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Tennessee Board of Optometry 

    

 
                 Newsletter    

2015                     A Regulatory Agency of the State of Tennessee                    Fall 
 

665 Mainstream Drive, Nashville, TN 37243 http://tn.gov/health   (615)  741-5735 or  1-800-778-4123 
Office Hours:  Monday – Friday 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Central Time (except State and Federal holidays)  Fax: (615) 532-5369 

 
THE MISSION OF THE TENNESSEE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH IS TO PROTECT, PROMOTE AND IMPROVE THE HEALTH AND PROSPERITY 

OF PEOPLE IN TENNESSEE 
  
 

2016 Board Meeting Dates 
 

January 13, 2016 
9:00 a.m., Poplar Room 
 
April 6, 2016 
9:00 a.m., Iris Room 
 
July 13, 2016 
9:00 a.m., Poplar Room 
 
October, 2016 
To be announced            

 
All board meetings will be held at 665 Mainstream Drive, 
Nashville TN, unless otherwise noted. 

 
Live Streaming Video 

 
If you would like the see your board “in action” but can’t 
attend a meeting in person, you can now watch the board 
meeting on your computer through live streaming video.  The 
link is: 
https://web.nowuseeit.tn.gov/Mediasite/Catalog/Full/98fe21
d561e9489487745f0c7da678b221.  After you access the 
page, go to the board meeting you wish to view and click on 
that particular link. 

 

Legislative Updates 
 

Board of Optometry 
 Legislative Update - 2015 

 
 

Public Chapter 154 
This act allows the Commissioner of Health or his designee to 
have electronic access to medical records in order to facilitate 
investigations when responding to an immediate threat to 
public health. Today the Commissioner of Health or his 
designee already has this authority but must go to the facility 
to review the medical records.  This act took effect on April 
16, 2015. 
 
Public Chapter 94 
This act defines “abuse” and “neglect” for purposes of placing 
a person on the registry of persons who have abused, 
neglected, or misappropriated the property of vulnerable 
individuals specifically within the statutes that govern the 
Dept. of Health. It does not impact the definitions within the 
statutes that govern the Dept. of Intellectual and 
Developmental Disabilities nor the Dept. of Human Services.  
It also increases the time within which placement on the 
registry may be appealed from 30 to 60 days.  For rulemaking 
purposes, this bill became effective on April 10, 2015.  All 
other provision become effective on July 1, 2015 
 
Public Chapter 502 
This act allows the Joint Government Operations Committee 
(the legislative committee that reviews all rules) to stay a rule 
up to 75 days instead of 60 days.  Present law authorizes the 
Joint Government Operations Committee to consider the 
following factors when reviewing rules: authority, clarity, 
consistency, justification, necessity and reference. This act 
adds arbitrariness and capriciousness as two new 
considerations.  
 
Public Chapter 268  
This act makes disclosures of protected healthcare 
information permissible in medical malpractice lawsuits and 
became effective on April 24, 2015. 
 

http://tn.gov/health
https://web.nowuseeit.tn.gov/Mediasite/Catalog/Full/98fe21d561e9489487745f0c7da678b221
https://web.nowuseeit.tn.gov/Mediasite/Catalog/Full/98fe21d561e9489487745f0c7da678b221
http://state.tn.us/sos/acts/109/pub/pc0154.pdf
http://state.tn.us/sos/acts/109/pub/pc0094.pdf
http://state.tn.us/sos/acts/109/pub/pc0094.pdf
http://www.tn.gov/sos/acts/109/pub/pc0502.pdf
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Public Chapter 349 
 
This act makes all rules with the secretary of state after 
January 1, 2014 permanent. This act also schedules Board of 
Optometry rule 1045-02-.17 to expire on July 1, 2015. 
 

 

 
 

RULE AMENDMENTS 
                            

Chapter 1045-02 
General Rules Governing the Practice of Optometry 

Amendments 
 
Rule 1045-02-.01 Fees is amended reducing the application 
fee from $300.00 to $250.00.  The renewal fee has been 
reduced from $330.00 to $275.00. 
 
Rule 1045-02-.05 Continuing Education is amended by 
changing the CE cycle from a calendar year to a renewal 
month year.  Effective January 1, 2016, an Optometrist with a 
renewal date in the year 2016 and beyond must complete 
thirty (30) hours of Board approved continuing education 
during the twenty-four (24) months that precede the 
licensure renewal month. 
 
