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Regulatory Overview 
The activities of Title Pledge Lenders are governed by the Tennessee Title Pledge Act (“Act”), 

codified at Tennessee Code Annotated (“Tenn. Code Ann.”) Title 45, Chapter 15. This report is 

provided pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. § 45-15-109(c)(5), requiring a biennial analysis and 

recapitulation of annual report data submitted by licensees for calendar year 2016, for the 

purpose of reflecting the general results of operations of the industry.  As part of the annual 

report and renewal submission, licensees were required to attest, under oath, to the 

truthfulness and accuracy of the information. As a further measure to ensure the accuracy of 

information submitted, the Department selected a sampling of licensees for audits of reports 

provided. 

The Department’s regulatory oversight includes reviewing all applications to ensure that 

licensing requirements are met, conducting periodic examinations for compliance with the Act, 

issuing corrective enforcement actions, and investigating consumer complaints. In addition to 

the regulation of the Title Pledge industry, the Department’s Compliance Division is responsible 

for the licensing and regulatory supervision of other non-depository financial institutions and 

individuals operating in Tennessee including: Check Cashing Companies, Deferred Presentment 

Services Companies, Flexible Credit Companies, Home Equity Conversion (Reverse) Mortgage 

Lenders, Industrial Loan and Thrift Companies, Insurance Premium Finance Companies, Money 

Transmission Companies, Residential Mortgage Lenders, Brokers, Servicers, and Mortgage Loan 

Originators. 

Licensing 
Each application must meet the licensing eligibility requirements of Tenn. Code Ann. § 45-15-

106. Applicants shall demonstrate financial responsibility, financial condition, business 

experience, character, and general fitness to reasonably warrant the belief that the business 

will be conducted lawfully and fairly. 

State law allows the Department up to 90 days to act on a complete application. Each 

application for a license must be accompanied by a nonrefundable supervision fee, as provided 

in Tenn. Code Ann. § 45-1-118(i).  A supervision fee of $625 per location is required at the time 

of filing for calendar year 2018.  The applicant must also provide a surety bond or irrevocable 

letter of credit in the amount of $25,000 per location, with the aggregate amount not to exceed 

$200,000 for any single title pledge lender. A complete application must be notarized and 

include a listing of the owners, along with their resumes and credit reports.  
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An applicant is required to submit a set of financial statements, including a balance sheet and 

income statement, prepared by a certified public accountant or public accounting firm not 

affiliated with the applicant and in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles. 

The applicant must meet and maintain a tangible net worth of at least $75,000 per location. 

Additional supporting documents may be requested to substantiate the value of assets 

reported.  Licenses are non-transferable and must be renewed annually. 

Effective August 1, 2017, the Department began using the Nationwide Multistate Licensing 

System (NMLS) to manage title pledge lender licenses.  Through NMLS, entities can apply for, 

amend, and renew their Tennessee title pledge lender license authority conveniently and safely 

online.  NMLS is a secure, web-based system created by state regulators to provide efficiencies 

in the processing of state licenses and to improve supervision of state regulated industries. 

 

Risk Focused Examination Program 
The Compliance Division has established a  risk  focused  regulatory program  for non-

depository financial institutions  that  bases  regulatory  scrutiny  on  compliance  benchmarks.  

The  primary  focus was  to develop  a method  of  identifying  characteristics  within  a  licensed  

entity  that  would  allow  for  an exam frequency based on the potential risk of harm to the 

consumer. Companies showing a need for greater regulatory scrutiny would be identified and 
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Figure 1. Licensed Title Pledge Locations 
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examined with a greater frequency.  Likewise, companies showing a low risk to consumers 

would have an extended exam frequency.   

The risk program ensures compliance with governing law, but also considers various risk 

factors that have been determined to be related to the potential for consumer harm, such as 

prior exam results, repeat violations, violations leading to refunds, management experience, 

employee training, and whether appropriate risk management systems are in place.    

This rating system allows the Department to focus on licensees that appear to have the 

greatest risk.   The goal of the Compliance Division is to assist licensee management in reducing 

risk to consumers and helping licensees become more successful in serving consumer needs.  

Examinations, Corrective Actions, and Refunds 
The regulatory oversight of licensees includes compliance examinations conducted pursuant to 

Tenn. Code Ann. § 45-15-108. Cited violations represent instances in which the licensee did not 

comply with statutory requirements. Examinations have proven an effective tool in the 

detection and prevention of violations of the Act.  

