

CONTACT: <u>TDH.Media@tn.gov</u>

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE May 15, 2024

DISCIPLINARY ACTION REPORT

NASHVILLE, Tenn. - Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 68-1-114 requires the Tennessee Department of Health to issue a monthly media release listing all disciplinary actions taken by the health related boards during the prior month. Below is a list of actions taken in April 2024. Detailed information about disciplinary actions available is on our website https://apps.health.tn.gov/Licensure/default.aspx . Enter the name of the person. When the license information comes up, click either "disciplinary action" or "adverse licensure action" in the right column. Registry information is available on our website at https://apps.health.tn.gov/AbuseRegistry/default.aspx. Facility information is available on our website at https://apps.health.tn.gov/facilityListings/

BOARD OF CHIROPRACTIC EXAMINERS

Licensee: Crystal Cleek, CTA, License No. 1710, Munford

Violation: When requested, licensees shall provide the board satisfactory proof of the licensee's attendance at a chiropractic education program or programs conducted by either the American Chiropractic Association, the International Chiropractors Association, the Tennessee Chiropractic Association, or any other educational program approved or conducted by the board which consists of the minimum number of hours established hereunder for the period beginning the preceding January 1; Immoral, unethical, unprofessional or dishonorable conduct; Any certificate holder who falsely certifies attendance and completion of the required hours of continuing education requirements, or who does not or cannot adequately and timely substantiate completed continuing education hours with the required documentation, may be subject to disciplinary action. Such disciplinary action may include a civil penalty of up to three hundred (\$300) dollars and the requirement that deficient hours be made up within the next calendar year or any other lawful discipline; Continuing education hours obtained as a result of compliance with the terms of a Board Order in any disciplinary action shall not be credited toward the continuing education hours required to be obtained in any renewal period.

Action: License Reprimanded; \$300 civil penalties; costs not to exceed \$500; deficient six



(6) CE hours due within one (1) year of effective date

- Licensee: Kelli J. Friedmann, CXT, License No. 793, Knoxville
- Violation: Respondent practiced as a chiropractic x-ray technologist for 21 months with an expired certification.
- Action: Reprimand, \$200 civil penalty, and costs.
- Licensee: Ryan Christopher Humphrey, DC, License No. 3003, Spring Hill
- Violation: Respondent failed to timely renewed license and practiced on an expired license for approximately four (4) months from October 1, 2023, to January 24, 2024.Action: Agreed citation. Assessed civil penalty of \$1,500.00.
- Licensee: Neil Jordan Kjos, DC, License No. 1430, Chattanooga
- Violation: Respondent failed to timely renewed license and practiced on an expired license for approximately four (4) months from September 1, 2023, to December 31, 2023.Action: Agreed citation. Assessed civil penalty of \$1,500.00.

Licensee: William Moroney, DC, License No. 2712, Nashville

Violation: When requested, licensees shall provide the board satisfactory proof of the licensee's attendance at a chiropractic education program or programs conducted by either the American Chiropractic Association, the International Chiropractors Association, the Tennessee Chiropractic Association, or any other educational program approved or conducted by the board which consists of the minimum number of hours established hereunder for the period beginning the preceding January 1; Each chiropractic physician must retain independent documentation of continuing education hours attained for a period of four (4) years from the end of the calendar year in which the training is received. Such proof must be produced for inspection and verification, if requested in writing by the board during its verification process; Immoral, unethical, unprofessional or dishonorable conduct; Any licensee who falsely certifies attendance and completion of the required hours of continuing education requirements, or who does not or cannot adequately substantiate completed continuing education hours with the required documentation, may be subject to disciplinary action; Any licensee who fails to show compliance with the required continuing education hours in response to the notice contemplated by subparagraph (b) above may be subject to disciplinary action. That disciplinary action will include: (1) Assessment of a civil penalty in the amount of \$600.00, which must be paid no later than 30 days after the assessment becomes final; and (2) A requirement that the licensee must make up the hours in which he/she is deficient, in addition to the continuing education hours necessary to be obtained annually. The deficient hours must be made up in the subsequent year. Failure to fulfill these requirements may result in additional disciplinary action.

Action:

License Reprimanded; \$600 civil penalties; costs not to exceed \$500; deficient four and a half (4.5) CE hours due within one (1) year of effective date.



Licensee:	Joseph Allan Muse, DC, License No. 2765
Violation:	Respondent failed to timely renew license and practiced on an expired license for
	approximately two months from December 1, 2023, to on or about January 31,
	2024.
Action:	Agreed citation. Assessed civil penalty of \$500.

