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Introduction 
 
The State of Tennessee Attendance and Leave Manual is a collection of policies established by 
the Tennessee Department of Human Resources (DOHR). Pursuant to Tennessee Law, the 
DOHR Commissioner “shall direct and supervise all administrative and technical human 
resources activities of state service.” See Tenn. Code Ann. § 8-30-104. This includes 
development of personnel policies, methods, procedures, and standards for all state agencies. 

The Attendance and Leave Manual provides general guidance to employees about the 
privileges they have as employees and the duties and responsibilities we all share. It is not 
intended, nor is it considered to be a contract of employment. Nothing in this handbook 
constitutes a waiver of the State’s sovereign immunity. 

Changes in Federal laws, State laws, rules or policies will take precedence over information 
provided in the manual. Although DOHR will make every attempt to give employees notice about 
upcoming changes to the manual, DOHR has the right to change information provided in the 
manual at any time for any reason without prior notice. 

Employees are encouraged to read the manual and retain it for easy reference. Questions 
should be directed to your supervisor, your human resource division, or DOHR. 

https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=a3c41160-14c1-4b23-808a-fb6f59a3edd6&nodeid=AAIABDAABAAE&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAB%2FAAIABDAABAAE&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-104.%2BAuthority%2Bof%2Bcommissioner%2B%E2%80%94%2BSupervisory%2Bpersonnel%2B%E2%80%94%2BDesignees.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4M0-00008-00&ecomp=L38_kkk&prid=4ade6a8b-50e7-4fca-8949-706c3f2d8926
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=a3c41160-14c1-4b23-808a-fb6f59a3edd6&nodeid=AAIABDAABAAE&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAB%2FAAIABDAABAAE&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-104.%2BAuthority%2Bof%2Bcommissioner%2B%E2%80%94%2BSupervisory%2Bpersonnel%2B%E2%80%94%2BDesignees.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4M0-00008-00&ecomp=L38_kkk&prid=4ade6a8b-50e7-4fca-8949-706c3f2d8926
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CHAPTER 1 
WORK SCHEDULES 

 
1.01 OFFICE HOURS 

 
The central offices of all departments and agencies, as well as field offices not 
requiring irregular work hours or schedules, shall be open for the transaction 
of public business from 8:00 a.m. until 4:30 p.m. local time, each day except 
Saturdays, Sundays, and legal holidays. The established office hours of other 
organizational units may vary from one unit to the next depending upon the 
nature of the work and the demand for the unit's service. 

 
Hourly equivalents for days used in this manual are for employees on a seven 
and one-half (7.5) hour workday, thirty-seven and one-half (37.5) hours per week 
schedule. Certain employees have an eight- hour (8.0) hour workday, forty (40.0) 
hours per week schedule. 

 
The same rules shall apply to all full-time schedules. 

 
1.02 WORK WEEK 

 
The standard work week for accounting purposes begins at 12:01 a.m. Sunday and 
runs one hundred and sixty-eight (168) continuous hours in the form of seven 
(7) consecutive twenty-four (24) hour periods to 12:01 a.m. the following Sunday. 

 
1.03 REGULAR WORK SCHEDULES 

 
The regular work schedule for most employees is from 8:00 a.m. until 4:30 p.m. 
local time, Monday through Friday. Local conditions may cause these hours to vary, 
but an employee scheduled to work seven and one-half (7.5) hours per day, Monday 
through Friday, is considered to be on a regular work schedule. 

 
1.04 IRREGULAR WORK SCHEDULES 

 
Several departments and agencies may require irregular work schedules for their 
employees because of the nature of the work. With prior approval of the 
department or agency's appointing authority, management at each work location 
has the authority to schedule arrival and departure times and specific workdays 
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for employees depending upon local needs. The use of flex time and compressed 
work weeks is also subject to approval of the appointing authority. Any work 
schedule totaling more than thirty-seven and one-half (37.5) hours per week must 
have prior approval of the Commissioners of Human Resources and Finance 
and Administration. 

 
An employee on an irregular work schedule must revert to a normal work week 
schedule when using a prolonged period of annual, sick, or compensatory leave, 
when placed on extended leave without pay status, and when paid through the 
Sick Leave Bank. 

 
1.05 DAYLIGHT SAVINGS TIME AND SHIFT 

 
Daylight savings time is observed in accordance with the Uniform Time Act. 

 
A. Employees on duty at 2:00 a.m. when daylight savings time goes into effect 

in the Spring and moves forward by one (1) hour, although they actually work 
one (1) hour less than a full shirt, should be given credit for a full shift. 

 
B. When time reverts to standard time in the Fall, employees on duty during 

that shift will work and be compensated for an extra hour. This hour should 
be considered when determining eligibility for overtime compensation for that 
week. 

 
 
 
Authority: 
Tenn. Code Ann. § 4-4-105 
Rules of the Department of Human Resources: 1120-06-.02 and 1120-06-.03. 

https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=5271aa88-11ed-44f7-b484-1d4f6aac0e4d&nodeid=AAEAAEAAF&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAE%2FAAEAAE%2FAAEAAEAAF&level=3&haschildren&populated=false&title=4-4-105.%2BDepartment%2Boffice%2Bhours%2B%E2%80%94%2BOvertime.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4WYJ-1060-R03K-53RD-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=b0d736be-51ab-4411-8800-588b2de03ecf
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=5271aa88-11ed-44f7-b484-1d4f6aac0e4d&nodeid=AAEAAEAAF&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAE%2FAAEAAE%2FAAEAAEAAF&level=3&haschildren&populated=false&title=4-4-105.%2BDepartment%2Boffice%2Bhours%2B%E2%80%94%2BOvertime.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4WYJ-1060-R03K-53RD-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=b0d736be-51ab-4411-8800-588b2de03ecf
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-06.20230418.pdf
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CHAPTER 2 
LUNCH AND WELLNESS BREAKS 

 
 

2.01 LUNCH HOUR 
 

Employees shall be allowed a one (1) hour unpaid meal period. The employee 
should be relieved of all work responsibilities for the purpose of eating a meal. 
The authorized meal period must be taken during the work shift and may not be 
used to alter arrival or departure time by not using the meal period or any part 
thereof. 

 
This provision shall not apply to the following employees: 

• Uniformed members of the Departments of Safety & Homeland Security and 
Revenue 

• Wildlife Officers 
• Park Rangers 
• Employees  of  the Department  of  Transportation in the following 

classifications: 
o Highway Response Operator 1 or 2 
o Highway Response Supervisor 1 or 2 
o Communications Dispatcher 1 or 2 
o Transportation Management Center Operator 
o Transportation Management Center Supervisor 1 or 2 

• Non-administrative officials of the Departments of Children’s Services or 
Correction 

• Employees assigned to hospitals or institutions in the Departments of 
Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services and Intellectual and 
Developmental Disabilities. 

Examples of charging leave before and after the lunch hour are: 
 

Example 1: The employee arrives at work at 8:00  a.m. and works continuously until 
1:00 p.m. The employee then requests annual leave for the remainder of the day. 
The employee actually worked 5.0 hours and charged 2.5 hours of annual leave.
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Example 2: The employee arrives at work at 8:00 a.m. and works until 1:00 with 
the usual lunch hour and then requests annual leave for the remainder of that day. 
The employee will be charged 3.5 hours of annual leave, having actually worked 4.0 
hours and taken an hour for lunch. 

 
2.02 ON-CALL 

 
Certain employees are "on-call" during their meal period. These employees are 
relieved of their duties during the meal period but must remain easily reachable 
to report back to work, if necessary. These employees receive extra 
compensation only if they are called back to work. 

 
2.03 FIXED POST ASSIGNMENT 

 
Certain employees cannot be relieved of duties to have a meal period during their 
work shift. This situation usually results from "fixed post" assignments in which 
employees may not leave their workstation. These employees are considered to be 
at work even if they are able to eat a meal during their work shift and must 
be compensated accordingly. 

 
2.04 REST OR WELLNESS BREAKS 

 
Appointing authorities or agency heads, at their discretion, may allow their 
employees two (2) rest or wellness breaks, of fifteen (15) minutes duration each, 
during each workday. These rest and wellness breaks are a privilege, not a right, 
and should be taken at times that do not interfere with service to the public. If an 
employee chooses not to take advantage of these breaks, this time may not be 
accumulated and added to lunch periods or any type of leave. 

 
A rest or wellness break may not be used to alter arrival or departure time or 
used in conjunction with the lunch hour. 

 
With supervisor approval, wellness breaks may be combined into one (1) thirty (30) 
minute break. 
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2.05 BREAK TIME FOR NURSING MOTHERS 

 
An employee who needs to express breast milk for the nursing child shall be 
allowed a reasonable break time. The employee should also be afforded a space to 
do so that is not a bathroom, is shielded from view, and is free from intrusion 
from coworkers and the public. Break time for nursing mothers shall be allowed 
in addition to other provided breaks. Break time for nursing mothers shall not be 
used to alter the employee’s scheduled arrival or departure time. 

 
 

Authority: 
Fair Labor Standards Act (29 U.S.C. §§ 201, et seq.) 
Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (P.L. 111-148) 
Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 4-4-105, 8-30-104, 8-30-406 and 50-1-305 
Rules of the Department of Human Resources: 1120-06-.06, 1120-06-.07, and 1120-06-.08. 

https://www.dol.gov/sites/dolgov/files/WHD/legacy/files/FairLaborStandAct.pdf
https://www.hhs.gov/sites/default/files/ppacacon.pdf
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=08ae7b0d-e6f6-4033-a3aa-eb8759e5d2d5&nodeid=AAEAAEAAF&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAE%2FAAEAAE%2FAAEAAEAAF&level=3&haschildren&populated=false&title=4-4-105.%2BDepartment%2Boffice%2Bhours%2B%E2%80%94%2BOvertime.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4WYJ-1060-R03K-53RD-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=b0d736be-51ab-4411-8800-588b2de03ecf
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=c687613a-5080-4a5c-98c2-efdd66c3fe0f&nodeid=AAIABDAABAAE&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAB%2FAAIABDAABAAE&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-104.%2BAuthority%2Bof%2Bcommissioner%2B%E2%80%94%2BSupervisory%2Bpersonnel%2B%E2%80%94%2BDesignees.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4M0-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=b0d736be-51ab-4411-8800-588b2de03ecf
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=5a81018a-086d-460d-a8ca-4ae3d3b71131&nodeid=AAIABDAAEAAG&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAE%2FAAIABDAAEAAG&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-406.%2BHours%2Bof%2Bwork%2C%2Battendance%2C%2Band%2Bleaves%2Bof%2Babsence.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A55XV-B4N0-R03J-X0GV-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=b0d736be-51ab-4411-8800-588b2de03ecf
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=e44331f1-5f94-4781-a55f-e9a24eff4f81&nodeid=ABYAABAADAAF&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FABY%2FABYAAB%2FABYAABAAD%2FABYAABAADAAF&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=50-1-305.%2BBreast%2Bmilk%2Bexpressing%2Bby%2Bemployees%2B%E2%80%94%2BBreak%2Btime%2Band%2Bplace.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8M-1710-R03K-P25H-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=b0d736be-51ab-4411-8800-588b2de03ecf
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-06.20230418.pdf
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CHAPTER 3 
ADMINISTRATIVE LEAVE (Excused and Unexcused Absences) 

 
3.01 EXCUSED ABSENCE AUTHORIZATION 

 
An excused absence is leave with pay granted under Tennessee law and/or 
Department of Human Resources rules or policies without being charged against the 
employee’s compensatory, annual, or sick leave. This leave should be charged as 
administrative leave with pay unless noted differently. 

 
3.02 PARTICIPATION IN STATE ASSESSMENTS AND INTERVIEWS 

 
An employee may be granted an excused absence to participate in a state 
administered assessment or at a State of Tennessee job interview. An excused 
absence will not be granted to participate in external assessments or interviews. 

 
Recordkeeping: Employee timesheets should be coded as Administrative Leave for 
Interviews and Exams (ADMIV). 

 
3.03 ELECTIONS - TIME ALLOWANCE FOR VOTING 

 
Any person entitled to vote in an election held in this state may be granted paid 
leave on the day of the election for a reasonable period of time, not to exceed 
three (3) hours, to vote during the time polls are open in the county where the 
employee resides. Requests for such leave shall be made to the supervisor before 
12:00 p.m. on the day before the election. 

 
If the work schedule of an employee begins three (3) or more hours after the 
opening of the polls or ends three (3) or more hours before the closing of polls of 
the county where the employee is a resident, the employee may not take time off 
under this section. 

 
Recordkeeping: Employee timesheets should be coded as  Administrative  Leave  for Election 

(ADMEL). 

This section applies to all elections for public office, for candidacy for public office, 
and on questions submitted to the people.
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Example: In most elections, the polls close at 7:00 p.m. Therefore, state employees 
whose normal shifts end at 4:30 p.m. and who have requested to leave early to 
vote as prescribed above, should be excused at 4:00 p.m. on that date to ensure that 
they have a reasonable period of time to vote. 

 
Since polls are open until 8:00 p.m. in the Eastern Time Zone, this policy only affects 
employees in that time zone working a schedule other than 8:00 a.m. until 4:30 p.m. 
Therefore, only employees having less than three (3) hours available between the 
normal end of their shift and 8:00 p.m., Eastern Time Zone, should be notified of this 
policy. Otherwise, the policy only applies to employees in the Central Time Zone. 

 
3.04 EXCUSED ABSENCE WITHOUT PAY FOR VOTING MACHINE TECHNICIAN 

 
A voting machine technician appointed by the county election commission who 
performs such duties on a part-time basis and who is a full-time state employee 
shall be excused without pay from the employee’s assigned duties for the day(s) 
required for the performance of the technician’s duties. No employee being 
excused under this section shall be required to use annual or compensatory leave 
to perform the technician’s duties. An employee may request compensatory or 
annual leave in lieu of time without pay. 

 
3.05 BLOOD DONATION 

 
Employees participating in a state-sponsored blood drive will be considered on duty 
during the time necessary to give blood, plus a reasonable length of time for 
recovery. Any time away from the job beyond that period, due to complications, must 
be charged as sick, compensatory, or annual leave. 

 
Employees with rare or special blood types contacted by the American Red Cross 
and its counterparts in other areas of the state and asked to donate blood will be 
considered on duty during the time required. 

 
Employees donating platelets through the Pheresis Program should be granted 
“administrative leave with pay” for the time required, workload permitting. The 
difference in policy for pheresis donors is necessary due to the frequency one may 
give platelets versus whole blood (every two (2) weeks versus every fifty-six (56) 
days).
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3.06 EMOTIONAL WELLBEING SOLUTIONS (EWS) 

 
 *Formally known as Employee Assistance Program (EAP) 

 
Employees are to be excused to receive up to ten (10) hours per year to attend EWS 
sponsored programs or counseling.1 While supervisors may maintain informal 
records of employees' attendance at EWS sponsored programs or counseling, no 
formal documentation should be maintained in the employee’s personnel file. EWS 
counseling sessions are considered confidential. For this reason, employees should 
be considered "on duty" during the time EWS programs or counseling occurs and 
this time coded as working time on the employee's attendance and leave record (up 
to ten (10) hours). 

 
Should the employee be referred by an EWS counselor to other professional services 
for additional counseling or treatment, any further time off should be coded as 
compensatory, annual, or sick leave as appropriate. 

 
3.07 ABSENCE DUE TO INCLEMENT WEATHER 

 
Inclement weather does not usually warrant the closing of state offices. Absence 
due to inclement weather requires that each employee make a personal judgment 
pertaining to the employee’s safety in traveling to and from work. Loss of work time 
for this reason is charged against the employee's compensatory or annual leave 
accumulation. If the employee has no compensatory or annual leave, then the time 
absent is charged as leave without pay. Employees who make the effort to report 
on time (employee leaving at normal departure time from home) and who report 
within a reasonable period should not be required to use leave for that absence. 

 
Occasionally, extraordinary emergency conditions caused by inclement weather 
may warrant the closing of some state offices by the Governor or Governor’s 
designee. Any decision to close state offices due to inclement weather should be 
countywide and made county to county. Communication of any closing decision will 
be made as quickly as practical by email, the State’s mass notification alert system, 
or public broadcast media. 

 

1 This includes time for travel. For example, an employee may have up to five 1-hour sessions of EWS. The 
employee will also be allowed to up to 30 minutes before and after each session for travel. This totals to the 10- 
hour allotment.
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Recordkeeping: Employee timesheets should be coded as Administrative Leave for Inclement 
Weather (ADMIW). 

 
Certain employees who are employed by the Departments of Mental Health & 
Substance Abuse Services, Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities, Correction, 
Children’s Services (group homes, schools, and institutions), Military, 
Transportation, Safety & Homeland Security, and others which require the employee 
to maintain the health and safety of others may be required to report to work during 
periods of inclement weather. 

 
Employees who work in a county where state offices are closed due to extreme 
weather will receive administrative leave with pay for regularly scheduled working 
hours during the period of closing. Employees who must work when offices in their 
work county are closed are eligible for regular compensatory time for hours 
actually worked during the period of closing up to their regular scheduled hours 
for the workday. Hours worked in excess of regularly scheduled hours are 
compensated as overtime hours at the end of the work week based on each 
employee’s FLSA status. Such time worked by an executive grade employee should be 
treated the same as time worked on a holiday. Part-time employees are not eligible 
for administrative leave or compensatory time. Employees on previously approved 
leave during the affected period must continue to charge the appropriate leave and 
will not be eligible for administrative leave. 

 
Recordkeeping; Employee timesheets should be coded as Regular Inclement Weather Shift 
1, 2, or 3 (RIWS1 – 1st shift, RIWS2 – 2nd shift, or RIWS3 – 3rd shift). 

 
Employees already scheduled to work at home through an Alternative Workplace 
Solutions (AWS) arrangement must continue to work from home to the extent 
possible. However, if an employee is participating in the Mobile Work AWS 
arrangement on the day State offices are closed, the Appointing Authority will have 
the discretion to either allow the employee to be excused from work and granted 
discretionary leave with pay or require the employee to work remotely. 

 
3.08 ABSENCE DUE TO UNINHABITABLE BUILDING 

 
Employees who are not able to work in a building that is considered uninhabitable 
due to power outages, flooding, physical damage, or other valid reasons should be 
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granted administrative leave with pay for all regularly scheduled hours during the 
affected period. Employees who are required by management to work during the 
periods that the building is considered uninhabitable may receive regular 
compensatory time for hours actually worked during the affected period up to their 
regularly scheduled hours for the workday. Hours worked in excess of regularly 
scheduled hours are compensated as overtime hours at the end of the work week 
based on each employee’s FLSA status. 

 
Only those employees who are directly affected by a building closing are eligible for 
administrative leave with pay or compensatory time. Employees who normally work 
in an affected building or area who were assigned to a different work location that 
was not considered uninhabitable during the affected period are not covered under 
this policy. Such time worked by an executive grade employee should be treated 
the same as time worked on a holiday. Part-time employees are not eligible for 
administrative leave or compensatory time. Employees on previously approved leave 
during the affected period must continue to charge the appropriate leave and will 
not be eligible for administrative leave. Similarly, employees scheduled as AWS 
during the affected period are not covered under this policy. 

 
The Commissioner of the Department of Human Resources, acting on a 
recommendation from the requesting agency’s appointing authority, shall have the 
sole authority to declare a building uninhabitable. If a determination is made to 
deem the building uninhabitable, the agency’s appointing authority should be 
notified as soon as possible. Authorized personnel in the agency may deem a 
building uninhabitable in emergency situations that are considered hazardous to 
the safety of the employees or when situations occur outside the regular Monday 
through Friday work schedule. When this occurs, the Department of Human 
Resources should be notified as soon as possible. A follow-up written notification to 
the Department of Human Resources is required in all uninhabitable situations. 
The uninhabitable building policy only applies in instances in which an entire county 
is not closed. All employees within the county in which the building is located that 
are not affected by the building closure will not be eligible for any administrative 
leave with pay or compensatory time. 

 
Employees cease to receive administrative leave with pay or compensatory time 
once the building is considered habitable again or an alternative work site is 
provided. Administrative leave and compensatory time granted under this policy 
may not exceed thirty-seven and one-half (37.5) hours for a seven and one-half (7.5) 
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hour employee, or forty (40.0) hours for an eight (8.0) hour employee, without 
additional authorization from the Department of Human Resources. 

Recordkeeping: Employee timesheets should be coded as Regular Uninhabitable Building 
Shift 1, 2, or 3 (RUBS1 – 1st shift, RUBS2 – 2nd shift, or RUBS3 – 3rd shift). 

 
3.09 ABSENCE DUE TO DECLARED STATE OF EMERGENCY 

 
The State of Tennessee recognizes that there will be instances where the Governor 
declares a state of emergency resulting from an emergency beyond local control. 
However, it shall be the policy of the State to make every effort to maintain normal 
working hours by initiating departmental Continuity of Operations Plans (COOP) 
and/or Emergency Workforce Management Plans during these periods in order to 
continue providing necessary services. 

 
These conditions may require each employee to make a personal decision regarding 
safety in traveling to and from the workplace. As with absences due to inclement 
weather, employees who do not feel it is safe to travel should contact their supervisor. 
If the employee is eligible for an AWS arrangement during the affected period, they 
may be allowed to work remotely at agency discretion. Employees who otherwise do 
not report to work may use accumulated annual or compensatory leave for their 
absence. If the employee has no compensatory or annual leave, then the time absent 
is charged as leave without pay. Employees who make every effort and report to work 
within a reasonable period should not be required to take leave for that absence. To 
be eligible, the employee must leave for work at his or her normal departure time in 
anticipation of regular arrival time. 

 
In extraordinary situations, the Governor, in consultation with the Tennessee 
Emergency Management Agency (TEMA) and the Departments of Transportation, 
Safety & Homeland Security, Health, Human Resources or other departments, may 
determine that state government offices should be closed in a particular county or 
counties due to a declared state of emergency. Notice of the closing of state offices 
will be timely given to local media for broadcast to the general public. If this occurs, 
employees other than those who work in 24-hour facilities, are required to work on 
an emergency basis, or participate in an AWS arrangement, shall be excused from 
work and granted administrative leave with pay for any scheduled hours. 
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Employees who are required to work when their offices have been otherwise closed 
shall be granted compensatory time for hours actually worked during the period of closing 
up their regularly scheduled hours for the workday. Hours worked in excess of regularly 
scheduled hours may be compensated as overtime, depending on each employee’s 
status under the Fair Labor Standards Act. An appointing authority may grant 
administrative leave with pay to executive and non-compensatory employees who are 
required to work during a time when offices are closed. This administrative leave shall 
be equal to the hours worked and must be taken within twelve (12) months from the time 
worked. 

 
This leave shall not be granted to employees who were previously scheduled to be 
working under an AWS arrangement and are otherwise not required to work in a 
structure deemed uninhabitable. 

 
In the event the Governor declares a state of emergency as the result of a natural or 
man-made disaster, an appointing authority may grant up to ten (10) workdays of 
discretionary leave with pay to an employee whose primary residence becomes 
uninhabitable due to the disaster. Additional restrictions can be found by reviewing 
DOHR Policy 12-039. 

 
3.10 HEALTH SERVICES 

 
Administrative leave with pay may be granted for an employee to attend state 
sponsored health promotion-related programs and activities or to receive medical 
treatment through the State Employee Health Center. 

 
The employee must go directly to the health clinic or specified location and return 
immediately to work if he/she works in a county that is a reasonable distance from 
where the health services are being conducted. A maximum of four and one half 
(4.5) hours of administrative leave with pay may be granted for an employee 
to receive health services. 

 
Recordkeeping: Employee timesheets should be coded as Administrative Leave for Health 
Services (ADMHS). 

 
3.11 STATE GROUP INSURANCE APPEALS 

 
Employees may appeal state group insurance plan decisions when they feel benefits 
were not provided in accordance with the plan document. In addition to a review of 
the written record, employees may make a personal presentation as part of their

https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/hr/documents/dohrpolicies2019/12-039%20Employee%20Absences%20Due%20to%20Declared%20State%20of%20Emergency.pdf
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appeal. Employees should call the Benefits Administration hotline at 615-741-3590 
or 800-253-9981 or reach out to the Benefits Coordinator in their agency. 

 
If an employee chooses to appear in person and is successful in the appeal, it is 
appropriate to code the employee’s timesheet as regular time worked. 

 
3.12 APPEARANCE AT APPEALS DISCUSSIONS & HEARINGS 

 
The Step I Appeals Discussion is the first step of the discipline appeals process for 
preferred service employees and involves the participation of the affected employee. 
When an employee appears at a Step I Appeal Discussion, the employee’s timesheet 
will be coded as regular time worked. If the employee fails to participate or appear 
for the scheduled Step I Appeal Discussion, without prior notice and absent 
extenuating circumstances, the employee’s time will be coded as leave without pay. 

 
The Board of Appeals (Step III hearing) serves as the final step of the appeals 
process for preferred service employees. When an employee appears  at a Board  of 
Appeals hearing at the discretion of a proper authority,  the  employee’s timesheet 
will be coded as regular time worked. 

 
3.13 SPECIALIZED DISASTER RELIEF SERVICES LEAVE 

 
A state employee who is a certified disaster service volunteer of the American Red 
Cross may be granted administrative leave with pay, not to exceed fifteen (15) 
regularly scheduled workdays in each calendar year, to participate in specialized 
disaster relief services for the American Red Cross. This leave shall not affect the 
employee's regular leave status. 

 
The employee must submit a written request from the American Red Cross giving 
details concerning the specialized disaster relief services to the employee’s 
appointing authority for approval. 

 
An employee who works an irregular schedule must be placed on a regular schedule 
(seven and one-half (7.5) or eight (8.0) hours per day) for the time this leave is being 
used. Holidays and scheduled off duty days do not count toward the fifteen (15) 
workdays allowed.
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Recordkeeping: Employee timesheets should be coded as Administrative Leave for Disaster 
Relief (ADMDR). 

3.14 BEREAVEMENT LEAVE 
 

Bereavement leave will be granted for three (3) days in the event of the death of an 
employee's immediate family member (defined as spouse, children (including 
unborn), stepchildren, siblings, parents, grandparents, grandchildren, stepparents, 
foster parents and parents-in-law) without charge to the employee's accumulated 
leave balance. The granting of bereavement leave does not increase the total 
number of days provided for in Chapter 5 Sick Leave, nor does it affect the use of 
annual leave. 

 
Example: An employee had a sick leave balance of 90.5 hours. The employee is 
granted 3 days (22.5 hours) of paid bereavement leave. The bereavement leave is 
not deducted from the employee’s sick leave, leaving a sick leave balance of 90.5 
hours. If, the employee also used 2 days (15.0 hours) of sick leave, then this is 
deducted, leaving a sick leave balance of 75.5 hours. 

 
Recordkeeping: Employee timesheets should be coded as Bereavement Leave (BER) with pay. 

 
For additional information on bereavement leave please refer to Chapter 5 Sick 
Leave. 

 
3.15 FOSTER PARENT TRAINING AND ANNUAL IN-SERVICE TRAINING 
  

During a twelve (12) month period, a state employee may use administrative leave with pay 
to participate in Tennessee foster parent training for up to twenty-five (25) hours during the 
course of their employment. An employee may also use administrative leave with pay to 
complete annual in-service training for up to eight (8) hours. Upon completion of such 
training, the Department of Children’s Services shall document the training on the designated 
form and return it to the employee’s agency.  
 
Recordkeeping: Employee timesheets should be coded as Foster Parent Training (FPTR) or Foster 
Parent In-Service (FPIS).    

 
3.16 DISCRETIONARY LEAVE WITH PAY 

 
Appointing authorities may grant discretionary leave with pay to an employee for a 
period of time not to exceed ten (10) working days when it is considered necessary 
for the welfare of the employee or the proper operation of the agency. The 
Commissioner of the Department of Human Resources must approve any period of 
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discretionary leave that exceeds the ten (10) working days. 
 

Discretionary leave with pay cannot be approved to supplement leave already 
provided for in Tennessee law. For example, sick leave is for health-related issues 
and annual leave is for personal, vacation and recreational needs. Such leave is 
legislated and cannot be extended or supplemented by granting discretionary leave 
with pay. 

 
Recordkeeping: Employee timesheets should be coded as Administrative Leave with Pay 
(ADM). 
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3.17 UNEXCUSED ABSENCES 

 
Absence of an employee after compensatory, annual or sick leave has been 
requested and denied prior to the occurrence of the leave should always be 
considered an unexcused absence. 

 
Leave time not approved in advance may be considered an unexcused absence as 
long as the employee has been informed in writing, of the consequences of not 
obtaining approval in advance on at least one prior occasion. Consequences in this 
situation include the supervisor's authority to require that leave time not approved 
in advance be taken without pay along with instruction that continued unexcused 
absences could result in disciplinary action. 

 
While an unexcused absence may be without pay, a supervisor may choose to allow 
an employee to reduce the employee leave balance by the amount of time used. In 
this situation, a notation should be placed on the leave request form indicating that 
the time off is considered an unexcused absence. 

 
Sick leave is not considered an unexcused absence if the employee presents a valid 
statement from a doctor within a reasonable amount of time after it is either requested 
by a supervisor or the employee returns to work. 