Examiners document and present the examination findings to the licensee in a written report. 

The Department requests each lender to respond in writing to each violation cited in the 

examination, detailing the actions taken to correct all violations. Most violations are resolved 

through the response process. However, unresolved issues, systemic problems, significant 

refunds, unlicensed activity, repeat violations, and/or apparent criminal activity are referred 

within the Department for further review and action.  

The Act permits licensed title pledge lenders to charge an effective rate of interest not to 

exceed two percent (2%) per month and a customary fee of no more than one fifth (1/5) of the 

principal amount of the loan.  In calendar year 2016, the Department conducted 768 

examinations, resulting in consumer refunds of $65,656, as compared to 674 examinations in 

2017, resulting in refunds of $149,646. In calendar years 2016 and 2017, the Department 

initiated 65 enforcement actions against Title Pledge Lenders resulting in civil money penalties 

totaling $68,970. 
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The more prevalent examination findings are noted below: 

• Missing Renewal Statements/Disclosures 

Title pledge agreements are structured as 30 day written agreements, but may be 

renewed for an additional 30 days. However, the number of renewals is limited because 

the statute requires the borrower to make a five percent (5%) reduction in the original 

principal amount borrowed beginning with the third renewal period and at each 

successive renewal period, until the loan principal is paid off. This principal payment is 

required along with the applicable interest and fees due the lender; however, with each 

principal reduction payment, the interest and fees charged are reduced with each 

subsequent renewal period. Lenders shall either hand deliver at the time of renewal or 

mail the renewal statement to the borrower at least five (5) days prior to the beginning 

of each renewal period. These statements are to be filed with the original title pledge 

agreement or consumer refunds will result if this documentation is missing. 

• Unauthorized Charges 

A title pledge lender may contract for and receive an effective interest rate not to exceed 

two percent (2%), plus a maximum customary fee of 20% per month. All other charges, 

other than the actual repossession charges and/or any direct costs incurred to sell the 

titled property, are unauthorized and subject to refunds. Examples of unauthorized 

charges include “fix up” costs such as replacing tires or detailing a vehicle. 

• Exceeding $2,500 Limitation 

A title pledge lender cannot enter into an agreement or agreements where the amount 

of money loaned when combined with the outstanding balance of other outstanding 

title pledge agreements exceeds $2,500 when secured by a single certificate of title. 

• Inadequate Books and Records 

Title pledge agreements and records are to be consecutively numbered and 

documented as required by the Act. All books and records must be preserved and made 

available to the Commissioner for a period of 25 months on rejected applications and 

24 months on loans paid in full. 
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Consumer Complaints 
The Department’s Consumer Resources Section investigates and attempts to resolve 

complaints filed against financial institutions chartered or licensed by the Department. Any 

person aggrieved by the conduct of a title pledge lender may file a written complaint with the 

Commissioner through the Consumer Resources Section. The Department will take appropriate 

action once the complaint is fully investigated. Complaints about customer service, as 

compared to violations of the Act, are very difficult to substantiate since they are much more 

subjective.   

For calendar years 2016 and 2017, the Consumer Resources Section processed 23 complaints 

involving title pledge lenders, as compared to 41 for calendar years 2014 and 2015. In calendar 

year 2016, 12 complaints were investigated, and in 2017, the Consumer Resources Section 

investigated 11 complaints. Consumer complaints filed in 2016 resulted in no refunds.  

Consumer complaints filed in 2017 resulted in refunds to consumers totaling $55.  The refunds 

from consumer complaints are in addition to the refunds required from examinations. 

The following is a breakdown of the consumer complaints investigated by the Consumer 

Resources Section in 2016 and 2017: 

 

 
 

Analysis of Operations 
Tenn. Code Ann. § 45-15-106(i) provides that the licensing year shall end on December 31. The 

license renewal application must be filed with the Department on or before December 31. 

Licensees must submit, together with the renewal applications, supplemental financial reports 

for the preceding calendar year. The following data presented in this section was compiled 

3 3
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1Fair Debt Collection Practices Violations

Customer Service Issues
Privacy Issues
Solicitation Offers
Unapproved Account Withdrawal
Fair Debt Collection Practices Violations

Forged Title Pledge Agreement or Title Issues
Payoff Request
Unlicensed Company
Customer Service Issues
Account Balance Discrepancy

2016 2017

Figure 2.  Complaints Comparison for 2016 and 2017

Complaints Comparison

Payment History Disputes Account Balance Discrepancy
Repossession Issues Repossession Issues
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from information provided by 97 title pledge lenders, representing 719 locations in Tennessee 

and reflects the general results of operations for calendar year 2016. 