DENTISTRY BOARD

Licensee: Violation: Action:	Kimberly D. Adcock, RDA 2753, Mt. Juliet Failure to complete continuing education requirements Agreed Citation; must submit continuing education; assessed civil penalty in the amount of \$150.00
Licensee: Violation: Action:	Douglas Andreasen, DDS 11236, Laguna Vista, TX Failure to complete continuing education requirements Agreed Citation; must submit continuing education; assessed civil penalty in the amount of \$600.00
Licensee: Violation: Action:	Hannah Anglin, RDA 28190, Decaturville Failure to complete continuing education requirements Agreed Citation; must submit continuing education; assessed civil penalty in the amount of \$150.00
Licensee: Violation: Action:	Felicia Archer, RDH 3885, Arlington Failure to complete continuing education requirements Agreed Citation; must submit continuing education; assessed civil penalty in the amount of \$300.00
Licensee: Violation:	Rachel Battles, RDA, 24162, Soddy Daisy Unprofessional, dishonorable or unethical conduct. A violation or attempted violation, directly or indirectly, or assisting in or abetting the violation of, or conspiring to violate, this chapter or any lawful order of the board issued pursuant thereto or any criminal statute of this state. Any other unprofessional or unethical conduct that may be specified by the board by the means of rules and regulations duly published and promulgated by the board or the violation of any provision of this chapter. The board may also revoke or suspend the license or registration of, assess a civil penalty for each separate violation against or otherwise lawfully discipline any dental hygienist or dental assistant violating any of the provisions of this chapter. Pursuant to T.C.A. § 63-5-124, the board is authorized to refuse to grant a license or certificate to an applicant or to discipline an individual licensed or certified by the Board if that individual has engaged in unprofessional conduct. Pursuant to its authority under T.C.A. § 63-5-124, the board declares that unprofessional conduct



Action:

includes, but is not limited to . . . Practicing with an expired, retired, suspended or revoked license, permit, or registration. Dentistry's Policy Statement on Lapsed License Policy (Ratified July 14, 2022) (If the licensee practiced on a lapsed license for six (6) months or longer, the licensee shall be referred to the Office of Investigations and Office of General Counsel for formal disciplinary action. Upon a proven violation, the minimum disciplinary action for this violation shall be: A. A formal and reportable Reprimand on the license; B. Assessment of civil penalties in an amount to exceed \$300 per month for every month in which the individual has worked at least one day beyond the sixty (60) calendar day grace period, not to exceed . . . \$2,000 for dental assistants. . .; C. Assessment of costs associated with investigating and prosecuting the matter; and D. Any and all other remedies the board deems appropriate Reprimanded; assessed civil penalties in the amount of \$2,000; plus costs not to exceed \$3,000

Licensee: Marissa Beard, RDA, 26869, Soddy Daisy

Violation: Unprofessional, dishonorable or unethical conduct. A violation or attempted violation, directly or indirectly, or assisting in or abetting the violation of, or conspiring to violate, this chapter or any lawful order of the board issued pursuant thereto or any criminal statute of this state. Any other unprofessional or unethical conduct that may be specified by the board by the means of rules and regulations duly published and promulgated by the board or the violation of any provision of this chapter. The board may also revoke or suspend the license or registration of, assess a civil penalty for each separate violation against or otherwise lawfully discipline any dental hygienist or dental assistant violating any of the provisions of this chapter. Pursuant to T.C.A. § 63-5-124, the board is authorized to refuse to grant a license or certificate to an applicant or to discipline an individual licensed or certified by the board if that individual has engaged in unprofessional conduct. Pursuant to its authority under T.C.A. § 63-5-124, the board declares that unprofessional conduct includes, but is not limited to . . . Practicing with an expired, retired, suspended or revoked license, permit, or registration. Dentistry's Policy Statement on Lapsed License Policy (Ratified July 14, 2022) (If the licensee practiced on a lapsed license for six (6) months or longer, the licensee shall be referred to the Office of Investigations and Office of General Counsel for formal disciplinary action. Upon a proven violation, the minimum disciplinary action for this violation shall be: A. A formal and reportable reprimand on the license; B. Assessment of civil penalties in an amount to exceed \$300 per month for every month in which the individual has worked at least one day beyond the sixty (60) calendar day grace period, not to exceed ... \$2,000 for dental assistants. ..; C. Assessment of costs associated with investigating and prosecuting the matter; and D. Any and all other remedies the Board deems appropriate Reprimanded; assessed civil penalties in the amount of \$2,000; plus costs not to Action: exceed \$3,000

Licensee: Marty A. Blair, RDA 6688, Rogersville



Violation: Failure to complete continuing education requirementsAction: Agreed Citation; must submit continuing education; assessed civil penalty in the amount of \$150.00

