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227 French Landing, Suite 300, Heritage Place Metro Center, Nashville, TN 37243  http://tennessee.gov/health  (615)  532-5157 or  1-800-778-4123 
extension 25157 i Office Hours:  Monday – Friday 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Central Time (except state and federal holidays)   Fax: (615) 532-5369 
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
In conjunction with the purpose and goals of the Department of Health, the mission of the Bureau of Health Licensure and Regulation is to:   monitor, access, and  
enforce health care laws and regulations; protect, promote and enhance quality health care for all citizens; continuously strive to meet the needs of our customers 
in a respectful and caring manner; provide quality work-life necessary to attract and retain competent, caring employees; empower our employees to become 
entrepreneurs in their jobs; increase awareness and public confidence in our services; and, utilize our resources efficiently and cost effectively. 
 

 

 

About the Board of Optometry 
 The Board of Optometry was created in 1925 by 
an act of the state legislature. Its mission to safeguard 
the health, safety, and welfare of Tennesseans by 
requiring that all who practice optometry within this state 
is qualified. The board interprets the laws, rules, and 
regulations to determine the appropriate standards of 
practice in an effort to ensure the highest degree of 
professional conduct. The board is authorized to issue 
licenses to qualified candidates who have completed 
appropriate education and successfully completed 
required examinations. The board is also responsible for 
the investigation of alleged violations of the Tennessee 
Practice Act and rules and is responsible for the 
discipline licensees who are found guilty of such 
violations.  

 Optometrists may be licensed by either 
examination or endorsement from other states.  The 
administrative staff of the Division of Health Related 
Boards supports the board by issuing licenses to those 
who meet all requirements. Renewal notices are mailed 
from the Board's administrative office 45 days prior to 
the expiration of the license to the current address on 
record. Licenses can be renewed on-line 120 days prior 
to expiration at Tennessee.gov/health. Click on the 

"License Renewal" link and follow the prompts. 
Licensees are responsible for renewing their licenses on 
time and keeping the board apprised of current 
information. It is a violation of the law and of the board’s 
rules to practice on an expired license. Licensees are 
responsible for renewing on time and keeping the board 
apprised of current information.  

 The board is required by statute to meet at least 
once per year, but typically convenes five or six times 
per year. A quorum of four members is required to 
conduct business. The meetings are open to the public.  

 All members of the board are appointed by the 
Governor and serve a five year term. The six member 
Board consists of five licensed optometrists, who must 
each have five years of experience, and one member 
who is a health care consumer.  

 
 

2010 Board Meeting Schedule 
 
 
February 17, 2010 
9 a.m., Poplar Room 
 
May 26, 2010 
9 a.m., Poplar Room 
 
August 25, 2010 
9 a.m., Poplar Room 
 
October 27, 2010 
9 a.m., Poplar Room 

 
 

All board meetings will be held at 227 French 
Landing, Heritage Place, Metro Center, Nashville, TN 
37243, unless otherwise noted. 
 
 
 

http://tennessee.gov/health


 

 

Optometry Web Site 
 
 You may download a copy of the rules, 
applications and forms, board member list, board 
meeting schedule, policy statements, board meeting 
minutes, information on filing complaints and other 
pertinent information at the board’s website : 
 

http://tennessee.gov/health. 
 

 
To contact this board, call 

(615) 532-5157 local or (800) 778-4123 
extension 25157 nationwide 

or  
write to: 

 
Tennessee Board of Optometry 
227 French Landing, Suite 300 
Heritage Place – MetroCenter 

Nashville, TN 37243 
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Legislative Updates 

 
Public Chapter 228  
 
  Chapter 228 of the 2009 Public Acts provides 
that each practice site (prescriber's office or pharmacy 
that are required to report to the database) where a 
controlled substance is dispensed shall provide 
electronic access to the controlled substance monitoring 
database.  Failure to comply may result in a one 
hundred dollar ($100.00) civil penalty for each day of 
continued violation where there is a continued pattern or 
practice of not providing electronic access to the 
database.  A dispenser of controlled drugs (prescriber's, 
prescriber's office, pharmacist or pharmacy) shall not be 
subject to a civil suit or held civilly liable for failure to 
check the database or for actions taken after reasonable 
reliance on the database information. 
 