Further, all licensees holding a current Tennessee license shall 
complete a minimum of two (2) of the thirty (30) required 
hours of continuing education related to controlled substance 
prescribing, which must include instruction in the 
department's treatment guidelines on opioids, 
benzodiazepines, barbiturates, and carisoprodol and may 
include topics such as medicine addiction, risk management 
tools, and other topics approved by the Board. Any one (1) or 
two (2) hour course designed specifically to address 
prescribing practices must be pre-approved by the Board. 
 
Also amended, for those who are therapeutically certified, a 
minimum of twenty (20) of the thirty (30) hours of 
continuing education is required in courses pertaining to 
ocular disease and related systemic disease, as described in 
subparagraph (2)(e). At least two (2) of these twenty (20) 
hours shall be a course or courses designed specifically to 
address prescribing practices. 
Each licensee shall maintain current certification in 
cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR). Such certification shall 
be obtained from a course approved or offered by the 
American Heart Association, the American Red Cross, or any 
other entity approved by the board. 

 
Rule 1045-02-.07 Diagnostic and Therapeutic Certification is 
amended to read: no therapeutically certified optometrist 
shall use pharmaceutical agents by injection except to 
counter anaphylaxis until they have received approval from 
the board. The board will not approve the use of injections 
until the optometrist demonstrates to the board's satisfaction 
sufficient educational training and/or clinical training, and 
submits proof of current certification in cardiopulmonary 
resuscitation (CPR). The education must be obtained from a 
course approved  or offered by the American Heart 
Association, the American Red Cross, or any other entity 
approved by the board. 
 
(These rules will become effective October 27, 2015.  To view 
the amended rules, visit: 
http://share.tn.gov/sos/rules/1045/1045.htm ) 
 

 

Professional Privilege Tax 

 TENN. CODE ANN. §67-4-1701, et seq., requires the payment of 
an annual professional privilege (occupation) tax.  The law 
requires your licensing board to refuse to allow you to renew 
your professional license If you fail to pay your professional 
privilege tax.  Upon receipt of certification from the 
Department of Revenue that a licensee is in arrears more 
than 90 days, the law requires that your ability to renew your 
license be held in abeyance until our office receives a written 
tax clearance from the Department of Revenue.  Avoid any 
interruption in your ability to practice your profession by 
remitting your tax to the Department of Revenue in a timely 
fashion.   
 

http://tn.gov/revenue/topic/professional-privilege-tax 

If you have moved out-of-state, but maintain a license, you 
are still responsible for paying the Professional Privilege Tax. 
If your license is in “active” status as of June 1 of any year, no 
matter if you live in Tennessee or out-of-state, you are 
required to pay the yearly professional privilege tax. 
 
Note:  The Board of Optometry does not assess this tax.   

 
Electronic Notification for Licensed  

Health Professionals 
 

NOTICE TO ALL LICENSED HEALTHCARE PROFESSIONALS – 
ELECTRONIC NOTICE OPTION 

 
On January 1, 2013, a new law became effective requiring all 
Tennessee health professional boards to provide electronic 
notices to healthcare professionals they license. The law gives 
healthcare professionals the option of being notified 
electronically of the following: (1) Renewals of license, 
certification or registration; (2) Any fee increases; (3) Any 
changes in state law that impact the license holder; and (4) 

http://share.tn.gov/sos/acts/109/pub/pc0349.pdf
http://share.tn.gov/sos/rules/1045/1045.htm
http://tn.gov/revenue/topic/professional-privilege-tax
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Any board meeting where changes in rules or fees are on the 
agenda. If a healthcare professional “opts in”, the 
Department of Health will also be able to alert him or her of 
critical public health matters impacting Tennessee. Please 
visit apps.tn.gov/hlrs/begin.jsp and complete the registration 
process to opt in. Upon receipt of a current email address, 
those who opt in will begin to receive ALL notices 
electronically rather than through the United States mail. 
Please note opting in means license renewal notification will 
be delivered electronically approximately 45 days in advance 
of the expiration date. The electronic notice will direct the 
licensee to the appropriate Web page to renew. For 
professions that do not permit licensees to renew their 
licenses online, a paper renewal will continue to be provided. 
For more information, contact the Health Professional Boards 
office at 615-741-5735 or toll-free at 1-800-778-4123.  

 

   
 Renew Your License Online 

 
                    

Practitioners may access the online service at 
https://apps.tn.gov/hlrs/ to renew their licenses up to 70 
days prior to the expiration date.    
 