Licensee: Brooke M. Bunton, RDA, Registration No. 26657, Clarksville

Violation: Unprofessional, dishonorable or unethical conduct. A violation or attempted violation, directly or indirectly, or assisting in or abetting the violation of, or conspiring to violate, this chapter or any lawful order of the board issued pursuant thereto or any criminal statute of this state. Any other unprofessional or unethical conduct that may be specified by the board by the means of rules and regulations duly published and promulgated by the board or the violation of any provision of this chapter. The board may also revoke or suspend the license or registration of, assess a civil penalty for each separate violation against or otherwise lawfully discipline any dental hygienist or dental assistant violating any of the provisions of this chapter. Pursuant to T.C.A. § 63-5-124, the board is authorized to refuse to grant a license or certificate to an applicant or to discipline an individual licensed or certified by the Board if that individual has engaged in unprofessional conduct. Pursuant to its authority under T.C.A. § 63-5-124, the Board declares that unprofessional conduct includes, but is not limited to . . . Practicing with an expired, retired, suspended or revoked license, permit, or registration. Dentistry's Policy Statement on Lapsed License Policy (Ratified July 14, 2022) (If the licensee practiced on a lapsed license for six (6) months or longer, the licensee shall be referred to the Office of Investigations and Office of General Counsel for formal disciplinary action. Upon a proven violation, the minimum disciplinary action for this violation shall be: A. A formal and reportable reprimand on the license; B. Assessment of civil penalties in an amount to exceed \$300 per month for every month in which the individual has worked at least one day beyond the sixty (60) calendar day grace period, not to exceed . . . \$2,000 for dental assistant. ..; C. Assessment of costs associated with investigating and prosecuting the matter; and D. Any and all other remedies the board deems appropriate Action: Reprimanded; assessed civil penalties in the amount of \$2,000; plus costs not to exceed \$3,000 Licensee: Cheyenne S. Clark, RDA 26433, Rutherford Violation: Failure to complete continuing education requirements

- Action: Agreed Citation; must submit continuing education; assessed civil penalty in the amount of \$150.00
- Licensee: Roseshamala Corray, RDA 26068, Knoxville
- Violation: Failure to complete continuing education requirements
- Action: Agreed Citation; must submit continuing education; assessed civil penalty in the amount of \$150.00

Licensee: Tiffany Day, RDA 27799, Chattanooga



Violation: Action:	Failure to complete continuing education requirements Agreed Citation; must submit continuing education; assessed civil penalty in the amount of \$150.00
Licensee: Violation: Action:	Erika Deblock, RDA 16846, White Bluff Failure to complete continuing education requirements Agreed Citation; must submit continuing education; assessed civil penalty in the amount of \$150.00
Licensee: Violation:	Abby Louise Dendy, RDA, Registration No. 16120, Columbia Unprofessional, dishonorable or unethical conduct. A violation or attempted violation, directly or indirectly, or assisting in or abetting the violation of, or conspiring to violate, this chapter or any lawful order of the board issued pursuant thereto or any criminal statute of this state. Any other unprofessional or unethical conduct that may be specified by the board by the means of rules and regulations duly published and promulgated by the board or the violation of any provision of this chapter. The board may also revoke or suspend the license or registration of, assess a civil penalty for each separate violation against or otherwise lawfully discipline any dental hygienist or dental assistant violating any of the provisions of this chapter. Pursuant to T.C.A. § 63-5-124, the board is authorized to refuse to grant a license or certificate to an applicant or to discipline an individual licensed or certified by the board if that individual has engaged in unprofessional conduct. Pursuant to its authority under T.C.A. § 63-5-124, the board declares that unprofessional conduct includes, but is not limited to Practicing with an expired, retired, suspended or revoked license, permit, or registration. Dentistry's Policy Statement on Lapsed License Policy (Ratified July 14, 2022) (If the licensee practiced on a lapsed license for six (6) months or longer, the licensee shall be referred to the Office of Investigations and Office of General Counsel for formal disciplinary action. Upon a proven violation, the minimum disciplinary action for this violation shall be: A. A formal and reportable reprimand on the license; B. Assessment of civil penalties in an amount to exceed \$300 per month for every month in which the individual has worked at least one day beyond the sixty (60) calendar day grace period, not to exceed \$2,000 for dental assistants. ; C. Assessment of costs associated with investigating and prosecuting the matter; and D. Any and all ot
Licensee: Violation: Action:	Chad E. Fowler, DDS 8634, Franklin Failure to complete continuing education requirements Agreed Citation; must submit continuing education; assessed civil penalty in the amount of \$1,200.00
Licensee:	Sean M. Fox, DDS 9290, Murfreesboro



Violation: Action:	Failure to complete continuing education requirements Agreed Citation; must submit continuing education; assessed civil penalty in the amount of \$600.00
Licensee: Violation: Action:	Crystal Franco, RDA 21142, Clarksville Failure to complete continuing education requirements Agreed Citation; must submit continuing education; assessed civil penalty in the amount of \$150.00
Licensee: Violation: Action:	Amber Gibbs, RDH #10714, Elmwood Operating on a lapsed license Agreed citation; assessed civil penalty in the amount of \$150.00
Licensee: Violation: Action:	Laura Golan, RDA #20738, Seymour Failure to complete continuing education requirements Agreed citation; must submit continuing education; assessed civil penalty in the amount of \$150.00
Licensee: Violation: Action:	Hayley Hall, RDH #9844, Knoxville Failure to complete continuing education requirements Agreed citation; must submit continuing education; assessed civil penalty in the amount of \$300.00
Licensee: Violation:	Morgan Hall, RDA, Lic. No. 25958, Gallatin Unprofessional conduct; board order violation; habitual intoxication or misuse of alcohol in such manner to adversely affect ability to practice; violation of term or limitation imposed by the board
Action:	Voluntary surrender of registration (same as revocation); must pay costs up to \$1,000
Licensee: Violation: Action:	Kaleb Harp, DDS #10912, Sherwood, AR Failure to complete continuing education requirements Agreed citation; must submit continuing education; assessed civil penalty in the amount of \$600.00
Licensee: Violation: Action:	John Harrison, DDS #10899, Knoxville Failure to complete continuing education requirements Agreed citation; must submit continuing education; assessed civil penalty in the amount of \$600.00
Licensee: Violation: Action:	Bethany Jones, RDH #9531, Baxter Failure to complete continuing education requirements Agreed citation; must submit continuing education; assessed civil penalty in the amount of \$300.00