 
 
Authority: 
Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 2-1-103, 2-1-106, 2-9-103, 8-30-104, 8-50-113, 8-50-121, and 8-50-810 
Rules of the Department of Human Resources 1120-06

https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=ceba986f-6412-41e9-9aa7-dc6307900441&nodeid=AACAABAAD&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAC%2FAACAAB%2FAACAABAAD&level=3&haschildren&populated=false&title=2-1-103.%2BScope%2Bof%2Btitle.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8J-5J80-R03M-X08M-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=06ab1276-ef20-4116-a014-36b1a0ecd3a9
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=6c6a81fa-5557-4154-9572-37b30e17a4ef&nodeid=AACAABAAG&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAC%2FAACAAB%2FAACAABAAG&level=3&haschildren&populated=false&title=2-1-106.%2BAbsence%2Bfrom%2Bwork%2Ballowed%2Bfor%2Bvoting.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8J-5J80-R03M-X08P-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=06ab1276-ef20-4116-a014-36b1a0ecd3a9
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=ba7555fc-c177-410a-b922-fe931fdcd8f2&nodeid=AACAAJAAD&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAC%2FAACAAJ%2FAACAAJAAD&level=3&haschildren&populated=false&title=2-9-103.%2BVoting%2Bmachine%2Btechnicians.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8J-6910-R03J-J23G-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=06ab1276-ef20-4116-a014-36b1a0ecd3a9
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=5311fb88-dd52-4dc4-9f31-c8bb814e9f94&nodeid=AAIABDAABAAE&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAB%2FAAIABDAABAAE&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-104.%2BAuthority%2Bof%2Bcommissioner%2B%E2%80%94%2BSupervisory%2Bpersonnel%2B%E2%80%94%2BDesignees.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4M0-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=06ab1276-ef20-4116-a014-36b1a0ecd3a9
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=380a33e6-e97e-41dd-bc65-81b4c7b48f31&nodeid=AAIABWAABAAN&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABW%2FAAIABWAAB%2FAAIABWAABAAN&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-50-113.%2BBereavement%2Bleave.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82RG-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=06ab1276-ef20-4116-a014-36b1a0ecd3a9
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=89decb53-fa94-4c28-9401-2bff38eaeda3&nodeid=AAIABWAAIAAK&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABW%2FAAIABWAAI%2FAAIABWAAIAAK&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-50-810.%2BAmerican%2BRed%2BCross%2Bdisaster%2Bleave.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82SN-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=06ab1276-ef20-4116-a014-36b1a0ecd3a9
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-06.20230418.pdf


Attendance and Leave Manual 
Chapter 4 – Annual Leave 

Page 1 

 
January 2024 

 
  

 

 
 
CHAPTER 4 ANNUAL LEAVE 
 

4.01 ELIGIBILITY TO ACCRUE LEAVE 

 
Employees scheduled to work one thousand six hundred (1,600) hours or more in 
a fiscal year, whether compensated on hourly, daily, monthly, or piecework basis, 
shall accrue annual leave on the date the employee is hired and on each service 
anniversary date. 

 
4.02 EMPLOYEES ELIGIBLE TO ACCRUE LEAVE 

 
The following employees are eligible to accrue leave: 

 
A. Employees with regular, temporary provisional and interim appointments who 

are employed full-time. 
 

B. Employees serving on full-time temporary appointments accrue leave after 
completing six (6) months of active service. The first day following completion of 
six (6) months of service is regarded as the beginning date for the purpose of 
accruing leave. Each period of temporary employment should be treated 
separately. 

 
C. Any part-time or seasonal employee scheduled to work one thousand, six 

hundred (1,600) hours or more in a fiscal year. 

 
D. Any employee currently eligible to accrue leave who receives a full-time 

emergency or full-time temporary appointment shall continue to accrue leave, 
provided there is no break in service. 

 
4.03 EMPLOYEES INELIGIBLE TO ACCRUE LEAVE 

 
The following employees are not eligible to accrue leave: 

 
A. Employees on temporary appointments who have worked less than six (6) 

months. 
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B. Employees on educational leave, with or without 
pay. 

 
C. Employees on emergency appointments. 

 
D. Employees on Division of Claims/Workers’ Compensation Administration 

leave. 

 
E. Employees on terminal leave. 

 
F. Employees on military leave without pay. 

 
G. Employees on special leave without pay. 

 
H. Employees on parental leave without pay. 

 
I. Seasonal or part-time employees scheduled to work less than one thousand 

six hundred (1,600) hours in a fiscal year. 

 
J. Employees being paid through the Sick Leave Bank. 

 
K. Limited term employees (such as commissioners) are not eligible to accrue 

leave while serving in limited term appointments. However, should these 
employees later be appointed to a position eligible to accrue leave, their time 
served in a full-time limited term appointment can be used to establish the 
proper leave service group. 

 
4.04 LEAVE ACCRUAL 

 
Leave is accrued on a regular workday basis. One (1) day of leave is equivalent to 
seven and one half (7.5) hours for employees on a thirty-seven and one-half (37.5) 
hour per work week schedule. One (1) day of leave is equal to eight (8.0) hours 
for employees on a forty (40) hour per work week schedule. Employees on any 
authorized work cycle changing from one schedule to another will have their hourly 
balances adjusted accordingly. 
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Example 1: (231.5 hours accrued on a 7.5- hour schedule changing to an 8.0- 
hour schedule): 

 
231.5 hours x 1.0667 = 249.9 hours for 8.0 hours schedule 
(8.0 divided by 7.5 = 1.0667) 

 
Example 2: (231.5 hours accrued on an 8.0- hour schedule changing to a 7.5- 
hour schedule): 

 
231.5 hours x 0.9375 = 217.0 hours for 7.5 hours schedule 
(7.5 divided by 8.0 = 0.9375) 

 
4.05 LEAVE ACCUMULATION 

 
An eligible employee earns and accumulates annual leave on the date the employee 
is hired and on each service anniversary date. Service anniversary dates shall be 
adjusted to account for gaps in paid employment as a state employee. Accrued leave 
will be available on the first day of the employee’s service anniversary month. 

 
Group amounts earned and maximum allowable accumulations follow: 

 
Service Group 1: Employees with less than five (5) years of full-time service accrue 
annual leave at the rate of twelve (12) days per year on the date the employee is 
hired and on each service anniversary date and may accumulate a maximum of 
thirty (30) workdays (or two hundred twenty-five (225.0) hours). Employees working 
an eight (8.0) hour schedule may accumulate a maximum of two hundred forty 
(240.0) hours. 

 
Service Group 2: Employees with five (5) years and less than ten (10) years of full- 
time service accrue annual leave at the rate of eighteen (18) days per year on each 
service anniversary date and may accumulate a maximum of thirty-six (36) 
workdays (or two hundred seventy (270.0) hours). Employees working an eight                            (8.0) 
hour schedule may accumulate a maximum of two-hundred eighty-eight (288.0) 
hours. 
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Service Group 3: Employees with ten (10) years and less than twenty (20) years of 
full-time service accrue annual leave at the rate of twenty-one (21) days per year 
on each service anniversary date and may accumulate a maximum of thirty-nine 
(39) workdays (or two hundred ninety-two and one-half (292.5) hours). Employees 
working an eight (8.0) hour schedule may accumulate a maximum of three-hundred 
twelve (312.0) hours. 

 
Service Group 4: Employees with twenty (20) years or more full-time service accrue 
annual leave at the rate of twenty-four (24) days per year on each service 
anniversary date and may accumulate a maximum of forty-two (42) workdays (or 
three hundred fifteen hours (315.0) hours). Employees working an eight (8.0) hour 
schedule may accumulate a maximum of three hundred thirty-six (336.0) hours. 

 
4.06 RECORDING TIME 

 
Time should be recorded in hours and tenths of hours, i.e., one and one-half hours 
should be entered as 1.5. To assist in recording attendance and leave data 
accurately and quickly, the following equivalent time chart showing hours and 
tenths of hours instead of hours and minutes should be used. When deducting 
against the employee for absences, if the time absent falls between the designated 
times shown always move back to the previous tenth of an hour. When computing 
overtime or compensatory time earned of any kind, move to the next higher tenth of 
an hour over the number of minutes worked if the time falls between the 
designated tenths. The decimal breakdown on the following chart enables quick 
determination of equivalent minutes: 

 
EQUIVALENT TIME CHART 

 

.1 hour = 6 minutes or less 

.2 hour = 12 minutes 

.3 hour = 18 minutes 

.4 hour = 24 minutes 

.5 hour = 30 minutes 

.6 hour = 36 minutes 

.7 hour = 42 minutes 

.8 hour = 48 minutes 

.9 hour = 54 minutes 
1.0 hour = 60 minutes 



Attendance and Leave Manual 
Chapter 4 – Annual Leave 

Page 5 

 
January 2024 

 
  

 

 
 

 

 

4.07 SCHEDULING ANNUAL LEAVE 
 

Any employee may request to use annual leave at any time by application to the 
employee’s appropriate supervisor through Edison. The request is subject to 
approval of the supervisor, who must plan the work under the supervisor’s 
control and authorize absences only at such times as the employee can be spared. 
Exceptions may apply to members of the armed services or as the result of an 
emergency. 

 
Annual leave may not be advanced beyond the instructions in Section 4.05. 
Annual leave may not be taken until earned, which occurs on the date the 
employee is hired and on each service anniversary date. 

 
An employee leave request should be completed and submitted to the supervisor 
before leave may be approved. Leave for unexpected illness or other 
extenuating situations may be provisionally approved verbally by the supervisor. 
The first day an employee returns from leave, a request must be submitted by 
the employee and must then be approved by the supervisor. Upon return, the 
employee must submit a request for leave to cover the period previously approved. 

 
4.08 YEARLY TRANSFER OF ANNUAL LEAVE TO SICK LEAVE 

 
Annual leave earned in excess of the maximum allowable accumulation for an 
employee's service group is transferred to the employee's sick leave account. The 
last day of the  month preceding the employee’s service anniversary date will be the 
month when the annual leave total exceeding the maximum allowed for a particular 
service group transfers to the sick leave account. Employees can accumulate 
leave in excess of the maximum amount allowed for up to one (1) year before it 
is transferred to the sick leave account on the last day of the month preceding the 
employee’s service anniversary date. 

 
4.09 USING COMPENSATORY LEAVE BEFORE ANNUAL LEAVE 

 
The use of earned compensatory leave is subject to approval of the department, 
agency head, designated manager, or supervisor. When an employee requests 
annual leave and compensatory leave is available, the compensatory leave shall 
be used first, unless the accumulated annual leave balance at the beginning of the 
pay period is within two (2) days of the maximum accrual hours for the 
employee's service group. When an employee is within two (2) days of the 
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maximum, annual leave may be used until the employee falls below the (2) day 
maximum at that point the employee will use compensatory leave for the 
remainder of the pay period. Any employee whose annual leave balance is not 
within the two (2) day maximum at the beginning of a pay period must use 
compensatory leave during the entire pay period. The term "two (2) days" shall 
mean fifteen (15.0) hours for thirty-seven and one half (37.5) hours-per week 
employees and sixteen (16.0) hours for forty (40.0) hours-per week employees. 

 
Employees' service groups change on the first day of the month. Therefore, to 
determine eligibility to use annual leave before compensatory leave, the new 
service group maximum hours shall be used. 

For more information on Compensatory Time, please reference Chapter 18 of this 
manual. 

 
4.10 ANNUAL LEAVE PAYMENT UPON SEPARATION/TERMINATION 

 
Upon separation, an employee shall be paid in a lump sum for any unused 
annual leave accumulation (unless the employee was dismissed for gross 
misconduct). See DOHR Rule 1120-10-.04(4)(c). 
 
Employees who separate within their first year of employment; however, may 
see their final paycheck reduced. If the termination date is prior to the service 
anniversary date, the employee’s final paycheck shall be reduced to account for 
the number of annual days used that exceed the number of months in which the 
employee worked. Likewise, the employee’s service credit amounts will be 
adjusted proportionally.  
 
If the separated employee is rehired by the State within one (1) year of the date of 
separation, the State shall reinstate any accrued, unused annual leave from the 
previous period of employment for which the employee was not compensated at 
separation. 
 
When an employee is terminated for gross misconduct or resigns in lieu of 
termination for gross misconduct, the employee forfeits payment of the annual 
leave balance. The agency shall submit a detailed report of gross misconduct, 
including the statutory citation for the action which could lead to criminal 
prosecution of the employee along with the notice of separation to the Department 
of Human Resources. See Chapter 16 regarding method of payment for unused 
annual leave for separating/terminating employees. 
 

https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-10.20230418.pdf
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Example: Employee A is hired on July 1, 2024. The employee is frontloaded 12 
days of annual leave and 12 days of sick leave. The employee uses 5 days of 
annual leave for a vacation in August 2024. The employee resigns effective 
September 1, 2024. The employee only worked for (a major portion of) 2 months 
but used 5 days of annual leave. The employee’s final paycheck will be reduced to 
account for 3 days of annual leave, the number of days the employee used that 
exceeded the number of months the employee worked the major portion. 

 
4.11 LEAVE OF ABSENCE FOR PARTICIPATION IN CERTAIN ATHLETIC COMPETITIONS 

 
An employee may be granted compensatory, annual or special leave without pay 
if the employee is a group leader, coach, official or athlete who comprises the official 
delegation of the United States in World, Pan-American or Olympic level 
competition. The employee is eligible for leave provided that the employee: 

 
A. is actively working at the time the request is made; 

 
B. the request of such a leave of absence is made within a reasonable period 
which, whenever practicable, will be fifteen (15) days prior to the date the employee 
wishes such leave to commence; and 

 
C. the employee shall: 

 
1. provide the actual or anticipated dates of the competition in which the 

employee expects to compete or participate, together with the dates of 
any official training camp period required for preparation for competition; 

 
2. specify the total number of days of leave necessary in order to participate 

in and prepare for the athletic competition(s) involved; and 
 

3. submit satisfactory evidence of qualification and selection for participation 
in athletic competitions. 

 
Leave shall be available only for the purpose of preparing for and engaging in the 
competitions stated above, and in no event shall the total of all such leave exceed 
the period of the official training camp and competition combined plus a 
reasonable amount of travel time or ninety (90) calendar days a year, whichever 
is less. 
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An employee who has been granted leave and is for any reason unable to further 
participate in the training period or competition covered by such leave, shall 
be required to immediately notify the employee’s appointing authority of such 
inability and such employee may be required to return to and resume the duties 
of the employee’s position provided the employee is physically able to do so. An 
employee who has traveled to locations of actual competition shall not be required 
to return prior to completion of the competition or until the scheduled departure 
date of the team of which the employee is a member, whichever is later. 

 
4.12 ANNUAL LEAVE TRANSFERABLE BETWEEN STATE AGENCIES 

 
Unless there is a break in service, annual leave must be transferred to and will 
be accepted from state agencies, higher education institutions, legislative and 
judicial branches. 
 
If an employee transfers to and from either house of the General Assembly 
including the Fiscal Review Committee (specifically, Business Units 301.01 and 
301.50), their leave will be manually adjusted by DOHR as needed. 

 
Annual leave earned while employed by a local school board in Tennessee is 
not transferable. 

 

 

4.13 USING ANNUAL LEAVE FOR EMPLOYEE MEETINGS 

 
An officer or employee belonging to an employee association qualified for payroll 
deduction for association dues may use two (2) days of accrued annual leave 
each year to attend a statewide meeting, conference or convention of the 
association. The leave shall be granted in accordance with the provisions of 
Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 8-50-110. Also, pursuant to Tennessee Code 
Annotated, Section 8-50-110(c), an officer or employee belonging to an employee 
association which is qualified for payroll deduction for association dues and is 
a member of the official board of such association may receive up to twelve (12) 
days administrative leave days per calendar year in order to attend board meetings. 

 
 
 
 

https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=74e59cc5-3a2d-4026-9c2c-43155c05b6fe&nodeid=AAIABWAABAAK&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABW%2FAAIABWAAB%2FAAIABWAABAAK&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-50-110.%2BUse%2Bof%2Bannual%2Bleave%2Bto%2Battend%2Bstatewide%2Bmeeting%2Bof%2Bemployee%2Bassociation.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82RC-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=06ab1276-ef20-4116-a014-36b1a0ecd3a9
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=74e59cc5-3a2d-4026-9c2c-43155c05b6fe&nodeid=AAIABWAABAAK&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABW%2FAAIABWAAB%2FAAIABWAABAAK&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-50-110.%2BUse%2Bof%2Bannual%2Bleave%2Bto%2Battend%2Bstatewide%2Bmeeting%2Bof%2Bemployee%2Bassociation.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82RC-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=06ab1276-ef20-4116-a014-36b1a0ecd3a9
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4.14 PROCEDURES FOR ADMINISTERING LEAVE 
 

A. Establishing a Service Group - In establishing an employee's service group 
for annual leave, the amount of service accrued by the employee must be 
determined. All leave accruing service accumulated while employed in any 
agency, office, or department of the state or in any state college or university 
shall be credited for purposes of leave computation. Any former member of the 
Tennessee General Assembly who,  as  of  July  1,  1988,  was  eligible  to  accrue 
annual leave shall be credited for each year of legislative service as twelve (12) 
months of full-time service for all time served in the Tennessee General 
Assembly. 

 
When an employee changes appointment types or returns from extended 
leave, the agency shall verify the service anniversary and longevity dates with 
the Department of Human Resources. 

 
B. Computing Creditable Service - The amount of total leave accruing service 

(present and prior) with the State of Tennessee should be determined. When 
special leave without pay has been taken for a major portion of a month, that 
month is not included in computing service, unless the employee was on 
military, paid educational, or Division of Claims Administration leave. 
Employment with a local school board in Tennessee is not creditable service in 
most circumstances. However, for a full- time employee of the Department of 
Education holding a position requiring three (3) years of experience as a certified 
professional employee in the Tennessee public school system, prior 
teaching or administrative experience in Tennessee public schools shall be 
creditable for purposes of establishing the employee's service group, not to 
exceed three (3) years. 
 

C. Establishing Employees’ Service Anniversary Dates/Changing Employees’ 
Service Group - The service anniversary date is the date in the future when the 
employee is projected to change a leave group. It is calculated from the first of 
the month of the current period of employment for which the first day of annual 
leave was earned. It may also be calculated from a computed appointment date 
in the past that is established by crediting all verified periods of creditable service 
as though service had been continuous. Once established, a category leave 
date/group does not change unless there is a break in service or unless there 
is a period of special leave without pay   in excess of the major portion of a 
month as identified in this manual. 
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D. Reinstating Prior Service - Reinstating prior service may result in changing 
the service group. The employee must notify his/her supervisor of the prior 
service and make the request for the modification. Leave adjustments 
resulting from retroactive changes to service groups should be calculated 
back to the employee's last hire date. 

 
4.15 CORRECTIONS FOR PRIOR ANNUAL LEAVE USED 

 
Any corrections occurring other than the current pay period or other types of leave 
adjustments must be submitted to the Department of Human Resources. Proper 
documentation reflecting the need for the correction should become a part of the 
employee's attendance and leave record. 

 
 
 

Authority: 
Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 8-30-406, 8-50-110, 8-50-801, 8-50-803, 8-50-807,and 8-50-1102 
Rules of the Tennessee Department of Human Resources 1120-06-.10 and 1120-06-.11. 

https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=96110cbd-5646-4ed8-a614-94d315965d7f&nodeid=AAIABDAAEAAG&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAE%2FAAIABDAAEAAG&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-406.%2BHours%2Bof%2Bwork%2C%2Battendance%2C%2Band%2Bleaves%2Bof%2Babsence.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A55XV-B4N0-R03J-X0GV-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=06ab1276-ef20-4116-a014-36b1a0ecd3a9
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=96110cbd-5646-4ed8-a614-94d315965d7f&nodeid=AAIABDAAEAAG&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAE%2FAAIABDAAEAAG&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-406.%2BHours%2Bof%2Bwork%2C%2Battendance%2C%2Band%2Bleaves%2Bof%2Babsence.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A55XV-B4N0-R03J-X0GV-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=06ab1276-ef20-4116-a014-36b1a0ecd3a9
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=d8ae2361-ba7f-4db3-b4b7-1195d85eef0e&nodeid=AAIABWAABAAK&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABW%2FAAIABWAAB%2FAAIABWAABAAK&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-50-110.%2BUse%2Bof%2Bannual%2Bleave%2Bto%2Battend%2Bstatewide%2Bmeeting%2Bof%2Bemployee%2Bassociation.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82RC-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=06ab1276-ef20-4116-a014-36b1a0ecd3a9
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=d8ae2361-ba7f-4db3-b4b7-1195d85eef0e&nodeid=AAIABWAABAAK&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABW%2FAAIABWAAB%2FAAIABWAABAAK&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-50-110.%2BUse%2Bof%2Bannual%2Bleave%2Bto%2Battend%2Bstatewide%2Bmeeting%2Bof%2Bemployee%2Bassociation.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82RC-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=06ab1276-ef20-4116-a014-36b1a0ecd3a9
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=a9ac6eef-e54b-4e4a-a6de-d63fa0df8090&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A688G-3BF0-R03M-B088-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAIABWAAIAAB&ecomp=g2vckkk&prid=ad1de932-77b0-41f4-9b15-ccf6517a65ea
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=6b066b1b-a7f3-42f6-b240-0a20e1bb7657&nodeid=AAIABWAAIAAD&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABW%2FAAIABWAAI%2FAAIABWAAIAAD&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-50-803.%2BFull-time%2Bservice%2Baccrual%2Bfor%2Bannual%2Bor%2Bsick%2Bleave%2Bpurposes.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82SD-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=06ab1276-ef20-4116-a014-36b1a0ecd3a9
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=6b066b1b-a7f3-42f6-b240-0a20e1bb7657&nodeid=AAIABWAAIAAD&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABW%2FAAIABWAAI%2FAAIABWAAIAAD&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-50-803.%2BFull-time%2Bservice%2Baccrual%2Bfor%2Bannual%2Bor%2Bsick%2Bleave%2Bpurposes.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82SD-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=06ab1276-ef20-4116-a014-36b1a0ecd3a9
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=99240adc-8b02-4d01-9723-466792a504b1&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A688G-4K00-R03N-Y08D-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAIABWAAIAAH&ecomp=g2vckkk&prid=416b6e9e-3ac4-428e-9f58-0d4ae59d405d
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=e1d48068-faa6-4beb-9d51-7e42b9d15348&nodeid=AAIABWAALAAC&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABW%2FAAIABWAAL%2FAAIABWAALAAC&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-50-1102.%2BEligibility%2B%E2%80%94%2BGranting%2Bof%2Bleave.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82TF-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=06ab1276-ef20-4116-a014-36b1a0ecd3a9
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=e1d48068-faa6-4beb-9d51-7e42b9d15348&nodeid=AAIABWAALAAC&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABW%2FAAIABWAAL%2FAAIABWAALAAC&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-50-1102.%2BEligibility%2B%E2%80%94%2BGranting%2Bof%2Bleave.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82TF-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=06ab1276-ef20-4116-a014-36b1a0ecd3a9
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-06.20230418.pdf
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-06.20230418.pdf
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CHAPTER 5 
SICK LEAVE 

 
5.01 ELIGIBILITY TO ACCRUE SICK LEAVE 

 
Sick leave is accrued by an employee at the rate of twelve (12) days per year on the 
date the employee is hired and on each service anniversary date. Eligibility to accrue sick 
leave is the same as for annual leave. The rate of accrual for sick leave never 
changes during the period of employment. 
 
Service anniversary dates shall be adjusted to account for gaps in paid employment 
as a state employee. 

 
5.02 USE OF SICK LEAVE 

 
An appointing authority may grant an eligible employee sick leave if the employee 
is absent for any of the following reasons: 

A. Personal illness 

B. Disability due to accident 
 

C. Exposure to a contagious disease 
 

D. Sickness due to pregnancy or birth of a child (see Chapter 13, Parental Leave) 
 

 
E. Adoption 

 
F. Medical and dental appointments 

 
G. Medical care, illness or death of one of the following members of the family: 

 
- Spouse 

 
- Children (Son/Daughter: Biological, unborn, adopted, foster child, step-child, 

legal ward or child of a person standing in place of an absent parent, who is 
either under age 18 or age 18 or older and incapable of self-care because of  
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a mental or physical disability.) 

- Parents 

 
- Others, who at the discretion of the appointing authority have a 

relationship that merits similar consideration. 
 

H. Death of one of the following relatives: 

 
- Siblings - Sisters-in law * 

 
- Grandparents - Brothers-in-law * 

 
- Grandchildren - Foster parents 

 
- Parents-in-law - Foster brothers and sisters * 

 
- Daughters-in-law * - Step parents 

 
- Sons-in-law * - Step children 

 
* Employees are eligible to use up to three (3) days of sick leave for 

the death of these relatives. Employees are not eligible to use 
Bereavement Leave in the instance of death for these relatives. 

 
In (A) through (D) of this section, sick leave cannot be denied to any employee who 
presents a statement from a doctor certifying that the employee's health requires 
the employee to be absent from work. 

 
In (E) of this section, sick leave cannot be denied to any employee who presents 
a statement from the adoption agency indicating the required bonding period. 

 
In (F) of this section, the period of sick leave approved should be limited to 
the amount of time necessary for such appointment. 

 
In (G) and (H) of this section, refer to section titled "In Instance of Death of 



January 2024 

Attendance and Leave Manual 
Chapter 5 –Sick Leave 

Page 13 

 

 

 

Employee's Family" for additional information regarding limits of sick leave use for 
death in the family. 

 
Recordkeeping: Employee timesheets should be coded as Sick Leave (SL). 

 
5.03 SICK LEAVE BALANCE FOR SEPARATING EMPLOYEES 

 
The sick leave balance for separating employees (other than deceased employees) 
will be retained as a permanent record in the employee's personnel file. Should 
the employee be rehired with the state in the future, the sick leave balance may 
be reinstated in accordance with policy. 

 
5.04 EXCESS LEAVE TRANSFERRED TO SICK LEAVE 

 
An employee accumulating the maximum yearly allowable annual leave hours shall 
have any additional annual leave hours accrued transferred to the employee sick 
leave balance on the last day of the month preceding the employee’s service 
anniversary date. (See Chapter 4). 

 
5.05 SICK LEAVE USE AFTER NOTICE OF SEPARATION 

 
Sick leave may not be used simultaneously with terminal leave. If proper evidence 
is submitted supporting the use of sick leave after a retiring employee begins 
terminal leave, the employee will only be allowed to use sick leave through the 
original effective date of the employee’s separation. After the original separation 
date, the employee will be required to take a lump sum payment of the remainder 
of the employee’s compensatory and/or annual leave balances. This applies to any 
employee who submits notice of retirement. Terminal leave used prior to the 
approved sick leave periods should be changed to annual leave and employees are 
eligible to accrue leave during this period in accordance with standard policies and 
procedures. Any accrued annual leave would also be included in the lump sum 
payment at the end of the sick leave period. 

 
Upon the death of an employee, the sick leave balance is paid to the employee’s 
designated beneficiary. This balance is paid whether an employee dies while 
working or on terminal leave. 
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5.06 SICK LEAVE MAY NOT BE ADVANCED 

 
Sick leave may not be taken before being earned, beyond the instruction in Section 5.01. 

 
5.07 SICK LEAVE TRANSFERABLE BETWEEN AGENCIES 

 
All sick leave earned while employed in any agency, department of the state or in 
any state college, university or state operated technical school, shall be fully 
transferable between such agencies, departments, colleges and universities. 

 
All earned sick leave accrued by any employee who has transferred employment 
from a local school system in Tennessee may transfer when becoming a state 
employee. This section shall not apply to a substitute teacher. 

 
5.08 REINSTATEMENT OF UNUSED ACCUMULATED SICK LEAVE 

 
A previously accumulated unused sick leave balance shall be granted to any state 
employee who: 1) worked on a continuous basis for at least one (1) full year, 2) 
leaves in good standing and 3) returns to the state service as an employee 
scheduled to work at least one thousand six hundred (1,600) hours and eligible to 
accrue leave. The employee shall be credited with the sick leave balance upon the 
receipt of proper documentation from the employee’s agency. 

 
The provision of working one (1) full year shall not apply to a state employee or 
individual employed by a local school board in Tennessee who leaves the 
employment of the state or school board in good standing and becomes a full-time 
state employee within six (6) months of the date of termination. Such an employee 
shall be credited with all sick leave to which he was entitled at the time of 
termination upon the receipt of proper documentation from the employee’s 
agency. 

 
To certify that prior sick leave hours are correct, the current or previous employer 
must supply documentation and/or verify the records maintained by the 
Department of Human Resources. 
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Sick leave reinstatement will be denied to any employee who is dismissed from state 
employment because of gross misconduct. Sick leave will be reinstated to 
employees who leave state service for any other reason. 

 
5.09 BEREAVEMENT LEAVE 

 
In the event of the death of an employee's immediate family member, bereavement 
leave will be granted for up to three (3) days, within a 12-month period from the 
date of the event, without charge to the employee's accumulated leave balance. 
An employee must be in a leave accruing position to be eligible for bereavement 
leave. 

 
For this purpose, “immediate family members” are defined as: 

 
- Spouse - Children (including unborn) 

 
- Parents - Step children 

 
- Siblings - Grandparents 

 
- Grandchildren - Foster parents 

 
- Parents-in-law - Step parents 

 
Recordkeeping: Bereavement leave will be coded as Bereavement Leave with Pay (BER) on 
the employee’s timesheet. 

 
The granting of bereavement leave does not increase the total number of days 
provided for in the following section (“In Instance of Death in the Employee's 
Family”). 

 
5.10 IN INSTANCE OF DEATH IN THE EMPLOYEE'S FAMILY 

 
The use of sick leave for death of a family member is limited to three (3) days except 
for deaths of members of the immediate family. Leave for the death of an 
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immediate family member is normally limited to five (5) days (three (3) days of 
bereavement leave plus two (2) days of sick leave). The immediate family is defined 
under bereavement leave. When funeral services are conducted in a locality other 
than where the employee resides, necessary travel time in addition to the five (5) 
days may be allowed. Travel documentation explaining the necessity for the extra 
days should be placed in the employee's leave file. 

 
Example: An employee had a sick leave balance of 90.5 hours. The employee is 
granted 3 days (22.5 hours) of paid bereavement leave. The bereavement leave is 
not deducted from the employee sick leave, leaving a sick leave balance of 90.5 
hours. The employee also used 2 days (15.0 hours) of sick leave and this is 
deducted, leaving a sick leave balance of 75.5 hours. 

 
5.12 MEDICAL DOCUMENTATION 

 
Any employee may be required to present documentation (personal affidavits, 
physician's certificates and/or other testimonials) at the request of an appointing 
authority, the Commissioner of Human Resources or any other appropriate 
authority to support the reason for any absence during the time for which sick leave 
was taken. 

