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(615)532-5132 or 1-800-778-4123

STATUTE CHANGES

Public Chapter No. 83 The Tennessee
Domestic Violence Act requires health care
practitioners to report suspected domestic
abuse to the Department of Health, division of
Health Statistics. Health Care Practitioners, in
Active status, can report suspected domestic
abuse via this website:

DomesticViolence.Health@state.tn.us or contact
the office at (615) 741-1954.

Public Chapter No. 1084 Background Checks
Required To Provide Patient Care

Before any person who will be providing
direct patient care is hired, health care
facilities and individual health professionals
are required by law to conduct background
checks using the state sex offenders registry,
the state abuse registry and the abuse
registries for states in which the prospective
employee has lived in the previous 7 years,
according to Public Chapter 1084, or Tenn.
Code Ann. sec. 63-1-149.

Links to the following are online at the
Department of Health website:

Tennessee Sex Offender Registry
National Sex Offender Registry
Tennessee Abuse Registry

Other Abuse Registries

NEW BOARD MEMBER

The Board would like to introduce the new
board member Abbie J. Derrick, RD, LDN. Ms.
Derrick has a Bachelor of Science from Clemson
University, 5/2002. She completed her
internship at Vanderbilt University Medical
Center, 6/2003. She is currently working on
her Masters in Health Communication from
Boston University and the expected graduation
date is 5/2012. Ms. Derrick was employed by
Vanderbilt University Medical Center as a
patient services manager for seven years. As of
November 11, 2010, she is the southeast
regional dietitian for Lyons Magnus.

FILING A COMPLAINT

While the Department of Health hopes that you
will never have to file a complaint against a
health care practitioner, doing so is a simple
matter. You may contact the Office of
Investigations of the Department of Health at 1-
800-852-2187 to request a complaint form.

The form must be completed in its entirety. All
materials received in connection with the
complaint will become property of the
Department of Health and cannot be returned.
Please return the complaint to:

Office of Investigations
227 French Landing, Suite 201
Heritage Place Metro Center
Nashville, TN 37243
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LICENSE RENEWALS

Renewal applications are mailed six weeks prior
to the licensee’s expiration date. You must
make sure the administrative office has your
correct mailing address in order to receive all
information regarding your license in a timely
manner. Renew your license online at:
https://apps.tn.gov/hlrs/begin.jsp

If you no longer want to renew your license, you
must submit a notarized Affidavit of Retirement
form before your expiration date. This form can

be obtained from the Board’s website at
http://health.state.tn.us/boards/DN.

CHANGE OF ADDRESSES AND/OR NAME
Rule 0470-1-.17 (1) & (2)

Address change: Each person holding a license
who has had a change of address shall file, in
writing, with the board his/her current mailing
address, giving both old and new addresses.
Such requests should be received in the board’s
administrative office no later than thirty (30)
days after such change has occurred and must
reference the individual’s name, profession, and
license number.

Change of Name: Any individual registered with
the Board shall notify the board in writing
within 30 days of a name change. The notice
shall provide the old name and the new name
and must reference the individual’s profession,
license number, Social Security number and a
copy of the legal document that caused the
name change. You can obtain a form for the
name and address change at the board’s
website.

DUPLICATE (REPLACEMENT) LICENSE

Rule 0470-1-.16 A licensee whose “artistically
designed” license has been lost or destroyed
may be issued a replacement document upon
receipt of a written request in the board
administrative office. = Such request shall be
accompanied by an affidavit (signed and
notarized) stating the facts concerning the loss
or destruction of the original document and the
required fee pursuant to rule 0470-1-.06, $25.

Board’s of Dietitian/Nutritionist website is
http:/ /health.state.tn.us/boards/DN

LAPSED LICENSE POLICY

The Board of Dietitian/Nutritionist Examiners
recognizes that an individual may inadvertently
allow his/her license to expire. However, statute
prohibits an individual from working as a
dietitian/nutritionist unless he/she has an
active and unrestricted license. While the board
does not condone an individual working on an
expired license, recognition is given to the fact
that the problem does exist. As such, the board
has adopted the following procedures for
reinstatement of an expired or administratively
revoked license.

 Immediately upon recognition that his/her
license has expired, the individual must stop
practicing and contact the board’s
administrative office to request a reinstatement
application.

* Upon receipt of the reinstatement application,
the individuals are to complete the application
in its entirety, providing a detailed work history
since the license expiration date. The
application is to be signed, notarized, and
returned to the board’s administrative office,
along with any additional information and all
fees specified in the instructions.

* Upon receipt of a completed reinstatement
application, supporting documentation,
including continuing education, and fees, the
board administrator may immediately reinstate
a license which has been in an expired status
for less than three months.

e If the reinstatement application received
reflects in the work history that the individual
has worked in excess of three months on an
expired license, the board will present to the
licensee official notice which specifies payment
of a fine in the amount of $50 per month for
every month in excess of three months from the
expiration date, up to a maximum fine of $300.
Practice in excess of nine months on an expired
license will result in the application for
reinstatement being referred to the Office of
Investigations. You can view the lapsed license
policy at the board’s website.

Board of Dietitians and Nutritionists
2011 Board Meetings

March 17, 2011 & September 22, 2011
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