Public Chapter 67 
 
  Chapter 67 of the 2009 Public Acts provides that 
physicians, dentists, optometrists, podiatrists, 

veterinarians, advanced practice nurses with a certificate 
of fitness to prescribe, and physician assistants shall 
report to local law enforcement within three (3) business 
days if they have good reason to believe that a person 
has obtained or attempted to obtain a controlled 
substance when they have either received the same 
controlled substance, a prescription for the same 
controlled substance, or a therapeutically equivalent 
controlled substance from another practitioner within the 
previous thirty (30) days.  
 
This Public Chapter became effective on July 1, 2009. 
 
Public Chapter 581 
Voluntary Provision of Health Care Services 
 

Chapter 581 of the 2009 Public Acts provides 
that a person licensed by any of the health related 
boards who provides voluntary health care services to a 
patient of a sponsoring organization shall not be civilly 
liable for any act or omission in rendering these services, 
unless the act or omission constitutes gross negligence 
or willful misconduct. 

 
This Public Chapter became effective on July 1, 2009. 
 
Public Chapter 425 
Health Care Liability 
 

This public chapter revises provisions governing 
notice that must be given by any person asserting a 
potential claim for medical malpractice to each health 
care provider against whom the claim is being made; 
revises provisions governing certificate of good faith that 
must be filed. 

 
This Public Chapter became effective on July 1, 2009. 

 
Public Chapter 487 
Non-Compete Covenants Between Health Care 
Providers and Employees  
 
 This new law sets forth parameters for 
reasonable non-compete covenants between health care 
providers and employees upon termination or conclusion 
of the employment or contractual relationship. It applies 
to health care providers licensed by the Board of 
Registration in Podiatry, Board of Chiropractic 
Examiners, Board of Dentistry, Board of Medical 
Examiners, Board of Optometry and Board of Examiners 
in Psychology. It does not apply to physicians who 
specialize in the practice of emergency medicine or 
radiology. 
 
 The restriction must be set forth in employment 
agreement or other written document signed by the 
health care provider and the employing or contracting 

http://tennessee.gov/health
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entity and must be for two years or less. The maximum 
allowable geographic restriction is the greater of a ten 
mile radius from the primary practice site of the health 
care provider while employed or contracted or the county 
in which the primary practice of the health care provider 
while employed or contracted is located or there is no 
geographic restriction but the health care provider is 
restricted from practicing his or her profession at any 
facility at which the employing or contracting entity 
provided services while the health care provider was 
employed or contracted with the employing or 
contracting entity. Any restriction under this subsection 
shall not be binding on a health care provider who has 
been employed by, or under contract with, the employing 
or contracting entity for at least six years. 
 
 It also allows that an agreement entered into in 
conjunction with the purchase or sale of a health care 
provider's practice, or all or substantially all of the assets 
of the health care provider's practice, may restrict such 
health care provider's right to practice his or her 
profession, provided that the duration of the restriction 
and the allowable area of the restriction are reasonable 
under the circumstances. There shall be a rebuttable 
presumption that the duration and area of restriction 
agreed upon by the parties in such an agreement are 
reasonable. Effective January 1, 2008. 
 
Public Chapter 1060 
Child Abuse Reporting 
 
 Public Chapter 1060 provides immunity from 
civil and criminal liability for reporting abuse of children 
by a health care examiner when there is harm or reason 
to believe there is a mandate to report. No immunity is 
provided for reports by perpetrators of harm to children. 
 

Public Chapter 83 
Mandatory Domestic Violence Reporting 
 Health care practitioners shall report cases of 
suspected or confirmed domestic violence to the 
Tennessee Department of Health. The system was 
operational in October 2007 and requires certain data to 
be reported using the reporting tool located on the 
Department of Health website.  
 