 
In situations where an employee has been unable to perform the essential 
functions of the employee job due to illness or disability, the appointing authority 
may require, as a condition of the employee's return to work, medical certification 
from a licensed health care provider that the employee is able to resume the 
employee’s regular job duties. 

 
Sick leave cannot be denied to any employee who presents a statement from a 
health service provider certifying that the employee's health requires absence from 
work. In situations where the health care provider’s statement does not identify 
specific beginning and end dates for the period of illness or incapacity, the 
supervisor may request that the employee provide additional documentation. 
Supervisors or agency officials needing clarification of or additional documentation 
should ask the employee to obtain the needed information instead of contacting 
the health services provide directly. The appointing authority may require 
additional documentation if, upon further investigation, there is substantial 
evidence of sick leave abuse by the employee. 
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5.13 SICK LEAVE BANK 

 
The Sick Leave Bank (SLB) grants paid sick leave to members who have exhausted 
all their personal sick, compensatory, and annual leave balances and who are medically 
certified as unable to perform the duties of their jobs as a result of a personal illness, 
injury, accident, disability, medical condition, quarantine; or illness of the member’s 
minor child. The member employee must meet the criteria established by the Sick 
Leave Bank Trustees and have been in a without pay status for five (5) consecutive 
days. 

 
The enrollment period is August, September and October each year. To elect to 
participate, an employee must: 

 
A. be eligible to accrue sick leave pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. § 8-50-802; 

 
B. have been employed by state government for twelve (12) full months 

immediately preceding application for participation; 

 
C. currently accrue leave; and 

 
D. have a sick leave balance of at least six (6) days as of October 31 of the current 

enrollment year in which applying for membership. 
 

At the time of enrollment, the member employee will have the equivalent of four (4) 
days of sick leave deducted from the employee personal accumulation and donated 
to the SLB. An annual contribution of one (1) sick leave day every October 1 after 
the first year of enrollment is required, although this may be waived by the Board of 
Trustees in any year. 

 
A member of the SLB shall be eligible to make application to the bank for sick leave 
on the February 1 following successful enrollment. Applications for grants from the 
SLB for pre-existing conditions will be denied until November 1 of the following year. 

https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=e43131c5-0a70-4152-801e-d3c9d84984b1&nodeid=AAIABWAAIAAC&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABW%2FAAIABWAAI%2FAAIABWAAIAAC&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-50-802.%2BSick%2Bleave.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A5SCF-WBW0-R03K-506N-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=1a6ff4cc-a296-44cd-b26a-ce7e26a018e1
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Grants of sick leave from the SLB shall not be made to any member for: 

 
A. elective surgery; 

 
B. illness of any family member, who is not a minor child; 

 
C. while the member is earning or receiving income from other employment; 

 
D. while the member is receiving paid parental leave; 

 
E. during any period the member is receiving disability benefits from voluntary 

short term and long term disability insurance, social security, or the state 
retirement plan; or 

 
F. the member is receiving workers’ compensation benefits, or any other employer 

provided benefits for job or service-related injuries or illnesses that are also 
related to the request for grants from the SLB. 

 
An eligible member may receive a maximum of 90 days from the SLB as a result of a 
personal illness, injury, accident, disability, medical condition, quarantine, illness 
of the member’s minor child or a  condition related to, resulting from, or recurring 
from a previously diagnosed condition for which the bank granted sick leave. Grants 
may be made in increments of up to thirty (30) days for which the member would 
have otherwise lost pay. 

 
Grants of sick leave from the SLB shall not exceed ninety (90) days within a twelve 
(12) month period. 

 
Sick leave used from the SLB shall not constitute creditable service for sick and 
annual leave accrual or for longevity purposes. An employee receiving a grant from 
the bank is not eligible for holiday pay but will be paid by the bank for a holiday that 
falls within an approval period. 

 
Sick Leave Bank Members must apply for Sick Leave Bank grants in Edison via the 
following path: Navigator> HCM> Self Service> Time Reporting> Sick Leave Bank> 
Request Withdraw> Start a New Request.
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5.14 - TRANSFERRING SICK LEAVE BETWEEN STATE EMPLOYEES (DONATED LEAVE) 

 
Sick leave may be transferred to fellow state employees who are members of the 
Sick Leave Bank (SLB) who have exhausted all sick, annual, compensatory leave, 
paid parental leave (if applicable), and leave approved  through the SLB and are 
unable to perform the duties of their jobs as a result of a personal illness, injury, 
accident, disability, medical condition, or quarantine; or illness of the member’s minor 
child. 

 
The maximum amount of leave that may be transferred to an employee during his 
or her state employment is limited to no more than one hundred and twenty (120) 
days for which the employee would not otherwise be paid. The maximum amount 
of leave that may be transferred to an employee in a twelve (12) month period is 
ninety (90) days for which the employee would not otherwise be paid. The initial 
twelve (12) month period starts on the date the employee receives donated sick 
leave and extends forward from that date. A new twelve (12) month period begins 
the first time the SLB certifies the member has exhausted all SLB grants available 
and the member continues to be unable to perform the duties of the job. 

 
In order to receive sick leave donated from another employee, all of the following 
criteria must be met. An employee must: 

 
A. be a current member of the SLB; 

 
B. have used all accumulated sick, annual and compensatory leave and used all 

days approved through the SLB; 
 

C. have continuing disability resulting from a personal illness or illness of the 
member’s minor child as described above and be unable to perform job duties; 
and 

 
D. not be receiving any other form of compensation including Paid Parental 

Leave (if applicable), Social Security Disability benefits, Division of Claims 
Administration benefits, or compensation through the State Retirement Plan or 
the SLB. 
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Before an employee is eligible to receive donated leave, the employee must 
complete a Request for Donated Sick Leave form (PR-0472) and the employee’s or 
minor child’s medical provider must complete a Medical Statement for the Transfer 
of Donated Sick Leave form (PR-0471) certifying that the employee is unable to 
perform the duties of his or her job due to their own condition or their minor child’s 
illness. Initial and subsequent Medical Statement for the Transfer of  Donated Sick 
Leave forms must be completed either by the current medical doctor/surgeon or 
by a nurse practitioner or physician’s assistant working directly under the 
supervision of the current medical doctor/surgeon. The completed medical 
statement form must be sent from the medical provider’s office directly to the 
Department of Human Resources. Medical statements received from anyone other 
than the medical office or the official custodian of the medical records will not be 
accepted. 

 
Each subsequent application for donated sick leave requires a new Request for 
Donated Sick Leave form from the employee and a new Medical Statement for the 
Transfer of Donated Sick Leave form from the medical provider. Subsequent 
medical forms must be completed based on a follow-up treatment visit relating to 
the same illness or injury for which the employee previously received donated sick 
leave. 

 
Once an application is approved by the Department of Human Resources, the 
employee is eligible to receive, if available, donated leave for regularly scheduled 
workdays and holidays for which the employee would otherwise be without pay. 
The employee may be authorized to receive donated sick leave for up to thirty (30) 
workdays that fall within the approved period. A new Request for Donated Leave 
form and a new Medical Statement for the Transfer of Donated Sick Leave form 
documenting the employee’s continued disability or illness of the employee’s 
minor child is required after each approved  period of paid leave. The employee is 
no longer eligible to receive donated leave as  of the date the member is released to 
return to work with or without restrictions. 

 
For employees receiving donated sick leave, each day is defined as seven and one- 
half (7.5) hours for employees on a thirty-seven and one-half (37.5) hour work week 
schedule and eight (8.0) hours for employees on a forty (40) hour work week 
schedule. Sick leave may be transferred to fellow state employees who are 
members of the Sick Leave Bank (SLB) who have exhausted all sick, annual, paid 
parental leave (if applicable), compensatory leave and



January 2024 

Attendance and Leave Manual 
Chapter 5 –Sick Leave 

Page 21 

 

 

 
leave approved through the SLB who are unable to perform the duties of their  jobs as 
a result of a personal illness, injury, accident, disability, medical condition, or 
quarantine; or illness of the member’s minor child. 

 
5.15 - CRITERIA FOR DONATING LEAVE TO AN EMPLOYEE 

 
In order to donate sick leave to another individual, an employee must agree to 
donate a minimum of five (5) days of leave (thirty-seven and one-half (37.5) hours 
for an employee with a seven and one-half (7.5) hour per day work schedule or forty 
(40.0) hours for an employee with an eight (8.0) hour per day work schedule). The 
maximum amount of sick leave an employee may donate during his or her state 
employment is a total of ninety (90) days. A donating employee is not required to be 
a member of the SLB and is not required to be employed in the same agency as the 
individual who will receive the donation. 

 
An employee may donate more than one (1) time to a single individual. However, 
the employee may not donate more than one-half of his or her own sick leave 
balance at the point leave is deducted from the sick leave balance and added to the 
receiving employee's sick leave balance. For example, an employee with a two 
hundred (200) hour sick leave balance agrees to donate to a member of the SLB 
who has exhausted all available SLB benefits. This employee may not donate more 
than a total of one hundred (100) hours (one-half of the 200-hour leave balance) to 
the SLB member. If the donating employee wishes to give additional leave to the 
same employee at a later date and the employee’s own sick leave balance is now 
one hundred ten (110) hours, the employee may only donate a maximum of fifty- 
five (55) hours (one-half of the 110 hour sick leave balance) to the SLB member. 
Remember, the maximum amount of sick leave an employee may donate to 
another employee during his or her state employment is a total of ninety (90) days. 

 
In order to facilitate sick leave transfer between employees, the following 
procedures must be followed. An employee donating leave to another employee 
must complete a Sick Leave Donation Agreement Form (# PR-0339) with 
information including the name of the employee to whom leave is being donated 
and the amount of leave the employee is agreeing to donate. This form must be 
signed by the donating employee certifying that he or she is aware of all conditions 
under which leave is being donated and that the leave is being donated at the 
employee’s own free will. Two other individuals must sign the form as witnesses to 
the employee’s signature. Once completed, the employee should send this form to 
his or her agency's human resources officer.
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The agency human resources officer must sign the form acknowledging receipt. After 
verifying that the employee has the sick leave balance to cover the amount of leave 
being donated and that the employee is not donating more than one-half of the sick 
leave balance, the form shall be forwarded to the Department of Human Resources. 
A copy of the agreement shall be placed in the donating employee's personnel file. 

 
Donor forms will be dated and time stamped in the order received. This will 
determine the order in which sick leave will be deducted from donating employees' 
leave balances in situations where there are multiple employees agreeing to donate 
to a single individual. Department of Human Resources staff will notify the agency 
employing the person to whom leave is being donated. 

 
Only the exact amount of leave needed to cover approved time in a pay period will 
be transferred at any given time. At the point of leave transfer, the Department of 
Human Resources will process leave adjustment forms (C-7's) to deduct the leave 
from the donating employee's leave balance and add this leave to the receiving 
employee's balance. Prior to deducting this leave, agency staff will verify with the 
Department that the donating employee still has a sufficient leave balance to cover 
the amount he or she originally agreed to donate. If less than that amount is 
available, only the amount meeting eligibility criteria will be deducted. If the person 
originally agreeing to donate leave is no longer employed with the state, has retired, 
has transferred to a state agency with a leave system not covered by the provisions 
of Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 8, Chapter 50, or no longer has a sufficient 
leave balance to meet eligibility criteria to donate leave at the time the sick leave is 
to be deducted, all responsibility to donate this leave is voided. After processing the 
adjustments, copies of the C-7's will be sent to both the donating and receiving 
employees' agencies and should be placed in their attendance and leave files. 

 
NOTE: Sick leave may not be transferred retroactively beyond one (1) pay period. An 
example of this would be an employee for whom no one has agreed to donate 
leave at the time his or her leave from the SLB has been exhausted. This employee 
would then begin a period of leave without pay. If another employee later agrees to 
donate sick leave to this employee, retroactive payment for the value of this leave 
may not extend beyond one (1) pay period. 
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The decision to donate sick leave to another individual should be a choice made 
freely by each employee. Any person attempting to unduly influence another 
employee to donate leave shall be subject to disciplinary action and any prior 
agreement made to donate leave under these conditions shall be voided. 

 
5.16 - SEPARATING/TERMINATING EMPLOYEES WISHING TO DONATE LEAVE 

 
Separating/Terminating employees wishing to donate leave must meet all of the 
following conditions: 

 
A. The separating/terminating employee must have a specific employee identified 

to whom the leave is to be donated; 

 
B. Leave donated for a separating/terminating employee cannot be used beyond 

the employee’s last day worked and the minimum five (5) days (37.5 hours for 
employees working 7.5 hour days or 40.0 hours for employees working 8.0 hour 
days) must be exhausted before the employee’s last day worked. 

 
C. The person to whom the leave is to be donated must be eligible to receive the 

leave (i.e., have exhausted all SLB leave and any other leave) during the period 
the separating/terminating employee is still working. 

 
Example: A separating/terminating employee has fourteen (14) working days left before 
the employee’s last day worked. The employee must donate at least five (5) days of sick leave 
and an eligible employee must completely use this leave before the end of the 
separating/terminating employee's last working day in order for the employee to be able to 
donate the leave. 

 
 

Authority: 
Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 8-30-104, 8-50-113, 8-50-802, 8-50-803, 8-50-804, 8-50-805, 8-50- 
806, 8-50-808, and 8-50-901 et seq. 
Rules of the Department of Human Resources 1120-06-.10, 1120-06-.12, and 1120-09-.02 

https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=8764c71e-ca87-44d1-bb13-eec36a292275&nodeid=AAIABDAABAAE&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAB%2FAAIABDAABAAE&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-104.%2BAuthority%2Bof%2Bcommissioner%2B%E2%80%94%2BSupervisory%2Bpersonnel%2B%E2%80%94%2BDesignees.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4M0-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=904438d0-d478-4f17-ad8b-32ad34707bd1
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=0a4bc3fb-1e3a-4683-a209-3fd64dcffc31&nodeid=AAIABWAABAAN&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABW%2FAAIABWAAB%2FAAIABWAABAAN&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-50-113.%2BBereavement%2Bleave.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82RG-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=904438d0-d478-4f17-ad8b-32ad34707bd1
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=cfd745a4-1806-4dca-bc23-46a760b8b1ba&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A688G-4450-R03M-508C-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAIABWAAIAAC&ecomp=g2vckkk&prid=6b066b1b-a7f3-42f6-b240-0a20e1bb7657
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=326d4be7-85b1-45f9-a47d-9a8a6efcf346&nodeid=AAIABWAAIAAD&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABW%2FAAIABWAAI%2FAAIABWAAIAAD&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-50-803.%2BFull-time%2Bservice%2Baccrual%2Bfor%2Bannual%2Bor%2Bsick%2Bleave%2Bpurposes.&indicator=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82SD-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=904438d0-d478-4f17-ad8b-32ad34707bd1
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=1799d374-bbd8-43e2-8507-312e761f87ca&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82SF-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAIABWAAIAAE&ecomp=w53dkkk&prid=326d4be7-85b1-45f9-a47d-9a8a6efcf346
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=038d1f5d-583c-4a8e-a635-04faf22c1971&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82SG-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAIABWAAIAAF&ecomp=w53dkkk&prid=1799d374-bbd8-43e2-8507-312e761f87ca
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=ba311150-3e5a-4147-8314-4b5ef7dd83ec&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A5SCF-WPV0-R03K-410K-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAIABWAAIAAG&ecomp=w53dkkk&prid=038d1f5d-583c-4a8e-a635-04faf22c1971
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=ba311150-3e5a-4147-8314-4b5ef7dd83ec&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A5SCF-WPV0-R03K-410K-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAIABWAAIAAG&ecomp=w53dkkk&prid=038d1f5d-583c-4a8e-a635-04faf22c1971
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=ccbac17a-52d3-4679-a0d6-433f429e8f82&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82SK-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAIABWAAIAAI&ecomp=w53dkkk&prid=044eb8d3-21cf-4316-b82c-acf86520de42
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=bfee2dc6-2e55-46ab-8b49-8cbb2bc23ce7&nodeid=AAIABWAAJAAB&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABW%2FAAIABWAAJ%2FAAIABWAAJAAB&level=4&haschildren=&populated=false&title=8-50-901.+Part+definitions.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82SS-00008-00&ecomp=bgf5kkk&prid=1a6ff4cc-a296-44cd-b26a-ce7e26a018e1
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-06.20230418.pdf
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-06.20230418.pdf
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-09.20230418.pdf
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CHAPTER 6 
FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE ACT (FMLA) 

 
6.01 - EMPLOYEE ELIGIBILITY 

 
In order to be considered eligible for leave under the Family and Medical Leave Act 
(FMLA), an employee must: (1) have worked for the State of Tennessee for at least twelve 
(12) months; and (2) have worked at least one thousand, two-hundred and fifty (1,250) 
hours during the year preceding the start of the leave. 

 
(1) Twelve (12) months of service. 

 
The twelve (12) months of required work with the State do not have to be 
consecutive in order for an employee to be eligible. However, service accrued more 
than seven (7) years ago shall not be counted toward the minimum requirement.  If 
an employee  is  maintained on the payroll for any part of a week, including periods of 
paid or unpaid leave during which other benefits or compensation are provided by  the 
state (such as worker’s compensation or group health plan benefits), that week is 
considered a week of employment. Fifty-two (52) weeks of such employment 
equals twelve (12) months. 

 
An employee who has a break in employment due to service under the Uniformed 
Services Employment Reemployment Rights Act (USERRA) shall receive credit for 
each month of military service which shall count toward the 12-month minimum service 
requirement. 

 
For example, an employee who has been employed by the state for nine (9) 
months is ordered to active military service for a period of nine (9) additional 
months. Upon completion of military service, the employee must be considered 
to have been employed by the state for more than the required twelve (12) 
months, since nine (9) months were accrued while actually employed by the state and 
nine (9) months were accrued while serving on active duty. 

 
(2) One thousand, two-hundred and fifty (1,250) hours worked. 

 
In determining hours worked, the agency shall calculate all hours actually worked by an 
employee, including overtime hours.

https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/fmla/law
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-20/chapter-IX/part-1002/subpart-A
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-20/chapter-IX/part-1002/subpart-A
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An employee who returns to work from fulfilling a USERRA-covered military service 
obligation shall be credited with the hours of service that would have been 
performed but for the period of military service. In order to determine the hours 
that would have been worked during the period of military service, the employee’s pre-
service work schedule can generally be used for calculations. 

 
For example, an employee who works 37.5 hours per week for the state returns to 
employment following 20 weeks of military service and requests leave under FMLA. 
To determine the employee’s eligibility, the hours the employee would have worked 
during the period of military service (20 x 37.5 = 750 hours) must be added to the 
hours actually worked during the twelve (12) month period prior to the start of the 
leave. 

 
6.02 - QUALIFYING CRITERIA FOR GRANTING LEAVE 

 
If an employee otherwise meets eligibility requirements, he or she may take FMLA leave 
for any one or combination of the following reasons: 

 
A. The birth of a child and to bond with the newborn child within one year of birth; 

 
B. The placement with the employee of a child for adoption or foster care and to bond 

with the newly-placed child within one year of placement; 

 
C. The care of the employee's spouse, son, daughter, or parent with a serious health 

condition, including incapacity due to pregnancy and for prenatal care; 

 
D. A serious health condition that makes the employee unable to perform the functions 

of the employee’s job, including incapacity due to pregnancy and for prenatal medical 
care; 

 
E. Any qualifying exigency arising out of the fact that an employee’s spouse, son, 

daughter, or parent is a covered military member on covered active duty (or has 
been notified of an impending call or order to active covered duty status); or 

 
F. To care for a covered service member with a serious injury or illness if the employee is the 

spouse, son, daughter, parent, or next of kin of a covered service member.
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6.03 - DEFINITIONS OF FAMILY MEMBERS 

 
Spouse: A husband or wife. For purposes of this definition, husband or wife refers 
to the person with whom an individual entered into marriage as defined or 
recognized under Tennessee law for purposes of marriage or, in the case of a 
marriage entered into outside of Tennessee, if the marriage is valid in the place 
where entered into and could have been entered into in at least one State. This 
definition includes an individual in a same-sex or common law marriage that either: 

 
(1) Was entered into in a State that recognizes such marriages; or 
(2) If entered into outside of any State, is valid in the place where entered into 
and could have been entered into in at least one State. 

 
Parent: Biological, adoptive, step or foster parent or an individual who currently 
stands in place of an absent parent. A person who is “in loco parentis” (standing in  
place of an absent parent) is not required to have a biological or legal relationship 
with a child. Persons who are standing in place of an absent parent include those  
with day-to-day responsibilities to care for and financially support a child or, in the     
case of an employee, who had such responsibility for the employee when the 
employee was a child. The FMLA Coordinator may require an employee requesting 
FMLA leave to provide reasonable documentation confirming the family relationship 
including such items as a written statement from the employee, a child's birth 
certificate and relevant court documents. The definition does not include parents- 
in-law. 

 
Son/Daughter: Biological, adopted, foster child, stepchild, legal ward, or child of a 
person standing in place of an absent parent who is either under age 18 or age 18 
or older and who is incapable of self-care because of a mental or physical disability. In 
order for an employee to take FMLA leave for a child who is 18 or over, the son or 
daughter must: (1) have a disability as defined by the Americans with Disability Act 
(ADA) at the time the leave is to commence; (2) be incapable of self-care because of 
the disability; (3) have a serious health condition; and (4) need care because of the 
serious health condition. 
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For purposes of military caregiver leave, a son or daughter refers to the service 
member’s son or daughter of any age. 

 
Next of kin: The service member’s nearest blood relative, other than the service 
member’s spouse, parent, son, or daughter, in the following order of priority: (1) one 
designated blood relative (in writing); (2) all blood relatives with legal custody; (3) all 
brothers and sisters; (4) all grandparents; (5) all aunts and uncles; or (6) all first cousins. 

 
6.04 - BIRTH OF A SON OR DAUGHTER 

 
In addition to leave taken after the birth of a child, FMLA leave may be taken by an 
expectant mother for the purpose of prenatal visits and in situations where a serious 
health condition prevents her from performing her job duties prior to the child's 
birth. 

 
6.05 - ADOPTIVE OR FOSTER CARE PLACEMENT 

 
FMLA leave may be taken prior to an adoptive or foster care placement if the leave 
is integral to the placement. Examples include required counseling sessions, court 
appearances, and legal or medical consultations. There is no requirement in FMLA 
that the source of an adoption be from a licensed adoption agency in order for an 
employee to be eligible for FMLA leave. 

 
Foster Care is defined as “24-hour care for children in substitution for, and away 
from, their parents or guardian." FMLA requires that this placement be made by or 
in agreement with the state and that state action be involved in the removal of the 
child from parental custody. 

 
6.06 - SERIOUS HEALTH CONDITION 

 
For purposes of the FMLA, serious health condition means an illness, injury, 
impairment, or physical or mental condition that involves inpatient care or 
continuing treatment by a health care provider. 

 
A. Inpatient Care means an overnight stay in a hospital, hospice, or residential 

medical care facility. 
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B. Continuing Treatment by a Health Care Provider: A serious health condition 

involving continuing treatment by a health care provider includes one or more of 
the following: 

 
1. A period of incapacity of more than three (3) consecutive calendar days and 

any subsequent treatment or period of incapacity relating to the same condition 
that also involves: 

 
(a) treatment two (2) or more times, within thirty (30) days of the first day of 

incapacity, unless extenuating circumstances exist, by a health care 
provider,  by a nurse under  direct supervision of a health care provider, 
or by a provider of health care services under orders of, or on referral 
by, a health care provider. The first in-person visit to the health care 
provider must take place within seven (7) days of the first day of incapacity; 
or 

 
(b) treatment by a health care provider on at least one (1) occasion which 

results in a regimen  of  continuing treatment under the  supervision of the 
health care provider. 

 
2. Any period of incapacity due to pregnancy or for prenatal care. 

 
3. Any period of incapacity or treatment for such incapacity due to a chronic 

serious health condition. A chronic serious health condition is one which (a) 
requires periodic visits, at least two per year, for treatment by a health care 
provider or by a nurse or physician's assistant under direct supervision of a 
health care provider, (b) continues over an extended period  of  time (including 
recurring episodes of a single underlying condition), and (c) may cause 
episodic rather than continuing periods of incapacity (such as asthma, diabetes 
and epilepsy). 

 
4. A long-term period of incapacity due to a condition for which treatment may not 

be effective. In this situation the employee or family member must be under 
the continuing supervision of but not need to be receiving active treatment by 
a health care provider. Examples may include Alzheimer's, severe stroke 
and terminal stages of a disease. 



March 2025 

Attendance and Leave Manual 
Chapter 6 – Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) 

Page 6 

 

 

 
 

 

 
5. Any period of absence to receive multiple treatments, including periods of 

recovery from treatments, by a health care provider or by a provider of 
health services under orders of or referral by a health care provider, either 
for restorative surgery after an accident or other injury or for a condition that 
would likely result in a period of incapacity of more than three (3) calendar 
days in the absence of medical intervention or treatment, such as cancer 
chemotherapy or radiation treatment, severe arthritis (physical therapy) and 
kidney disease (dialysis). 

 
6. In the case of substance abuse, only the time absent from work due to 

treatment is qualifying FMLA leave. A period of incapacity resulting from use 
of the substance is not considered a covered illness. Also, an employee with a 
substance abuse problem is not protected under FMLA from disciplinary 
action resulting from such substance abuse. When an agency has a non- 
discriminatory policy that provides for an employee's termination for 
substance abuse under certain circumstances and this policy has been 
communicated to all employees, an appointing authority may terminate the 
employee, whether or not the employee is on FMLA leave. The appointing 
authority cannot, however, take action against the employee for exercising 
his or her right to take FMLA leave for treatment of the substance abuse. 

 
D. Definition of Health Care Provider 

 
1. A doctor of medicine or osteopathy who is authorized to practice medicine 

or surgery (as appropriate) by the state in which the doctor practices; 
 

2. Podiatrists, dentists, clinical psychologists, optometrists, or chiropractors. A 
chiropractor is limited to treatment consisting of manual manipulation of the 
spine to correct a dislocation demonstrated by x-ray. These professionals 
must be licensed in the state and performing within the scope of their practice 
as defined by state law; 

 
3. Nurse practitioner, nurse-midwives, clinical social workers and physician 

assistants who are authorized to practice under state law and are functioning 
within the scope of their practice as defined by state law; 
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4. Christian Science Practitioners listed with the First Church of Christ, Scientists 
in Boston, Massachusetts; 

 
5. Any health care provider from whom the state or Benefits Administration will 

accept certification of the existence of a serious health condition to 
substantiate a claim for benefits; or 

 
6. Any health care provider listed above who practices in a country other than 

the United States who is authorized to practice in their country and is 
functioning within the scope of practice as defined by the laws of that country. 

 
D. When an employee is absent from work due to pregnancy, prenatal care or due 

to a chronic health condition, leave taken qualifies as FMLA leave even if the 
employee or family member does not receive treatment from a health care 
provider during the absence and even if the absence lasts less than three (3) 
days. 

 
For example, an employee with asthma may be unable to report to work due to 
onset of an asthma attack he or she can treat at home. Even though the employee 
did not visit a health care provider and was absent for less than three days, the time 
off qualifies as FMLA leave. 

 
Another example is an employee unable to report to work due to severe morning 
sickness resulting from pregnancy. Although this absence was less than three (3) 
days and the employee did not need to visit a health care provider, this time off 
qualifies as FMLA leave. 

 
6.07 - MILITARY CAREGIVER LEAVE 

 
A covered employer must grant an eligible employee who is a spouse, son, daughter, 
parent, or next of kin of a covered service member with a serious injury or illness up to 
a total of twenty-six (26) work weeks of job-protected leave during a single twelve (12) 
month period to care for the service member. The employee shall use accrued annual, 
sick, or compensatory leave before entering into a leave without pay status. 
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A covered service member is: (1) a current member of the Armed Forces, including 
a member of the National Guard or Reserves, who is undergoing medical treatment, 
recuperation or therapy, is otherwise in outpatient status, or is otherwise on the 
temporary disability retired list, for a serious injury or illness; or (2) a veteran who was 
discharged or released under conditions other than dishonorable  at any time during the 
five-year period prior to the first date the eligible employee takes FMLA leave to care 
for the covered veteran, and who is undergoing medical treatment, recuperation, or 
therapy for a serious injury or illness. 

 
A serious injury or illness for a current service member includes injuries or illnesses that 
existed before the beginning of the  member’s  active  duty and were aggravated by 
service in the line of duty on active duty in the Armed Forces. A serious injury or 
illness for a covered veteran means an injury or illness that was incurred or aggravated 
by the member  in the  line  of duty on  active  duty in the Armed Forces and manifested 
itself before or after the member became a veteran, and is: (1) a continuation of a serious 
injury or illness that was incurred or aggravated when the covered veteran was a 
member of the Armed Forces  and rendered the service member unable to perform the 
duties of the service member’s office, grade, rank, or rating; or (2) a physical or mental 
condition  for which  a covered veteran has received a VA Service Related Disability 
Rating (VASRD) of 50 percent or greater and such VASRD rating is based, in whole or 
in part, on  the condition  precipitating  the  need for caregiver leave; or  (3)  A  physical 
or  mental condition that substantially impairs the veteran’s ability to secure or follow a 
substantially  gainful  occupation  by  reason of a disability or disabilities related to 
military service or would  do  so  absent treatment; or (4) an injury, include psychological 
injury, on the basis of which the covered veteran has been enrolled in the Department 
of Veterans Affairs Program of Comprehensive Assistance for Family Caregivers. 

