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NEWBORN SCREENING BASICS

What is newborn screening?

Newborn screening is a set of tests that check babies for serious, rare
diseases. Most of these diseases can be cured or treated if found soon
after the baby is born. Newborn screening includes three tests called
blood spot, hearing and pulse oximetry.

* Blood spot screening checks for more than 50 rare but treatable
diseases. Finding out a baby has any of these diseases soon after it is
born can help keep the baby from having serious health problems, a
disability and even from dying.

» Hearing screening checks for hearing loss. Identifying hearing loss
early helps babies stay on track with their speech, language and
communication skills as they grow.

* Pulse oximetry screening checks for a set of life-threatening heart
defects known as critical congenital heart disease, or CCHD. If
detected early, babies with CCHD can often be helped with surgery or
other medical treatments.

Why are newborn screenings done?

Babies with these diseases may seem completely normal at birth.
However, if the health problems aren’t treated, babies can get very sick
and develop serious health problems. Some health problems have to be
found and treated early to prevent possible death of the baby.

Who is screened?

The law requires that every baby born in Tennessee be tested.

How are babies tested?

* Blood spot screening: The hospital or birthing facility gets a drop of
blood by pricking your baby’s heel. The blood is placed on a special
filter paper and sent to the State Laboratory.

* Hearing screening: There are two ways to screen your baby’s hearing.

Both are safe and are usually done when your baby is asleep. The first
test measures a tiny sound the ear makes when the baby is hearing
properly; this test is called an Otoacoustic Emissions (OAE) test. The
second test measures the baby’s nerve response to sound. This is
called an Auditory Brainstem Response (ABR) test.

* Pulse oximetry: A small strip, like a bandage, is placed around your
baby’s foot and/or hand. The strip has a special sensor that measures
the oxygen level in your baby’s blood. The doctor or nurse can tell you
if the results are normal or abnormal.

Hospital Staff:

Review the following information with parents if the specimen
was collected <24 hours of age and the baby is being
discharged home.

To be sure the screening results are accurate, babies who
go home and have had a newborn screening specimen
collected prior to 24 hours of age must be rescreened. Your
baby’s specimen was collected when he or she was less
than 24 hours old and will need to be repeated when your
baby is between 24-48 hours of age. Take your baby to your
pediatrician or local health department to have the specimen
recollected.




FOR MORE INFORMATION

To learn more about newborn screening, contact your baby’s doctor, your
local health department or visit one of the websites below:

Tennessee Department of Health Newborn Screening Program
http://www.tn.gov/health/topic/MCH-nbs

Baby'’s First Test
http://www.babysfirsttest.org/

Save Babies Through Screening Foundation
http://www.savebabies.org/

NewSTEPs
http://newsteps.org/parents-and-caregivers

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
http://www.cdc.gov/newbornscreening/

Tennessee Department of Health Authorization No. 343550,
No. of copies;80,000.
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Where are newborn screenings done?

All screenings are performed in the hospital or birthing facility. The blood
sample is sent to the State Laboratory in Nashville for testing. Your
baby’s doctor can give you the results of the blood sample test. The
hearing screening results and CCHD results are available right after the
screening is done. Your baby’s doctor or nurse can discuss the results
with you. Most of the time, parents are only told about the hearing and
CCHD test results if the baby needs a repeat screening; this means if

the tests are fine and no problems were found, you may not get a call or
other notice about the results of these tests. You can ask about the result
when you take your baby to the doctor for a regular checkup.

When are newborn screenings done?

Screenings are done before you take your baby home from the hospital.
If your baby is not born in a hospital, the tests are done between 24-48
hours after your baby’s birth.

My baby seems very healthy. Does my baby still need the tests?

YES! Most babies with the health problems these tests look for won't
show any obvious signs of disease at birth. The screening tests can
detect these health conditions before problems develop. By testing every
baby between 24-48 hours after its birth, a baby who has one of these
diseases will be identified and doctors can start a treatment plan.