Public Chapter 410 
Non-Smoker Protection Act 

 Public Chapter 410 creates the Non-Smoker 
Protection Act which prohibits smoking in all enclosed 
public places within the State of Tennessee including, 
but not limited to, the following places:  

(2) “Areas available to and customarily used 
by the general public in businesses and non-profit 

entities patronized by the public including, but not limited 
to, banks, laundromats, factories, professional offices, 
and retail service establishments; and 

(7) “Health care facilities”. (Nursing homes 
and long-term care facilities are exempted)  

 The legislation requires offices and health care 
facilities to do the following:  

• Inform all existing employees and any 
prospective employees upon their application for 
employment of the prohibition on smoking; and  

• “No Smoking” signs or the international “No 
Smoking” symbol, shall be clearly and 
conspicuously posted at every entrance to every 
public place and place of employment where 
smoking is prohibited.  

 The Department of Health shall, while an 
establishment is undergoing otherwise mandated 
inspections, inspect for compliance with this Act. 
Information about these inspections will be 
communicated with the appropriate offices and/or health 
care facilities in the future. 
 

Public Chapter 529 
Prohibition of Employment of Illegal Aliens 

 If the Commissioner of Labor and Workforce 
Development receives a complaint that a person, 
licensed by a state regulatory board, knowingly employs, 
recruits or refers for a fee for employment an illegal 
alien, that person is subject to an investigation and 
contested case hearing. 

 If there is proof a person knowingly employed, 
recruited or referred for a fee for employment, an illegal 
alien, which occurred while acting within the scope of 
practice of his/her license, the regulatory board will be 
required to revoke, suspend, or deny the person’s 
license. 

 For the first violation, the regulatory board will be 
required to suspend the person’s license until they show 
they no longer employ, recruit or refer for a fee for 
employment, an illegal alien. This can be made by the 
person filing a sworn statement that they no longer 
employ illegal aliens. 

 If a second violation occurs within three (3) 
years from the first order, the regulatory agency will be 
required to suspend the person’s license for one (1) 
year.  
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Public Chapter 1190 
Long Term Care 

 The long term care system shall recognize that 
aging is not a disease, but rather a natural process that 
often includes increasing needs for assistance with daily 
living activities. To the maximum extent possible and 
appropriate, the system shall be based on a model of 
care delivery which acknowledges that services 
delivered in the home and community-based settings are 
not primarily medical in nature, but rather, support 
services that will provide needed assistance with 
activities of daily living and that will allow persons to 
"age in place" in their homes and communities.  

Public Chapter 864 
Restroom Access Act 

 PC 864 requires any place of business that is 
open to the general public for the sale of goods or 
services ("retail establishment") that has an employee 
toilet facility to allow a customer to use such facility 
during normal business hours, if: 

1. The customer requesting the use of the 
employee toilet facility suffers from a medical 
condition that requires immediate access to a 
toilet facility or utilizes an ostomy device; the 
customer must present the employee with proof 
of an eligible medical condition, such as a 
document issued by a licensed medical provider;  

2. Three or more employees of the retail 
establishment are working at the time of the 
request;  

3. There is not a restroom available for public use 
in the retail establishment or otherwise 
immediately accessible to the customer; and  

4. The employee toilet facility is not located in an 
area that poses an obvious safety or security 
risk. 

 This bill provides immunity from civil damages to 
any retail establishment or an employee of a retail 
establishment for any act or omission in allowing a 
customer to use an employee toilet facility that is not a 
public restroom if the act or omission: 

1. Is not willful or grossly negligent;  

2. Occurs in an area that is not accessible to the 
public; and  

3. Results in an injury to or death of the customer 
or any individual other than an employee 
accompanying the customer. 

 This bill does not require any retail 
establishment to make any physical changes to an 
employee toilet facility. Any retail establishment or 
employee of a retail establishment that does not comply 
with the toilet facility access requirements of this bill 
commits a Class C misdemeanor punishable only by a 
fine of up to $50. 
 