  

Companies engaging in more than one line of business were asked to segment their income 

and expenses and report such data exclusively for their title pledge business. Tenn. Code Ann. § 

45-15-109(c)(1)(D) requires a licensee to submit financial statements prepared by a non-

affiliated CPA or public accounting firm and consistent with generally accepted accounting 

practices. 

Market Share 
Title pledge lenders entered into 181,367 new agreements with consumers in calendar year 

2016, representing $167,713,147 in loan volume. As illustrated in the chart below, the top ten 

(10) companies, based on the number of locations in Tennessee, accounted for 536 or 75% of 

the 719 reporting locations. These top ten (10) companies entered into 165,464 new 

agreements, representing 91% of the market share. The remaining 87 reporting entities, 

representing 183 locations or 25% of total locations, entered into 15,903 of the new 

agreements, accounting for nine percent (9%) of the market share. From this analysis, the top 

ten (10) companies controlled a major portion of the market in 2016. 
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Demand for New Title Pledge Agreements 
For calendar year 2016, licensees entered into a total of 181,367 new title pledge agreements, 

not including renewals of these initial agreements. Of the new agreements written, 53% were 

for $1,000 or less, whereas approximately 11% were made for amounts between $2,251 and 

$2,500 which is the maximum loan amount permitted by law. The following schedule presents 

the breakdown of new title pledge agreements by loan amount: 
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Figure 4. Market Share Breakdown  

Number % of Total
$0 - $250 17,408 9.60%
$251 - $500 39,234 21.63%
$501 - $750 22,884 12.62%
$751 - $1,000 16,019 8.83%
$1,001 - $1,250 8,393 4.63%
$1,251 - $1,500 6,192 3.41%
$1,501 - $1,750 10,210 5.63%
$1,751 - $2,000 25,997 14.33%
$2,001 - $2,250 15,673 8.64%
$2,251 - $2,500 19,357 10.67%
Total Number of Agreements 181,367 100%

New Agreements by Loan Amount

Figure 5. Breakdown of New Agreements by Loan Amount
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Analysis of Agreements Renewed 
From the following analysis, 125,117 agreements were renewed during calendar year 2016. Of 

these, approximately nine percent (9%) were renewed only one time. The majority, 51%, were 

renewed eight (8) times or less. Of the total number of agreements entered into in calendar 

year 2016, 14,859, or 11%, were paid in full after 30 days without renewing. 

 
 

Application of Principal Reduction Requirements 
Prior to the 2005 amendments to the Act, a title pledge agreement could be renewed 

indefinitely and interest and fees charged over the life of the loan were unlimited. With the 

amendments to the Act, and pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. § 45-15-113(d), the borrower is 

required to make a five percent (5%) principal reduction beginning with the third renewal of the 

title pledge agreement. This enables the consumer to reduce the original loan amount by five 

percent (5%) with each payment, resulting in a decrease in interest and fees with each 

subsequent renewal. All title pledge loan agreements are written for 30 days, but the number of 

renewals over the life of the loan is limited based on this statutory requirement of a five 

percent (5%) principal reduction.  

In the event the consumer cannot make the scheduled principal reduction(s), the lender may 

defer such payment(s) until the end of the title pledge agreement. However, the lender must 

still reduce the outstanding principal balance by five percent (5%) per month, beginning with 

the third renewal and charge interest and fees based on the reduced principal amount. For 

year-end 2016, the number of deferred principal reduction payments was 24,400, compared to 

Number % of Total Number % of Total
1 Time 10,384 8.30% 12 Times 4,193 3.35%
2 Times 9,480 7.58% 13 Times 4,190 3.35%
3 Times 8,760 7.00% 14 Times 4,308 3.44%
4 Times 8,091 6.47% 15 Times 4,179 3.34%
5 Times 7,413 5.92% 16 Times 4,045 3.23%
6 Times 6,983 5.58% 17 Times 3,830 3.06%
7 Times 6,434 5.14% 18 Times 4,231 3.38%
8 Times 5,834 4.66% 19 Times 4,292 3.43%
9 Times 5,518 4.41% 20 Times 4,906 3.92%
10 Times 5,146 4.11% 21 Times 5,037 4.03%
11 Times 4,468 3.57% 22 Times 3,395 2.71%