 
The single twelve (12) month period for leave to care for a covered service member with 
a serious injury or illness begins on the first day the employee takes leave for this reason 
and ends twelve (12) months later, regardless of the twelve (12) month period 
established by the employer for other types of FMLA leave. An eligible employee 
is limited to a combined total of twenty-six (26) work weeks for leave for any FMLA- 
qualifying reason during the single twelve (12) month period. (Only twelve (12) of the 
twenty-six (26) weeks total may be for a FMLA-qualifying reason other than to care for 
a covered service member.) 
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6.08 - MILITARY QUALIFYING EXIGENCY LEAVE 
 

An eligible employee may take FMLA leave while the employee’s spouse, son, daughter, 
or parent (the military member or member) is on covered active duty or call to covered 
active duty status (or has been notified of an impending call or order to covered active 
duty). Covered active duty or call to covered active duty status means duty during 
the deployment of the member with the Armed Forces to a foreign country or to a 
foreign country under a Federal call or order to active duty in support of a contingency 
operation. Eligible employees may take qualifying exigency leave for any of the 
following reasons: 

 
• To address issues arising from a covered military member who is notified of 

an impending call or order to active duty in support of a contingency 
operation seven (7) or less calendar days before deployment; 

 
• To  attend certain military functions,  such  as an official ceremony,  program, or 

event sponsored by the military that is related to the active duty or call to active 
duty status of a covered military member. This may also include attendance at 
any family support or assistance programs and informational briefings 
sponsored or promoted by the  military,  military  service organizations, or the 
American Red Cross that are related to active duty or call to active duty status of 
a covered military member; 

 
• To arrange for certain childcare and related activities when the active duty or 

call to active duty status of a covered military member necessitates a change 
in the existing childcare arrangement, such as arranging for alternative 
childcare, providing childcare on a non-routine, urgent, immediate need basis, 
enrolling or transferring a child in a new school or day care facility, and 
attending certain meetings at a school or a day care facility if they are 
necessary due to circumstances arising from the active duty or call to active 
duty of the covered military member; 

 
• To make or update financial and legal arrangements to address a covered 

military member’s absence; 
 

• To attend counseling provided by someone other than a health care provider 
for oneself, the covered military member, or the child of the covered military 
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member, the need for which arises from the active duty or call to active duty 
status of the covered military member; 

 
• To spend time, up to fifteen (15) days, with a covered military member who is 

on short-term, temporary, rest and recuperation leave during deployment; 

 
• To attend certain post-deployment activities, including arrival ceremonies, 

reintegration briefings and events, and other official ceremonies or programs 
sponsored by the military for a period of ninety (90) days following the 
termination of the covered military member’s active duty status, and addressing 
issues arising from the death of a covered member; or 

 
• To address other events that the employee and employer agree is a qualifying 

exigency or that the United States Secretary of Labor appropriately determines 
to be a qualifying exigency. 

 
• To care for a military member’s parent who is incapable of self-care when 

the care is necessitated by the member’s covered active duty. Such care may 
include arranging for alternative care, providing care on an immediate need 
basis, admitting or transferring the parent to a care facility, or attending meetings 
with staff at a care facility. 

 
6.09 - LEAVE ENTITLEMENT - LIMITATIONS ON LENGTH AND DURATION 

 
Except in the case to care for a covered service member with a serious injury 
or illness, an eligible employee’s FMLA leave entitlement is limited to a total of 
twelve 
(12) work weeks of leave during a twelve (12) month period. 

 
This twelve (12) work week limit is equivalent to sixty (60) workdays, including 
holidays. The initial twelve (12) month period starts on the date the employee's 
FMLA leave first begins and extends twelve (12) months forward from that date. 
A new twelve (12) month period would begin the first time FMLA leave is taken after 
completion of any previous twelve (12) month period. However, an eligible 
employee who takes leave to care for the covered service member with a serious 
injury or illness begins on the first day the employee takes leave for this reason and 
ends twelve (12) months later, regardless of the twelve (12) month period 
established by an agency for other types of FMLA leave. 
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An eligible employee’s leave is limited to a total of twenty-six (26) work weeks 
of leave during a single twelve (12) month period to care for a covered service 
member with a serious injury or illness. If an employee receives twenty-six (26) 
work weeks of leave for military reasons, the employee is not eligible for additional 
FMLA leave during the same period. If an employee combines leave for caring for 
an eligible service member and another qualifying FMLA leave, only twelve (12) 
work weeks may be used for leave unrelated to the care of a covered service 
member. 

 
6.10 - LIMITS ON LEAVE ENTITLEMENT FOR BIRTH, ADOPTION, AND FOSTER CARE 

 
Leave entitlement for the birth of a child or for adoption or foster care placement 
expires at the end of the twelve (12) month period beginning on the date of 
the birth or placement. FMLA leave for these reasons must be concluded within this 
time period. 

 
6.11 – INTERMITTENT LEAVE OR REDUCED LEAVE SCHEDULE 

 
An eligible employee may take intermittent FMLA leave or have a reduced work 
schedule over a twelve (12) month time period for any of the qualifying reasons 
for FMLA leave. 

 
When FMLA leave is granted on an intermittent or reduced leave schedule basis, 
the leave shall be accounted using an increment no greater than the shortest 
period of time that is used to account for other forms of leave, provided that it is 
not greater than one hour and provided further that an employee’s FMLA leave 
entitlement may not be reduced by more than the amount of leave actually taken. 

 
If an employee requests intermittent leave or leave resulting in a reduced work 
schedule, based on the need for planned medical treatment for the employee, 
a family member or a covered service member, including a period of recovery from 
a serious health condition, the appointing authority may  require  that  the employee 
transfer temporarily to another position for which the employee is qualified and 
which better accommodates the employee's need for recurring leave 
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periods. This temporary position must have equivalent pay and benefits, but need 
not have equivalent duties. Under no circumstances shall an appointing authority 
transfer an employee to  an alternative  position  with the  intent of discouraging the 
employee from taking leave or causing hardship to the employee. 

 
If an employee is required to work overtime (mandatory overtime) but, is unable to 
do so because of an FMLA-qualifying reason, the hours in which the employee would 
have been required to work will be counted against the employee’s FMLA entitlement. 

 
6.12 – COORDINATION WITH ACCRUED LEAVE 

 
An employee on FMLA leave is required to use any accumulated compensatory, sick, 
or annual leave for any of the qualifying reasons: 
 

A. The placement with the employee of a child for foster care and to bond with 
the newly-placed child within one year of placement; 

B. The care of the employee's spouse, son, daughter, or parent with a serious 
health condition, including incapacity due to pregnancy and for prenatal care; 

C. A serious health condition that makes the employee unable to perform the 
functions of the employee’s job, including incapacity due to pregnancy and 
for prenatal medical care; 

D. Any qualifying exigency arising out of the fact that an employee’s spouse, 
son, daughter, or parent is a covered military member on covered active duty 
(or has been notified of an impending call or order to active covered duty 
status); or 

E. To care for a covered service member with a serious injury or illness if the 
employee is the spouse, son, daughter, parent, or next of kin of a covered 
service member. 

 
This will run concurrently with the employees FMLA entitlement. An employee on FMLA 
leave must use all accrued leave prior to being eligible for unpaid leave. However, an 
employee can elect to hold up to 10 days of annual, compensatory, and/or sick leave while 
on leave under the FMLA. An employee may choose what type of leave they hold and it can 
be a combination of sick, annual, or compensatory leave. The held leave shall not exceed 
10 days in an FMLA leave year. The held leave will be maintained in their accrued leave 
balance until the employee uses it under the usual leave and attendance policies. An 
employee with no accumulated sick, annual, or compensatory leave balances must take his 
or her FMLA leave as unpaid. Employees will also be allowed to save the necessary time 
for Sick Leave Bank purposes. Notice of intent to save the requisite day(s) for Sick Leave  

https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-09.20190815.pdf
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Bank purposes must be made when requesting FMLA leave.  

An employee on FMLA leave who is also eligible for Paid Parental Leave (see Section 
13.02 for more information) shall receive up to six (6) workweeks of paid leave for the 
following reasons:  
 
(A) The birth of the employee’s child and to bond with the child within one year of 

placement, or 
(B) The placement of a child with the employee for adoption and to bond with the 

newly-placed child within one year of placement. 
 

The paid leave shall not count against an employee’s annual, sick, or compensatory 
leave. For the purpose of calculating anniversary dates, this absence from work is 
considered full-time employment. Additionally, an eligible employee may receive no 
more than six (6) workweeks of paid leave for any twelve-month period, even if there 
is more than one qualifying birth or adoption during that period. The paid leave must 
be used within one year of the qualifying birth or placement. Any FMLA leave that an 
employee elects to use beyond the Paid Parental Leave six (6) workweek entitlement 
shall count against the employee’s accumulated compensatory, sick, or annual leave 
for the absence (unless the employee elects to hold leave as noted above). An 
employee with no accumulated sick, annual, or compensatory leave balances must 
take his or her FMLA leave as unpaid. 
 
An employee on FMLA leave for birth or adoption who is ineligible for Paid Parental 
Leave is required to use any accumulated compensatory, sick, or annual leave for the 
absence (unless the employee elects to hold leave as noted above). An employee 
with no accumulated sick, annual, or compensatory leave balances must take his or her 
FMLA leave as unpaid.  

 
6.13 - COORDINATION WITH WORKERS’ COMPENSATION 

 
Workers’ compensation leave, to the extent permitted by law, shall be designated as 
FMLA leave when qualifying conditions are met. If an employee's injury qualifies as 
FMLA leave, the employee cannot be forced to return to light duty work before the 
leave expires. If the employee freely accepts light duty work before the twelve (12) 
weeks of FMLA leave expire, the employee still has the right to return to his or her 
original or an equivalent position within twelve (12) weeks from the date FMLA leave 
began. 

 
6.14 - COORDINATION WITH PARENTAL LEAVE 
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Under the parental leave law, an employee is entitled to up to four (4) months leave 
for adoption, pregnancy, childbirth and nursing an infant (“parental leave”). If leave  
 
 
qualifies for both FMLA leave and parental leave, the leave used counts against the 
employee's entitlement under both laws. Parental leave and FMLA leave shall run 
concurrently to the extent permitted by law. Once the twelve (12) week FMLA 
entitlement is completed, this employee is still eligible to take the additional time to 
complete the four (4) months leave for adoption, pregnancy, childbirth and nursing 
an infant. However, the state is under no obligation to provide health insurance 
benefits during this period, should the leave be without pay. If the employee is 
eligible for Paid Parental Leave (see section 13.02 for more information), only the 
first six (6) workweeks of parental leave is paid. An employee who wishes to take 
additional parental leave beyond the six (6) week entitlement must use his or her 
accrued leave before going on unpaid leave. 

 
6.15 - EMPLOYEE NOTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS 

 
When the need for unpaid leave is foreseeable, an employee must provide at least 
thirty (30) days advance notice prior to the date the leave is to begin. In situations 
where thirty (30) day notification is not possible because the employee has no 
knowledge of the exact time when the leave will need to begin or because of change 
or circumstance or medical emergency, notice must be given as soon as practicable, 
normally within one (1) or two (2) business days of when the employee knows the 
date leave will be needed. 

 
Employees should request FMLA leave in Edison through Employee Self Service by 
navigating to HCM > Self Service > Time Reporting > Report Time > Request FMLA 
Leave. Employees are required to provide the need for the leave and the anticipated 
timing and duration of the leave. 

 
In instances where the employee does not enter the request in Edison, but instead 
notifies the supervisor of the need for leave under the FMLA, the supervisor shall 
refer the employee to the agency FMLA Coordinator. The FMLA Coordinator w i l l 
request additional information to determine if the employee is requesting FMLA 
leave specifically, obtain the necessary details of the leave being taken, and enter the 
request in Edison. 

 
Absent unusual circumstances, employees failing to provide notice of the need for 
FMLA leave within the required time frames may be subject to disciplinary action; 

https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=7cd6ef40-9261-49d5-bab3-41862642eff4&nodeid=AAEAAVAAEAAI&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAE%2FAAEAAV%2FAAEAAVAAE%2FAAEAAVAAEAAI&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=4-21-408.%2BLeave%2Bfor%2Badoption%2C%2Bpregnancy%2C%2Bchildbirth%2Band%2Bnursing%2Ban%2Binfant.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4WYJ-10F0-R03J-K44X-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=e655d653-e602-4515-a980-3c62f24fe0d9
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however, they may not be denied the leave. 
 
 
 

 
6.16 - EMPLOYEE NOTIFICATION PRIOR TO RETURN TO WORK 

An employee may not be required to take more leave than necessary to address 
circumstances resulting in the need for leave.  If an employee is returning to work 
sooner than expected, the employee must give the FMLA Coordinator two (2) 
business days’ notice of the changed circumstances before the appointing authority 
is required to restore the employee to his or her former or comparable position. 

 
6.17 - MEDICAL CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS 

 
The FMLA Coordinator may require that an employee's request for leave be 
supported by certification from a health care provider in situations where the leave 
is requested to care for the employee's seriously ill spouse, son, daughter, parent, 
or next of kin for qualified military leave, or due to the employee's personal serious 
health condition. The FMLA Coordinator must give written notice to the employee 
of the requirement to provide medical certification each time certification is 
required. 

 
When the need for leave is foreseeable, the employee should provide medical 
certification before the leave begins. When this is not possible the employee must 
provide this information within the time frame requested by the FMLA 
Coordinator. At least fifteen (15) calendar days must be allowed for the employee 
to provide requested medical certification unless this is not possible under the 
circumstances, such as an employee's personal health condition preventing his 
or her ability to obtain the necessary information in a timely manner. 

 
Any request for medical certification should be made at the time the employee 
requests leave or within two (2) business days. If the leave was unforeseen, the 
certification should be requested within two (2) business days after the leave has 
begun. If the FMLA Coordinator has reason to question the appropriateness of 
the leave or its duration, certification may be requested at a later date. An 
employee should be advised of the consequences of not providing medical 
certification at the time the certification is requested. 

 
The FMLA Coordinator may request only the following information from a health 
care provider certifying an employee's personal serious health condition or that of 
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a son, daughter, parent, or next of kin. A sample form is provided on the  
 
 
 
 
Department of Human Resources’ website and should be used to obtain this 
information: 

 
A. A statement or description of the appropriate medical facts regarding the 

patient’s health condition for which leave is requested. 

 
B. The approximate date the serious health condition began and its probable 

duration, including the probable duration of the patient's present incapacity, 
whether it will be necessary for the employee to take intermittent leave or work 
a reduced schedule and the probable duration of such a schedule. The 
certification may state if the condition is pregnancy or a chronic condition, 
whether the patient is presently incapacitated and the likely duration and 
frequency of periods of incapacity. 

 
C. If additional treatments will be required for the condition and an estimate of 

the probable number of treatments. If the patient's incapacity will be 
intermittent or require a reduced work schedule, an estimate of the probable 
number of and interval between such treatments and period required for 
recovery. If any of the treatments listed above will be provided by another 
provider of health services and the nature of the treatments. If a regimen of 
continuing treatment by the patient is required under the supervision of the 
health care provider and a description of the regimen. 

 
D. If medical leave is required because of the employee's own condition, 

information may be requested on whether the employee is unable to perform 
any one or more of the essential functions of the position, including a statement 
of the essential functions the employee is unable to perform. If the employee 
is able to perform work of any other kind and if the employee must be absent 
from work for treatment. 

 
E. If the leave is required to care for a family member, information may be 

requested on whether the patient requires assistance for basic medical or 
personal needs or safety, or for transportation or, if not, whether the 
employee's presence to provide psychological comfort would be beneficial 
to the patient or assist in the patient’s recovery. The employee must provide 
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information on the care provided and an estimate of the time period involved. 
If the employee's family member will need care only intermittently or on a 
reduced leave schedule, the probable duration of the need. 
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F. If the employer deems a medical certification to be incomplete or insufficient, 

the employer must specify in writing what information is lacking, and give the 
employee seven (7) calendar days to cure the deficiency. 

 
Once an employee has submitted a complete and sufficient medical certification 
document signed by the employee's or family member's health care provider, the 
FMLA Coordinator may not request any additional information from that health 
care provider. The employee’s FMLA Coordinator may only contact the employee's 
health care provider to verify the authenticity of or to clarify the medical 
certification. 

 
6.18 - GENETIC INFORMATION NONDISCRIMINATION ACT OF 2008 (GINA) 

 
The Genetic Information Nondiscrimination Act of 2008 (GINA) requires a 
disclaimer be included on all communications to medical providers. The act sets 
forth the following safe-harbor language to meet this requirement and should be 
provided to all employees when requesting medical certification: 

 
The Genetic Information Nondiscrimination Act of 2008 (GINA) prohibits 
employers and other entities covered by GINA Title II from requesting or 
requiring genetic information of an individual or family member of the 
individual except, as specifically allowed by this law. To comply with this 
law, we are asking that you not provide any genetic information when 
responding to this request for medical information. Genetic information, as 
defined by GINA, includes an individual’s family medical history, the results 
of an individual’s or family member’s genetic tests, the fact that an individual 
or an individual’s family member sought or received genetic services, and 
genetic information of a fetus carried by an individual or an individual’s 
family member or an embryo lawfully held by an individual or family 
member receiving assistive reproductive services. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/PLAW-110publ233/pdf/PLAW-110publ233.pdf
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6.19 - MILITARY LEAVE CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS 

 
An employee requesting leave for a qualifying exigency must submit a copy of the 
covered military member’s active duty orders and certification providing the 
appropriate facts related to the particular qualifying exigency for which leave is 
sought. This information may include contract information if the leave involves 
meeting with a third party. 

 
If the qualifying exigency involves rest and recuperation leave, the employee must 
submit a copy of the military member’s rest and recuperation orders, or other 
documentation issued by the military setting forth the dates of the military 
member’s leave. 

 
An employee requesting leave to care for a covered service member with a serious 
injury or illness must submit a certification form completed by an authorized health 
care provider or a copy of an Invitational Travel Order or Invitational Travel 
Authorization issued to any member of the covered service member’s family. 

 
6.20 - EMPLOYEE FAILURE TO PROVIDE MEDICAL CERTIFICATION 

 
An employee who fails to provide certification within the requested allowable time 
frame (minimally fifteen (15) calendar days) may be denied leave until certification 
is provided if the leave was foreseeable.  

 
When the need for leave is unforeseeable, an employee must provide certification 
within a reasonable period of time determined by the FMLA Coordinator based 
on the particular medical circumstances. An employee failing to provide certification 
within this time frame may be denied leave continuation. 

6.21 – DESIGNATING LEAVE AS FMLA LEAVE 

 
The FMLA Coordinator shall designate leave as FMLA leave as soon as possible 
after sufficient information is available to determine that the leave requested is for 
a reason covered by FMLA guidelines. Once sufficient information has been 
obtained, the FMLA Coordinator must notify the employee within five (5) business 
days that the leave will be designated as FMLA leave and counted toward the twelve 
(12) week entitlement. 

 
The employee may initially be notified of the FMLA designation either orally or 
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in writing. If notified orally, however, the FMLA Coordinator must follow up with 
written notification no later than the following payday. If the next payday is less 
than one (1) week after the oral notice, the FMLA Coordinator must notify the 
employee no later than the subsequent payday. 

 
FMLA leave designation should be made before the leave period begins, unless the 
FMLA Coordinator does not have enough information at the time to make this 
determination. 

 
Neither the employer nor the employee have the option to delay or decline FMLA 
designation if the employee is eligible and the leave otherwise qualifies for FMLA 
leave. 

 
6.22 - RETROACTIVE DESIGNATION OF FMLA LEAVE 

 
If an employer has enough information to determine that the leave is being taken for 
an FMLA-qualifying reason, but does not notify the employee whether the leave will 
be designated as required, the employer may not retroactively designate leave as 
FMLA leave. However, the employer and employee can mutually agree in writing that 
leave be retroactively designated as FMLA leave. If the employer learns that paid leave 
is for FMLA reasons after the start of the leave period, the entire or some portion of 
the leave may be retroactively counted as FMLA leave to the extent that the leave 
period qualified as FMLA leave. 

 
The FMLA Coordinator may only designate leave as FMLA leave after an employee 
has returned to work in the following circumstances: 

 
A. The FMLA Coordinator does not learn that an employee's absence was due to 

FMLA reasons until the employee returns to work. If the FMLA Coordinator 
notifies the employee of the leave designation within two (2) business days 
of the employee's return, the leave may be designated retroactively. If an 
employee returning to work did not inform the FMLA Coordinator prior to the 
leave period that the leave was for FMLA reasons and he or she wants the leave 
designated as FMLA leave, the employee must notify the FMLA Coordinator 
within two (2) business days of returning to work of the reason for the leave. 
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If the FMLA Coordinator knows the reason for the leave but has not been able to 
confirm that the leave qualifies under FMLA, or medical certification or second or 
third opinions have been requested but not yet received, the FMLA Coordinator 
should make a preliminary designation and notify the employee of this  designation at 
the time the leave begins. When information arrives confirming that the leave used 
is for FMLA reasons, the preliminary designation then becomes final. If the 
requested information fails to confirm that the leave needed is for FMLA reasons, 
the FMLA Coordinator must withdraw the designation in writing. 

6.23 – TIME AND LABOR WHILE ON FMLA LEAVE 
 

An employee on continuous FMLA will not need to key his or her time in Edison during 
the designated period. Edison will automatically populate the time into the 
employee’s timesheet for each pay period during the approved FMLA designation 
period. 

 
If an employee is on intermittent FMLA leave, the employee will be responsible for 
keying the hours worked along with the hours used toward FMLA on his or her 
timesheet. Supervisors shall ensure that employees enter their time in Edison and 
shall approve payable time for their employees before payroll deadlines. 
Recordkeeping: Employee timesheets should be coded as Family Medical Leave (FMLLV). 

 
6.24 - REQUESTING SECOND AND THIRD OPINIONS 

 
If there is reason to question the validity of the medical certification or if the 
employee refuses to grant permission to contact his/her health care provider 
concerning the medical certification, the employee may be required to obtain a 
second opinion from another health care provider at the agency's expense. 
Although the agency may select the health care provider to provide the second 
opinion,  the provider selected cannot be employed by the State of Tennessee on 
a regular basis or be under any contract or agreement with the state to provide 
second opinion services, in most circumstances. 

 
If the opinions of the employee's and agency’s health care providers differ, the 
agency may obtain another certification from a third health care provider at the 
agency's expense. This health care provider must be one agreed upon by both 
parties and the third provider’s opinion is considered final and binding. 
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Pending receipt of the second or third opinions, the employee is provisionally 
entitled to FMLA leave and the agency must pay for any reasonable out-of-pocket 
travel expenses. If the certifications do not establish the employee's entitlement 
to FMLA leave, the leave shall not be designated as FMLA leave and may be treated 
as paid or unpaid leave under established leave policies. 

 
The agency is required to provide the employee with a copy of the second and third 
opinions, where applicable, upon request by the  employee. Requested copies shall 
be provided within five (5) business days of the request, unless extenuating 
circumstances prevent this from being possible. 

 
Second and third opinions and recertification are not permitted for certification of 
a covered service member’s serious injury or illness or a qualifying exigency. A 
health care provider,  a human  resource  professional, a  leave  administrator,  or a 
management official, but not the employee’s direct supervisor, may be used to 
authenticate or clarify a medical certification of a serious injury or illness, or an 
Invitational Travel Order or Invitational Travel Authorization. Additionally, the 
individual or entity named in a certification of leave for a qualifying exigency may 
be contacted for purposes of verifying the existence and nature of the meeting. 

 
6.25 - REQUESTING RECERTIFICATION OF MEDICAL CONDITIONS 

 
The FMLA Coordinator may request recertification of a medical condition as 
considered necessary. For most situations, the intervals between these requests 
can be no less than thirty (30) days, except in situations, where: (1) the employee 
requests an extension of leave; (2) circumstances described in the original 
certification have changed significantly, or (3) the FMLA Coordinator has obtained 
information conflicting with the validity of the certification. 

 
In the case of pregnancy, chronic or permanent long-term medical conditions, 
the FMLA Coordinator may request recertification no more than once every thirty 
(30) days, unless: (1) circumstances described in the previous certification have 
changed significantly, or (2) the FMLA Coordinator receives information which casts 
doubt on the employee's stated reason for the absence.  If the minimum 
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duration of the period of incapacity specified on the medical certification is more 
than thirty (30) days, the FMLA Coordinator may not request recertification until that 
minimum duration has passed, unless one of the conditions set forth above is met. 
When FMLA leave is taken intermittently by an employee who is pregnant or who 
has a chronic or permanent long-term medical condition, the FMLA Coordinator 
may not request recertification in less than the minimum period specified on the 
certification as necessary for such leave unless one of the conditions in the first 
paragraph of this section is met. However, in all cases, an employer may request 
recertification  of a medical condition  every six (6) months in connection with an 
employee’s absence. This request for recertification applies to medical conditions 
that require continuous leave as well as intermittent leave. 

 
6.26 - HEALTH BENEFIT REQUIREMENTS 

 
For the duration of FMLA leave, the state shall maintain an employee's health 
coverage under the Group Insurance Plan under the same conditions coverage 
would have been provided if the employee continuously worked during the leave 
period. Policy information regarding health insurance coverage in relation to the 
provisions of FMLA is available by contacting the Division of Benefits Administration 
in the Department of Finance and Administration. 

 
The FMLA Coordinator shall communicate approval of FMLA leave to the Agency 
Benefit Coordinator (ABC). The ABC is responsible for notifying Benefits 
Administration (BA) of leave status changes for an affected employee. Agencies will 
continue  to  be  billed for the agency/employer portion of the premium monthly, and 
the employee will be billed at their home address for their portion of the premium 
due. If the employee does not pay their portion, twenty percent (20%), of the 
premium, the coverage is subject to suspension from the last paid period. Per 
federal regulations, Benefits Administration (BA) may no longer cancel an 
individual’s medical coverage due to non-payment of premiums when the employee 
is on approved family medical leave. The agency should try to make arrangements 
with the affected employee to pay premiums before the employee goes out on 
FMLA to prevent an interruption in service. If premiums are not received timely, BA 
will suspend the coverage until the affected employee returns to work or once the 
premiums are paid in full. 
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The agency’s ABC should also notify the employee that premiums in arrears will 
be deducted from their payroll once the employee returns to a positive pay 
status, unless BA receives written notification that the employee wishes to 
change the effective date of coverage to the first of the month following their return 
from FMLA absence. 

 
Benefits Administration will send notices to employees who are identified on 
approved FMLA and are more than thirty (30) days past due that their coverage 
will be suspended if payment is not received by the end of that month. BA will 
not notify agencies when an employee has not paid their premiums. It is the 
employee’s responsibility to ensure the premium payment is received timely in order 
to prevent the suspension of coverage, and continue receiving medical services. 

 
If Benefits Administration suspends coverage due to an employee’s non-payment, 
the coverage can be reinstated when the employee returns from leave. The 
reinstatement can be effective retroactively to the date of suspension or the first 
of the month following the return from leave. This will be the employee’s choice. 
If they choose to retroactively reinstate the coverage once payment is received in 
full, claims for the period of suspension can be resubmitted for reimbursement or 
payment. If they choose to have the coverage effective after the return from leave, 
Benefits Administration will refund the agency any premiums that were deducted 
during the suspension. 

 
6.27 - JOB RESTORATION REQUIREMENTS 

 
Upon return from FMLA leave, an employee must be restored to his or her original 
position or to an equivalent position, which is virtually identical in terms of pay, 
benefits and other employment terms and conditions. This includes restoration 
to a position having the same or substantially similar duties and responsibilities 
and having substantially equivalent skill, effort, responsibility and authority. 

 
An employee returning from FMLA leave is entitled to any general increases that all 
other state employees have received during the period the employee was on leave. 
The employee is also entitled to shift or work schedule assignments equivalent to 
those  in effect prior to the beginning of the leave period and to a work location 
assignment geographically close to the one where previously employed.
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If an employee can no longer perform the essential functions of the position, the 
employee has no rights to job restoration under FMLA provisions. However, the 
employee may have certain rights under the Americans with Disabilities Act 
Amendment Act, which must be taken into consideration. Please make sure to 
discuss these considerations with agency legal counsel. 

 
In situations where an employee notifies the FMLA Coordinator that he or she is 
not returning to work, the obligation to restore the employee to a position and 
to maintain health benefits (subject to COBRA requirements) ends. Should the 
employee indicate he or she is unable to return to work but continues to want 
to return, restoration requirements and health benefits remain in effect through 
the end of the twelve (12) week FMLA leave period. 

 
An employee has no greater right to job restoration with equivalent benefits and 
conditions of employment than he or she would have had if continuously employed. 
Thus, if a work location is closed, a shift eliminated, overall work hours for an 
entire unit reduced, or positions abolished through a reduction in force, the 
employee is only entitled to conditions that would have been in effect for the 
employee if the leave had never been taken. 

 
For example, if an employee's shift is eliminated while the employee is on leave, 
the employee is not entitled to assignment to the previous shift's work hours or to 
shift differential pay when that employee returns from leave that other employees 
formerly on the shift no longer receive. However, the employee is entitled to 
employment in a position meeting all other previous employment conditions. 

 
In layoff situations, obligations to continue an employee's period of FMLA leave end 
with the effective date of the layoff. 

 
6.28 - JOB RESTORATION FOR EMPLOYEES LEASED FROM A TEMPORARY AGENCY 

 
If an agency utilizes an employee from a temporary agency and that employee goes 
on FMLA leave, the employee is entitled to return to the same assignment as the 



March 2025 

Attendance and Leave Manual 
Chapter 6 – Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) 

Page 26 

 

 

 
 

 

 

one held before beginning the FMLA leave period if the agency is still using 
temporary services at the point the employee is ready to return to work. 

 
6.29 - PROHIBITION AGAINST DISCRIMINATORY PRACTICES AND ENFORCEMENT 

 
Provisions of FMLA prohibit interference with an employee's rights to family and 
medical leave under the law and from discrimination against an employee using 
family and medical leave. FMLA makes it unlawful for any employer to: (1) interfere 
with, restrain, or deny the exercise of any right provided under FMLA; and (2) 
discharge or discriminate against any person for opposing any practice made 
unlawful by FMLA or for involvement in any proceeding under or relating to FMLA. 
Each agency’s FMLA Coordinator should review existing internal practices to 
ensure compliance. 

 
An employee may file an FMLA-related complaint with their agency’s human 
resources division, the Department of Human Resources EEO/ADA Division, or the 
U.S. Department of Labor. The employee may also bring a private lawsuit against 
an employer. For additional information: 1-866- 489-9243 or 
www.wagehour.dol.gov. 