Licensee: Violation: Action:	John Klecker, DDS #11215, Collierville Failure to complete continuing education requirements Agreed citation; must submit continuing education; assessed civil penalty in the amount of \$600.00
Licensee: Violation: Action:	Ashley Leon, RDH #8778, Union City Failure to complete continuing education requirements Agreed citation; must submit continuing education; assessed civil penalty in the amount of \$300.00
Licensee: Violation: Action:	Sara Love, RDH #9974, Culleoka Failure to complete continuing education requirements Agreed citation; must submit continuing education; assessed civil penalty in the amount of \$300.00
Licensee: Violation:	Kaisle Janet Marlow, RDA, Registration No. 28277, Murfreesboro Unprofessional, dishonorable or unethical conduct. A violation or attempted violation, directly or indirectly, or assisting in or abetting the violation of, or conspiring to violate, this chapter or any lawful order of the board issued pursuant thereto or any criminal statute of this state. Any other unprofessional or unethical conduct that may be specified by the board by the means of rules and regulations duly published and promulgated by the board or the violation of any provision of this chapter. The board may also revoke or suspend the license or registration of, assess a civil penalty for each separate violation against or otherwise lawfully discipline any dental hygienist or dental assistant violating any of the provisions of this chapter. Pursuant to T.C.A. § 63-5-124, the Board is authorized to refuse to grant a license or certificate to an applicant or to discipline an individual licensed or certified by the board if that individual has engaged in unprofessional conduct. Pursuant to its authority under T.C.A. § 63-5-124, the board declares that unprofessional conduct includes, but is not limited to Practicing with an expired, retired, suspended or revoked license, permit, or registration. Dentistry's Policy Statement on Lapsed License Policy (Ratified July 14, 2022) (If the licensee practiced on a lapsed license for six (6) months or longer, the licensee shall be referred to the Office of Investigations and Office of General Counsel for formal disciplinary action. Upon a proven violation, the minimum disciplinary action for this violation shall be: A. A formal and reportable reprimand on the license; B. Assessment of civil penalties in an amount to exceed \$300 per month for every month in which the individual has worked at least one day beyond the sixty (60) calendar day grace period, not to exceed \$2,000 for dental assistants. ; C. Assessment of costs associated with investigating and prosecuting the matter; and D. Any and all
Action:	Reprimanded; assessed civil penalties in the amount of \$2,000; plus costs not to exceed \$3,000



Licensee: Violation: Action:	Mariah F. McCoy, RDA 25466, Knoxville Unprofessional conduct; Board order violation Stayed probation; must pay costs up to \$1,000
Licensee: Violation: Action:	Mary K. Middlecoff, DDS 7981, Somerville Failure to complete continuing education Agreed citation; must submit continuing education; assessed civil penalty in the amount of \$600.00
Licensee: Violation: Action:	Emily N. Miller, RDH 9846, Knoxville Failure to complete continuing education Agreed citation; must submit continuing education; assessed civil penalty in the amount of \$300.00
Licensee: Violation: Action:	Taran K. Nanney, RDA 21253, Johnson City Failure to complete continuing education Agreed citation; must submit continuing education; assessed civil penalty in the amount of \$150.00
Licensee: Violation: Action:	Sharline Patterson, RDH 8745, Memphis Failure to complete continuing education Agreed citation; must submit continuing education; assessed civil penalty in the amount of \$600.00
Licensee: Violation: Action:	Amy Lee Pruitt-Abernathy, RDA 14200, Memphis Failure to complete continuing education requirements Reprimand; must make up missing continuing education hours within 90 days; \$300 civil penalty; costs up to \$1,000
Licensee: Violation: Action:	Jenny Ramsay, RDH 8639, Morgan, UT Failure to complete continuing education Agreed citation; must submit continuing education; assessed civil penalty in the amount of \$300.00
Licensee: Violation:	Xochitl Rivera, RDA 27040, Humboldt Unprofessional, dishonorable or unethical conduct. A violation or attempted violation, directly or indirectly, or assisting in or abetting the violation of, or conspiring to violate, this chapter or any lawful order of the board issued pursuant thereto or any criminal statute of this state. Any other unprofessional or unethical conduct that may be specified by the board by the means of rules and regulations duly published and promulgated by the board or the violation of any provision of this chapter. The board may also revoke or suspend the license or registration of, assess