Total Number of Agreements Renewed in 2016

Figure 6. Total Number of Agreements Renewed in 2016

8 | P a g e  
 



30,452 deferrals in 2014. Again, a deferral of the principal reduction indicates the consumer 

cannot make the scheduled payment. (Refer to Exhibit A - Title Pledge Amortization Schedule) 

Consumer Default and Bad Debt Expense 
Under the accrual basis of accounting, title pledge lenders record revenue when the customer 

enters into an agreement to borrow money. The customer is legally obligated to pay back the 

principal, interest, and fees. If the customer defaults, the lender’s recourse is limited to taking 

possession of the pledged collateral. In calendar year 2016, the industry took possession of 

16,417 vehicles due to non-payment, compared to 24,408 in 2014. If the customer fails to 

redeem the titled property during a twenty-day holding period, the lender then has 60 days to 

sell it. Proceeds from the sale must be applied against the outstanding loan balance and any 

surplus returned to the borrower. The industry returned a surplus of $439,318 to consumers in 

2016, compared to $710,595 in 2014. 

Bad debt expense is an expense associated with a company’s inability to collect accounts 

receivable, classified usually as an administrative or selling expense. Unless all proceeds from 

the sale of pledged collateral offset the debt, the balance due is considered uncollectible by the 

lender and is subsequently charged-off. This amount is classified as bad debt expense on the 

income statement. Sometimes, the lender cannot locate the collateral, and therefore, the entire 

debt is deemed uncollectible and charged-off against revenue.   In calendar year 2016, lenders 

incurred bad debt expense of $41,999,943, due to non-payment of all or part of the original 

principal balance, representing 29% of total revenues. 

Analysis of Profitability 
In analyzing profitability industry-wide, this report focuses on net income before tax and 

performs a break-even analysis based upon interest and fees charged. Net income before tax is 

revenues from operations less business expenses. In the industry, the revenues are made up of 

interest and customary fees, not to exceed 22% per month by law. Company expenses include, 

but are not limited to, salaries, repossessions, bad debt expense, and other general expenses, 

such as rent, utilities, insurance, supplies, and regulation. 

When comparing income between entities within the title pledge industry, net income before 

tax is more analogous than income after tax. Corporations, limited liability companies, 

partnerships, and sole proprietorships essentially make up the title pledge industry. Although 

the administrative and operational expenses normally run consistent throughout the industry, 
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the tax treatment from one business type to another may vary significantly. For instance, the 

income of a corporation is taxed at the corporate level before it is distributed to shareholders; 

whereas, proprietorships pay tax on income at the individual tax rate. Therefore, “income 

before tax” is a more appropriate comparative measure when analyzing profitability. The 

combined net income before tax, including owner compensation for the 97 companies (719 

licensed locations) reporting, was $25,941,413. 

In calendar year 2016, the amount of revenue earned was $146,491,993. Of this amount, 31% 

was paid toward general expenses, including, but not limited to, rent, utilities, advertising, 

regulation, and supplies. The next largest expense category for the industry was bad debt 

which made up 29% of total revenues. Although the industry as a whole was profitable, there 

was a wide disparity in the level of profitability within the industry. 

Industry Revenues and Expenses for 2016  
The following tables group the 719 reporting locations into three (3) categories, by number of 

licensed locations, showing the income and expenses for each. 
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Break-Even Analysis 
A break-even analysis provides an approximate level of price, or, for this report, interest and 

fees, at which there is neither a profit nor a loss. A major component of the break-even analysis 

is the profit margin. The profit margin ratio measures how much of every dollar of revenues a 

company keeps after expenses. The industry, as a whole, reported the following amounts on 

their financial reports as of December 31, 2016: 

  

In calendar year 2016, the title pledge industry had a profit margin ratio of 18%, calculated as 

net income of $25,941,413 divided by revenues of $146,491,993. This means that, on average, 

for every dollar of revenue earned, $.18 went to net income; whereas, $.82 was used to offset 

business expenses. Net income, often referred to as the “bottom line”, can be distributed 

among the owners or held as retained earnings. 