 
The FMLA does not affect any Federal or State law prohibiting discrimination, or 
supersede any Federal or State law which provides greater family or medical leave 
rights. 

 
6.30 - REQUIREMENTS FOR NOTIFYING EMPLOYEES OF FMLA RIGHTS 

 
Notices shall be posted in each agency explaining the FMLA provisions and 
providing information on how to file a complaint (or complaints) for violations of 
the FMLA. These notices must be posted in conspicuous places where employees 
and applicants can easily access the information provided. 

 
The FMLA Coordinator must provide written guidance to the employee regarding 
his or her rights and obligations every time the employee is notified of the FMLA 
leave designation. 

http://www.wagehour.dol.gov/
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The FMLA Coordinator must also provide the employee with written notice 
detailing specific employee obligations and consequences of failure to meet these 
obligations. This information must be provided no less than once each six (6) 
month period that an employee gives notice of the need for FMLA leave. The 
following information must be included: (1) that the leave will be counted against 
the employee's FMLA leave entitlement; (2) any requirements for furnishing medical 
certification of a serious health condition and information regarding the 
consequences of not providing this information; (3) the employee's option to 
substitute paid leave in specific situations and conditions related to the substitution; 
(4) the requirement for the employee to make health insurance premium 
payments, procedures for making these payments and possible consequences 
of failing to make these payments in a timely manner; (5) any requirement to 
present medical certification as a condition of job restoration following conclusion 
of the leave period; (6) the employee's right to job restoration upon return from 
leave; and (7) the employee's potential liability for the employer's portion of the 
health insurance premium payments should the employee fail to return to work after 
taking FMLA leave. 

 
The notice must be given within a reasonable time after the employee notifies 
the FMLA Coordinator of the need for FMLA leave, preferably between one (1) 
and two (2) business days. If the leave has already begun, the notice should be 
mailed to the employee's address of record. 

 
If the specific information originally provided in the notice changes due to a 
subsequent period of FMLA leave, the FMLA Coordinator must notify the 
employee within two (2) business days of receiving notification of the need 
for additional FMLA leave of any changes that are being made to the original 
information provided. 

 
For example, if the initial leave period was paid and the subsequent leave 
period is unpaid, the employee must be notified of the need to pay his or her 
portion of the insurance premium. 

 
If the initial notice to the employee and the agency's handbook or other written 
documentation clearly indicate the agency's requirements for the employee to 
provide medical certification or fitness for duty information, then subsequent 
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notification to the employee of these requirements is not necessary. If, however, 
this information has never been provided to the employee, then any requirements 
for medical certification or fitness for duty information must be provided in writing 
to the employee every time the employee notifies the FMLA Coordinator of the 
need for leave. 

 
If the FMLA Coordinator does not provide the employee with required notices, no 
action can be taken against the employee for failure to comply with the employee's 
obligations. If an employee suffers individualized harm because the employer failed 
to follow the notification rules, the employer may be liable. 

 

6.31 - RECORD-KEEPING REQUIREMENTS 

 
Each FMLA Coordinator is responsible for maintaining required records for all 
employees using FMLA leave for at least three (3) years. In addition to basic 
payroll and employee data and policy documentation, the following records are 
required: 

 
A. Dates FMLA leave is taken by each employee and clear designation of this time 

as FMLA leave. 

 
B. Hours of leave taken, if the amount is less than one (1) full 

day. 
 

C. Copies of employee notices of FMLA leave sent to the FMLA Coordinator, if in 
writing, and copies of general and specific notices given to employees as 
required under FMLA guidelines. 

D. Records of any dispute between the employee and the agency regarding the 
designation of leave as FMLA leave. 

E. Any work schedule agreed upon by the agency and employee, in situations 
where intermittent leave or leave on a reduced work schedule has been 
approved. 

 
F. Medical certification, recertification, and medical history documentation. All 
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medical information must be maintained separately from other personnel 
information. 

 
G. Military orders. 

 
6.32 – ADDITIONAL RESOURCES 

 
Additional information about the FMLA, including employee and supervisor resources, FAQs, 
and information from the Department of Labor’s website, can be found on the Department 
of Human Resources’ website. 

 
 

Authority: 
Title 29, Part 825 of the Code of Federal Regulations 
Tenn. Code Ann. § 8-30-104 
Department of Human Resources Rule 1120-06-.21 

https://www.teamtn.gov/hr/employees/attendance---leave---new/family-medical-leave-act--fmla-.html
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-29
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=f5b03286-8d1e-4524-9aff-580180d29bed&nodeid=AAIABDAABAAE&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAB%2FAAIABDAABAAE&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-104.%2BAuthority%2Bof%2Bcommissioner%2B%E2%80%94%2BSupervisory%2Bpersonnel%2B%E2%80%94%2BDesignees.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4M0-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=e655d653-e602-4515-a980-3c62f24fe0d9
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-06.20230418.pdf
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CHAPTER 7 
HOLIDAYS 

 
7.01 LEGAL HOLIDAYS 

 
The General Assembly, by law, establishes legal holidays which are observed by the 
closing of State offices. The Governor, upon request by the Commissioner of 
Human Resources, may also establish additional time off for the observance of 
holidays. The Governor may, at his/her discretion, substitute the day after 
Thanksgiving as a holiday for Columbus Day. This decision will be made each year. 

 
7.02 LIST OF HOLIDAYS 

The following days have been designated by the General Assembly as legal holidays: 

New Year's Day January 1 
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Third Monday in January 
Washington Day Third Monday in February 
Good Friday Friday before Easter 
Memorial Day Last Monday in May 
Juneteenth June 19 
Independence Day July 4 
Labor Day First Monday in September 
Columbus Day Second Monday in October 
Veterans' Day November 11 
Thanksgiving Day Fourth Thursday in November 
Christmas Day December 25 

 
When a holiday falls on a Saturday, the Friday before the holiday will be observed. 
When the holiday falls on a Sunday, the Monday following the holiday will be 
observed. 

 
7.03 HOLIDAY CREDIT FOR EXEMPT-EXECUTIVE LEVEL EMPLOYEES 

 
Executive level employees regularly scheduled to work on a holiday and who 
perform job duties on a holiday may have the holiday time rescheduled. 
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7.04 EMPLOYEE ELIGIBILITY FOR HOLIDAY BENEFITS 

 
A. In determining eligibility for holidays, employees must be in an active pay status 

for the scheduled workday immediately preceding a holiday in order to be 
eligible for the benefits of that holiday. 

 
B. Hourly employees who are scheduled at least one thousand, six hundred (1,600) 

hours and are eligible to accrue annual and sick leave are eligible to receive 
holiday pay. Part- time or seasonal employees whom are ineligible to accrue 
sick and annual leave are not eligible for holiday pay. 

 
C. Emergency employees, interim employees, and temporary employees who 

are employed on a full-time basis will be eligible to take the holiday with pay 
when they have worked their scheduled work period immediately preceding 
the holiday. 

 
D. Employees on special leave without pay, educational leave without pay, parental 

leave without pay, military leave without pay, and Division of Claims 
Administration status will not take or be paid for that holiday as it occurs or at 
a later date. Employees on educational leave with pay will be paid for the 
holiday, but the leave will be coded as educational leave rather than holiday 
pay. Employees paid through the Sick Leave Bank will be paid for the holiday 
as one of their regularly approved days from the bank. 

 
E. Employees granted special leave without pay effective the day immediately 

after holiday will be paid for the holiday, but only if the employee worked the 
preceding day immediately prior to the holiday. 

 
F. Retiring employees will not be paid for the holiday unless terminal leave extends 

at least one tenth (0.1) of one (1) hour into the next workday following 
the holiday. Terminating employees whose last day worked is prior to the 
holiday and receives a lump sum payment of accrued leave are not eligible 
to receive holiday pay. 

 
G. Employees transferring to a state service agency from a state college or 

university the next working day after a holiday are not eligible for holiday pay, 
unless the holiday is paid by the college or university. 
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7.05 ACCOUNTING FOR HOLIDAY TIME FOR EMPLOYEES ON IRREGULAR WORK 

SCHEDULES 
 

Due to the variety of state services, some agencies and their employees are not 
able to observe holidays. Work schedules make it necessary for some employees 
to work on holidays based on the needs of the agency. When possible, the 
employee must revert to a normal work week. 

 
A. An employee who is scheduled to work on a holiday will receive compensatory 

overtime on an hour-for-hour basis for time actually worked up to the number 
of hours scheduled, regardless of the number of days scheduled in the work 
week. 

 
B. If the time spent actually working on a holiday exceeds a non-exempt 

employee's regular schedule, the non-exempt employee may be due cash 
overtime at the end of the work week, in addition to the compensatory time, 
up to scheduled hours on the holiday. 

 
C. An employee who has an irregular work schedule and is scheduled to work on 

a holiday but did not work due to the office being closed in observance of 
the holiday will receive holiday time on an hour-for-hour basis for time 
scheduled. This employee should be returned to a regular schedule if at all 
possible. 

 
D. If a holiday falls on an employee's regularly scheduled day off, the employee will 

receive compensatory overtime. This would apply to any employee who is 
regularly scheduled to work less than five (5) days per week or whose work 
schedule is something other than Monday through Friday. These employees will 
be given seven and one half (7.5) hours or eight hours (8.0) hours of 
compensatory time, depending on the employee’s schedule. 

 
E. If an employee is scheduled to work on a holiday and has an excused absence 

for which compensatory or annual leave is approved, that day will be charged 
as holiday time. This would be considered as the employee’s approved 
holiday compensation; therefore, the employee should not receive any 
overtime or compensatory time for this holiday. 
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However, if the employee requests sick leave to be charged, sick leave may 
be granted, and compensatory time allowed for the holiday. If the employee 
presents a doctor's statement, sick leave must be granted. 

 
F. If an employee is scheduled to work seven and one-half (7.5) hours or more on 

a holiday and only fulfills part of that scheduled day, the balance of the day is 
to be charged as holiday time and the employee will be given compensatory 
time for hours actually worked. 

 
G. Any unexcused absences may be charged as leave without pay and the 

employee should not receive any compensatory time for the holiday. 
 

H. Employees on a thirty-seven and one-half (37.5) hour work week must be 
compensated at least seven and one-half (7.5) hours on the holiday and 
employees on a forty (40.0) hour work week must be compensated at least eight 
(8.0) hours on the holiday, when the eligibility requirement is met. 

 

Authority: 
Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 8-30-104, 8-30-406 and 15-1-101 
Rules of the Department of Human Resources 1120-06-.15 

https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=ae20cc54-502b-476e-b98c-6db7084f430b&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4M0-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAIABDAABAAE&ecomp=w53dkkk&prid=08ca947b-d51f-4a4d-88fb-ca31a5bfc449
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=8b3317a9-5836-4036-aea9-f1c14c990303&nodeid=AAIABDAAEAAG&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAE%2FAAIABDAAEAAG&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-406.%2BHours%2Bof%2Bwork%2C%2Battendance%2C%2Band%2Bleaves%2Bof%2Babsence.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A55XV-B4N0-R03J-X0GV-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=88af4b61-1b04-4a04-93eb-1fa2ea391bd1
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=d3536328-1261-402d-9f2d-973e4eb6058c&nodeid=ABYAABAABAAB&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FABY%2FABYAAB%2FABYAABAAB%2FABYAABAABAAB&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=50-1-101.%2BMemorandum%2Bof%2Bunderstanding%2Bwith%2Bthe%2Bdepartment%2Bof%2Bhomeland%2Bsecurity%2Bfor%2Benforcement%2Bof%2Bfederal%2Bimmigration%2Blaws.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X1B-R5J0-R03N-852V-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=88af4b61-1b04-4a04-93eb-1fa2ea391bd1
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-06.20230418.pdf
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CHAPTER 8 
CIVIL LEAVE 

 
8.01 LEAVE USE 

 
Civil leave may be used by any state employee who is subpoenaed or otherwise 
directed to serve as a juror in any court of the United States or the State of 
Tennessee. Any employee (including part-time) scheduled to work on the day the 
employee is called for jury duty is eligible for civil leave. If the employee is not 
scheduled to work, then the employee is not eligible for civil leave. Upon receiving 
a summons to report for jury duty, the employee shall, on the next day of the 
employee’s employment, exhibit the summons to the employee’s immediate 
supervisor. Civil leave will be granted for any day or days an employee is required, 
by summons, to report for jury duty, provided such responsibility for jury duty 
exceeds three (3) hours during the day for which the excuse is sought. If the 
employee serves less than three (3) hours per day, the time served will be coded 
as civil leave and the employee must return to work or use compensatory or 
annual leave for the remaining work hours. Civil leave includes the time required 
to travel to and from jury duty. 

 
8.02 NIGHT SHIFT 

 
If an employee summoned for jury duty is working a night shift or is working during 
the preceding hours before court is in session, the employee shall be granted civil 
leave from the employee employment for the shift immediately preceding the first 
day served. After the first day served, when the employee's responsibility for jury 
duty exceeds three (3) hours during a day, the employee shall be granted civil leave 
from the employee’s next scheduled work period if such schedule occurs within 
twenty-four (24) hours of jury duty. If the employee serves less than three (3) hours 
per day, the time served will be coded as civil leave (if the leave occurs during 
normally scheduled working hours) and the employee must report to work or use 
compensatory or annual leave for their next regularly scheduled shift. Questions 
surrounding whether an employee’s shift is applicable to this provision shall be 
conclusively determined by the trial judge of the court to which the employee has 
been summoned. 
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8.03 PAYMENT FOR SERVING 
 

The employee may retain any compensation received for jury duty from the courts. 
However, the employer is not required to compensate the employee for more time 
than was actually spent serving and traveling to and from jury duty. 

 
8.04 EMPLOYMENT STATUS 

 
An employee’s employment status must remain intact upon return to work from 
jury duty. No employer shall discharge or in any manner discriminate against any 
employee for serving on jury duty if the employee, prior to taking the time off, gives 
the required notice to their supervisor. Any employee who is discharged, demoted, 
or suspended because the employee has taken time off to serve on jury duty is 
entitled to reinstatement and reimbursement for lost wages and work benefits 
caused by such acts of the employer. Any employer who willfully refuses to rehire 
or otherwise restore an employee or former employee commits a Class A 
misdemeanor. 

 
8.05 GOVERNMENT WITNESS 

 
An employee who serves as a government witness in an official job capacity will 
be considered on duty and not charged leave. When the employee serves less than 
three (3) hours per day, the employee must return to work or use compensatory 
or annual leave for the remaining work hours. 

 
8.06 PRIVATE LITIGATION WITNESS 

 
An employee must take compensatory, annual or leave without pay if subpoenaed 
in private litigation to testify not in an official capacity. 

 
8.07 EMPLOYEE INVOLVED IN CRIMINAL OR CIVIL TRIAL 

 
An employee who is personally involved in litigation and is absent from duty will 
be charged with compensatory, annual or leave without pay. 

 
Authority: 
Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 22-4-101, 22-4-103, 22-4-106, 22-4-107 and 8-30-406 
Rules of the Department of Human Resources 1120-06-.16 

https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=49b33732-5ec9-4ba0-9f71-44b4639d2481&nodeid=AAWAAEAAB&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAW%2FAAWAAE%2FAAWAAEAAB&level=3&haschildren&populated=false&title=22-4-101.%2BPer%2Bdiem%2Band%2Btravel%2Ballowance.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-SMH0-R03K-G16C-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=7275de38-833d-4aa2-86cb-fdf91fdabcc3
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=49b33732-5ec9-4ba0-9f71-44b4639d2481&nodeid=AAWAAEAAB&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAW%2FAAWAAE%2FAAWAAEAAB&level=3&haschildren&populated=false&title=22-4-101.%2BPer%2Bdiem%2Band%2Btravel%2Ballowance.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-SMH0-R03K-G16C-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=7275de38-833d-4aa2-86cb-fdf91fdabcc3
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=40552749-aa18-4b50-9646-6fbc208d33e6&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-SMH0-R03K-G16F-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAWAAEAAD&ecomp=w53dkkk&prid=225c82de-c374-40d8-b109-96bc6e987842
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=40552749-aa18-4b50-9646-6fbc208d33e6&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-SMH0-R03K-G16F-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAWAAEAAD&ecomp=w53dkkk&prid=225c82de-c374-40d8-b109-96bc6e987842
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=2c77593d-88ff-44be-9295-7b07b8205ed5&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-SMH0-R03K-G16J-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAWAAEAAG&ecomp=w53dkkk&prid=e6554936-f3aa-4a4e-810e-f75110e6bff4
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=2c77593d-88ff-44be-9295-7b07b8205ed5&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-SMH0-R03K-G16J-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAWAAEAAG&ecomp=w53dkkk&prid=e6554936-f3aa-4a4e-810e-f75110e6bff4
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=35fb7337-551c-495a-94a8-7a5e4b6a8d1c&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-SMH0-R03K-G16K-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAWAAEAAH&ecomp=w53dkkk&prid=2c77593d-88ff-44be-9295-7b07b8205ed5
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=35fb7337-551c-495a-94a8-7a5e4b6a8d1c&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-SMH0-R03K-G16K-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAWAAEAAH&ecomp=w53dkkk&prid=2c77593d-88ff-44be-9295-7b07b8205ed5
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=e87e4455-af75-49d5-8ed6-308d527281a2&nodeid=AAIABDAAEAAG&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAE%2FAAIABDAAEAAG&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-406.%2BHours%2Bof%2Bwork%2C%2Battendance%2C%2Band%2Bleaves%2Bof%2Babsence.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A55XV-B4N0-R03J-X0GV-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=7275de38-833d-4aa2-86cb-fdf91fdabcc3
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=e87e4455-af75-49d5-8ed6-308d527281a2&nodeid=AAIABDAAEAAG&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAE%2FAAIABDAAEAAG&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-406.%2BHours%2Bof%2Bwork%2C%2Battendance%2C%2Band%2Bleaves%2Bof%2Babsence.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A55XV-B4N0-R03J-X0GV-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=7275de38-833d-4aa2-86cb-fdf91fdabcc3
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-06.20230418.pdf
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CHAPTER 9 
EXTENDED LEAVE 

 
Extended leave addresses situations in which employees are in an extended leave 
without pay status. The policy pertains both to employees who use leave prior to 
going on leave without pay status and those who choose to retain leave balances. 

 
9.01 REQUEST FOR EXTENDED LEAVE 

 
An employee must  make  a written request to his or her appointing authority for 
approval of special leave, parental leave, educational leave, and personal 
educational leave. Employees may also be on extended leave when using leave 
through the Sick Leave Bank or Division of Claims Administration leave. 

 
The granting of extended leave gives the employee the right to return to the 
employee’s position in accordance with provisions of the written approval granted 
by the appointing authority, provided the position still exists. However, if an 
employee’s job is so unique that the agency cannot, after reasonable efforts fill the 
position temporarily, then the agency shall not be liable under this section for failure 
to reinstate the employee at the end of the leave period. 

 
9.02 LEAVE USE 

 
An employee must use his or her accumulated leave balance balances 
(compensatory, annual, and sick) before being approved for leave without pay, 
except in cases of military or Division of Claims Administration leave. An employee 
on military or Division of Claims leave may be approved to use all or part of his or 
her accumulated annual and sick leave (where appropriate) before beginning the 
period of leave without pay. The employee may also be approved to retain any 
accumulated annual and sick leave balances. 

 
Employees must be notified of the way in which a period of extended leave 
without pay may impact insurance coverage. Any exceptions to the above policy 
must be requested in advance to the Department of Human Resources. 
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9.03 ACCOUNTING FOR EXTENDED LEAVE 
 

Instances for which extended leave may be approved include special leave, parental 
leave, educational leave, personal educational leave, Division of Claims 
Administration leave, Sick Leave Bank leave and military leave. In determining the 
beginning date for extended leave, the effective date will be the first full day the 
employee is without pay. A copy of the appointing authority's approval or, if 
applicable, a copy of the military orders must be submitted to the Department 
of Human Resources. 

 
9.04 RETURNING FROM EXTENDED LEAVE 

 
Employees failing to return two (2) days after the end of an approved special leave 
period shall be considered to have resigned in accordance with Tennessee Code 
Annotated § 8-30-316, absent extenuating circumstances beyond the control of the 
employee causing the employee’s absence or preventing the employee’s return. An 
employee deemed to have resigned under these circumstances shall have the right 
to appeal such action pursuant to the appeal procedure described in Tennessee 
Code Annotated § 8-30-316. 

 
9.05 RETURNING FROM EXTENDED LEAVE FROM MILITARY DUTY 

 
Any employee shall be granted a leave of absence for the purpose of being inducted 
or otherwise entering military duty. If not accepted for such duty, the employee 
shall be reinstated in such position without loss of seniority or status or reduction 
in rate of pay. During such period, the employee shall for all purposes be 
considered to have rendered service and to have been compensated therefore at 
the employee's regular rate of pay. 

 
9.06 EFFECT ON PROBATIONARY PERIOD, SERVICE AND SALARY INCREASES 

 
An employee on extended leave without pay for a major portion of a calendar 
month does not accumulate sick or annual leave for that month. The expiration 
date of the probationary period and the anniversary date for service, longevity pay, 
and salary policy adjustments will be changed accordingly. 

 
Authority: 
Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 4-21-408, 8-30-104, 8-30-316, 8-33-101, 8-33-105, and 8-50-901 et seq. 
Rules of the Department of Human Resources, Chapter 1120-06 and 1120-09-.02 

https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=5cb73d70-a71c-47bd-b97c-9ddf7fe3a4f8&nodeid=AAIABDAADAAQ&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAD%2FAAIABDAADAAQ&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-316.%2BDismissal%2C%2Bdemotion%2Bor%2Bsuspension%2Bfor%2Bcause.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4NH-00008-00&ecomp=L38_kkk&prid=6f6e47ff-f098-4877-99b2-0fb1b582194e
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=5cb73d70-a71c-47bd-b97c-9ddf7fe3a4f8&nodeid=AAIABDAADAAQ&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAD%2FAAIABDAADAAQ&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-316.%2BDismissal%2C%2Bdemotion%2Bor%2Bsuspension%2Bfor%2Bcause.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4NH-00008-00&ecomp=L38_kkk&prid=6f6e47ff-f098-4877-99b2-0fb1b582194e
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=a0f6d1e6-e347-4362-b54d-9538cb0cb769&nodeid=AAEAAVAAEAAI&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAE%2FAAEAAV%2FAAEAAVAAE%2FAAEAAVAAEAAI&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=4-21-408.%2BLeave%2Bfor%2Badoption%2C%2Bpregnancy%2C%2Bchildbirth%2Band%2Bnursing%2Ban%2Binfant.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4WYJ-10F0-R03J-K44X-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=55bbbc2f-977d-49fc-a1bb-e17eb7d21bc2
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=d8f94453-86b6-423c-8d8f-291f8efd3ec5&nodeid=AAIABDAABAAE&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAB%2FAAIABDAABAAE&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-104.%2BAuthority%2Bof%2Bcommissioner%2B%E2%80%94%2BSupervisory%2Bpersonnel%2B%E2%80%94%2BDesignees.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4M0-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=7275de38-833d-4aa2-86cb-fdf91fdabcc3
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=4efc6df9-9425-4f9b-9832-6ba88159e37e&nodeid=AAIABDAADAAQ&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAD%2FAAIABDAADAAQ&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-316.%2BDismissal%2C%2Bdemotion%2Bor%2Bsuspension%2Bfor%2Bcause.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4NH-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=7275de38-833d-4aa2-86cb-fdf91fdabcc3
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=ce37ecf7-a964-45cd-89dc-624a774410ba&nodeid=AAIABGAAB&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABG%2FAAIABGAAB&level=3&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-33-101.%2BChapter%2Bdefinitions.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4PB-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=7275de38-833d-4aa2-86cb-fdf91fdabcc3
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=25602c6a-2536-4dde-9d4a-09c278f9e74e&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4PG-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAIABGAAF&ecomp=w53dkkk&prid=c028376b-71a5-4b04-ae92-c733884ee0c3
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=51004ac7-e396-4e6b-a969-60f3a6b34dba&nodeid=AAIABWAAJAAB&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABW%2FAAIABWAAJ%2FAAIABWAAJAAB&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-50-901.%2BPart%2Bdefinitions.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82SS-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=bd20f8cc-6384-46a6-87e5-8919a9cd3082
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-06.20230418.pdf
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-09.20230418.pdf
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CHAPTER 10 
EDUCATIONAL LEAVE 

 
10.01 EMPLOYEE ELIGIBILITY FOR EDUCATIONAL LEAVE WITH PAY 

 
Any full-time, regular employee may be eligible for educational leave if the 
education and training is directly applicable to the needs of the agency and/or to the 
position the employee holds or for which s/he is being trained. The employee may 
be eligible for continuing education from higher education, vocational, and 
professional institutions. 

 
10.02 PURPOSE 

 
The purpose of educational leave with pay for state employees is: 

A. To provide opportunities for education and training which will increase the 
proficiency of state employees in carrying out their present duties and 
responsibilities, as well as improving the quality of service to customers and 
stakeholders; 

 
B. To assist state employees in meeting required qualifications in occupational 

and professional fields where critical shortages exist; and 

 
C. To provide opportunities for continuing education and advanced study on a 

full-time basis and training for the purpose of maintaining course with rapid 
technological changes. 

 
Employees, in consultation with the agency, who have identified a specialized 
technical need, may select one of the following continuing education options: full- 
time education, part-time education, short-term learning, or after work hours 
education or learning. For more information, see DOHR Rule 1120-08-.04. 

https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-08.20230418.pdf
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10.03 COMPENSATION 
 

An employee may receive a maximum of seventy-five percent (75%) of the 
employee’s salary during the period of full-time education and training. When the 
state requires an employee to acquire additional formal education to accomplish the 
employee duties, the employee may be compensated at full salary with prior 
approval of the Commissioner of the Department of Human Resources and the 
Commissioner of the Department of Finance and Administration. 

 
If an employee receives salary assistance through fellowships, grants, or other 
outside sources, the employee’s salary during the education and training period 
shall not exceed the employee's regular salary. A notarized statement of salary 
funding and sources must be submitted to the Commissioner of the Department of 
Human Resources and the Commissioner of Finance and Administration for 
approval. 

 
10.04 SERVICE CREDITS TOWARD SALARY INCREASES DURING EDUCATIONAL LEAVE 

 
Time served by a state employee while on educational leave will be counted on 
a month-for-month basis in determining the date which an employee will be 
considered eligible for earned salary increases. 

 
10.05 EFFECT OF EDUCATIONAL LEAVE ON SERVICE TIME AND LONGEVITY 

 
During the period of absence on educational leave, the employee shall retain any 
accumulated annual and sick leave. The employee will continue to earn time toward 
longevity credit, if applicable, and for total years’ service. An employee on 
educational leave is considered to be on active pay status and eligible for longevity, 
if applicable, when due. 

 
10.06 EFFECT OF EDUCATIONAL LEAVE ON ANNUAL LEAVE AND SICK LEAVE 

 
An employee on educational leave with pay is not required to use his or her accrued 
leave nor does the employee accrue annual or sick leave during the period the 
employee is on educational leave. 
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10.07 EDUCATIONAL LEAVE WITHOUT PAY 
 

An employee may request leave without pay to continue the employee’s education 
on a full-time basis. This leave must be approved in advance by the agency’s 
appointing authority. Educational leave without pay will advance the employee's 
probation date (if applicable), as well as service and longevity anniversary dates. 

 
 

Authority: 
Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 8-30-104, 8-30-105 
Rules of the Department of Human Resources 1120-06-.17, 1120-08-.04, and 1120-08-.05 

https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=47eb7ecf-65fd-4f5b-9b9c-58ea9a6ace2a&nodeid=AAIABDAABAAE&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAB%2FAAIABDAABAAE&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-104.%2BAuthority%2Bof%2Bcommissioner%2B%E2%80%94%2BSupervisory%2Bpersonnel%2B%E2%80%94%2BDesignees.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4M0-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=88af4b61-1b04-4a04-93eb-1fa2ea391bd1
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=47eb7ecf-65fd-4f5b-9b9c-58ea9a6ace2a&nodeid=AAIABDAABAAE&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAB%2FAAIABDAABAAE&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-104.%2BAuthority%2Bof%2Bcommissioner%2B%E2%80%94%2BSupervisory%2Bpersonnel%2B%E2%80%94%2BDesignees.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4M0-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=88af4b61-1b04-4a04-93eb-1fa2ea391bd1
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=08ca947b-d51f-4a4d-88fb-ca31a5bfc449&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4M1-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAIABDAABAAF&ecomp=w53dkkk&prid=47eb7ecf-65fd-4f5b-9b9c-58ea9a6ace2a
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=08ca947b-d51f-4a4d-88fb-ca31a5bfc449&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4M1-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAIABDAABAAF&ecomp=w53dkkk&prid=47eb7ecf-65fd-4f5b-9b9c-58ea9a6ace2a
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-06.20230418.pdf
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-08.20230418.pdf
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-08.20230418.pdf
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CHAPTER 11 
MILITARY LEAVE 

The State of Tennessee is proud to support the service of its employees who are also 
members of the reserve components of the Armed Forces of the United States, 
including members of the Tennessee National Guard. Federal law provides certain 
employment related rights to these individuals under the Uniformed Services 
Employment and Reemployment Rights Act (USERRA). The State of Tennessee 
provides additional statutory rights and benefits to servicemembers. 