Action:	a civil penalty for each separate violation against or otherwise lawfully discipline any dental hygienist or dental assistant violating any of the provisions of this chapter. Pursuant to T.C.A. § 63-5-124, the board is authorized to refuse to grant a license or certificate to an applicant or to discipline an individual licensed or certified by the board if that individual has engaged in unprofessional conduct. Pursuant to its authority under T.C.A. § 63-5-124, the board declares that unprofessional conduct includes, but is not limited to Practicing with an expired, retired, suspended or revoked license, permit, or registration. Dentistry's Policy Statement on Lapsed License Policy (Ratified July 14, 2022) (If the licensee practiced on a lapsed license for six (6) months or longer, the licensee shall be referred to the Office of Investigations and Office of General Counsel for formal disciplinary action. Upon a proven violation, the minimum disciplinary action for this violation shall be: A. A formal and reportable Reprimand on the license; B. Assessment of civil penalties in an amount to exceed \$300 per month for every month in which the individual has worked at least one day beyond the sixty (60) calendar day grace period, not to exceed \$2,000 for dental assistants; C. Assessment of costs associated with investigating and prosecuting the matter; and D. Any and all other remedies the board deems appropriate Reprimanded; assessed civil penalties in the amount of \$2,000; plus costs not to exceed \$3,000
Licensee: Violation: Action:	April Nicole Roach, RDH 5167, Greenbrier Felony conviction; failure to report conviction to board Stayed suspension; probation for 5 years or term of her registration as a sex offender, whichever is longer; must comply with all sex offender registration and criminal sentencing terms; may not treat patients under 18 years of age; must have another adult employee of her dental practice present on the practice premises anytime she is present; must notify all current and any future supervising dentists of criminal convictions and Consent Order terms within 7 days of beginning work with such dentist; must pay costs up to \$1,000; any violation of the terms of her sex offender registration, criminal sentencing, or Consent Order shall automatically lift the stay of suspension and the suspension will be reinstated.
Licensee: Violation: Action:	Bethany Roach, RDA 28145, Lexington Failure to complete continuing education Agreed citation; must submit continuing education; assessed civil penalty in the amount of \$150.00
Licensee: Violation: Action:	Kathryn Roberson, DDS 11219, Greeneville Failure to complete continuing education Agreed citation; must submit continuing education; assessed civil penalty in the amount of \$600.00
Licensee: Violation:	Linda Russell, RDH 10158, Rock Island Failure to complete continuing education



Action: Agreed citation; must submit continuing education; assessed civil penalty in the amount of \$300.00

Licensee: Kathryn Anne Sneed, DDS 8824, Collierville

Violation: A patient at Respondent's practice did not receive the second TMJ device that was ordered by the independent contractor dentist without Respondent's knowledge. During a December 2019 site visit to the Respondent's practice, an investigator for the State of Tennessee testified that she discovered vacutainers that expired in May and July of 2018, sterile water that expired in July 2017, expired Zoom take home kits, dirty lab, and the emergency kit was difficult to locate. Subsequently, an Infection Prevention Consultant from the Tennessee Department of Health conducted an infection control assessment of the Respondent's office. The assessment uncovered a myriad of improper infection prevention and control practices. Some of the findings included expired medications, medications were not appropriately secured, multidose vials were not dated when opened, and there were no autoclave logs. Further, the Respondent was unable to provide proof of the four (4) continuing education hours required to maintain her comprehensive conscious sedation permit for the 2019-2020 continuing education cycle. Disinfection must be accomplished with an appropriate disinfectant that is registered with the EPA and used in accordance with the manufacturer's instructions or with bleach used in a dilution ratio of one (1) to ten (10) or one hundred (100) [1:10 or 1:100]. The disinfection process must be followed between each patient in the absence of a barrier; All dentists, dental hygienists, and dental assistants shall follow hand hygiene guidelines in accordance with current CDC recommendations...; Documentation must be maintained on all heat sterilizing devices in a log reflecting dates and person(s) conducting the testing, or by retaining copies of reports from an independent testing entity. The documentation shall be maintained for a period of at least two (2) years and shall be maintained in the dental office and be made immediately available upon request by an authorized agent of the Tennessee Department of Health; Continuing education. In order to maintain a limited or comprehensive conscious sedation or deep sedation/general anesthesia permit, a dentist must: (c)Obtain a minimum of four (4) hours of continuing education in the subject of anesthesia and/or sedation as part of the required forty (40) hours of continuing education for dental licensure. ACLS or PALS certification shall not be included as any part of the required four (4) hours. Action: Reprimand; \$800 civil penalty and costs

Licensee:Page Stahl, RDA 18947, PortlandViolation:Failure to complete continuing educationAction:Agreed citation; must submit continuing education; assessed civil penalty in the
amount of \$150.00