Public Chapter 936 
Improving Patient Safety through Medication 
Use Prescription Labeling Act of 2008  
 
Adds TCA 53-10-110: 

 Any person dispensing a legend drug for an 
elder person shall include on the label of the container in 
which the legend drug is dispensed, the indication for 
which the drug is being prescribed if requested by the 
prescriber, patient or patient's caregiver and the 
prescriber, patient or patient's caregiver provides the 
indication or indications to the person dispensing the 
legend drug. For purposes of this section, "elder person" 
means any person who is sixty (60) years of age or 
older. 

 Professions regulated by this board are not 
directly impacted by 2007 Public Chapters and therefore 
do not appear on the 2007 Legislative Action Plan. 

Public Chapter 1035 
Tamper Resistant Prescription Paper 

 Tennessee Code Annotated, 63-3-127 
governing Podiatrists, 63-5-122 governing Dentists, 63-
6-236 governing Medical Doctors, 63-7-123(b)(3) 
governing Nurse Practitioners, 63-8-126 governing 
Optometrists, 63-9-116 governing Osteopathic 
Physicians and 63-19-107(2)(E) governing Physician 
Assistants are amended to add: All handwritten, typed or 
computer-generated prescription orders must be issued 
on tamper-resistant prescription paper which meets the 
current Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Service 
Guidance to State Medicaid Directors…and meets or 
exceeds specific TennCare requirements for tamper-
resistant prescription paper. This legislation is a result of 
a federal law/mandate intended to reduce fraud and 
abuse. 

 All prescriptions for TennCare patients must be 
written using tamper resistant pads/paper. Exceptions 
are prescriptions sent to the pharmacy electronically, 
prescriptions communicated to the pharmacy by 
telephone and drugs administered in nursing facilities. 
The provisions of this act with respect to TennCare 
prescriptions became effective October 1, 2008 in 
compliance with federal requirements. The provisions of 
this act with respect to non-TennCare related 
prescriptions became effective July 1, 2009. 



 

 

 On October 1, 2008, prescriptions will be 
required to have a minimum of one feature from each of 
the following three CMS categories: 1) Industry-
recognized feature(s) designed to prevent unauthorized 
copying. An example is paper that shows the word 
“Void” or “Illegal” if the prescription is photocopied. 2) 
Industry-recognized features(s) designed to prevent 
erasure or modification of information written by the 
prescriber. This may be uniform non-white background 
color or quantity check off boxes with refill indicator.  3) 
Industry-recognized feature(s) designed to prevent use 
of counterfeit prescription forms. Security features and 
descriptions are listed on prescriptions (required by 
TennCare tamper-resistant pads after October 1, 2008) 
or a heat sensing imprint, which causes the imprint to 
disappear if someone touches the imprint or design. 

 Prescribers who ordinarily transmit prescriptions 
via e-prescribe of fax will need a supply of tamper-
resistant pads if they prescribe controlled substances 
since these prescriptions may not be transmitted 
electronically at this time.  

 This law became effective October 1, 2008 in 
respect to TennCare prescriptions and July 1, 2009 
for non-TennCare related prescriptions. 

Public Chapter 298 
Controlled Drugs Reclassification  

 Public Chapter 298 primarily corrects some 
discrepancies between Tennessee law listing Schedules 
for controlled substances compared to the DEA 
Schedules for the same drugs or chemicals. Some of the 
listed drugs have had their Schedule changed in recent 
years by the DEA, however they had not be reclassified 
in Tennessee law. Although individual states may place 
a drug into a more restrictive Schedule than DEA, states 
do not have the authority to be less restrictive than DEA. 
The language of this Act brings Tennessee in line with 
DEA classifications. Some of the more frequently 
encountered drugs affected are listed below along with 
their common trade names.  

 Gamma hydroxybutyric acid (GHB) is classified 
by DEA as a Schedule I, however in Tennessee 
law it was still listed as a Schedule IV. PC 298 
brought TN in line with DEA.  

 Glutethimide (Doriden) is classified by DEA as a 
Schedule II however TN still listed as Schedule 
III. PC 298 now matches DEA and Glutethimide 
(Doriden) is Schedule II.  

 Buprenophine (Suboxone or Subutex) is a DEA 
Schedule III, however TN had it listed as 
Schedule V. PC 298 changed it to a Schedule III 
in TN.  