Industry Single Medium Large
Revenue 146,491,993$          4,614,882$               33,338,796$            108,538,315$          
     Employee Salary 27,835,390$            877,235$                  6,856,858$               20,101,297$            
     Bad Debt Expense 41,999,943$            581,055$                  10,189,388$            31,229,500$            
     Repossession Expense 4,619,397$               210,636$                  1,628,193$               2,780,568$               
     General Expense 46,095,850$            1,971,704$               11,727,647$            32,396,499$            
Total Expense 120,550,580$          3,640,630$               30,402,086$            86,507,864$            
Net Income Before Tax* 25,941,413$            974,252$                  2,936,710$               22,030,451$            

Industry Single Medium Large
     Employee Salary 19% 19% 21% 19%
     Bad Debt Expense 29% 13% 31% 29%
     Repossession Expense 3% 5% 5% 3%
     General Expense 31% 43% 35% 30%
Total Expense 82% 79% 91% 80%
Net Income Before Tax* 18% 21% 9% 20%

Income Statement Summary

Percentage of Revenue

  *Net Income Before Tax Includes Officer/Owner Compensation

  *Net Income Before Tax Includes Officer/Owner Compensation

Figure 8. Income Statement Summary by Number of Licensed Locations.

Revenue 146,491,993$     100%
 - Expense 120,550,580$     82%
Net Income 25,941,413$        18%

Industry Net Income
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Companies Charging 22% Exclusively 
Since the break-even analysis is designed to determine an approximate level of interest and 

fees necessary to be profitable, it is appropriate to look at those title pledge lenders charging 

the maximum amount allowable by law, versus a lower amount. The Act permits licensed title 

pledge lenders to charge an effective rate of interest not to exceed two percent (2%) per month, 

and a customary fee of no more than one fifth (1/5) of the principal amount of the loan.  It was 

determined that 30 companies, with a total of 79 locations, or 11% of all licensed locations, 

charged the maximum of 22% on all agreements. The following amounts were compiled from 

their income statements. 

  

Lenders who charged 22% exclusively on their loans reported $19,685,236 in interest and 

customary fees resulting in a profit margin ratio of eight percent (8%). The profit margin ratio of 

eight percent (8%) means that for every dollar earned $.08 went to net income. Therefore, a 

$100 loan at 22% would earn $22, of which $1.76 ($22 x 8% profit margin ratio) went to net 

income, and $20.24 ($22 x 92% expense ratio) covered expenses. In 2016, it appears that the 

break-even for lenders charging 22% exclusively was 20% (expenses of $18,031,934 divided by 

revenues of $19,685,236 which equals 92% multiplied by 22%). 

Companies Not Charging 22% Exclusively 
Rates for the remaining 67 companies, 640 locations or 89% varied from four percent (4%) to 

22%. As shown in the following table, $.81 of every dollar was used to offset expenses; whereas, 

$.19 went to profit. 

 

Lenders who did not charge 22% exclusively on their loans reported $126,806,757 in interest 

and customary fees, resulting in a profit margin ratio of 19%. The profit margin ratio of 19% 

means that for every dollar earned $.19 went to net income. Therefore, a $100 loan at 22%, 

Revenue 19,685,236$        100%
 - Expense 18,031,934$        92%
Net Income 1,653,302$          8%

Companies Charging 22% Net Income

Revenue 126,806,757$     100%
 - Expense 102,518,646$     81%
Net Income 24,288,111$        19%

Companies Charging 22% or Less Net Income
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would earn $22, of which $4.18 ($22 x 19% profit margin ratio) went to net income, and $17.82 

($22 x 81% expense ratio) covered expenses. In calendar year 2016, it appears that the break-

even for lenders not charging 22% exclusively was 19% (expenses of $102,518,646 divided by 

revenues of $126,806,757 which equals 81% multiplied by 22%). 

Comparison of Companies Charging 22% or Less 
According to the following charts, it appears that companies charging 22% exclusively had a 

lower profit margin than those averaging lower rates.   Companies charging 22% exclusively 

averaged 92 new agreements per store; whereas, the remaining companies averaged 272 

agreements per store. 

 

Conclusion 
Title Pledge Lending in Tennessee continues to be a significant but perhaps declining segment 

of the financial services sector. Based on reported information covering calendar year 2016, 

there were 181,367 new title pledge agreements entered into during the reporting period. This 

compares to 250,257 new agreements for calendar year 2014 and 233,424 new agreements for 

calendar year 2012. The total dollar loan volume of these new agreements in 2016 amounted to 

$167,713,147, compared to $230,652,734 in 2014, and $202,547,916 in 2012. From calendar 

year 2014 to 2016, the percentage decrease in dollar loan volume was 27%, and from calendar 

year 2012 to 2014, the percentage decrease was 17%. We speculate that federal rules 

scheduled to take effect next year and a move by some licensees to other loan products may be 

causing this decline in title pledge transactions in Tennessee. 