What health problems are screened for in Tennessee?

Tennessee’s newborn screening program tests for more than 50 health
problems. For the most up-to-date list of these health problems, visit the
Tennessee Department of Health’s newborn screening program website
at http://www.tn.gov/health/article/MCH-nbs-parents.

What if we have no family history of these conditions?

Most babies with these health problems are born to families with no
history of the problems and/or who already have other, healthy children.

What happens to my baby’s blood spot after the screening at the lab?

Blood samples are kept for one year to give time for the baby’s doctor to
ask for more tests. After one year, both the blood sample and the form
with information that identifies your baby are destroyed.

If a blood sample is needed for helping check the quality of the lab work
or the test process, that sample may be kept for longer than one year if
the form with information that identifies your baby has been separated
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from the sample and destroyed, to make sure the source of the sample
cannot be identified.

Can | refuse screening for my baby?

Babies can be exempt from testing based on their parent’s religious
beliefs. If you believe the tests are against your religious beliefs or
practices, you must sign a written statement. The statement will be sent
to the Department of Health. You can get this form from the hospital or
birthing facility where you have your baby, or find it online at
http://www.tn.gov/assets/entities/health/attachments/PH-3686.pdf.

What is the Tennessee Birth Defects Registry?

The Tennessee Birth Defects Registry is not part of the Newborn
Screening Program; however, it is operated by the Tennessee
Department of Health.

The Tennessee Birth Defects Registry, or TBDR, was created in June
2000 to provide annual information on birth defects. The TBDR gets
information from birth and death certificates. This information is collected
and kept secure by the Tennessee Department of Health. TBDR does a
report on birth defects every year. No information that identifies any baby
or person is contained in the report.

AFTER THE TEST

When will | get my baby’s results?

Your baby’s hearing and pulse oximetry test results will be ready the day
your baby is screened. Be sure to ask your baby’s health care provider to
discuss the test results with you.

The blood spot test takes a few days, but your baby’s health care
provider will contact you as soon as possible if the test shows your baby
may have a problem. The first time you take your baby for a well-child
doctor visit is also a good time to talk to your baby’s health care provider
about the test results.

What happens if one of the test results is “abnormal”?

If any of the tests from the blood drops show a possible health problem,
the follow-up program will contact your baby’s doctor or the health
department right away to ask for another blood sample. You will be asked
to bring your baby in to the doctor as soon as possible. It's very important

to get your baby to the doctor as soon as you can. Your baby will be
referred to a doctor who specializes in the health problem to confirm if

it does have that problem, and to get treatment if it does. You should
make sure the hospital where your baby is born has the right name,
address and phone number for you in case your baby needs more tests.
Remember, it is very important to get these tests quickly after your baby
is born.

If your baby needs more testing or treatment after the hearing screening,
the hospital will tell you before you take your baby home. You will get a
letter to remind you to have your baby’s hearing tested again.

If your baby needs more testing or treatment after the CCHD testing, the
hospital will tell you what to do before you leave the hospital.

If a repeat screen is necessary, does that mean that my baby is sick or
cannot hear?

Not necessarily. Repeat testing may be needed to find out if your child
has a health problem that needs more tests or treatment.

There are several reasons your baby may need to repeat the hearing
test. If your baby’s doctor thinks the baby is at risk for hearing loss, the
doctor will need to check on the baby’s hearing until he or she is three
years old. You and the baby’s doctor will get reminder letters about the
hearing tests that your baby needs.

If my baby has a disorder, will my future children have it too?

They might. Families who have a child with one of these health problems
should get information about their chance that any other children

they may have will have the same health problem. You can get that
information from the Tennessee Genetics Network. Find out about this
program and how to get in touch with them at http://tn.gov/health/article/
MCH-nbs-resources.

If my baby has one of the health problems, can it be cured?

It cannot be cured, just as you can’t permanently change eye color or
how tall the baby will be. However, starting medical treatment early
may help lower, and often prevent, the serious problems caused by the
disease.
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