Tutorial for Licensure by Endorsement – RN and LPN

The statutes governing registered nurses are in TCA, Section δ 63-7-103 and δ 63-7-104 and practical nurses are in TCA, Section δ 63-7-108 and δ 63-7-109, http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/tncode/

Read all instructions and determine your Primary State of Residence before completing application. Allow six weeks for processing. It is not necessary to call the board to check on the status of your application go to: https://apps.health.tn.gov/Licensure/default.aspx.

<u>Primary State of Residence:</u> If your primary state of residence* is Tennessee or a non-compact state you may apply in Tennessee for licensure by endorsement; however, if your primary state of residence* is a compact state other than Tennessee and you hold a multistate license (MSL) you may apply for licensure in Tennessee and work on the MSL up to 90 days. If you declare your legal residence as another compact state you are ineligible for a Tennessee license and your application will be placed on hold for up to one year until you declare Tennessee as your primary state of residence. http://tn.gov/assets/entities/health/attachments/PH-3913.pdf

*Primary state of residence means the state of a person's declared fixed permanent and principle home for legal purposes; domicile. The following items may be requested as proof of primary state of residence: driver's license, voter registration card, federal income tax return. For a current map of states in the compact, check the following web site: https://www.ncsbn.org/nurse-licensure-compact.htm.

Criminal Background Check is required. For instructions to obtain a criminal background check, go to http://tn.gov/health/article/CBC-instructions

Request verification of licensure from the state where you were originally licensed. The Nursys website (http://www.nursys.com) should be used for most states. However, if original licensure was in the following states, Alabama, California, Hawaii, Louisiana-PN, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, contact that board for verification instructions.

The Tennessee Board of Nursing accepts the State Board Test Pool Examination (SBTPE) or the National Council Licensure Examination (NCLEX) provided scores are equal to or higher than the lowest passing scores required by this board.

<u>Complete the Online Application and UPLOAD the following documents, and submit \$115.00 payment (PAY ONE TIME ONLY - do not submit duplicate payment) at: https://lars.tn.gov/datamart/mainMenu.do</u>

- a. Passport type **photograph** signed and dated on the front by the applicant. The date must be no more than 6 months prior to date of application. Sign legal name legibly. Do not conceal the face. Note: Snapshots are not acceptable.
- b. Copy of **nursing diploma** or **transcript** from initial nursing education (copies of internet transcripts are not accepted) or request an official transcript be mailed directly from the educational institution of the nursing program. *An applicant must be a graduate of an approved school of practical nursing and licensed by written examination in order to be licensed as a practical nurse in Tennessee. An applicant must be graduate of an approved school of registered nursing and licensed by written examination in order to be licensed as a registered nurse in Tennessee.*
- c. **Declaration of Citizen Form**: http://tn.gov/assets/entities/health/attachments/PH-4183.pdf. Complete, sign, have **notarized** and upload with required proof of citizenship documentation (e.g., driver's license).
- d. If applicable: obtain and upload documents relative to criminal conviction (arresting document, judgment, completion of judgement) along with a letter of explanation.

Additional information, if applicable:

International Graduates:

- Request the Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing School (CGFNS) directly send a copy of the certificate
- Upload a copy of your Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing School (CGFNS) certificate
- If you change your mailing or practice address, you must notify the Board's Administrative Office within thirty (30) days. Failure to abide by this law could affect your license, since failure to receive the renewal application does not relieve you of the responsibility for timely renewal.

If the application is not complete when reviewed, you will be notified of the deficiency.