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Health Related Boards’ Offices
Moving to New Location

The Department of Health’s Division of Health Licensure
and Regulation, Office of Health Related Boards will be
transitioning from leased space at Heritage Place Metro
Center to a newly renovated state-owned space. Our
new address will be 665 Mainstream Drive, Nashville,
TN 37243. Our move is currently scheduled for the last
week of October, 2013.

All individual employee phone numbers and e-mail
addresses will remain the same. You are encouraged to
stay in contact with our office by using existing phones
numbers and email addresses. However, if you plan to
write the Health Related Boards after September 30,
2013, please write us at our new address at:

Tennessee Department of Health
Division of Health, Licensure and Regulation
Office of Health Related Boards
665 Mainstream Drive
Nashville, Tenn. 37243
615-532-5127
1-800-778-4123

While the department has prepared diligently to minimize
downtime, maintain accessibility and sustain productivity
throughout this relatively complex move, we do
appreciate your understanding and patience as
personnel and material move into our new space. We
look forward to working with you and providing
outstanding customer service from our new location.

2014 Board Meeting Schedule

January 17, 2014

April 25, 2014

July 18, 2014

Board meets in
the Iris

Room 665
Mainstream Dr.,
MetroCenter at
9:00 a.m.

Board meets in
the Iris

Room 665
Mainstream Dr.,
MetroCenter at
9:00 a.m.

Board meets in
the Poplar
Room, 665
Mainstream Dr.,
MetroCenter at
9:00 a.m.
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Board meets in
the Iris

Room, 665
Mainstream Dr.,
MetroCenter at
9:00 a.m.

October 24, 2014

Legislative Updates
Public Chapter 190

Adopts the eight (8) nationally recognized and accepted
professional domains for licensed alcohol and drug
abuse counselors.

Public Chapter 122
EXPEDITED LICENSURE

Present law requires the health related boards to
establish a procedure to expedite the issuance of a
license, certification or permit to perform services
regulated by each board to any person who is the
spouse of a military service member who is licensed to
perform professional services in another state and who
left employment to accompany the person's spouse to
Tennessee. The procedure includes:

(1) Issuing the person a license, certificate or permit, if,
in the opinion of the board, the requirements for
certification or licensure of such other state are
substantially equivalent to that required in Tennessee; or
(2) Developing a method to authorize the person to
perform professional services regulated by the board in
Tennessee by issuing the person a temporary permit for
a limited period of time.

This bill adds any military service member who is
licensed to perform substantially similar professional
services in another state and who applies for licensure in
Tennessee within 180 days of retiring from the military,
receiving an honorable discharge, or being released
from active duty into the reserves, to the persons who
are eligible to participate in the expedited licensure
procedures.

MILITARY
EXPERIENCE

EDUCATION, TRAINING AND

This bill requires the health related boards to accept
military education, training or experience completed by a
person who applies for licensure in Tennessee within
180 days of retiring from the military, receiving an
honorable discharge, or being released from active duty
into the reserves toward the qualifications to receive the
license or certification if the military education, training or
experience is determined to be substantially equivalent
to the state's standards.

TEMPORARY RENEWALS FOR ACTIVE DUTY
MILITARY

This bill requires that the health related boards keep in
good standing the license or certification of any person
who is called to active military duty and who, at the time
of such activation, was duly licensed or certified to
perform a profession or occupation in Tennessee. A
license that is kept in good standing pursuant to this bill
will be temporarily renewed without payment of renewal
fees, compliance  with continuing education
requirements, or performing any other act typically
required for renewal; provided, that the continuing
education requirements will only be waived in
circumstances where the person's military duty prevents
obtaining the credits or the person performs the licensed
or certified profession or occupation as part of the
person's military duties. The continuance or renewal of a
license or certificate pursuant to this bill will continue
until no later than six months from the person's release
from active duty.

RULE AMENDMENTS

There are Rule amendments being discussed by the
Board at this time. All rulemaking hearings are posted
on the Board website and are open to the public for
comment.

You may contact the board office at 615-532-5138 for a
copy of the rules or download a copy at
Tennessee.gov/health and follow the prompts. Please
check the website often, as rules change frequently.

Renew Your License Online

Practitioners may access the online service at
Tennessee.gov/health to renew their licenses up to 120
days prior to the expiration date.

Click the “Licensing Renewal” link where you can renew
your license and update your professional license
information. Licensees are responsible for renewing
their licenses on time and keeping the Board apprised of
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current information. It is a violation of the law and of the
Board'’s rules to practice on an expired license.

-Step 1: Login - Select our board and your profession
and enter your license number.

-Step 2: Update your Information - Change your home
and/or office address.

-Step 3: Enter your renewal information - Answer all
necessary questions, as if you were completing your
hard-copy form.

-Step 4: Payment - Enter your credit card information
through the secure site and choose “submit”.

If you have met all of the criteria necessary, your
renewal certificate will be mailed to you in approximately
one week. Updated license information will be available
on the department’s web site within two business days.

The Office of Investigations is responsible for receiving
and processing all complaints for the licensure boards.
To file a complaint, please contact the Office of
Investigations at 1-800-852-2187 or visit our website
where you may download and print out the complaint
form.

Have You Moved?

Please do not forget to notify the Board
administrative office when you have an address or
telephone number change, within 30 days of the
change. The change must be made in writing to the
Board. You may either fax the change or mail it to
the Board’s administrative office.

WORKING ON AN EXPIRED LICENSE

Statute prohibits an individual from working as a
licensed Alcohol and Drug Abuse Counselor unless
he/she has an active license.

1. Upon recognition that his/her license has expired,
the individual must stop practicing immediately and
contact the Board’s administrative office and request a
reinstatement application.

2. The individual must complete the reinstatement in its
entirety along with a detailed work history from the late
the license expired. The application must be signed and
notarized and returned to the Board’s administrative
office along with proof of documentation of continuing
education requirements taken within the previous twelve
(12) months, as well as all applicable fees.

3. Once the completed reinstatement application and all
required documentation is received, the Board
administrator may immediately reinstate the license only
if the license has been in an expired status for a period
of three (3) months or less.

4. If the reinstatement application received indicates in
the work history that the individual has worked more
than three (3) months on an expired license, the
licensee will be assessed a $100 penalty for each
month worked in excess of three (3) months.

Discipline for lapsed licenses will now be
reportable to the national databanks as well as
the Department’s Disciplinary Action report and
will be noted on the practitioner’s licensure
profile.

To Contact This Board Call:
(615) 532-5127 local or (800) 778-4123 extension
5325127 nationwide or write to:

Tennessee Board of Licensed Alcohol and Drug
Abuse Counselors
227 French Landing, Suite 300
Heritage Place — MetroCenter
Nashville, TN 37243

After October 31, 2013:
Tennessee Board of Licensed Alcohol and Drug
Abuse Counselors
665 Mainstream Drive
Nashville, TN 37243
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BOARD MEMBERS
Sherry Butler, LADAC, Chair
Richard “Terry” Kinnaman, LADAC
Susan Cunningham, LADAC
Karen Dennis, LADAC

Major McNeil, Citizen Member

BOARD STAFF

Melody Spitznas
Board Administrator

Michael Anderson
Licensing Tech

Theodora (Teddy) Wilkins
Administrative Director
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