 Some other changes for consistency include 
Dichloralphenazone (Midrin), Zaleplon (Sonata), 
Zopiclone (Lunesta), Butorphanol (Stadol), 
Fencamfamin (Reactivan), Fenproporex (Gacilin 
or Solvolip), Mefenorex (Pondonil), Modafinil 
(Provigil), and Sibutramine (Meridia) being listed 
as Schedule IV in TN to match DEA.  

 Of interest in veterinary medicine, Carfentanil 
(Wildnil) is now classified as Schedule II which is 
consistent with DEA classification. The 
combination drug tiletamine-zolazepam (Telazol) 
is now listed as Schedule III in both TN and 
DEA.  

 

 
The complete text of the Public Act, including 

provisions for any areas of exemption; enforcement 
of the Act; and action to be taken for violations of 

the Act, is available at: 

http://www.tennessee.gov/sos/acts/index.htm 
 

 Controlled Substance Database Program 
 
Note: If you do not dispense, you are not required to 
register with the Board of Pharmacy or Optimum 
Technology. 
 
 On December 1, 2006, the Tennessee Board of 
Pharmacy began accepting prescription information into 
the Controlled Substance Database Program.  The 
Program collects prescription data for Schedules II-V 
drugs into a central database, which can then be used 
by limited authorized users.  The information collected in 
this program is maintained by the Department of Health  
and strict security and confidentiality measures are 
enforced.  Only those persons authorized by law can be 
provided information from the database to assist in 
determining treatment history and to rule out the 
possibility that a patient may be “doctor shopping” or 
“scamming” in order to obtain controlled substances.  
Prescribers, dispensers, and other authorized users may 
soon make requests for data fro the Controlled 
Substance Program via the secure website.  This 
website will assist authorized users in organizing their 
requests and the reports that are generated by the 
program.  
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 Attention:  For questions about the Controlled 
Substance Program please email:   
 

Controlled.substancedatabase@tn.gov 
 

 

 
 

  Practitioners Licensed by the Board as of 
October 2009  

 
Licensed Optometrists                                1162 
 

 

 
 
 

Non-Compliance with License Renewal 
Requirements 

 
 Optometrists who fail to renew their licenses 
pursuant to Rule 1045-2-.04 are subject to disciplinary 
action.  The licensee must pay a $100 monthly civil 
penalty for each month the licensee has worked on an 
expired license, after an initial three month grace period.  
The licensee’s name will be listed on the Department of 
Health web site. 

 
Non-Compliance with Continuing Education   

Requirements 
 
 Optometrists who fail to comply with the 
continuing education requirements pursuant to Rule 
10450-2-.05 are subject to disciplinary action.  The  
licensee must pay a $300 civil penalty within thirty (30) 
days of notification from the board, obtain the deficient 
continuing education hours by the end of the next 
calendar year and complete an additional five (5) 
continuing education hours by the end of the next 
calendar year in the category of diagnosis, treatment 
and management in the practice of optometry, in 
addition to the current biennial continuing education hour 
requirement.   The licensee’s name will be listed on the 
Department of Health Web site. 

 
Retention of Optometric Records 

 
 Optometric records shall be retained for a period 
of not less than 10 years from the optometrist’s or his 

supervisees’ last professional contact with the patient 
except for the following: 
 
1. Optometric records for incompetent patients 
 shall be retained indefinitely. 
 
2. Optometric records of minors shall be retained 
 for a period of not less than one year after 
 the minor reaches the age of majority or 10 
 years from the date of the optometrist’s or his 
 supervisees’ last professional contact with the 
 patient, whichever is longer. 

 
3. Notwithstanding the foregoing, no optometric 
 record involving services which are currently 
under dispute shall be destroyed until the dispute is 
resolved. 

 
Destruction of Optometric Records 

 
 No record shall be singled out for destruction 
other than in accordance with established office 
procedures. 
 
 Records shall be destroyed only in the ordinary 
course of business according to established office 
operating procedures that are consistent with these 
rules. 
 