The largest companies, by number of licensed locations, appear to continue to dominate the 

industry, as measured by the number of new agreements entered into, accounting for 91% of 

new agreements during 2016. The number of locations for the top ten (10) companies 

decreased from 647 in 2014 to 536 in 2016; whereas, the number of single location licensees 

decreased from 94 to 59. We believe that the largest companies frequently offer rates less than 

22%, often significantly less. A lowering of rates could be a consideration that might still permit 

Revenue 19,685,236$        100% Revenue 126,806,757$     100%
 - Expense 18,031,934$        92%  - Expense 102,518,646$     81%
Net Income 1,653,302$         8% Net Income 24,288,111$       19%

Charging 22% Exclusively
30 Companies / 79 Locations

Not Charging 22% Exclusively
67 Companies / 640 Locations

Figure 9. Comparison of Companies Charging 22% Exclusively to Companies Not Charging 22% Exclusively
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a segment of the industry to operate profitably, depending on the level of rate reduction. Bad 

debt expense, as a percentage of revenues, ranged from 13% to 29%; whereas, the industry 

average for employee salaries was 19%. There appears to be little variance in the other expense 

categories among companies of various sizes. It may be the case that competitive market forces 

influence rates and fees in urban areas, where there is a high concentration of title pledge 

lenders, versus rural areas, where there are comparatively fewer licensees. Currently, 41% of 

title pledge lender locations are in five counties (Knox, Hamilton, Davidson, Rutherford, and 

Shelby). Please refer to Exhibit C for a complete list of the counties and the corresponding 

number of locations. In those areas of the state where there is little or no competition, rates are 

not likely to move downward by market pressure. 

This report cannot make a judgment on the efficiency of licensee operations. Employee salaries 

and other expenses, including utilities, rent, advertising, and office supplies, are generally 

consistent from year-to-year. Bad debt expense for the industry as a whole amounted to 29% 

of revenues for calendar year 2016, 23% of revenues for calendar year 2014, and 15% of 

revenues for calendar year 2012. As a percentage of revenues, total expenses increased from 

74% in 2014 to 82% in 2016. This compares to 75% in 2012 and 79% in 2010. 

While attention, deservedly so, is placed on the rates and practices of title pledge lenders, we 

also see a more fundamental need facing a segment of Tennessee consumers. The lack of 

financial literacy among some citizens is a serious concern, and we believe it is often a root 

problem for some of the ills we see in the financial services sector. We understand that some 

individuals are hindered by circumstances outside of their control, such as a serious illness that 

may force a short term need for immediate credit, but we also know anecdotally of individuals 

who do not understand that title pledge transactions are not meant for long-term financing of 

basic necessities. Ironically, we have previously received complaints from borrowers who do 

not like the principal reduction feature of the Act because it interferes with their desire or need 

to enter into long term transactions, even though principal reduction helps to prevent such 

borrowers from being mired in long term debt. With the exception of unexpected events that 

may seem to force some to seek out immediate credit, we believe that a lack of a basic 

understanding of financial concepts has permeated generations of Tennessee families and has 

created an environment that perhaps supports some of the numbers reported herein. 

We are hopeful that a personal finance class, which has become mandatory in Tennessee 

schools, will pay long term dividends. Financial literacy continues to be an important segment 

of our core operations, and the Department has reached out with workshops and partnerships 

14 | P a g e  
 



with other public and private entities. The Department has worked for many years with 

organizations such as the Tennessee Jumpstart Coalition and others that have done much to 

promote financial literacy. The Department also supports, and is a member of, the Tennessee 

Financial Literacy Commission, the mission of which is to equip Tennesseans to make sound 

financial decisions when it comes to planning, saving, and investing. The Tennessee Financial 

Literacy Commission reports that a number of teachers and children have been reached 

through their efforts to train Tennessee teachers. Not only is financial literacy a key for the 

welfare of the individual, but we believe it is a key factor for the health of well-meaning financial 

institutions and ultimately for the Tennessee economy. 

We are awaiting the finalization and implementation of rules by the Consumer Financial 

Protection Bureau that according to the Bureau’s own economic impact study, could affect the 

ability of the title pledge and other industries to survive in large part.  

