ — rred by the military ser than a dishonorable de proof of same.)	ress on file for you. Y / Yes No nplete the Declaration of Cit from the armed forces e duty to a reserve con to Tennessee or who le e discharge from the a Yes No	izenship form. , received any mponent of the mas, within the

^{*}If you have no practice address, notify the Board of your practice address within 30 days of obtaining a practice address. If you have multiple practice address, please attach an additional page listing all practice addresses.

Educational Information	:				
Name of College/Univer	rsity:				_
Address:					_
City:		State:		Zip:	
Degree Received:		Date Conferred:	/	/	
Are you or have you	u ever been licensed in this p	rofession in another st	ate?		
Are you or have you	u ever been licensed in any o	ther profession in Ten	nessee or anot	her state?	
LICENSED, PER	ATES, COUNTRIES, OR MITTED, OR CERTIFIE ed directly to the Board's Off	D . Additional pages			
STATE	PROFESSION	LICENS	E NUMBER	CURRENT STA	ATUS
	·	<u> </u>			
	our entire healthcare empled additional space. Dates of			most current positi	on first. Use the back of
<u>Company/</u> <u>Employer:</u>	Address (City, and S		ition:	<u>Duties:</u>	<u>Dates</u> <u>From:</u> <u>To:</u> Mo./Yr. Mo./Yr.
LICENSURE INFOR	MATION: RECIPROCITY	APPI ICANTS			
				NO:	
	assed the ASWB Basic exam			NO:	_
If yes, please have the	ASWB send a copy of your	test scores.			

PH - 4183 7 RDA 10137

COMPETENCY INFORMATION

PLEASE ANSWER THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS. If you answer "yes" to any of the questions in this part, you must supplement your affirmative response with a thorough explanation on a separate page. IN SUPPORT OF YOUR EXPLANATION, THE FINAL DOCUMENTS OR ORDERS FROM THE ISSUING STATES, COURTS, AND/OR AGENCIES MUST BE SUBMITTED ALONG WITH THIS APPLICATION. Additional information may be requested and/or required before a licensure decision may be made.

For the purposes of these questions, the following phrases or words have the following meanings:

- 1. "Ability to practice your profession" is to be construed to include all of the following:
- a. The cognitive capacity to make appropriate clinical diagnoses, exercise reasoned medical judgments, to learn, and keep abreast of medical developments;
- b. The ability to communicate those judgments and medical information to patients and other health care providers, with or without the use of aids or devices, such as voice amplifiers; and
- c. The physical capability to perform professional tasks and procedures required of your profession, with or without the use of aids or devices, such as corrective lenses or hearing aids.
- 2. "Medical Condition" includes physiological, mental or psychological conditions including, but not limited to: orthopedic, visual, speech and/or hearing impairments, emotional or mental illness, specific learning disabilities, drug addiction, and alcoholism.
- 3."Minor Traffic Offense" generally means moving and non-moving violations punishable by fines only and does not include offenses such as driving under the influence or while intoxicated or reckless driving.
- 4. "Chemical substances" is to be construed to include alcohol, drugs, or medications, including those taken pursuant to a valid prescription for legitimate medical purposes and in accordance with the prescriber's direction, as well as those used illegally.
- 5. "Currently" does not mean on the day of or even in the weeks or months preceding the completion of this application. Rather it means recently enough so that the use of drugs or alcohol may have an ongoing impact on one's functioning as a licensee or within the past two (2) years.
- 6. "Illegal use of illicit or controlled substances" means the use of substances obtained illegally (e.g., heroin or cocaine) as well as the use of controlled substances that are not obtained pursuant to a valid prescription or not taken in accordance with the directions of a licensed health care practitioner.