 Records may be destroyed by burning, 
shredding, or other effective methods in keeping with the 
confidential nature of the records. 
 
 When records are destroyed, the time, date and 
circumstances of the destruction shall be recorded and 
maintained for future reference.  The record of 
destruction need not list the individual patient optometric 
records that were destroyed but shall be sufficient to 
identify which group of destroyed records contained a 
particular patient’s optometric records.  
 

 
 

 
Complaints Against Optometrists 

 
 Practitioners should be aware that all 
complaints, no matter how frivioulus they appear, must 
be reviewed by the designated board consultant (who is 
a practitioners from the particular health profession) and 
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an attorney to determine if there has been a violation of 
the Tennessee Practice Act.  The following types of 
complaints were filed against Optometrists by 
consumers in 2006, 2007 and 2008: 

• Failure to discuss treatable diagnosis with 
patient and/or performing too many tests 

• No separate entrance for optometry services 

• Working on an expired license or with no license 

• Allowing unlicensed persons to practice at their 
facility 

• Did not provide medical records request or did 
not provide records in a timely manner 

• Dispensing outdated, free samples 

• Prescribed medication not covered under patient 
insurance 

• Rude to patient 

• Kept patient waiting too long in waiting room 

Serious complaints include: 

• Over-prescribing medication 

• Unprofessional conduct 

• Malpractice/negligence, criminal charges 

• Unlicensed practice 

• Care of service 

• Falsification of records 

• Advertising 

• Fraud/false billing 

How to File a Complaint 
 

 While the Department of Health hopes that you 
will never have to file a complaint against a health care 
practitioner, doing so is a simple matter. You may 
contact the Complaint Division of the Department of 
Health at 1-800-852-2187 to request a complaint form.  
 
 The form must be completed in its entirety. You 
are also requested to complete and sign a medical 
records release form.  While the form may not always 
be used, it is helpful to have this form in the event 
records are needed to determine course of treatment or 
actions that have been taken with regard to care 
provided.  

 All materials received in connection with the 
complaint will become property of the Department of 
Health and cannot be returned. Please return the 
complaint to:  
 

Office of Investigations 
227 French Landing, Suite 201 

Heritage Place MetroCenter 
Nashville, TN 37243 

 
Complaint Review Process 

 
Upon receipt of the complaint form, the 

designated board consultant (who is a practitioner from 
the particular health profession) and an attorney review 
the complaint thoroughly to determine whether there has 
been a violation of the Tennessee Practice Act. 
 
 The board consultant and the attorney examine 
the details of the complaint. The practitioner may be 
contacted and relevant records may be studied. The 
review process may also involve the review of 
practitioner files, both public and confidential. Through 
the review process, the consultant and attorney will 
reach a decision whether to investigate the complaint or 
not. This process may take several months to complete. 
This is determined by the complexity of the complaint. 
 
 Throughout the process, the practitioner’s due 
process rights are assured. The final decision that is 
reached by the board will be based on the findings of an 
investigation. In some cases, a formal public hearing is 
held. 
 
 You may call the Complaint Division from time to 
time to inquire about the progress of the complaint. 
While state law does not allow the staff to give details of 
an investigation, you may request a general status 
report. Due to the nature of complaints and complex 
legal and medical issues that are involved, your 
patience, cooperation and understanding is appreciated. 
 

Investigative Results 
 

 When a decision is reached, you will receive a 
letter from the board consultant. The specific content of 
such letters varies depending upon the circumstances of 
the complaint. However, they are generally one of the 
following types: 
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1. There was no violation of the Tennessee 
Practice Act that would lead to disciplinary 
action, but the practitioner has been informed of 
the concerns that lead to the complaint.  

 
2. There was a violation of the Tennessee Practice 

Act and a formal disciplinary action was taken, 
made part of the public record, and reported 
statewide and to the national data bank.  

 

 All complaints received are taken seriously and 
a thorough and fair evaluation under the law is 
conducted.  

Disciplinary Actions 
 
William Holladay – License No. 2028 
License placed on probation. Assessed a $1,200 civil 
penalty. Disciplined May 6, 2009. 
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