Tennessee Board of Respiratory Care



Newsletter

Summer 2005

A regulatory agency of the State of Tennessee

Vol. 1, No. 1

Cordell Hull Building, First Floor, 425 Fifth Avenue North, Nashville, TN 37247-1010

www.tennessee.gov

RULE CHANGES ALERT...ALERT

The Board seeks to make 50% of a licensee's required continuing education pertain to the clinical practice of respiratory care, education, or research relating to the cardio-pulmonary system.

The Board also seeks to allow 50% of the required continuing education to pertain to the management of practicing respiratory care or to the ethics and substance abuse.

The Board recently had a licensee requesting reinstatement of his license, who had completed all of the continuing education, required to reinstate in management courses and had completed no courses in clinical practice. This led the Board to conclude that a broader exposure to a wide variety of respiratory disciplines should be had by all licensees, and that this was best achieved by establishing required continuing education categories.

The Board also seeks to allow licensees to take advantage of the numerous continuing education courses now available in a variety of electronic formats, particularly the Internet. The new rule allows for 50% of the annual requirement to be completed electronically. The limit on electronic courses is proposed because the Board believes that classes taken in the traditional classroom or lecture formats offer advantages that cannot be had electronically. This rule change is effective May 31, 2005.

DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS TAKEN MAY, 2005

Frye, Amelia Colvard - License No. CRT- 1002

Violation of rules against prescribing controlled substances; immoral, unethical, unprofessional or dishonorable conduct; being guilty of fraud or deceit in the practice of respiratory care.

License placed on probation for two years; must successfully complete 15 hours of continuing education on the subject of Documentation and Ethics; assessed \$500 in civil penalties; and assessed case cost.

ONLINE VERIFICATION!

Licensure verification can now be obtained online at www.tennessee.gov/health:

- Click on license verification
- Select your profession
- Key in license number
- Submit

(If license number is not available, select your profession; key in first and last name of licensee; submit)



ON-LINE RENEWALS

The Bureau of Health Licensure and Regulation has implemented an electronic program, making the renewal of licensure possible via the internet.

Practitioners may access the online service at www.tennessee.gov/health to renew their licenses up to 120 days prior to the expiration date in a secure environment.

How to renew online

- -Step 1: Login Select our board and your profession and enter your license number.
- -Step 2: Update your Information Change your home and/or office address, add your e-mail address, and/or your fax number.
- -Step 3: Enter your renewal information -Answer all necessary questions, as if you were completing your hard-copy form.
- -Step 4: Payment Enter your credit card information through the secure site and choose "submit". Only choose submit button once.

What happens next?

If you have met all of the criteria necessary, your renewal certificate will be mailed to you in approximately one week. Information will be available on the department's web site the next business day.

BOARD MEETING DATES

August 17, 2005 **November 17, 2005**

All meetings begin at 9 a.m. Central Time.



TELEPHONE SYSTEM KEY TO VERIFYING **CREDENTIALS OF EMPLOYEES**

Employers take note. The Department of Health's automated telephone system is a useful and inexpensive tool to verify whether or not your employees' licenses are active and in good standing. The telephone number is toll free and the only information needed is the employee's applicant's) social security number and your facsimile number. Here's how:

- Dial 1-800-778-4123.
- Listen to the entire first message. Listen for the "pause". Then, listen to the **second** message.
- "To obtain information regarding a health professional, such as ... respiratory therapist, "To verify the status of a license, or" [Press 1]
- "To search our database, you will need the social security number of the health professional. To verify the license status, you can press 1, or visit.... " [Press 1]
- "Please enter the person's social security number" [Enter the SSN]
- [Verify SSN and Press 1, if correct]
- Press 1 to ask for a fax. Enter your area code and fax machine number.

Note: Modifiers or "qualifications" are provided online and on a facsimile copy, which will be faxed to you the same business day by following the above steps.

OFFICE OF INVESTIGATIONS

The Office of Investigations is responsible for receiving and processing all complaints for the licensure boards. The following is a summary of the complaints received for the Respiratory Care Board for the calendar year 2004:

New Complaints Received	38
Analysis of Complaints	
Drug-Related	10
Unprofessional Conduct Other	23
Unlicensed Practice	5

CHANGES OF ADDRESS

Address changes must be reported (in writing or by Web) to the Board's office within 30 days!

INFORMATION REQUIRED

- Your name and license number;
- Your profession;
- Your old address and phone number;
- Your new address, phone number, e-mail address, and/or your fax number
- Your SIGNATURE! (When responding in writing)

REFERENCE NUMBERS FOR THE BOARD

Phone 1-800-778-4123 ext. 25135 615- 532-5135

HRB CUSTOMER SURVEY

Health Related Boards (HRB) is conducting a customer survey to assist in determining ways to improve services provided to licensees, applicants, and the public.

If you want to help us in this endeavor, please print the survey from the Noteworthy section of the board's Web site or call the board's administrative office at 1-800-778-4123, ext. 25135 or (615)532-3202 ext. 25135 for one to be mailed to you. Completed surveys should be mailed to the address listed on the form.

ACTIVE LICENSES AS OF MAY, 2005

Respiratory Care Practioners

Active Licensees 3,981 Certified Licensees 1,971 Registered Licensees 1,973

DIVISION OF HEALTH RELATED BOARDS ADOPTS POLICY STATEMENT FOR LICENSURE RENEWAL FOR LICENSEES CALLED TO ACTIVE MILITARY DUTY

The Division shall allow special consideration for renewal of the licenses of military personnel who were called to active duty, and were unable to obtain required continuing education or to timely renew their license.

Any licensee who held an active license with Health Related Boards at the time he/she was called to active duty in the military of the United States, and was unable to renew that license while on active duty, shall notify the appropriate board office in writing.

Upon receipt of notification and proof of active service, the licensee shall be allowed to renew the license with no late renewal or penalty fees added to the cost of renewal. A copy of all documentation regarding notification and proof of active service shall be included in the permanent licensure file of the licensee.

A licensee whose license has been expired for one year or less shall not be required to complete required continuing education for renewal of the license at that time.

REPORTING VIOLATIONS OF STATUES AND RULES

If you know that a respiratory professional is practicing without a license or registration, practicing outside their scope of practice, or in violation of any of the statutes and rules, you can report the respiratory professional to the Office of Investigations at 1-800-852-2187 or by downloading a complaint form from the Board's Web site. Complaints can be filed anonymously.



Tennessee Board of Respiratory Care Board Members as of June 1, 2005

Billy Alred Chair Jackson

Candace Partee Secretary Lebanon

Delmar Mack, Ed.D. Johnson City

Shirley Brackett Benton

Charles Brownlee, Jr. Bolivar

Darryl Jordan, M.D. Fairview

James Hunter Nashville

Timothy McGill Livingston

Robbie Bell Director Health Related Boards

Ex Officio

Board Staff

Marva Swann **Board Director**

Tomica Walker **Board Administrator**



Department of Health. Authorization No. 343454, No. of Copies 4,000 This public document was promulgated at a cost of \$0.27 per copy. 8/05