 
11.01- MILITARY LEAVE 

 
Military leave shall be granted to uniformed servicemembers who are absent 
from their position because of the performance of duty on a voluntary or 
involuntary basis in a uniformed service under competent authority.  Such 
circumstances include, but may not be limited to: 

• Active duty and active duty for training 
• Initial active duty for training 
• Inactive duty training 
• Full-time National Guard duty 
• Absence from work for an examination to determine a person’s fitness 

for any of the above types of duty 
• Funeral honors duty performed by National Guard or Reserve members 
• Duty performed by intermittent employees of the National Disaster 

Medical System (NDMS), which is part of the Department of Health and 
Human Services, when activated for a public health emergency, and 
approved training to prepare for such service (added by Pub. L. 107-188, 
June 2002), (See Title 42, U.S. Code, Section 300hh-11(d)) 

• Activation by the Governor under Tennessee Code Annotated, § 58-1- 
108 or Tennessee Code Annotated § 58-1-106  

 
11.02 – ADVANCE NOTICE 

 
Under USERRA, employees (or an appropriate officer of the uniformed service in 
which such service is performed) are required to provide advance written or 
verbal notice of such service to their employer, with the following exceptions: 

https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-20/chapter-IX/part-1002/subpart-A
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-20/chapter-IX/part-1002/subpart-A
https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/PLAW-107publ188/pdf/PLAW-107publ188.pdf
https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/PLAW-107publ188/pdf/PLAW-107publ188.pdf
https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/USCODE-2021-title42/pdf/USCODE-2021-title42-chap6A-subchapXXVI-partB-sec300hh-11.pdf
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=894bfb5c-69d5-4cb9-93d3-75ec4e07a003&nodeid=ACFAABAABAAI&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FACF%2FACFAAB%2FACFAABAAB%2FACFAABAABAAI&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=58-1-108.%2BActive%2Bstate%2Bduty%2B%E2%80%94%2BIndividuals.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-Y4T0-R03J-W3D5-00008-00&ecomp=L38_kkk&prid=bb024b1f-ce26-490b-8c79-228e321c6a63
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=894bfb5c-69d5-4cb9-93d3-75ec4e07a003&nodeid=ACFAABAABAAI&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FACF%2FACFAAB%2FACFAABAAB%2FACFAABAABAAI&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=58-1-108.%2BActive%2Bstate%2Bduty%2B%E2%80%94%2BIndividuals.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-Y4T0-R03J-W3D5-00008-00&ecomp=L38_kkk&prid=bb024b1f-ce26-490b-8c79-228e321c6a63
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A) Military necessity1 prevents the giving of notice; or 

B) The giving of notice is otherwise impossible or unreasonable 
 

11.03 – MILITARY LEAVE WITH PAY 
 

A leave of absence with pay, not to exceed twenty (20) regularly scheduled 
workdays per calendar year, will be granted to all employees who are members 
of the reserve components of the Armed Forces of the United States, including 
members of the Tennessee National Guard, for all periods during which they 
are engaged in the performance of duties or training activities in the service of 
the State or the Federal Government while under competent orders.2 Military 
leave with pay will be granted for regularly scheduled monthly training for 
reservists and national guardsmen. Holidays and scheduled off duty days do 
not count toward the twenty (20) workdays allowed. Following the twenty (20) 
working days of full compensation, employees may use up to five (5) days of 
sick leave in lieu of annual leave for the purposes of not having to take leave 
without pay.  This includes those called to Active State Service pursuant to 
Tennessee Code Annotated § 58-1-108. 

United States Air Force Auxiliary Civil Air Patrol: 
A leave of absence with pay, not to exceed fifteen (15) working days, in any one 
calendar year, will be granted to employees who are members of the United 
States Air Force Auxiliary Civil Air Patrol and who participate in a training 
program for the civil air patrol, or in emergency and disaster services, as defined 
in Tennessee Code Annotated § 58-2-101, if the leave of absence is at the 
request of the employee’s wing commander or the wing commander’s 
designated representative in accordance with Tennessee Code Annotated § 42- 
7-102. 

 
 
 

1 “Military necessity” for purposes of the notice exception is defined as “a mission, operation, 
exercise or requirement that is classified, or a pending or ongoing mission, operation, exercise or 
requirement that may be compromised or otherwise adversely affected by public knowledge.” See 
Department of Defense Instruction 1205.12. 
2 In order to avail oneself of the paid leave benefit, the servicemember must provide the employer 
sufficient, credible documentation of the military service, such as competent orders, as soon as 
possible or practicable. 

https://www.esd.whs.mil/Portals/54/Documents/DD/issuances/dodi/120512p.pdf
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Call to Active State Duty with the Tennessee National Guard: 
The Governor has the power to order into active service all or any part of the 
Tennessee National Guard (under Title 58 of Tennessee Code 
Annotated). Employees involuntarily called into active state duty by the 
Governor pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated § 58-1-106 shall receive leave 
with pay for the duration of the orders. In addition, the employee shall incur no 
loss of service time and continue to receive regular annual leave and sick leave. 
While on active duty, the employee’s absence should not count against leave 
provided under Tennessee Code Annotated § 8-33-109. The employee shall not 
lose benefits to which he or she is otherwise entitled. An employee returning 
from a period of state active duty under a call to active state duty as defined 
herein shall be reinstated to his or her previous position. 
 
Call to Full-Time Military Duty with the Reserve or National Guard: 
Pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated § 58-1-121, an employee who is 
ordered to active duty, or retained on active duty, by the President of the 
United States, or under the authority of the Governor, as a member of the 
reserve component of the armed forces of the United States or the national 
guard in recognition of a contingency operation is entitled to special leave 
with partial pay during the period of active duty, for up to one (1) year.  
 
Partial pay will be calculated as the difference, if any, between the employee’s 
regular state salary and the employee’s full-time active duty military pay, with 
a minimum amount sufficient to keep in effect whatever state benefits the 
employee had on the date they were called to active duty. Partial pay shall not 
be considered the employee’s regular state salary for retirement, life insurance, 
and/or severance pay purposes but is taxable income for federal tax purposes. 
If an employee is placed in a military nonpaid status for conduct-related reasons 
during active duty, the employee is not entitled to partial pay during this period 
as the employee is not considered to be performing or serving on active duty. 

 
11.04 - REPORTING BACK TO WORK 

 
An employee must be available to return to work within certain time limits 
following the conclusion of their service, depending upon the length of their 
service. These time limits are set forth in 20 C.F.R. § 1002.115. Management and 
supervisory personnel should always consult with human resources personnel 
and legal counsel, as appropriate, in order to ensure compliance with the law 
which intentionally affords certain flexibility for servicemembers upon their 
return from military service: 

https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=2d3e8aefaa1286cabc1f2b43d020d5bd&node=20%3A4.0.5.3.3&rgn=div5&se20.4.1002_1115
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A) For military service of one (1) to thirty (30) days or for a period of any 

length for the purpose of a fitness examination, the employee must 
report back to work by the beginning of the first regularly scheduled 
work period on the first calendar day following the completion of service, 
after allowance for safe travel home from the military duty location and 
an eight (8) hour rest period. 

 
B) For military service between thirty-one (31) and one hundred eighty 

(180) days, the employee is expected to submit an application for 
reemployment (written or verbal) no later than fourteen (14) days after 
completing service. 

 
C) For military service greater than one hundred eighty (180) days, the 

employee shall be allowed ninety (90) days to submit an application for 
reemployment (written and verbal).
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This time may be extended as necessary to accommodate circumstances 
beyond the employee’s control that make reporting within the time period 
impossible or unreasonable. 

 
For applications for reemployment following service in excess of thirty (30) days, 
the employee may be requested to provide documentation to establish that the 
reemployment application is timely, the employee has not exceeded the five (5) 
year limit on the duration of service (subject to exceptions), and the employee’s 
separation or dismissal from service was not disqualifying. 

NOTE: The above provision does not apply if the employee is 
requesting military leave with pay, the employee MUST provide 
appropriate documentation showing completion of military service, 
regardless of the length of time. See 11.03 – Military Leave with Pay. 

 
Regardless of the employee's responsibility to provide documentation, the 
agency must promptly reinstate the employee upon application for 
reemployment pursuant to 20 C.F.R. §1002.180-181. 

 

A. Appointing Authority's Responsibility 
It is the appointing authority's responsibility to determine the employee's 
eligibility for military leave without pay. The employee shall be advised of 
the employee rights, responsibilities and benefits under this provision. Final 
separation forms shall be submitted to the Department of Human 
Resources if the employee exceeds the time limitation for reemployment as 
set forth in Tennessee Code Annotated § 8-33-102 or 38 U.S.C. § 4312. 

B. Retention and Continuation of Benefits 
During the period of leave without pay for military service, the employee 
shall retain the terms and conditions of employment-based benefits he or 
she had on the date uniformed service began, plus any terms and conditions 
of employment-based rights and benefits the employee would have 
attained if he or she had remained continuously employed in accordance 
with 20 C.F.R. §1002.210, included but not limited to all accumulated annual 
and sick leave, retirement status, and continue to earn service credit toward 
seniority and retirement. Time served on military leave without pay also 

https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=2d3e8aefaa1286cabc1f2b43d020d5bd&node=20%3A4.0.5.3.3&rgn=div5&se20.4.1002_1180
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counts as service time under the longevity program, if applicable. 
Continuation in the insurance program, if elected, shall be granted 
immediately and without conditions not in effect at the commencement of 
military leave. 

 
Federal law provides that service members must, at their request, be 
allowed to use any annual leave that had accrued before the beginning of 
their military service instead of unpaid leave. The supervisor, however, 
cannot force the employee to use annual leave for military service (38 U.S.C. 
§ 4316(d)). 

 
C. Reinstatement After Completion of Military Service 

If the employee’s service was less than ninety-one (91) days, the employee 
is entitled to reemployment in the job position that he or she would have 
attained with reasonable certainty if not for the absence due to service 
(known as the escalator position). 

 
If the employee’s service was more than ninety (90) days, the employee must 
be reemployed in the escalator position or a position of like seniority, status, 
and pay. The employee must be qualified for the position, and the employer 
must make reasonable efforts to help the employee become qualified. 
 

D. Additional Leave Related to a Service-Connected Disability 
In addition to the sick leave granted under T.C.A. § 8-50-802, an 
employee veteran with a service-connected disability of thirty percent 
(30%) or more shall receive thirty-six (36) hours of leave each year to be 
used to attend appointments related to the service-connected disability.  
 
Such leave remaining at the end of the year may not be carried forward 
to the subsequent year. The year for leave under this provision will run 
from July 1st to June 30th of each year. 
 
To receive approval, employees requesting such leave shall provide to 
their agency human resources office information related to the service-
connected disability and documentation related to the service-
connected disability appointments. Employees may submit a Service-
Connected Disability Leave Attestation Form along with proof of 
appointment in the event they are unable to obtain necessary 
documentation from their healthcare provider.  

https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/hr/documents/Service-ConnectedDisabilityLeaveAttestation_1.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/hr/documents/Service-ConnectedDisabilityLeaveAttestation_1.pdf
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Recordkeeping: Employee timesheets for sick leave under this chapter should 
be coded as Veterans Sick Leave (VSL). 

 
11.05 - MILITARY FUNERAL 

 
Excused absence up to four (4) hours per day may be granted to an employee 
who is a veteran to participate in a military funeral service as a pallbearer, 
member of a firing squad or Honor Guard. For this purpose only, a veteran is 
defined as one who has been separated from military service under 
honorable conditions and who served at least six (6) months during a period 
of war or presidential declaration necessitating mobilization of armed forces. 

 
Service members who are authorized to perform funeral honors duty under 10 
U.S.C. § 12503 or 32 U.S.C. § 115 shall be eligible for military leave to perform 
those duties, not limited to four (4) hours, and under the same conditions as 
any other type of military service as provided for in 20 C.F.R. § 1002.55. 

 

 

-  
 

Authority: 
Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 8-33-101, 8-33-109, 8-33-110, 42-7-102, 58-1-106, 58-1-108, 58-1-121 
Rules of the Department of Human Resources 1120-06-.18 
38 U.S.C. § 4312, 20 C.F.R. § 1002, 
U.S. Department of Labor Guide to Uniformed Services Employment and 
Reemployment Rights Act 

https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=de54cdc4-a5c9-4815-87da-bffdaf4db4b7&nodeid=AAIABGAAB&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABG%2FAAIABGAAB&level=3&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-33-101.%2BChapter%2Bdefinitions.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4PB-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=56196d08-0ee4-46f8-8494-930800654c01
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=fcd893cf-6305-4da7-89bb-10d284628bdb&nodeid=AAIABGAAJ&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABG%2FAAIABGAAJ&level=3&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-33-109.%2BReservists%27%2Bleave%2Bof%2Babsence.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4PM-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=56196d08-0ee4-46f8-8494-930800654c01
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=2e25f0a6-3c23-488a-a109-583eaeab3445&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A536S-11T0-R03J-J36F-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAIABGAAK&ecomp=w53dkkk&prid=fcd893cf-6305-4da7-89bb-10d284628bdb
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=c8a2e539-0d93-48cb-b5cd-8cbbdf3a6dad&nodeid=ABQAAHAAC&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FABQ%2FABQAAH%2FABQAAHAAC&level=3&haschildren&populated=false&title=42-7-102.%2BLeave%2Bof%2Babsence%2Bwith%2Bpay%2B%E2%80%94%2BOther%2Brights%2Band%2Bbenefits.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8M-25S0-R03N-63SH-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=81f08c9a-c4c3-41c1-8d5b-c74b9513f2ab
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=0175c0b8-88b7-4823-b9e2-2ea87a9dfe33&nodeid=ACFAABAABAAG&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FACF%2FACFAAB%2FACFAABAAB%2FACFAABAABAAG&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=58-1-106.%2BActive%2Bstate%2Bduty%2B%E2%80%94%2BCompensation%2B%E2%80%94%2BReimbursement%2Bby%2Bcity%2Bor%2Bcounty.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-Y4T0-R03J-W3D3-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=81f08c9a-c4c3-41c1-8d5b-c74b9513f2ab
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=01726059-fff7-4e88-b57c-80fc627010be&nodeid=ACFAABAABAAI&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FACF%2FACFAAB%2FACFAABAAB%2FACFAABAABAAI&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=58-1-108.%2BActive%2Bstate%2Bduty%2B%E2%80%94%2BIndividuals.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-Y4T0-R03J-W3D5-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=f8a5d638-f019-40c3-8b34-4d9892e9d5ee
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-06.20190815.pdf
https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/USCODE-2022-title38/pdf/USCODE-2022-title38-partIII-chap43-subchapII-sec4312.pdf
https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-20/chapter-IX/part-1002
https://www.dol.gov/agencies/vets/programs/userra/USERRA-Pocket-Guide#ch23
https://www.dol.gov/agencies/vets/programs/userra/USERRA-Pocket-Guide#ch23
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CHAPTER 12 
SPECIAL LEAVE WITHOUT PAY 

 
Special leave is leave without pay that is greater than the major portion of one (1) 
month. Special leave without pay may be granted to an employee at the discretion 
and upon recommendation of the appointing authority. Special leave must be 
requested in writing and be approved in advance by the appointing authority, where 
practical. If a request cannot be submitted and approved, the employee must 
receive verbal approval. Upon returning to work, the employee must submit a 
written request explaining the nature of the absence and provide, if requested, a 
physician's statement. This approval must be submitted to the Commissioner of 
the Department of Human Resources as a matter of record. Leave without pay, 
which constitutes a period of less than the major portion of a month, may be 
delegated by the appointing authority to the immediate supervisor and requires no 
special notification to the Commissioner of the Department of Human Resources. 
However, if the special leave is intermittent and constitutes the major portion of a 
month, a memorandum of explanation must be submitted to the Commissioner of 
the Department of Human Resources for approval. 

 
General examples for which special leave without pay may be granted are: 

 
A. Extended Illness – An employee must exhaust all accumulated annual, sick, and 

compensatory leave before going on special leave in this situation. 
 

B. Special Work Assignment - In cases of emergency or when the state and/or 
other governmental agency will profit by experience gained or the work 
performed, a state employee may be granted special leave without pay for 
special work assignments. 

C. Vacation - An employee may be granted special leave without pay for vacation 
purposes if approved by the appointing authority. However, the employee must 
exhaust all accumulated annual, sick, and compensatory leave before going on 
special leave in this situation. 

 
D. Seasonal - Seasonal leave is an enforced leave of absence without pay during a 

recess period from a permanent position which does not require the services of 
an employee for the entire year. 



March 2021 

Attendance and Leave Manual 
Chapter 12 – Special Leave 

Page 2 

 

 

 
 

 

 

E. Leave of Absence for Officer of Employee Associations - The chief elected officer 
of any employee association that has payroll deductions for association dues 
shall be allowed up to two (2) years leave of absence without pay to perform the 
duties of such office. This leave of absence shall not apply to a chief elected 
officer who is under the executive grade pay plan or to state physicians or 
dentists. At the option of such officer, the officer may be paid for any accrued 
annual leave or any accrued annual leave may be carried forward to such time as 
the officer returns to their position in state government. In the event the officer 
elects to be paid for annual leave, the period of time for leave of absence without 
pay shall be accordingly reduced. 

 
At the end of the period of leave, any officer who has taken such leave shall be 
entitled to return to the officer’s former position at the same place of 
employment in the same class or rank in the division or department which such 
officer held prior to taking such leave. Any leave granted under this section shall 
not diminish any employee rights, including accrued but unused leave, longevity, 
or those arising from longevity or time in grade. 

 
Furthermore, an officer or an employee who belongs to any employee 
association which is qualified for payroll deduction for association dues as set 
forth in § 8-23-204 and who is a member of the official board of such association 
shall be entitled to receive administrative leave days in order to attend board 
meetings to conduct business of the association; provided, that such leave shall 
not exceed twelve (12) days in any calendar year. 

 
F. Leave for Athletic Competition - See Chapter 4, Leave of Absence for 

Participation in Certain Athletic Competitions. 

G. Family and Medical Leave - See Chapter 6. 
 
 
 

Authority: 
Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 8-30-104, 8-50-109, 8-50-801, and 8-50-110 
Rules of the Department of Human Resources 1120-06-.14 

https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=b61742b6-6c65-4cca-9457-82ce2ac0e43f&nodeid=AAIABDAABAAE&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAB%2FAAIABDAABAAE&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-104.%2BAuthority%2Bof%2Bcommissioner%2B%E2%80%94%2BSupervisory%2Bpersonnel%2B%E2%80%94%2BDesignees.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4M0-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=a5a6f2b0-fd9b-43d3-b16d-6e88ff590fcc
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=779b5bc1-0fe2-4608-8b82-54c93c61d9dd&nodeid=AAIABWAABAAJ&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABW%2FAAIABWAAB%2FAAIABWAABAAJ&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-50-109.%2BLeave%2Bof%2Babsence%2Bfor%2Bofficers%2Bof%2Bemployee%2Bassociations.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82RB-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=0f5aea81-654c-4a05-810d-d2604725186f
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=8308f0c6-6ab0-450d-89ba-78fba95e78c0&nodeid=AAIABWAAIAAB&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABW%2FAAIABWAAI%2FAAIABWAAIAAB&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-50-801.%2BAnnual%2Bleave.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82SB-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=0f5aea81-654c-4a05-810d-d2604725186f
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=d5f405a0-55b3-4161-ad6c-8df8aee3abca&nodeid=AAIABWAABAAK&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABW%2FAAIABWAAB%2FAAIABWAABAAK&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-50-110.%2BUse%2Bof%2Bannual%2Bleave%2Bto%2Battend%2Bstatewide%2Bmeeting%2Bof%2Bemployee%2Bassociation.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82RC-00008-00&ecomp=L38_kkk&prid=4393e109-378c-4f44-9458-edd305d7cd94
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-06.20230418.pdf
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CHAPTER 13 
PARENTAL LEAVE 

13.01 - PARENTAL LEAVE ELIGIBILITY 
 

Any employee who has been employed in state service for at least twelve (12) 
consecutive months as a full-time employee may be absent from employment 
for a period not to exceed four (4) months for adoption, pregnancy, childbirth, 
and nursing the infant. The four (4) month period shall include leave required 
before and after the birth of a child. With regard to adoption, the four (4) month 
period shall begin at the time an employee receives custody of the child. 

 
Any employee who has less than one (1) year of service may be granted parental 
leave for a period not to exceed thirty (30) workdays following the birth of a child. 

 
Leave may be taken continuously or intermittently. However, leave entitlement 
expires at the end of the twelve (12) month period beginning on the date of 
the  birth or placement. Parental leave for these reasons must be concluded 
within this time period. 

 
13.02 - PAID PARENTAL LEAVE 

 
Employees who are on parental leave for the following reasons must be granted 
absence from work with pay for a period of time equal to six (6) workweeks during 
a twelve (12) month period:  
 
A. Birth of the employee’s child, or 
B. The placement of a child with the employee for adoption. 
 
Paid parental leave must be paid at one hundred percent (100%) of the employee's 
salary. The leave must not be charged to sick, annual, or other leave the employee 
may have accumulated. An eligible employee must not be granted more than six (6) 
workweeks of paid parental leave during a twelve-month period, even if there is 
more than one qualifying birth or adoption. Leave taken in excess of the six (6) 
workweeks of paid parental leave will be charged to an employee’s accumulated 
leave balance or will be designated as leave without pay if there is no balance. Paid 
parental leave does not need to be taken consecutively. However, employees who 
wish to take paid parental leave – consecutively or otherwise - must follow the notice 
requirements set out in Section 13.03 for each period of absence. Paid parental  
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leave must be used within twelve (12) months of the qualifying birth or adoption. For  
the purpose of calculating service anniversary dates, this absence from work is 
considered full-time employment.  
 
To the extent permitted by law, paid parental leave shall run concurrent with any 
leave taken under the FMLA and T.C.A. § 4-21-408. 

 
13.03 EMPLOYEE NOTICE REQUIREMENTS 

 
An employee shall provide at least thirty (30) days advance notice prior to the 
date the leave is to begin. In situations where thirty (30) day notification is not 
possible because the employee has no knowledge of the exact time when the 
leave will need to begin or because of change or circumstance or medical 
emergency, notice shall be provided as soon as reasonably possible, normally 
within one (1)   or two (2) business days of when the employee knows the date 
leave will be needed. An employee who gives at least thirty (30) days advance 
notice of their  anticipated date of departure for parental leave, length of parental 
leave, and intention to return to full-time employment after parental leave shall  
be restored to their previous or a similar position with the same status, pay, 
length    of service credit and seniority, whenever applicable, as of the date of 
leave. 

 
Employees should request parental leave in Edison through Employee Self 
Service by navigating to HCM > Self Service > Time Reporting > Report Time > 
Request FMLA Leave. Employees are required to provide the need for the leave 
and the anticipated timing and duration of the leave. 

 
In instances where the employee does not enter the request in Edison, but 
instead notifies the supervisor of the need for parental leave, the supervisor 
shall refer the employee to the agency FMLA Coordinator, if applicable. The 
FMLA Coordinator will request additional information to determine if the 
employee is requesting parental leave specifically, obtain the necessary details 
of the leave being taken, and enter the request in Edison. 

 
Benefits and rights provided shall not be forfeited if the employee is prevented 
from giving advance notice due to a medical emergency which necessitates the 
parental leave beginning earlier than anticipated or if the notice of adoption was 
received less than thirty (30) days in advance. 

 
 
 



July 2023 

Attendance and Leave Manual 
Chapter 13 – Parental Leave 

Page 5 

 

 

 
 
 
If the employee’s position is so unique that, with reasonable effort, the position 
cannot be filled temporarily, as determined by the Commissioner, or if the 
employee has utilized the period of parental leave to actively pursue other 
employment opportunities or has worked part-time or full-time for another 
employer, reinstatement is not required. In such case, the employee shall be 
notified of the decision not to reinstate. 

 
 

13.04 - COORDINATION WITH FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE (FMLA) 
 

If leave qualifies for parental leave, paid parental leave, and/or FMLA leave, the 
leave used counts against the employee's entitlement under any applicable laws. 
Parental leave, paid parental leave, and FMLA leave shall  run concurrently to the 
extent permitted by law. 

 
13.05 - TYPES OF LEAVE PERMISSIBLE FOR PARENTAL LEAVE 

 
A. Paid Parental Leave 

Up to six (6) workweeks of parental leave may be designated as Paid Parental 
Leave, if eligible. 
 

B. Annual Leave 
A state employee may use annual leave for parental leave absences for a 
period not to exceed the state employee's accumulated sick leave and 
annual leave balance, or twelve (12) weeks, whichever is less. 

 
C. Compensatory Time 

Compensatory time may be used during a parental leave of absence. 

D. Sick Leave 
A state employee may use sick leave for parental leave absences for a period 
not to exceed the state employee's accumulated sick leave and annual leave 
balance, or twelve (12) weeks, whichever is less. In order to be eligible to use 
sick leave, the state employee must provide written notice with a statement 
from the attending physician indicating the expected date of confinement. 
Use of sick leave prior to and 12 weeks after delivery is subject to ordinary 
rules regarding the use of sick leave, i.e., the employee must be unable to 
work or must be using sick leave to care for a sick or disabled family 
member. Sick leave may be used during a parental leave of absence for 
adoption up to 12 weeks after the employee receives custody of the child.  
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All sick leave used during a parental leave of absence is coded as Parental 
Sick Leave (MPSL) in the attendance and leave reporting system. 

 
E. Parental Leave Without Pay 

Special leave without pay may be used during a parental leave of absence 
only when an employee has exhausted all other sick, annual, or 
compensatory leave. 
 

F. Family and Medical Leave 
See Chapter 6, entitled FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE ACT. 

 
Authority: 
Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 4-21-408, 8-30-104, 8-30-105, 8-50-802, 8-50-806, 8-50-813, and 8-50-
814. 
DOHR Rule 1120-06-.20 

https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=a5df7ac3-052e-4a81-a4c7-326e14b89d37&nodeid=AAEAAVAAEAAI&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAE%2FAAEAAV%2FAAEAAVAAE%2FAAEAAVAAEAAI&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=4-21-408.%2BLeave%2Bfor%2Badoption%2C%2Bpregnancy%2C%2Bchildbirth%2Band%2Bnursing%2Ban%2Binfant.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4WYJ-10F0-R03J-K44X-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=1ec832e5-b7e9-45b2-9ceb-bca923094cc0
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=a5df7ac3-052e-4a81-a4c7-326e14b89d37&nodeid=AAEAAVAAEAAI&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAE%2FAAEAAV%2FAAEAAVAAE%2FAAEAAVAAEAAI&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=4-21-408.%2BLeave%2Bfor%2Badoption%2C%2Bpregnancy%2C%2Bchildbirth%2Band%2Bnursing%2Ban%2Binfant.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4WYJ-10F0-R03J-K44X-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=1ec832e5-b7e9-45b2-9ceb-bca923094cc0
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=6ed2c3f2-2c00-467a-843e-bcfd5355a943&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4M0-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAIABDAABAAE&ecomp=w53dkkk&prid=dd305618-86e7-47ee-98a6-437bd0515de1
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=6ed2c3f2-2c00-467a-843e-bcfd5355a943&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4M0-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAIABDAABAAE&ecomp=w53dkkk&prid=dd305618-86e7-47ee-98a6-437bd0515de1
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=dd305618-86e7-47ee-98a6-437bd0515de1&nodeid=AAIABDAABAAF&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAB%2FAAIABDAABAAF&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-105.%2BRules%2Bhave%2Bforce%2Band%2Beffect%2Bof%2Blaw.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4M1-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=1ec832e5-b7e9-45b2-9ceb-bca923094cc0
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=dd305618-86e7-47ee-98a6-437bd0515de1&nodeid=AAIABDAABAAF&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAB%2FAAIABDAABAAF&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-105.%2BRules%2Bhave%2Bforce%2Band%2Beffect%2Bof%2Blaw.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4M1-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=1ec832e5-b7e9-45b2-9ceb-bca923094cc0
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=21991540-cd34-4d24-8b6f-2588ce91eeac&nodeid=AAIABWAAIAAC&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABW%2FAAIABWAAI%2FAAIABWAAIAAC&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-50-802.%2BSick%2Bleave.&indicator=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A5SCF-WBW0-R03K-506N-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=1ec832e5-b7e9-45b2-9ceb-bca923094cc0
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=21991540-cd34-4d24-8b6f-2588ce91eeac&nodeid=AAIABWAAIAAC&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABW%2FAAIABWAAI%2FAAIABWAAIAAC&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-50-802.%2BSick%2Bleave.&indicator=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A5SCF-WBW0-R03K-506N-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=1ec832e5-b7e9-45b2-9ceb-bca923094cc0
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=adb23ec9-2bba-412b-b00e-ef92bb1aafad&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A5SCF-WPV0-R03K-410K-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAIABWAAIAAG&ecomp=w53dkkk&prid=aeb7c59c-4d10-4cff-96bc-f0760b7e3cf7
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=adb23ec9-2bba-412b-b00e-ef92bb1aafad&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A5SCF-WPV0-R03K-410K-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAIABWAAIAAG&ecomp=w53dkkk&prid=aeb7c59c-4d10-4cff-96bc-f0760b7e3cf7
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=98caee5b-96dc-452a-b979-208d9f2fcf07&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A688G-22N0-R03K-G080-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAIABWAAIAAN&ecomp=g2vckkk&prid=be5e9c9e-e26c-4a73-a00d-cc453b6e57f3
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=12e051d2-0efd-4a4a-90c2-8d60fc36fc90&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A68DS-12M0-R03K-73WP-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAIABWAAIAAO&ecomp=g2vckkk&prid=98caee5b-96dc-452a-b979-208d9f2fcf07
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=12e051d2-0efd-4a4a-90c2-8d60fc36fc90&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A68DS-12M0-R03K-73WP-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAIABWAAIAAO&ecomp=g2vckkk&prid=98caee5b-96dc-452a-b979-208d9f2fcf07
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-06.20230418.pdf
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CHAPTER 14 
DIVISION OF CLAIMS ADMINISTRATION ABSENCE 

 
14.01 - ELIGIBLE EMPLOYEES 

 
An employee injured while on duty has the option of being placed immediately 
on leave without pay and upon approval drawing lost time compensation through 
the Division of Claims Administration or using sick and/or annual leave and then 
drawing lost time compensation. 

 
14.02 - ELIGIBILITY FOR LOST TIME COMPENSATION 

 
To be eligible for lost time compensation from the Division of Claims 
Administration, an employee must be in a without pay status due to injury or job-
related illness for more than seven (7) calendar days. If the employee is unable to 
work after more than fourteen (14) calendar days, lost time compensation from the 
Division of Claims Administration will be paid effective from the first day the 
employee is in a without pay status following the injury. Employees may elect to 
use sick, annual, or compensatory time in lieu of lost time. If the employee elects to 
use accrued time they will be unable to, at a later date, buy back the time they have 
used for Division of Claims Administration Absence. 