Licensee: Allie Stowe, RDA, Murfreesboro, TN



Violation: Action:	Violation of statutes: Unprofessional, dishonorable, or unethical conduct; a violation of any lawful order of the board. Respondent's RDA license is Voluntarily Retired, same as Revocation. Respondent is ordered to pay the costs of the case not to exceed \$200.
Licensee: Violation: Action:	Gracie Swallows, RDA 27970, Livingston Failure to complete continuing education Agreed citation; must submit continuing education; assessed civil penalty in the amount of \$150.00
Licensee: Violation: Action:	Yvonne Tomlinson, DDS 11409, Nashville Failure to complete continuing education Agreed citation; must submit continuing education; assessed civil penalty in the amount of \$600.00
Licensee: Violation: Action:	April N. West-Rhea, RDA, Lic. No. 18933, Johnson City Unprofessional conduct; board order violation Stayed suspension; probation for five (5) years or the term of her monitoring agreement; \$500 civil penalty; costs up to \$5,000
Licensee: Violation: Action:	Gwendolyn D. Williams, RDA, Lic. No. 22297, Brentwood Unprofessional conduct; failure to complete continuing education requirements; failure to maintain CPR certification Reprimand; must make up missing continuing education hours and show proof of current CPR certification within 90 days; \$150 civil penalty; costs up to \$2,000
Licensee: Violation: Action:	Amber Janese Younis, RDA, Lic. No. 23152, Memphis Unprofessional conduct; Board order violation Probation; \$100 civil penalty; must pay costs up to \$1,000
Licensee: Violation: Action:	Ashlyn B. Zeller, RDA 27586, Nashville Failure to complete continuing education Agreed citation; must submit continuing education; assessed civil penalty in the amount of \$150.00

BOARD OF DIETITIAN/NUTRITIONIST EXAMINERS

Licensee:Elizabeth T. Hodges, LDN #4210, Nashville (late submission from February 2024)Violation:Operating on a lapsed licenseAction:Agreed citation; assessed civil penalty in the amount of \$200



BOARD OF DISPENSING OPTICIANS

Licensee: Violation: Action:	Carol Arney, DPO 1533, Elizabethton Failure to complete continuing education Agreed citation; must submit continuing education; assessed civil penalty in the amount of \$100.00
Licensee: Violation: Action:	April Lyles, DPO 2353, Oliver Springs Failure to complete continuing education Agreed citation; must submit continuing education; assessed civil penalty in the amount of \$100.00
Licensee: Violation: Action:	Nalini Persaud, DPO 3519, Mt. Juliet Failure to complete continuing education Agreed citation; must submit continuing education; assessed civil penalty in the amount of \$100.00
Licensee: Violation: Action:	Willie Person, DPO 2450, Riverview, FL Failure to complete continuing education Agreed citation; must submit continuing education; assessed civil penalty in the amount of \$100.00
Licensee: Violation: Action:	Kimberly Stahl, DPO 1869, Benton, KY Failure to complete continuing education Agreed citation; must submit continuing education; assessed civil penalty in the amount of \$100.00

MASSAGE LICENSURE BOARD

Licensee: Mitchell L. Wernsing, LMT 8254, Nashville

Violation: Is guilty of willful negligence in the practice of massage; Has violated any of the provisions of this chapter or any substantive rule promulgated under the authority of this chapter; Is guilty of unethical or unprofessional conduct; Proper draping technique is of the utmost importance when performing massage therapy to ensure the comfort and safety of the therapist and the client. At all times massage therapists must provide draping and treatment in a way that ensures the safety, comfort and privacy of the client; Before beginning a massage, the therapist must explain to the client the draping techniques that will be used and provide the client a clean drape large enough for the purpose of draping the buttocks and genitalia and, in the case of female clients, the breasts. Such body parts must remain covered except during therapeutic treatment of those specific areas, with the exception of the genitalia, which shall always remain covered; Sexual conduct, sexual activity, or sexualizing behavior involving a client is strictly prohibited at all times. A massage therapist may not initiate, arrange for, or engage in such activities, including if the client attempts to sexualize the relationship; Respect the client's boundaries with regard to privacy, disclosure, exposure, emotional expression, beliefs, and



autonomy, as well as the client's reasonable expectations of professional behavior[.]

Action: Summarily suspend massage therapist license and massage establishment license

- Licensee: Mitch Wernsing Therapeutic Massage, LME 6247, Hendersonville (Mitchell Wernsing, Owner)
- Violation: Is guilty of willful negligence in the practice of massage; Has violated any of the provisions of this chapter or any substantive rule promulgated under the authority of this chapter; Is guilty of unethical or unprofessional conduct; Proper draping technique is of the utmost importance when performing massage therapy to ensure the comfort and safety of the therapist and the client. At all times massage therapists must provide draping and treatment in a way that ensures the safety, comfort and privacy of the client; Before beginning a massage, the therapist must explain to the client the draping techniques that will be used and provide the client a clean drape large enough for the purpose of draping the buttocks and genitalia and, in the case of female clients, the breasts. Such body parts must remain covered except during therapeutic treatment of those specific areas, with the exception of the genitalia, which shall always remain covered; Sexual conduct, sexual activity, or sexualizing behavior involving a client is strictly prohibited at all times. A massage therapist may not initiate, arrange for, or engage in such activities, including if the client attempts to sexualize the relationship; Respect the client's boundaries with regard to privacy, disclosure, exposure, emotional expression, beliefs, and autonomy, as well as the client's reasonable expectations of professional behavior[.]