Click the “Licensing Renewal” link where you can renew your 
license and update your professional license information.  
Licensees are responsible for renewing their licenses on time 
and keeping the Board apprised of current information.  It is a 
violation of the law and of the Board’s rules to practice on an 
expired license. 
 
-Step 1: Login - Select our board and your profession and 
enter your license number. 
 
-Step 2:  Update your Information - Change your home 
and/or office address. 
 
-Step 3:  Enter your renewal information - Answer all 
necessary questions, as if you were completing your hard-
copy form. 
 
-Step 4: Payment - Enter your credit card information 
through the secure site and choose “submit”.   
 
If you have met all of the criteria necessary, your renewal 
certificate will be mailed to you in approximately one week. 
Updated license information will be available on the 
department’s web site within two business days. 
 

 

Retirement of License  

If you are not practicing in Tennessee and do not wish to 
renew your license, it is suggested you retire your license 
rather than have it fall into failed to renew status. A 
retirement form may be obtained at our website at: 

http://tn.gov/health/article/OPT-applications 
 
If you do not have access to the internet, you may request a 
retirement form be mailed to you.  (See Board address on 
page 4.) 

 

Office of Investigations 

 
 
The Office of Investigations is responsible for receiving and 
processing all complaints for the licensure boards.  To file a 
complaint, please contact the Office of Investigations at 1-
800-852-2187 or visit our website where you may download 
and print out the complaint form. 

 

 
 

Have you moved/changed your name? 
 

Must be reported in writing or by e-mail to the board’s office 
within 30 days!  Please include the following: 

 your name and license number; 

 your profession; 

 your old address and phone number; 

 your new address and phone number, e-mail address, 
and/or your fax number; 

 your signature! 

 If your name has changed due to marriage or divorce, 
you must send a copy of the document that made the 
change in status. 

Keeping the board’s administrative staff up to date on your 
location facilitates the timely notification to you of important 
information such as your application for licensure renewal 
and important statutory and rule changes.   

A form for the change of address/name can be found at: 

http://tn.gov/health/article/OPT-applications
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http://tn.gov/health/article/OPT-applications 

You may fax your change to the board’s administrative office 
at (615) 532-5369 or by mail at:  665 Mainstream Drive, 
Nashville, TN 37243.   

 

Practitioner Profile 
 

When you notify the board of an address or name change, 
please remember to update your practitioner profile.   

 

Lapsed License 

The Tennessee Board of Optometry recognizes that a 
licensee may unintentionally allow his or her license to 
expire. State statute prohibits a licensee from working as 
an Optometrist unless he or she has an active license. 
Thus, the Board has adopted the following procedures 
for reinstatement of an expired license: 

1. Upon recognition that his or her license has expired, 
the licensee must stop practicing immediately and 
contact the Board’s administrative office and request a 
reinstatement application. 

2. The licensee must complete the reinstatement in its 
entirety along with a detailed work history from the date 
the license expired. The application must be signed, 
notarized, and returned to the Board’s administrative 
office along with the applicable fee and proof of 
documentation of continuing education requirements 
taken within the previous twelve (12) months. 

3. Once the completed reinstatement application and all 
required documentation is received, the board 
administrator may immediately reinstate the license only 
if the license has been in an expired status for a period 
of three (3) months or less. 

4. If the reinstatement application received indicates in 
the work history that the individual has worked more 
than three (3) months on an expired license, the license 
will not be issued until the licensee has paid a penalty in 
the amount of $100.00 for each month worked in excess 
of the three (3) months from the expiration date of the 
license. 

The assessment of a civil penalty is considered formal 
discipline that is reportable on the Tennessee 
Department of Health’s website. 

Discipline for lapsed licenses is reportable to 
the national databanks as well as the 
Department’s Disciplinary Action report. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
To Contact This Board Call: 

 
 (615) 741-5735 local or (800) 778-4123 

nationwide or write to:  
 

Tennessee Board of Optometry 
665 Mainstream Drive 
Nashville, TN 37243  

 
 

BOARD MEMBERS 
 

J. Scott Gentry, O.D. 
 

David Talley, O.D. 
 

Dennis Matthews, O.D. 
 

Richard Orgain, O.D. 
 

Jeff Foster, O.D. 
 

Edie Clemons 
 
 

BOARD STAFF 
 

Yvette Hernandez 
Board Administrator 

 
Jordan Bonner, III 

Licensing Technician 
 

Theodora (Teddy) Wilkins 
Administrative Director 

 
 
 
 
 
 

http://tn.gov/health/article/OPT-applications