 
14.03 - RETURN FROM LEAVE 

 
When the employee is no longer compensated by the Division of Claims 
Administration and returns to normal work duties, the agency must return the 
employee to active status and submit documentation to adjust the employee 
service and longevity dates along with a doctor's statement stating that the 
employee is able to return to work. 

 
14.04 - EFFECT ON ANNIVERSARY DATES 

 
Employees should be given credit for time compensated by the Division of Claims 
Administration as if the employee were in an active pay status. Even though time 
served should not advance the employee's longevity (if eligible), salary, or service 
anniversary date, these dates are automatically advanced each month that the 
employee is not in active pay status the major portion of the month. When the 



January 2021 

Attendance and Leave Manual 
Chapter 14 – Division of Claims 

Page 2 

 

 

 
 

 

 

employee returns to active status, documentation must be submitted to the 
Agency Resource Center of the Department of Human Resources to correct these 
dates. 

 
14.05 - DISABLING ASSAULT INJURIES IN THE LINE OF DUTY 

 
Retention on regular payroll - conditions are as follows: 

 
A. If an employee is injured in the line of duty as a result of an assault and 

the injury results in the employee’s inability to perform regular duties, whether 
such disability is temporary or permanent, the appointing authority, with prior 
approval of the Commissioners of Finance and Administration and Human 
Resources, shall retain the injured employee on the regular payroll for a period 
not to exceed twenty-eight (28) calendar days without requiring the employee 
to use any sick leave benefits. [ Recordkeeping: This leave should be coded as 
Assault Pay (ASSLT) on the employee's attendance and leave record.] 

 
B. The length of time an injured employee will be permitted to remain on the 

regular payroll shall be based upon a written statement from the attending 
physician that the employee is unable to perform regular duties. However, in 
no event shall the employee’s period exceed twenty-eight (28) calendar days 
from the date of the injury. 

 
C. In circumstances where an injured employee makes a claim for compensation 

for the injury to the Division of Claims Administration (Division), the appointing 
authority is authorized to compensate the employee for the difference between 
the employee's weekly salary at the time of the injury and the weekly 
compensation for such injury as determined by the Division for the period 
of time between the date of the injury and the effective date of the action of 
the Division. In no case will this compensation exceed ninety (90) calendar 
days. This provision shall not apply to employees who have failed to file a 
claim with the Division within ten (10) calendar days after the date of the injury 
causing the temporary or permanent disability. The agency continues to pay 
the employee on the regular payroll and the Division will reimburse the agency 
for the period between twenty-eight (28) and ninety (90) days. Assault pay may 
be used intermittently for up to the ninety (90) calendar day limit. 
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D. In the event that the injured employee receives any monetary recovery from 
or settlement with a third party where the state receives any part of the 
recovery in compensation for payments made, the state shall pay a pro rata 
share. This share will be based on the percentage of the recovery received, and 
of any attorney’s fees paid or agreed to by the injured employee that were 
made to secure such settlement or recovery. 

 
E. Nothing in this section shall be construed to prevent an injured employee from 

requesting permission to use any sick leave benefits. 

 
F. Whenever a commissioned member of the Tennessee Department of Safety, 

a driver's license examiner, commissioned instructor employed at the 
Tennessee law enforcement training academy, correctional officer, or youth 
service officer is injured in the line of duty and such injury disables him or 
her from performing the assigned duties of the position, whether such 
disability is temporary or permanent, it shall be lawful for the appointing 
authority with the approval of the Governor and the Attorney  General  of the 
State, to retain such injured disabled employee upon the regular payroll until 
the employee claim for compensation for such disability is determined by the 
Division of Claims Administration. 

 
 
 

Authority: 
Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 4-6-148, 4-7-109, 8-50-111, and 68-102-402 
DOHR Rule 1120-06-.22 

https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=c5fe4428-32d8-4e16-b2c6-45d112e292ac&nodeid=AAEAAGAABABW&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAE%2FAAEAAG%2FAAEAAGAAB%2FAAEAAGAABABW&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=4-6-148.%2BTemporary%2Bretention%2Bof%2Bdisabled%2Bcorrectional%2Bofficer%2Bor%2Byouth%2Bservice%2Bworker.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A52W6-W0S0-R03N-X2SH-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=1a6ff4cc-a296-44cd-b26a-ce7e26a018e1
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=c5fe4428-32d8-4e16-b2c6-45d112e292ac&nodeid=AAEAAGAABABW&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAE%2FAAEAAG%2FAAEAAGAAB%2FAAEAAGAABABW&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=4-6-148.%2BTemporary%2Bretention%2Bof%2Bdisabled%2Bcorrectional%2Bofficer%2Bor%2Byouth%2Bservice%2Bworker.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A52W6-W0S0-R03N-X2SH-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=1a6ff4cc-a296-44cd-b26a-ce7e26a018e1
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=97eaa5c1-f79b-40a1-b8eb-a53b6916aeb8&nodeid=AAEAAHAABAAJ&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAE%2FAAEAAH%2FAAEAAHAAB%2FAAEAAHAABAAJ&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=4-7-109.%2BTemporary%2Bretention%2Bof%2Bdisabled%2Bmember%2Bon%2Bpayroll.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4WYJ-1080-R03N-W3VK-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=1a6ff4cc-a296-44cd-b26a-ce7e26a018e1
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=97eaa5c1-f79b-40a1-b8eb-a53b6916aeb8&nodeid=AAEAAHAABAAJ&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAE%2FAAEAAH%2FAAEAAHAAB%2FAAEAAHAABAAJ&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=4-7-109.%2BTemporary%2Bretention%2Bof%2Bdisabled%2Bmember%2Bon%2Bpayroll.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4WYJ-1080-R03N-W3VK-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=1a6ff4cc-a296-44cd-b26a-ce7e26a018e1
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=2293546c-4de0-482c-990a-a23ca7daf988&nodeid=AAIABWAABAAL&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABW%2FAAIABWAAB%2FAAIABWAABAAL&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-50-111.%2BDisabling%2Bassault%2Binjuries%2Bin%2Bthe%2Bline%2Bof%2Bduty%2B%E2%80%94%2BRetention%2Bon%2Bregular%2Bpayroll%2B%E2%80%94%2BConditions.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82RD-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=1a6ff4cc-a296-44cd-b26a-ce7e26a018e1
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=2293546c-4de0-482c-990a-a23ca7daf988&nodeid=AAIABWAABAAL&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABW%2FAAIABWAAB%2FAAIABWAABAAL&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-50-111.%2BDisabling%2Bassault%2Binjuries%2Bin%2Bthe%2Bline%2Bof%2Bduty%2B%E2%80%94%2BRetention%2Bon%2Bregular%2Bpayroll%2B%E2%80%94%2BConditions.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82RD-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=1a6ff4cc-a296-44cd-b26a-ce7e26a018e1
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=4129e83b-b955-4090-98d7-dd2d8f172da6&nodeid=ACPAACAACAAEAAC&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FACP%2FACPAAC%2FACPAACAAC%2FACPAACAACAAE%2FACPAACAACAAEAAC&level=5&haschildren&populated=false&title=68-102-402.%2BRetention%2Bof%2Binjured%2Bmember%2Bon%2Bpayroll.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X9B-PFK0-R03N-90XT-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=1a6ff4cc-a296-44cd-b26a-ce7e26a018e1
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=4129e83b-b955-4090-98d7-dd2d8f172da6&nodeid=ACPAACAACAAEAAC&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FACP%2FACPAAC%2FACPAACAAC%2FACPAACAACAAE%2FACPAACAACAAEAAC&level=5&haschildren&populated=false&title=68-102-402.%2BRetention%2Bof%2Binjured%2Bmember%2Bon%2Bpayroll.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X9B-PFK0-R03N-90XT-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=1a6ff4cc-a296-44cd-b26a-ce7e26a018e1
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-06.20230418.pdf
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CHAPTER 15 
TERMINAL LEAVE FOR RETIREES AND DEATH BENEFITS OF 
DECEASED EMPLOYEES 

The unused, accrued annual leave balance of a retiring employee is called terminal 
leave. 

 
15.01 ELIGIBLE EMPLOYEES 

 
When an employee retires from state service, s/he is eligible to receive payment for 
the unused portion of their annual leave, except in the case of termination for gross 
misconduct. Any employee who is dismissed or terminated from state service for 
gross misconduct, who retires from state service to avoid termination for gross 
misconduct, or who was guilty of gross misconduct prior to leaving state service is 
ineligible to receive compensation for any accrued annual leave as terminal leave, 
including in a lump sum payment. 

 
In this situation, however, the employee must be paid for all accumulated 
compensatory leave in a lump sum payment. 

 
15.02 EMPLOYEES SUBJECT TO STATE RETIREMENT 

 
All employees who are members of the state retirement system through the 
Tennessee Consolidated Retirement System and who are entitled to terminal leave, 
must be compensated for their terminal leave prior to the effective date of the 
employee’s retirement. 

 
15.03 BEGINNING OF TERMINAL LEAVE 

 
Terminal leave begins the workday immediately following the employee’s last full 
workday. If the employee has a compensatory leave balance, this balance must be 
paid first. Terminal leave will begin once the compensatory leave is exhausted. 
Employees on an irregular work schedule should revert to a regular work schedule. 
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15.04 SATURDAYS, SUNDAYS AND OFFICIAL HOLIDAYS 
 

In establishing an employee's terminal leave period, credit must be allowed during 
the terminal leave period for Saturdays, Sundays and holidays in the same manner 
as though regular annual leave was being considered. 

 
15.05 DETERMINING THE END OF THE TERMINAL LEAVE PERIOD 

 
The effective date of retirement will be the day after the employee exhausts 
all terminal leave. 

 
15.06 PAYING FOR A HOLIDAY WHILE ON TERMINAL LEAVE PERIOD 

 
In order for an employee to receive pay for a holiday while on terminal leave, there 
must be at least a balance of one tenth (.1) hour of terminal leave on the first 
workday immediately following the holiday. 

 
15.07 PAYING FOR EXCESS TERMINAL LEAVE 

 
Employees accumulate leave in excess of the maximum allowable accrual for their 
service group for up to 12 months before the leave transfers to sick leave. The 
transfer date directly follows completion of the employee’s hire month. 
Compensatory leave is considered work time and must be exhausted prior to 
the transfer date. If the employee separates (i.e., begins a terminal leave period) 
prior to this transfer the employee must be paid for the total amount of leave in 
the form of terminal leave. 

 
15.08 LONGEVITY PAYMENT ON TERMINAL LEAVE 

 
Retiring employees who are receiving compensation on their longevity anniversary 
date are eligible for longevity payments, if eligible, even if they are on terminal 
leave. 

 
15.09 MANDATORY LUMP SUM PAYMENT OF DEATH BENEFITS 

 
The payment of unused, accrued annual, sick and compensatory leave balances for 
deceased employees will be made in lump sum. Deceased employees should be 
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separated from the payroll and personnel systems. Deceased employees will not 
be placed on terminal leave, allowing leave balances to diminish; rather, agencies 
should submit a supplemental request for lump sum payment of death benefits to 
the Department of Human Resources Agency Resource Center. 

 
Deceased employees will receive service credit and their beneficiaries or estates 
will be paid for holidays and longevity (if applicable), as if the deceased employees' 
annual and compensatory leave had been allowed to continue as terminal leave. 
Retirement credit will be granted for the sick leave balance accrued prior to death 
if the surviving beneficiary is due a benefit. 

 
If the deceased employee was under a State Health Insurance Plan at the time of 
their death, the employee’s surviving eligible dependent(s) who were covered under 
the State Health Insurance Plan at the time of the employee’s death will continue to 
receive the same coverage for six (6) months at no cost to the dependent(s)or to 
agencies. At the end of the six (6) month period, the dependent(s) will automatically 
receive notification of eligibility to be insured through the Consolidated Omnibus 
Budget Reconciliation Act (COBRA). 

 
Employee wages earned through the time of death should be processed on payroll 
as regular wages paid to the deceased employee. In accordance with state law, the 
State of Tennessee is authorized to provide payment of up to $10,000 in wages to 
a surviving spouse of a decedent, but if none are identified, then to the surviving 
children of the decedent as tenants in common. The $10,000 payment should be 
paid if funds are available from the wages earned through the time of death. This 
payment cannot be made from accumulated leave balances. Calculations should 
be made to determine if the payment can be made. A signed and notarized request 
for payment must be made prior to the processing of the payroll for the pay period 
in question. Tenn. Code Ann. § 30-2-103 

 
15.10 BENEFICIARY FOR LEAVE BALANCES 

 
An employee may designate a beneficiary to receive payment for unused, 
accrued sick, annual and compensatory leave balances upon the employee’s 
death. The beneficiary for leave balances will be the same person designated as 
the beneficiary for receipt of retirement benefits under the Tennessee 
Consolidated Retirement System, unless the employee designates a different 
person. 

https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=27c18676-3423-42bc-8137-f33da837adc6&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8J-7990-R03K-Y45K-00008-00&pdcontentcomponentid=234179&pdteaserkey=sr0&pditab=allpods&ecomp=c5w_kkk&earg=sr0&prid=d5a183e5-f1cb-450a-bba3-be240147bbbf
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An employee wishing to designate a beneficiary to receive the unused, accrued 
leave balances should prepare a written statement indicating who should receive 
payment upon the employee’s death. The statement should be signed by the 
employee, notarized, and returned to the employee’s agency human resources 
department. The written statement will become part of the employee's personnel 
file. Tenn. Code Ann. § 8-50-808 

 
If there is no designated beneficiary, the payment of last wages will be 
made to the employee's estate or in accordance with state law. Tenn. Code 
Ann. § 30-2-103 TERMINATION OF BENEFITS 

 
During the period of terminal leave, an employee will not: 

 
A. Be in a leave accruing status on the date that terminal leave begins. 

 
B. Be eligible for salary increases or salary adjustments. The salary rate in effect 

on the last day worked will be used in determining terminal payment. 

 
Authority: 
Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 8-50-807, 8-50-808, and 30-2-103 
Rules of the Department of Human Resources 1120-06-.23 and 1120-06-.24 

https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=f277250d-ca4d-476b-bad5-858862820d07&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82SK-00008-00&pdcontentcomponentid=234179&pdteaserkey=sr0&pditab=allpods&ecomp=c5w_kkk&earg=sr0&prid=b81652fe-69ca-45b5-9570-4f968c867880
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=27c18676-3423-42bc-8137-f33da837adc6&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8J-7990-R03K-Y45K-00008-00&pdcontentcomponentid=234179&pdteaserkey=sr0&pditab=allpods&ecomp=c5w_kkk&earg=sr0&prid=d5a183e5-f1cb-450a-bba3-be240147bbbf
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=27c18676-3423-42bc-8137-f33da837adc6&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8J-7990-R03K-Y45K-00008-00&pdcontentcomponentid=234179&pdteaserkey=sr0&pditab=allpods&ecomp=c5w_kkk&earg=sr0&prid=d5a183e5-f1cb-450a-bba3-be240147bbbf
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=5a6a24a2-8295-490e-8475-ecc17cfbbc6e&nodeid=AAIABWAAIAAH&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABW%2FAAIABWAAI%2FAAIABWAAIAAH&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-50-807.%2BTermination%2Bcompensation.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82SJ-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=7275de38-833d-4aa2-86cb-fdf91fdabcc3
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=766cdbc5-a233-4130-89c7-64342d0acdf8&pdistocdocslideraccess=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82SK-00008-00&pdcomponentid=234180&pdtocnodeidentifier=AAIABWAAIAAI&ecomp=w53dkkk&prid=5a6a24a2-8295-490e-8475-ecc17cfbbc6e
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=dbca1106-f78b-4e13-80fc-44d170f9f330&nodeid=ABEAACAABAAD&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FABE%2FABEAAC%2FABEAACAAB%2FABEAACAABAAD&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=30-2-103.%2BDesignation%2Bof%2Bbeneficiary%2B%E2%80%94%2BWages%2Band%2Bdebts%2Bowed%2Bdeceased%2Bemployee.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8J-7990-R03K-Y45K-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=7275de38-833d-4aa2-86cb-fdf91fdabcc3
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-06.20230418.pdf
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-06.20230418.pdf
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CHAPTER 16 
 
TEMPORARY EMPLOYMENT OF RETIRED STATE EMPLOYEES 

Retired employees may return to temporary employment under certain conditions 
as outlined in the temporary employment form obtained from the Retirement 
Division, Treasury Department. The retired employee may accept employment 
with a covered employer for up to one hundred and twenty (120) days during a 
twelve (12) month period. 

 
The appointment type will be part-time. Appointments will be at an hourly rate 
of pay. Employees must be separated after one hundred and twenty (120) working 
days in positive pay status or after twelve (12) consecutive months, whichever 
comes first. 

 
Retired employees are not eligible for longevity payments, with the exception of 
the retired employees who are eligible for longevity payments under the 
authority of Tennessee Code Annotated § 8-23-206, if initially hired prior to June 30, 
2015. 

 
 
 

Authority: 
Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 8-23-206 and 8-36-805 
DOHR Rule 1120-02-.11 

https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=ea9c9eb6-e747-4345-8546-5ae51f7c7402&nodeid=AAIAAXAACAAG&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIAAX%2FAAIAAXAAC%2FAAIAAXAACAAG&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-23-206.%2BLongevity%2Bpay.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4WXC-56K0-R03M-24K0-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=b0d736be-51ab-4411-8800-588b2de03ecf
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=ea9c9eb6-e747-4345-8546-5ae51f7c7402&nodeid=AAIAAXAACAAG&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIAAX%2FAAIAAXAAC%2FAAIAAXAACAAG&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-23-206.%2BLongevity%2Bpay.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4WXC-56K0-R03M-24K0-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=b0d736be-51ab-4411-8800-588b2de03ecf
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=acd6b04e-a497-400f-af62-c685b6c6d4f7&nodeid=AAIABJAAIAAF&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABJ%2FAAIABJAAI%2FAAIABJAAIAAF&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-36-805.%2BReemployment%2Bpermitted.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X1B-F280-R03M-M32Y-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=b0d736be-51ab-4411-8800-588b2de03ecf
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=acd6b04e-a497-400f-af62-c685b6c6d4f7&nodeid=AAIABJAAIAAF&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABJ%2FAAIABJAAI%2FAAIABJAAIAAF&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-36-805.%2BReemployment%2Bpermitted.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X1B-F280-R03M-M32Y-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=b0d736be-51ab-4411-8800-588b2de03ecf
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-02.20230418.pdf
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CHAPTER 17 
OVERTIME 

 
Overtime is approved time worked in excess of the employee's normal work week 
schedule for which extra compensation is authorized. Depending on the number 
of hours physically worked in the work week and the type of work the employee 
performs, overtime compensation may be in the form of cash at the employee's 
regular rate of pay, cash at the employee's premium rate of pay (one and one-half 
(1.5) times the regular rate) or in equivalent time off (compensatory time). 

 
17.01 OVERTIME AUTHORIZATION 

 
When it becomes necessary for employees to work overtime, the appointing 
authority for that agency, or officially designated supervisors and managers, may 
authorize overtime work in addition to the employee's regular work schedule. The 
employee is expected to work overtime when the job requires this extra work 
and the supervisor gives a reasonable job assignment. If an employee refuses to 
work overtime in this situation, he or she may be subject to disciplinary action. 

 
17.02 NON-EXEMPT EMPLOYEE OVERTIME ELIGIBILITY 

 
Non-exempt employees (employees covered by the overtime  provisions of the Fair 
Labor Standards Act) must be paid in cash for all overtime, with the following 
exceptions: 

 
A. Compensatory time may be awarded in lieu of cash, at the request of the 

appointing authority and approval of the Commissioner of Human Resources, 
if sufficient funds are not available to pay cash. In this situation, an agreement 
or understanding with the affected employees to accept compensatory time in 
lieu of cash must be reached prior to the performance of work. This agreement 
or understanding must be communicated in writing and must be documented by 
the agency. 

 
B. Non-exempt employees may request compensatory time in lieu of cash 

payment. A written request from the employee approved by the employee's 
supervisor is required. Employees requesting this exception cannot change 



January 2021 

Attendance and Leave Manual 
Chapter 17 - Overtime 

Page 2 

 

 

 
 

 

 

back and forth from cash to compensatory time more frequently than once 
per week. An agency's appointing authority may have internal policies that 
further restrict the number of times employees may change back and forth 
between cash and compensatory time. 

 
Non-exempt employees are paid at their regular hourly rate for hours actually 
worked in excess of their regular thirty-seven and one-half (37.5) hour weekly 
schedule up to forty (40.0) hours in a work week. Employees are paid at the 
premium rate (one and one-half times the regular rate) for hours actually worked 
in excess of forty (40.0) in a work week. Non-duty time spent on paid leave will 
be counted as compensable hours earned but will not be counted as hours 
actually worked. An employee must physically work forty (40.0) hours in the work 
week before premium overtime is due. Overtime cannot be paid until the work 
week is completed. This applies even in work weeks split between two different 
pay periods. 

 
When compensatory time is granted in lieu of cash, non-exempt employees receive 
hour-for-hour time off (regular compensatory time) for overtime hours worked 
between thirty-seven and one-half (37.5) and forty (40.0) in a work week and one 
and one-half times the number of hours worked (premium compensatory time) 
for all hours worked in excess of forty (40.0) in a work week. 

 
17.03 EXEMPT EMPLOYEE (NON-EXECUTIVE LEVEL) OVERTIME ELIGIBILITY 

 
Exempt employees are those whose primary duties are classified as executive, 
administrative, professional or outside sales by the Fair Labor Standards Act. 
Employees performing these duties are exempt from Fair Labor Standards Act 
overtime provisions requiring premium cash compensation for overtime hours 
worked over forty (40.0) in a work week. 

 
Exempt employees not categorized as executive level by the Commissioner may 
be granted hour-for-hour compensatory time for all hours in excess of their 
regular thirty-seven and one-half (37.5) hour weekly schedule in a work week. 

 
Exceptions must be approved by the Departments of Finance and Administration 
and Human Resources. 
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17.04 EXEMPT EMPLOYEE (EXECUTIVE LEVEL) OVERTIME INELIGIBILITY 
 

Exempt employees categorized as executive level by the Commissioner are 
ineligible to receive overtime. However, when an executive level employee is 
scheduled to work on a holiday, the holiday may be rescheduled. 

 
17.05 INCLUDING LONGEVITY PAY IN CASH OVERTIME CALCULATIONS 

 
All non-exempt employees must be credited with the hourly equivalent amount 
of the most recent longevity payment received during their current period of 
employment.  Employees  hired  after  June  30,  2015 are  not  eligible  for  longevity 
payments. This is part of their total compensation and will be included in premium 
cash overtime payments. 

 
This longevity amount will be added to the premium overtime rate automatically 
if the overtime is processed normally on the attendance and leave record. The 
computer system will extract data on the current longevity payment to be paid 
to the employee and add that hourly equivalent rate to the regular hourly rate. An 
exempt employee receiving compensatory time is not covered under FLSA. 
There is no need to compute additional costs since the employee is receiving 
straight hourly compensation, even if it is paid to the employee when he or she 
leaves state service. 

17.06 OVERTIME FOR TRAVELING OUTSIDE THE REGULARLY SCHEDULED WORKDAY 

Traveling Outside the Normal Schedule on a Scheduled Workday 
 

Employees traveling to and from meetings at which attendance is considered 
a work assignment on a scheduled workday will receive compensatory time or 
cash (depending on their exempt or non-exempt status) equal to one hundred 
percent (100%) of the time traveled outside the regular workday, less the actual 
time required to travel from the work station to the employee's home. 
Documentation of actual home to work travel time will be required prior to any 
employee being awarded compensatory time. The provisions of this policy shall 
apply to all employees who are currently eligible to receive cash or accrue 
compensatory time under policy or law. 
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Traveling on an Unscheduled Workday 
 

Employees traveling to and from meetings at which attendance is considered 
a work assignment on an unscheduled workday will receive compensatory time 
or cash (depending in their exempt or non-exempt status) equal to one hundred 
percent (100%) of the time traveled. The provisions of this policy shall apply to 
all employees who are currently eligible to receive cash or accrue compensatory 
time under policy or law. 

 
17.07 OVERTIME FOR PERFORMING EMERGENCY SERVICES 

 
Employees called from their homes at unusual hours to handle emergency 
situations will receive compensatory time or cash (depending on their exempt or 
non-exempt status) equal to one hundred percent (100%) of the actual travel time 
spent performing these duties, provided these duties are outside of the regularly 
scheduled workday. 

 
72-Hour Notice Overtime 

 
Employees who are given less than seventy-two (72) hours’ notice of the 
requirement to work prior to beginning approved annual or compensatory leave, 
or employees who are given less than seventy-two (72) hours’ notice of the 
requirement to work on a holiday shall be paid at a rate equal to one and one half 
(1.5) times their regular hourly rate for those hours required to work. Employees 
who are notified to return to work while they are on approved annual or 
compensatory leave shall be paid at a rate equal to one and one half (1.5) times 
their regular hourly rate for all hours they are required to work, even though they 
may have been given more than seventy-two (72) hours’ notice. 

 
Under this policy, employees are paid at their regular hourly rate for working and 
will receive the additional one- half (.5) time amount as a supplemental payment. 
The additional one-half time amount is the difference between the employee’s 
regular overtime rate and premium overtime rate including longevity. To be eligible 
under this policy, the employee must have been approved for a full day of annual 
and/or compensatory leave on the day(s) affected or have been scheduled to be 
off the entire  day(s) on a holiday. Employees called back into work on a  holiday 
may receive additional compensation for all hours worked on the holiday, 
regardless of scheduled hours for that day. This policy does not 
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allow employees to receive additional compensation if the hours worked are 
already paid at the premium rate, whether those hours are paid as cash or 
compensatory time. 

 
Executive level employees (exempt employees who receive no overtime 
compensation) and part-time employees, scheduled to work less than 1,600 hours 
in a fiscal year, are not eligible. In addition, employees do not receive additional 
compensation if the hours worked are already paid at the premium rate (time and 
a half), whether those hours are paid as cash or compensatory time. 

 
A letter signed by the employee and the supervisor documenting the hours worked 
without seventy-two (72) hours’ notice shall be approved by the appointing authority 
and then forwarded to the Commissioner of Human Resources   within ten (10) 
working days after the time worked under this policy. 

 
On-Call Time 

 
Employees not required to remain on the employer's premises and free to engage 
in their own pursuits, subject only to the understanding that he or she give 
information as to how to be  reached,  are not considered working while on- call. 
When these employees are called to a job assignment, only the time actually spent 
responding to the call (including one hundred percent (100%) travel time to and 
from the work site) should be counted as hours worked. If the on-call conditions 
are so restrictive that employees are not realistically free to use the intervening 
periods effectively for their own benefit, they may be considered working. 

 
17.08 REQUIRED BUDGETARY APPROVAL OF AGENCY OVERTIME 

 
The Department of Finance and Administration, Division of Budget, reviews and 
approves each agency's annual cash overtime budgetary request. Requests for 
additional cash overtime during each fiscal year must be submitted to the Division 
of Budget for approval. All requests for overtime should include the reasons for 
overtime and the agency's plan to fund the request. 
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17.09 EXTRA SERVICES (HOLDING TWO STATE JOBS) 
 

No officer or employee in the several departments and agencies of the state 
government employed at fixed compensation shall be paid for any extra services, 
in an ex-officio or other capacity, except for qualified interpreters of the deaf or 
except when such officer's or employee's total annual income, including overtime 
payment, derived from the primary employment is less than eight thousand 
dollars ($8,000). That officer or employee may hold a part-time position that 
requires no more than four (4) hours of active duty per working day or as herein 
provided. 
All time worked for the state is considered working for the same employer as 
a single unit even if the work is performed in different departments. Thus, a non- 
exempt employee working a second state job is due premium overtime pay when 
that employee physically works over 40.0 hours in a work week. 

 
Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to prohibit a state employee from 
obtaining employment with another employer so long as no conflicts exist between 
such additional employment and the employment schedule of the state employee. 

 
17.10 MEMORANDUM OF AGREEMENT (DUAL SERVICE CONTRACT) 

 
Employees may perform services for other state departments, agencies and 
institutions of state government for which employees receive compensation under 
certain conditions. The following are conditions which affect employee's 
attendance, leave and compensation: 

 
A. No employee shall receive any compensation for such services unless the work 

is performed at times when the employee is not on duty in the employee’s 
regular position. 

 
B. It is state policy that a full-time employee of an agency of state government 

should devote the employee’s full working time to the employee’s position. 
An arrangement shall, therefore, not be approved if it will diminish the time 
an employee will have available for the performance of regular duties. 

 
C. The funds shall be payable through the human resource system of the 

employee's agency and be shown on the records as additional earnings. 
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D. Payment shall be authorized by a supplemental pay authorization, subject 
to the additional earnings to income tax, social security and retirement 
deductions. 

 
E. If the employee's agency makes a contribution for social security and 

retirement, the amount of that contribution shall be included in the 
reimbursement between the two agencies. 

 
Additional information is available by contacting the Department of Finance and 
Administration. 