	TONS: Please respond to ALL questions. If you answer "YES" to any question, attach a written explanation.	YES	NO
1.	Do you currently have any physical or psychological limitations or impairments caused by an existing medical condition which are reduced or ameliorated by ongoing treatment or monitoring, or the field of practice, the setting or the manner in which you have chosen to practice?		
2.	Do you currently use any chemical substances which in any way impair or limit your ability to practice your profession with reasonable skill and safety?		
	If so, please list:		
assessme determin	eceive such ongoing treatment or participate in such a monitoring program, the Board will make a ent of the nature, the severity, and the duration of the risks associated with an ongoing medical con e whether an unrestricted license should be issued, whether conditions should be imposed, or whet for licensure.)	dition so as	to be
3.	At any time within the past two years, have you engaged in the illegal use of illicit or controlled substances?		
4.	Are you currently participating in a supervised rehabilitation program or professional assistance program that monitors you to assure that you do not consume alcohol and/or do not engage in the illegal use of illicit or controlled substances?		
PH - 418			RD

A 10137

5.	Have you ever been diagnosed as having or have you ever been treated for pedophilia, exhibitionism, voyeurism or other diagnosis of a predatory nature?	
6.	Have you ever held or applied for a license, privilege, registration or certificate to practice social work in any state, country, or province, that has been or was ever denied, reprimanded, suspended, restricted, revoked, otherwise disciplined, curtailed, or voluntarily surrendered under threat of investigation or disciplinary action?	
7.	Have you ever held or applied for a license, privilege, registration or certificate to practice social work in any state, country, or province, that has been or was ever denied, reprimanded, suspended, restricted, revoked, otherwise disciplined, curtailed, or voluntarily surrendered under threat of investigation or disciplinary action?	
8.	Have you ever applied for or held a state or federal controlled substance certificate that was ever denied, revoked, suspended, restricted, voluntarily surrendered or otherwise disciplined or surrendered under threat of restriction or disciplinary action?	
9.	Have you ever been convicted (including a nolo contendere plea or guilty plea) of a felony or misdemeanor (other than a minor traffic offense) whether or not sentence was imposed or suspended?	
10.	Have you ever been rejected or censured by a professional association or society?	
11.	In relation to the performance of your professional services in any profession:	
	a. Have you ever had a final judgment rendered against you?	
	b. Have you ever had a settlement of any legal action rendered against you?	
	c. Are there any legal actions pending against you or to which you are a party?	
12.	If you have ever held a license or certificate in any health care profession, has it ever been reprimanded, suspended, restricted, revoked, otherwise disciplined, curtailed, or voluntarily surrendered under threat if investigation or disciplinary action?	
13.	My name has been placed on the registry of persons who have abused, neglected or misappropriated the property of vulnerable individuals (Tennessee abuse registry or an abuse registry in another state)	

PH - 4183 9 RDA 10137

I, ______ of _____ being duly sworn and identified as the person referred to in this application, attest to the truth of each statement made in said application. I further swear that I have read and understand the law and the Rules and Regulations regarding the practice of my profession, which are posted on the Board's Internet site and/or were provided to me by the Board office, and agree to abide by them in the practice as a social worker in the State of Tennessee. I HEREBY:

SIGNIFY my willingness to appear to answer such questions as the Board may find necessary, which may include a full Board interview.

RELEASE to the Board, its staff, and their representatives, any and all documentation necessary now and in the future to establish my physical and mental capabilities to safely practice as a social worker.

AUTHORIZE the Board, its staff, and their representatives to consult with my prior and current associates and others who may have information bearing on my professional competence, character, health status, ethical qualifications, ability to work cooperatively with others, and other qualifications.

RELEASE from liability the Board, its staff, and all their representatives and any and all organizations which provide information for their acts performed and statements made in good faith and without malice concerning my competence, ethics, character, and/or other qualifications, for certification.

ACKNOWLEDGE that I, as an applicant for licensure, have the burden of producing adequate information for a proper evaluation of my professional, ethical, and other qualifications, and for resolving any doubts about such qualifications.

AUTHORIZE release, use and disclosure of otherwise HIPAA protected health information to the limited extent necessary for my application to receive full consideration up to and including discussion in a public forum should that become necessary.

This certifies that the information submitted by me in this application is true and complete to the best of my knowledge and belief.

SIGNATURE	— DATE	

PH - 4183 10 RDA 10137