Action: Summarily suspend massage therapist license and massage establishment license

BOARD OF OPTOMETRY

Licensee:	Erwin Quirand, OD 961, Knoxville
Violation:	Operating on a lapsed license
Action:	Agreed citation; assessed civil penalty in the amount of \$200

BOARD OF OSTEOPATHIC EXAMINATION

Licensee: Bowdoin G. Smith, DO, License No. 741, Carthage
Action: Automatic restriction of healthcare prescriber's Schedule II controlled substance prescriptive authority.
Reason: State or federal indictment for an offense that involves a controlled substance violation or sexual offense, your authority to prescribe Schedule II controlled substances is automatically suspended in accordance with T.C.A. § 63-1-170.

BOARD FOR PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS, MARITAL AND FAMILY THERAPISTS, AND LICENSED PASTORAL THERAPISTS



Licensee: Mark Carpenter, LPC/MHSP, License No. 1976, Nashville

Violation: Violating the rules and regulations adopted by the board; All licensees and certificate holders shall comply with the current code of ethics adopted by the American Counseling Association, except to the extent that it conflicts with the laws of the state of Tennessee or the rules of the board; The certified professional counselor and licensed professional counselor and anyone under his supervision shall conduct their professional practice in conformity with the legal, ethical and professional standards promulgated by the board under its current statutes and rules and regulations; Avoiding Harm. Counselors act to avoid harming their clients, trainees, and research participants and to minimize or to remedy unavoidable or unanticipated harm; Personnel Selection and/or assigning of responsibilities to others, they select competent staff and assign responsibilities compatible with their skills and experiences.

Action: Complete "Ethics in the Real World: Practical Approaches for Ethical Dilemmas in the Real World" for 15.75 CE hours; Complete "best practices in Clinical Supervision: A Blueprint for Providing Effective and Ethical Clinical Supervision" for six (6) CE hours; Complete "Understanding the Supervision Process: Ethical & Legal Issues and Risk Management" for three (3) CE hours; attend "TN Ethical Principles in the Practice of Tennessee Mental Health Professionals"; If the Respondent does not complete all the CE requirements within the required time, license to be placed on probation for no less than six (6) months and until the requirements are completed.

Licensee: Jennifer Drabowicz, LPC/MHSP, License No. 3801, Moscow

Violation: Respondent began treating Client for severe mental health problems on September 5, 2017, and continued the client-therapist relationship until February 2018 when she terminated the professional relationship due to the development of transference/countertransference problems. Respondent referred Client to a different therapist, but Client did not go see a new therapist. Client continued to pursue Respondent until she agreed to begin a personal relationship. They married in January 2019 and have one child together. The marriage ended when Client was arrested for and convicted of attempted first-degree murder of Respondent and their child. When Respondent married a former client in less than five (5) years, she violated T.C.A. § 63-22-110(b)(4) Engaging in professional misconduct, unethical or unprofessional conduct, including, but not limited to, willful acts, negligence and conduct likely to deceive, defraud or harm the public or engaged in such conduct. Respondent also violated rule 0450-01-.13 which states that All licensees and certificate holders shall comply with the current code of ethics adopted by the American Counseling Association except to the extent that it conflicts with the laws of the state of Tennessee or the rules of the board. If the code of ethics conflicts with state law or rules, the state law or rules govern he matter. Violation of the code of ethics or state law or rules may subject a licensee or certificate holder to disciplinary



Action:	action. Respondent's actions also violated the 2014 American Counseling Association Code of Ethics A.5.c. Sexual and/or romantic counselor-client interactions or relationships with former clients, their romantic partners, or their family members are prohibited for a period of five (5) years following the last professional contact. Minimum of two years' probation; must have practice monitor and continue in therapy for two years; practice monitor and therapist must each submit monthly reports and a report at the end of the two years; both reports must state that Respondent is safe to practice, or she must remain on probation until safe to practice.
Licensee: Violation:	Tracy Howell, LPC, License No. 5552, Knoxville Respondent's LPC license expired on June 30, 2022, and Respondent failed to apply to renew or reinstate her license until June 16, 2023. Though she was unlicensed, Respondent continued to practice as an LPC until June 13, 2023, when she discovered that she had failed to timely renew her license. Respondent continued to attend continuing education courses while her license was lapsed. Violation of Rule 0450-01- 03 of the Tenn. Comp. R & Regs.
Action:	License placed on Probation for a minimum of six (6) months. Assessed Civil Penalties in the amount of \$1,000.00. Assessed case costs not to exceed \$500 dollars.

- Licensee: Justin Mickles, LPC/MHSP, License No. 4954, Clarksville
- Action: Practice monitor is no longer required. The licensee will remain on Probation until the successful satisfaction of the Nebraska settlement.
- Reason: Per Order of Compliance.

BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICAL EXAMINERS

Licensee: Jacob Anthony Bowen, CAET, License No. 944, Nolensville

- Violation: On or about December 30, 2020, Respondent's Certified Animal Euthanasia Technician ("C.A.E.T.") License expired. On or about March 10, 2022, Respondent filed his application to renew his CAET license. Between December 30, 2020 and March 10, 2022, Respondent was employed as an animal control officer in Nashville, Tennessee, where his job duties included performing or assisting in euthanasia procedures. The records from Respondent's employer showed that the Respondent was conducting and assisting in euthanasia procedures on animals, including dogs and racoons, between December 31, 2020 and January 21, 2022, when his license was expired.
- Action: License reprimanded. Assessed civil penalty of \$150.00 and assessed case costs not to exceed \$1,000.00.

Licensee:Laura Nicole Christian, DVM, License No. 4293, SeymourViolation:On or about December 31, 2021, Respondent's license to practice as a veterinarian



Action:	in Tennessee expired. On or about July 17, 2023, Respondent filed an application to reinstate their veterinarian license. Between December 31, 2021, and July 7, 2023, Respondent was employed as veterinarian in Seymour, Tennessee where Respondent's job duties included performing patient exams. Records from Respondent's employer show that Respondent was conducting patient exams during the time Respondent's license was expired. Additionally, Respondent admitted in a written statement that they continued to practice even though Respondent knew their veterinarian license had expired. License reprimanded. Assessed civil penalty of \$1,200.00. Assessed costs not to exceed \$1,000.00.
Licensee: Violation:	Leigh Erin Hooper, DVM, License No. 6080, Nashville Licensee failed to obtain 13.5 hours of continuing education (CE) credits during calendar year(s) 2021, in violation of Tenn. Code Ann. 63-12-120 and Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs., 1730-0112.
Action:	Agreed citation. Assessed civil penalty of \$675.00.
Licensee: Violation:	Justin Johnson, DVM, License No. 7079, Nashville Respondent has failed to timely renew the license in violation of Tenn. Code Ann. 3- 12-121, and Tenn. R. and Regs. 1730-0109.
Action:	Agreed citation. Assessed Civil Penalty of \$500.00.
Licensee:	Hailey Litchfield, Veterinary Medical Technician, Lic. #1800, Nashville Violation: Stealing controlled substances from Licensee's employer and ingesting them. Willful or repeated violation of any provisions of this chapter or any rules of the board; Unprofessional or unethical conduct or engaging in practices in connection with the practice of veterinary medicine that are in violation of the standards of professional conduct as defined in this section or prescribed by the rules of the board; Addiction to the habitual use of intoxicating liquors, narcotics or other stimulants to such an extent as to incapacitate the applicant or licensee from the performance of the applicant's or the licensee's professional obligations and duties;
Action:	License is placed on Suspension; Licensee may undergo an evaluation approved by the Tennessee Professional Assistance Program ("TnPAP").
Licensee: Violation:	Blake McCutchan Travis, DVM, License No. 5737, Memphis Licensee failed to obtain 20 hours of continuing education (CE) credits during calendar year 2019, failure to obtain 20 hours of CE credits during calendar year 2020, and failure to obtain three and a quarter (3.25) hours of CE credits during calendar year 2021, in violation of Tenn. Code Ann. 63-12-120 and Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs., 1730-0112
Action:	Agreed citation. Assessed civil penalty of \$2,162.50.
Licensee:	Blake McCutchan Travis, DVM, License No. 5737, Memphis



Violation: Action:	Licensee failed to timely renew Licensee's veterinary license in violation of Tenn. Code Ann. § 63-12-120, and Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs., 1730-0109. Agreed Citation. Assessed civil penalty of \$100.00.
Action.	Agreed citation. Assessed civil penalty of \$100.00.
Licensee:	Janalin Watson, DVM, License No. 3859, Oak Ridge
Violation:	Licensee failed to obtain two (2) hours of continuing education (CE) credits during calendar years) 2022 in violation of Tenn. Code Ann. 63- 12-120 and Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs., 1730-0112
Action:	Agreed Citation. Assessed civil penalty of \$100.00.
Licensee:	Veterinary Referral Center of East Tennessee, Veterinary Facility License, License No. 1386, Knoxville
Violation:	Respondent operated a veterinary facility without an active premises permit for approximately 54 months.
Action:	Respondent must pay one Type C civil penalty in the amount of \$4,800 within sixty (60) days of the date of the order. This amount represents \$100 per month of practice under the expired premises permit beyond the six-month grace period.

The mission of the Tennessee Department of Health is to protect, promote and improve the health and prosperity of people in Tennessee. TDH has facilities in all 95 counties and provides direct services for more than one in five Tennesseans annually as well as indirect services for everyone in the state, including emergency response to health threats, licensure of health professionals, regulation of health care facilities and inspection of food service establishments. Learn more about TDH services and programs at www.tn.gov/health.

###

Connect with TDH on Facebook and Twitter @TNDeptofHealth!