 
 
Authority: 
Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 4-4-105, 8-23-201, 8-30-104, 8-30-405, and 8-50-801 
DOHR Rule 1120-06-.02, 1120-06-.03, 1120-06-.04, and 1120-06-.05 

https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=8123a673-bbfe-4fb5-81e9-94f712b75430&nodeid=AAEAAEAAF&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAE%2FAAEAAE%2FAAEAAEAAF&level=3&haschildren&populated=false&title=4-4-105.%2BDepartment%2Boffice%2Bhours%2B%E2%80%94%2BOvertime.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4WYJ-1060-R03K-53RD-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=06ab1276-ef20-4116-a014-36b1a0ecd3a9
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=8123a673-bbfe-4fb5-81e9-94f712b75430&nodeid=AAEAAEAAF&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAE%2FAAEAAE%2FAAEAAEAAF&level=3&haschildren&populated=false&title=4-4-105.%2BDepartment%2Boffice%2Bhours%2B%E2%80%94%2BOvertime.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4WYJ-1060-R03K-53RD-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=06ab1276-ef20-4116-a014-36b1a0ecd3a9
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=12f567ab-984e-46eb-a0c7-3d0a67d0b3be&nodeid=AAIAAXAACAAB&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIAAX%2FAAIAAXAAC%2FAAIAAXAACAAB&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-23-201.%2BCompensation%2Bfor%2Bextra%2Bservices%2Bor%2Bovertime%2B%E2%80%94%2BMaintenance%2Bfor%2Bcertain%2Bofficers%2Band%2Bemployees%2B%E2%80%94%2BEmployees%2Bperforming%2Bduties%2Bfor%2Bother%2Bagencies.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-T4C0-R03M-73FS-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=06ab1276-ef20-4116-a014-36b1a0ecd3a9
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=12f567ab-984e-46eb-a0c7-3d0a67d0b3be&nodeid=AAIAAXAACAAB&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIAAX%2FAAIAAXAAC%2FAAIAAXAACAAB&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-23-201.%2BCompensation%2Bfor%2Bextra%2Bservices%2Bor%2Bovertime%2B%E2%80%94%2BMaintenance%2Bfor%2Bcertain%2Bofficers%2Band%2Bemployees%2B%E2%80%94%2BEmployees%2Bperforming%2Bduties%2Bfor%2Bother%2Bagencies.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-T4C0-R03M-73FS-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=06ab1276-ef20-4116-a014-36b1a0ecd3a9
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=f9c40e38-038c-4f39-b7a8-1dcb6884fd69&nodeid=AAIABDAABAAE&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAB%2FAAIABDAABAAE&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-104.%2BAuthority%2Bof%2Bcommissioner%2B%E2%80%94%2BSupervisory%2Bpersonnel%2B%E2%80%94%2BDesignees.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4M0-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=06ab1276-ef20-4116-a014-36b1a0ecd3a9
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=f9c40e38-038c-4f39-b7a8-1dcb6884fd69&nodeid=AAIABDAABAAE&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAB%2FAAIABDAABAAE&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-104.%2BAuthority%2Bof%2Bcommissioner%2B%E2%80%94%2BSupervisory%2Bpersonnel%2B%E2%80%94%2BDesignees.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4M0-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=06ab1276-ef20-4116-a014-36b1a0ecd3a9
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=fdaa512f-7479-4e37-8c8c-b9f6992f740b&nodeid=AAIABDAAEAAF&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAE%2FAAIABDAAEAAF&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-405.%2BOutside%2Bemployment.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A55XV-B220-R03N-G07K-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=06ab1276-ef20-4116-a014-36b1a0ecd3a9
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=fdaa512f-7479-4e37-8c8c-b9f6992f740b&nodeid=AAIABDAAEAAF&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAE%2FAAIABDAAEAAF&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-405.%2BOutside%2Bemployment.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A55XV-B220-R03N-G07K-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=06ab1276-ef20-4116-a014-36b1a0ecd3a9
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-06.20230418.pdf
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CHAPTER 18 
COMPENSATORY TIME 

 
Compensatory time is time off with pay earned by an exempt, non-executive level 
employee (or by a non-exempt employee whose overtime is not compensated 
in cash) for time actually worked in excess of the employee regular thirty-seven and 
one-half (37.5) hour or forty (40) hour weekly schedule, depending on schedule. 
Overtime claimed  as  compensatory  time must have been worked at the request 
of the employee's supervisor. Compensatory time is accrued on a weekly basis 
and is not transferable to any type of leave. 

 
18.01 USE OF COMPENSATORY TIME 

 
The use of earned compensatory leave is subject to approval of the department, 
agency head, designated manager, or supervisor. When an employee requests 
annual leave and compensatory leave is available, the compensatory leave shall 
be used first, unless the accumulated annual leave balance at the beginning of the 
pay period is within two (2) days of the maximum accrual rate for the employee's 
service group. When an employee is within two (2) days of the maximum, annual 
leave may be used until the balance falls below the (2) days of the maximum at 
that point the employee must use compensatory leave for the remainder of the leave 
used for that pay period. Any employee whose annual leave balance is not within 
the two (2) day maximum at the beginning of a pay period must use 
compensatory leave during the entire pay period. The term "two days" shall 
mean fifteen (15.0) hours for thirty-seven and one-half (37.5) hours per week 
employees, sixteen (16.0) hours for forty (40.0)  hours  per  week employees,  or as 
approved by the Department of Human Resources for public safety employees on 
other authorized work cycles. 

 
Service groups change on the first day of the month. Therefore, to determine an 
employee’s ability to use annual leave before compensatory leave, the group 
maximum identified at the first of the month must be used. 

 
Supervisors can schedule employees to use compensatory leave in order to reduce 
an employee’s compensatory balance. Before the compensatory leave is 
scheduled, the agency must have a written policy or handbook detailing situations 
when this will occur and the policy or handbook must be available to employees 
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for review before the policy can be implemented. This requirement only applies 
to premium compensatory time earned by non-exempt employees in lieu of cash 
payment. This requirement does not apply to holiday compensatory time or 
regular compensatory time. Supervisors cannot schedule employees to use 
compensatory leave if employees are within two (2) days of the maximum accrual 
rate for their service group. 

 
Employees may use compensatory leave for any reason as long as the leave does 
not interfere with their duties. 

 
An employee may use compensatory leave to perform military duty while directly 
receiving pay from the federal government. 

 
18.02 COMPENSATORY TIME TRANSFERABLE 

 
Compensatory time is transferable between the agencies of state service. If an 
employee in a state service agency transfers to another state agency outside 
the state service that will not accept the employee's compensatory balance, the 
forme r  state service  agency must compensate the  transferring employee for the 
value of the employee's compensatory time balance. 

 
18.03 VALUE OF COMPENSATORY TIME 

 
The value of compensatory time accrued by a non-exempt employee is calculated 
at a rate not  less than the employee's  average rate over the  last three (3) years 
of employment or the employee's regular hourly rate in the state service agency at 
the time of the transfer, whichever is higher. The value of the compensatory time 
accrued by an exempt employee is calculated based on the employee's regular 
hourly rate in the state service agency at the time of transfer. 

 
18.04 COMPENSATORY TIME PRIOR TO TERMINAL LEAVE 

 
Compensatory time earned must be taken prior to the beginning of a retiring 
employee’s terminal leave, taken prior to separation if the retiring employee has 
no terminal leave,  or  paid in  a lump sum  at separation  if the retiring employee 
so requests. Employees terminated for gross misconduct must be paid for all 
accumulated compensatory time. 
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18.05 MAXIMUM ALLOWABLE COMPENSATORY TIME ACCRUAL 

 
Compensatory time may be accrued up to a maximum of four hundred and eighty 
(480) hours. Overtime earned above four hundred and eighty (480) hours must be 
paid in cash. 

 
Any variation to this maximum accrual limit must be approved in advance by the 
Commissioners of Human Resources and Finance and Administration. 

 
18.06 REGULAR AND PREMIUM COMPENSATORY OVERTIME LIMITS 

 
Non-exempt employees are eligible to receive premium compensatory overtime 
in lieu of premium cash overtime for hours worked over forty (40.0) in a work 
week. The maximum allowable premium compensatory overtime accumulation 
for non-public safety employees is two hundred and forty (240) hours. Public safety 
employees may earn up to a maximum of four hundred and eighty (480) hours 
of premium compensatory overtime. 

 
Totals for regular and premium compensatory overtime will be added together and 
no employee will be allowed to exceed a total accumulation of both regular and/or 
premium compensatory overtime over four hundred and eighty (480) hours unless 
approved by Department of Human Resources and Department of Finance and 
Administration. 

 
Overtime in excess of maximum allowed accruals must be paid in cash. The hours 
should be turned in as compensatory overtime hours and the computer system 
will automatically pay as cash. 

 
Any compensatory time used by an employee will be deducted automatically from 
the premium compensatory overtime balance first. When that balance is 
exhausted, any additional compensatory time used will be charged to regular 
compensatory overtime. 
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18.07 COMPENSATORY TIME FOR EXEMPT EXECUTIVE LEVEL EMPLOYEES 
 

Earned compensatory time may be retained and used when an employee becomes 
executive level, with the exception of limited term appointees. Executive level 
employees are prohibited from earning compensatory time. 

 
 
 
Authority: 
Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 8-23-201, 8-30-104, and 8-50-801 
DOHR Rule 1120-06-.02, 1120-06-.03, 1120-06-.04, and 1120-06-.05  

https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=1fa9c535-0860-4ed5-8153-e59ffa4cc442&nodeid=AAIAAXAACAAB&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIAAX%2FAAIAAXAAC%2FAAIAAXAACAAB&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-23-201.%2BCompensation%2Bfor%2Bextra%2Bservices%2Bor%2Bovertime%2B%E2%80%94%2BMaintenance%2Bfor%2Bcertain%2Bofficers%2Band%2Bemployees%2B%E2%80%94%2BEmployees%2Bperforming%2Bduties%2Bfor%2Bother%2Bagencies.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-T4C0-R03M-73FS-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=0d5f6f72-6df3-4391-80e0-50d105c62028
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=be248308-cdc4-43cf-9ef0-b8a031dc6911&nodeid=AAIABDAABAAE&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAB%2FAAIABDAABAAE&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-104.%2BAuthority%2Bof%2Bcommissioner%2B%E2%80%94%2BSupervisory%2Bpersonnel%2B%E2%80%94%2BDesignees.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4M0-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=0d5f6f72-6df3-4391-80e0-50d105c62028
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=6d96401c-8bff-4907-bf70-962ed87d074c&nodeid=AAIABWAAIAAB&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABW%2FAAIABWAAI%2FAAIABWAAIAAB&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-50-801.%2BAnnual%2Bleave.&indicator=true&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-V960-R03M-82SB-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=0d5f6f72-6df3-4391-80e0-50d105c62028
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-06.20230418.pdf
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CHAPTER 19 
FLSA ADMINISTRATIVE LEAVE WITH PAY FOR EXEMPT EMPLOYEES 

Employees who are exempt under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) are not 
covered by overtime rules and regulations; however, the method for determining 
pay reductions of an exempt employee must comply with the salary basis provisions 
in the FLSA, Title 29, Part 541 of the Code of Federal Regulations, Section 541.602. 
Generally, an exempt employee who works less than a full day during  a workweek 
shall be paid for the entire  day  subject  to  certain  exceptions, without regard to 
the number of days or hours worked. The workweek for most state employees is 
generally from 12:01 A.M. Sunday to the following Sunday at 12:01 A.M. 

 
An exempt  employee  may enter  a leave without pay status for  a partial day if the 
employee: 

 
• does not work during an entire workweek; 

 
• is absent from work for one or more full days for personal reasons other than 

sickness or disability; 

 
• is absent from work for one or more full days due to sickness or disability, 

if reductions are made under a bona fide plan, policy or practice  of providing 
wage replacement benefits for these types of absences (e.g. use of sick leave, 
etc.); 

 
• has received payment for jury or witness fees, military pay or similar fees/pay 

such as workers comp, pay from a third party in lieu of the employee’s state 
salary; 

 
• has violated a major safety rule and penalties are imposed as a result; 

 
• receives a suspension of one or more full days imposed in good faith for 
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violations of workplace conduct rules and/or policies and procedures; 

 
• worked a partial week during the first and/or  last weeks of employment, the 

employee is to be paid for the actual hours worked; 

 
• needs to hold a day of leave pursuant to DOHR Sick Leave Bank Rules and 

Regulations concerning the annual donation requirement; or 

 
• has taken unpaid leave under the Family Medical Leave Act or has taken part 

time extended periods of leave without pay related to the employee’s FMLA 
when allowed by State policy (see DOHR policy “Extended Periods of Leave 
without Pay”.) 

 
If none of the above situations apply, an exempt employee who does not have 
an accrued leave balance and who only works a portion of a workday must be paid 
for the full day. In no instance can an employee with a leave balance opt to take 
leave without pay. 

Recordkeeping: Employee timesheets should be coded Fair Labor Standards Act Pay 
(FLPAY). 

For audit and compliance purposes, agency HR and/or Payroll staff will work with 
DOHR using Edison queries to review instances of exempt employee leave in which 
the employee has exhausted leave balances. Improper leave approvals and leave 
abuse may require disciplinary action. 

 
Supervisors shall not approve partial day leave requests if an exempt employee has 
exhausted all of his or her balance, regardless of whether the employee provides 
a doctor’s statement. A partial day of unpaid leave is only allowed as listed in 
the exceptions above or as required by other federal and state law. Supervisors 
may only approve leave requests as allowed within the state’s attendance and leave 
manual and will consult with their  agency’s Human Resource Office when an 
employee requests leave and does not have sufficient leave balances to cover the 
time requested. 
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An employee who believes incorrect deductions have been made to their paycheck 
should immediately report this information to their agency’s Human Resource 
and/or Payroll Office. A review of the employee’s pay records is to be completed 
and the results reported back to the employee. If the employee is still uncertain, 
the employee may contact the Department of Human Resources. If it is determined 
that the employee’s pay is incorrect, a pay correction will be made as soon as 
practical. 

 
Authority: 
Fair Labor Standards Act, 29 U.S.C. §§ 201, et seq. 
Fair Labor Standards Act, Salary Basis, 29 C.F.R. § 541.602 
Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 8-30-104, 105. 
DOHR Rule 1120-04-.16 

https://www.dol.gov/sites/dolgov/files/WHD/legacy/files/FairLaborStandAct.pdf
https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=c8861c67ace18400ff5a86516c460d45&mc=true&node=se29.3.541_1602&rgn=div8
https://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?SID=c8861c67ace18400ff5a86516c460d45&mc=true&node=se29.3.541_1602&rgn=div8
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=3291b84c-fe5b-4402-994b-1993c2180385&nodeid=AAIABDAABAAE&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAB%2FAAIABDAABAAE&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-104.%2BAuthority%2Bof%2Bcommissioner%2B%E2%80%94%2BSupervisory%2Bpersonnel%2B%E2%80%94%2BDesignees.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4M0-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=0d5f6f72-6df3-4391-80e0-50d105c62028
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=3291b84c-fe5b-4402-994b-1993c2180385&nodeid=AAIABDAABAAE&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAB%2FAAIABDAABAAE&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-104.%2BAuthority%2Bof%2Bcommissioner%2B%E2%80%94%2BSupervisory%2Bpersonnel%2B%E2%80%94%2BDesignees.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4M0-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=0d5f6f72-6df3-4391-80e0-50d105c62028
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CHAPTER 20 
RESCHEDULING THE WORK WEEK 

The system automatically reschedules hours worked and leave taken within 
the same work week to eliminate excessive overtime payment. Overtime expenses 
are reduced by ensuring overtime pay is applied on a weekly rather than a daily 
basis. 

 
Rescheduling of sick leave will be allowed in all circumstances, including situations 
where a doctor’s note has been provided. 

 
Example: If an employee has a regular work schedule of 7.5 hours per day, Monday 
through Friday, the employee  is scheduled to  work a 37.5- hour  work week. If this 
employee works 10.5 hours on Monday, 7.5 hours on Tuesday, 7.5 hours on 
Wednesday, 7.5 hours on Thursday, and takes a day of sick leave on Friday, 
the employee has actually worked 33.0 hours of a 37.5- hour work week. The 
system will automatically apply the 3.0 extra hours worked on Monday to the 
amount of leave taken later  in the  week to reduce the sick leave taken on Friday 
to 4.5 hours. No  overtime pay is paid for the work week since the employee did not 
work over 37.5hours. 

 
 
 

Authority: 
Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 4-4-105, 8-23-201, 8-30-104, 8-50-801 and 8-50-802 
DOHR Rule 1120-06-.02, 1120-06-.03, 1120-06-.04, and 1120-06-.05 
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CHAPTER 21 
PREVIOUSLY ACCRUED LEAVE USED IN A NON-ACCRUING POSITION 

An employee in a leave accruing position who is transferred with a leave balance to a 
non-accruing position may use leave as explained below: 

 
A. An employee in a non-leave accrual status at separation shall be paid for 

any annual and compensatory leave balances at the employee's regular hourly 
rate at the time of separation.  A supplemental pay request form and a C-7 form 
must be submitted to the Department of Human Resources. 

 
B. A part-time employee scheduled to work certain days each week can use 

accrued leave only on the scheduled days to work. Enter and document on the 
leave record (e.g., in Edison) the number of hours used as hours worked. A C- 
7 form must be submitted to the Department of Human Resources to deduct this 
leave. 

 
C. A part-time employee scheduled to work certain days each week, but called 

in when needed, may not use any type of accrued leave until the employee 
transfers back to a leave accruing position. 

 
 
 
Authority: 
Tenn. Code Ann. § 4-4-105, 8-23-201, 8-30-104, 8-50-801 and 8-50-802 
DOHR Rule 1120-06-.02, 1120-06-.03, 1120-06-.04, and 1120-06-.05 
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CHAPTER 22 
LEAVE RECORDS 

 
22.01 PROCEDURES FOR LEAVE RECORDS 

 
Leave reports are prepared at the end of the pay period for all employees using 
leave or working overtime. Each supervisor should take the following procedures 
to assure correct time reporting for each employee: 

 

A. Determine the employee's work schedule. 
 

B. Determine the employee's daily shift (the actual time of day the employee is 
scheduled to begin and end work). When an employee's shift begins on one 
day and ends on another, this time should be shown on the time sheet for the 
day on which the majority of the time falls. 

 
C. Determine that the employee's actual work performed as shown on the time 

sheet is correct. 
 

D. Provide for any unscheduled absences or any extra time worked to be 
accurately recorded. 

E. Provide for coding of absences. 

F. Provide for a timekeeper for each reporting unit. 
 

G. When reporting attendance and leave for a pay period, the end of a pay 
period and the end of a work week may not necessarily be the same; i.e., 
a work wee k could be started in one pay period and concluded in the next 
pay period. 

 
H. New employees are to be paid for actual time worked during their first pay 

period, regardless of his or her work schedule. 
 

I. Separating employees are to be paid for actual time worked during their last 
pay period, regardless of his or her work schedule. 

 

J. Employees going on, or returning from, extended leave are to be paid for 
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actual time worked for affected pay periods. 
 

K. Provide for a centralized audit of records for pay purposes. The agency's 
central human resource office or appointing authority's designated 
representative should audit and maintain files on all time sheets. These must 
be maintained for a period of at least three (3) years, or until audited by the 
Comptroller of the Treasury. 

 
L. Audit of Records -- All employees' time sheets are subject to review and audit 

at any time by the Office of the Comptroller of the Treasury or the 
Department of Human Resources. 

 
M. Records -- Excused absences will not be reported to the Department of 

Human Resources; however, records of such leave must be maintained by the 
various departments and agencies. 

 
22.02 ATTENDANCE AND LEAVE RECORDS AND REPORTS 

 
If an employee does not submit his/her time into Edison, a hard copy time sheet 
for each employee who used leave or worked overtime must be submitted to the 
proper audit authority at the end of each pay period. This record must be signed by 
both the employee and the employee's supervisor, verifying the accuracy of the 
hours scheduled, hours worked, and leave taken. 

 
 
Authority: 
Tenn. Code Ann.§§ 8-30-104 and 10-7-504 
DOHR Rule 1120-06-.26 

https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=e6fa0fba-873a-4491-b166-40bf1a201ffc&nodeid=AAIABDAABAAE&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAI%2FAAIABD%2FAAIABDAAB%2FAAIABDAABAAE&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=8-30-104.%2BAuthority%2Bof%2Bcommissioner%2B%E2%80%94%2BSupervisory%2Bpersonnel%2B%E2%80%94%2BDesignees.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TGT0-R03K-X4M0-00008-00&ecomp=L38_kkk&prid=d7fbcfa2-effc-4405-8c55-347bff4e90d1
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=17a1c01f-97fa-4fde-98d6-36d127c31b67&nodeid=AAKAAHAAFAAE&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FAAK%2FAAKAAH%2FAAKAAHAAF%2FAAKAAHAAFAAE&level=4&haschildren&populated=false&title=10-7-504.%2BConfidential%2Brecords%2B%E2%80%94%2BExceptions.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A5WDC-DCP0-R03J-J00F-00008-00&ecomp=L38_kkk&prid=d7fbcfa2-effc-4405-8c55-347bff4e90d1
https://publications.tnsosfiles.com/rules/1120/1120-06.20230418.pdf
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GLOSSARY 
 

1. Accrue - To earn annual or sick leave for each month of service or major fraction 
thereof. 

 
2. Active Pay Status - Term applied to an employee who is actually working or who is 

using paid leave, other than paid terminal leave or sick leave bank grants. 
 

3. Administrative Leave - Leave with pay when an employee is removed from normal 
duties at the discretion of the appointing authority. 

 
4. Agency - An entity that employs and exercises authority over any employee in state 

service in the executive branch. 
 

5. Annual Leave - Paid time away from work considered to be personal time. The 
amount accrued is based on the employee's length of state service. 

 
6. Appointing Authority - A commissioner or executive director of a state agency, 

officer or agent having power to make appointments to, and separations from, 
positions in state service. 

 
7. Appointment - The official designation of a person to fill a position in state service as 

an employee. 
 

8. Assault Pay - Full pay for a total of ninety (90) calendar days granted to an employee 
injured in the line of duty as a result of an assault which results in the employee 's 
inability to perform job duties. This pay is a combination of regular payroll and 
Division of Claims Administration compensation. 

 
9. Audit - To examine and verify amounts of leave and/or requests for payment. 

 
10. Bereavement Leave - Three (3) days of paid leave, not taken from sick or annual 

leave, granted in the event of death of an employee's spouse, children (including 
unborn), stepchildren, parents, grandparents, grandchildren, siblings, stepparents, 
foster parents or parents-in-law. 

 
11. Brother-in-law - (1) Brother of one's spouse or (2) husband of one's sister. 
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12. C-7 Form (Attendance and Leave Adjustment) - Form used to make leave balance 
corrections. 

 
13. Civil Leave - Leave allowing an employee to be absent from work on the day or days 

required while serving as a juror in any court of the United States or the State of 
Tennessee. 

 
14. Commissioner - The Commissioner of the Department of Human Resources. 

 
15. Compensatory Leave - Leave credit earned by an exempt or non-exempt employee 

when hours are worked beyond the employee's regular schedule and not 
compensated in cash. 

 
16. Compressed Work Schedule - A 37.5 or 40.0 hour scheduled work week worked in 

four or fewer days. 
 
17. Contingency Operation - a military operation that results in the call or order to active 

duty, or retention on active duty, of members of the uniformed services under 10 U.S.C. § 
688; § 12301(a); § 12302; § 12304; § 12304a; § 12304b; § 12305; § 12406; chapter 15 of 
title 10 U.S.C.; or another provision of law during a war or during a national emergency 
declared by the president or congress. 

 
18. Credit - A deduction from an existing balance, such as subtracting leave on a C-7 

form. 
 

19. Creditable Service - Any month which was part of a sixteen hundred (1,600) hour or 
greater yearly schedule in which an employee exceeds fifty percent (50%) of his 
regularly scheduled monthly working hours by one-tenth (0.1) of one hour shall be 
creditable for maximum accumulation purposes. When extended leave without pay 
has been taken to the extent that an employee did not work for a month or a major 
portion thereof, that month shall not be included in computing state service. 

 
20. Division of Claims Administration Leave - Leave without pay granted to an 

employee who has incurred an injury in the line of duty and is receiving compensation 
through the Division of Claims Administration. 

 
21. Educational Leave - Leave with pay, normally at a reduced amount, granted and 

supported by an agency for full-time continuing education and learning and approved 
by the Department of Human Resources. Educational leave pay may also be 
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requested by an employee to continue his education on a full-time basis. 
 

22. Emergency Appointment - The appointment of a person in the preferred service 
position, for a period not to exceed one hundred twenty (120) days, in the event of an 
emergency. 

 
23. Executive Level Employee - An exempt employee ineligible to receive compensation 

for overtime hours worked. The Commissioner designates an employee in this 
category by job classification. 

 
24. Executive Service - All positions in the state service not subject to the preferred 

service provisions of Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 8, Chapter 30. 
 

25. Exempt Employee - Employee exempt from the overtime pay requirements of the 
Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). 

 
26. Extended Leave - Leave without pay for the major portion of a month. Instances for 

which extended leave may be approved include special leave without pay, parental, 
educational, personal educational, Division of Claims Administration, military, and 
sick leave bank grants. 

 
27. Flex-Time - A work schedule which deviates from the normal 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. 

workday but is still within general guidelines authorized in advance by an appointing 
authority. 

 
28. Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) - Federal government regulations setting 

requirements for granting leave for family and medical reasons, for providing 
insurance coverage during the leave period and for reinstating employees to the 
same or an equivalent position when the leave period has ended. 

 
29. Foster Parent - Person who has performed the duties of a parent to the child of 

another person by rearing the child as his own child. 
 

30. Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) - Federal government regulations setting minimum 
wage and overtime pay requirements. 

 
31. FMLA Coordinator - The Appointing Authority or individual designated to handle 

FMLA leave by the Appointing Authority. 
 

32. Full-time - A position or employee budgeted for or scheduled to work a full­time 
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schedule as defined by the Commissioner and the Commissioner of Finance and 
Administration, usually one thousand nine hundred and fifty (1,950) hours or more 
per year. 
 

33. Full-Time Active Duty Military Pay - Military basic pay, basic allowance for housing, 
basic allowance for subsistence, and all monthly pay and allowances excluding travel, 
transportation, and per diem allowances and one-time annual payments such as clothing 
and reenlistment bonuses. 

 
34. Gross Misconduct - Any job-related misconduct which may subject an employee to 

criminal prosecution. 
 

35. Initial Probation - The first probationary period an employee serves in an agency in 
a continuous period of employment prior to becoming a preferred service employee 
in that agency. 

36. Interim Appointment - The appointment of  a person to a position for a  period not to 
exceed one (1) year. 

 
37. Irregular Work Schedule - Any work schedule totaling 37.5 or 40.0 hours per week 

other than the regular Monday through Friday schedule. 
 

38. Limited Term Appointment - The governor, the governor's cabinet, and members of 
boards, commissions, agencies and authorities receive limited executive service 
appointments. Limited term appointments do not require the use of eligible lists. 

 
39. Longevity Pay - Lump sum payment intended to reward employees for service to the 

state and encourage those employees to remain employed by the state if hired prior 
to June 30, 2015. 

 
40. Major Portion of a Month - One-tenth (0.1) of one (1) hour over fifty percent (50%) 

of the regularly scheduled working hours. 
 

41. Military Leave With Pay - Leave of absence with pay, not to exceed twenty (20) 
working days in any one calendar year, for any reserve component of the armed 
forces of the United States to engage in performance of duties or training in the 
service of the State of Tennessee or the United States. 

 
42. Non-Duty- Time spent on paid or unpaid leave during a workday. 
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43. Non-Exempt Employee - Employee subject to the overtime pay requirements of the 
Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). A non-exempt employee is eligible for cash 
compensation for time actually worked over 37.5 hours per week. 

44. Overtime - Authorized time worked in excess of the employee's normal work week 
schedule for which extra compensation is received. 

 
45. Part-Time - A position or an employee budgeted or scheduled to work a part­ time 

schedule as denied by the Commissioner and the Commissioner of Finance and 
Administration, usually less than fifteen hundred and sixty (1,560) hours per year. 

 
46. Preferred Service - All offices and positions of employment in the state service that 

have been placed under the preferred service provisions of Tennessee Code 
Annotated, Title 8, Chapter 30. 

 
47. Premium Overtime - Work time compensated at one and one-half times an 

employee's regular rate of pay for hours worked in excess of 40 in a work week. 
 

48. Regular Appointment - Appointment of a person to a regular position in either the 
preferred or executive service for an indeterminate period of time. 

 
49. Regular Overtime - Work time compensated at an employee's regular rate of pay for 

hours actually worked in excess of his regular 37.5 hour weekly schedule up to 40.0 
hours in a work week. 

 
50. Rescheduling of Work Week - Assigning different working hours within the work 

week so an employee works the standard number of hours during the period when 
the work is needed. The rescheduling of working hours for a specific day in a work 
week should be approved in advance by the employee's supervisor before the work 
is performed. 

 
51. Seasonal Appointment - A part-time appointment of a person for an indeterminate 

period of time and generally not exceeding sixteen hundred (1600) hours per year. 
 

52. Service Anniversary Date - Projected date in the future (based on an employee's 
total creditable state service) when the employee will change service group codes and 
begin accruing annual leave at a higher rate. Any break in service may cause a change 
in this date. 

 
53. Sibling - One of two or more persons having at least one parent in common.
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54. Sister-in-law - (1) Sister of one's spouse; or (2) Wife of one's brother. 
 

55. Service Group - Group identifying an employee's rate for annual leave accrual and 
maximum allowable annual leave accumulation based on the employee's total years 
of active service in a leave accruing status. 

 
56. Sick Leave - Leave accrued by an employee at the rate of one (1) day for each month 

or major portion of a month of active service which may be used for illness of the 
employee or illness or death of an employee's family member. 

 
57. Special Leave - Leave without pay of a specific duration which must be requested in 

writing and recommended in advance by the appointing authority for approval by the 
Commissioner. 

 
58. State Service - All officers and positions of trust or employment in the executive 

branch and all boards, commissions and agencies in state government except those 
specifically excluded by Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 8, Chapter 30. 

 
59. Temporary Appointment - Appointment of a person to a preferred service position 

for a temporary period, not to exceed six (6) months, until an appropriate list has 
been established by the Department. 

 
60. Unborn child – The loss of an unborn child as a result of pregnancy loss or complication. 

 
61. Terminal Leave - The annual leave balance of a retiring employee. Any leave balance 

remaining after the employee's last actual workday is considered terminal leave. 
 

62. Workday - A scheduled day of work exclusive of holidays or other authorized leave 
days. 
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