In light of this, the Department is focused on a three (3) part response. First, we are working 

with depository institutions in Tennessee to determine if some might be in a position to 

increase small dollar loans to the public. Secondly, continued efforts should be placed on 

financial literacy, and we will continue to work with the Tennessee Financial Literacy 

Commission to determine what else can be done in that regard. Finally, the Department has 

created a Risk Focus Exam program that allows us to risk profile over 4,000 non-bank licensees 

as to potential consumer risk. This program is giving us the data to expedite examinations of 

high risk companies by deferring exams to an extent on low risk licensees. Examining high risk 

licensees more often helps consumers and the industry alike. Over time, the goal is to 

demonstrate improvement in the risk profile of entire industries. 

The Department will continue to ensure, through the licensing process, that all licensed title 

pledge lenders meet the qualifications for a license, and through the examination process, 

including enforcement actions when appropriate, that all licensed title pledge lenders comply 

with applicable law. While these traditional areas of operation are very important, we realize 

that more focus needs to be placed on educating consumers about the responsible use of 

credit. The risk focus program is intended to, among other things, help lenders provide fair and 

appropriate access to credit for all citizens. 

15 | P a g e  
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Exhibit A 
 

Principal Reduction:  $50.00 
Amount Financed:  $1,000.00 
Interest Rate/Customary Fee: 22% 
 

 

A B C D

Transaction 
Date

Payment or 
Renewal Total Paid To Interest To Principal

Principal 
Balance

5% Principal 
Reduction

Renewal
Fee Due

Ax22%=C

Minimum
Amount Due

B+C=D
Renewal 

Date
1/1/2016 Initial Loan $1,000.00 $220.00 $220.00 1/31/2016

(1) Payment $220.00 $220.00 $0.00 $1,000.00
1/31/2016 Renewal $1,000.00 $220.00 3/1/2016

(2) Payment $220.00 $220.00 $0.00 $1,000.00
3/1/2016 Renewal $1,000.00 $220.00 3/31/2016

(3) Payment $220.00 $220.00 $0.00 $1,000.00
3/31/2016 Renewal $1,000.00 $50.00 $220.00 $270.00 4/30/2016

(4) Payment $270.00 $220.00 $50.00 $950.00
4/30/2016 Renewal $950.00 $50.00 $209.00 $259.00 5/30/2016

(5) Payment $259.00 $209.00 $50.00 $900.00
5/30/2016 Renewal $900.00 $50.00 $198.00 $248.00 6/29/2016

(6) Payment $248.00 $198.00 $50.00 $850.00
6/29/2016 Renewal $850.00 $50.00 $187.00 $237.00 7/29/2016

(7) Payment $237.00 $187.00 $50.00 $800.00
7/29/2016 Renewal $800.00 $50.00 $176.00 $226.00 8/28/2016

(8) Payment $226.00 $176.00 $50.00 $750.00
8/28/2016 Renewal $750.00 $50.00 $165.00 $215.00 9/27/2016

(9) Payment $215.00 $165.00 $50.00 $700.00
9/27/2016 Renewal $700.00 $50.00 $154.00 $204.00 10/27/2016

(10) Payment $204.00 $154.00 $50.00 $650.00
10/27/2016 Renewal $650.00 $50.00 $143.00 $193.00 11/26/2016

(11) Payment $193.00 $143.00 $50.00 $600.00
11/26/2016 Renewal $600.00 $50.00 $132.00 $182.00 12/26/2016

(12) Payment $182.00 $132.00 $50.00 $550.00
12/26/2016 Renewal $550.00 $50.00 $121.00 $171.00 1/25/2017

(13) Payment $171.00 $121.00 $50.00 $500.00
1/25/2017 Renewal $500.00 $50.00 $110.00 $160.00 2/24/2017

(14) Payment $160.00 $110.00 $50.00 $450.00
2/24/2017 Renewal $450.00 $50.00 $99.00 $149.00 3/26/2017

(15) Payment $149.00 $99.00 $50.00 $400.00
3/26/2017 Renewal $400.00 $50.00 $88.00 $138.00 4/25/2017

(16) Payment $138.00 $88.00 $50.00 $350.00
4/25/2017 Renewal $350.00 $50.00 $77.00 $127.00 5/25/2017

(17) Payment $127.00 $77.00 $50.00 $300.00
5/25/2017 Renewal $300.00 $50.00 $66.00 $116.00 6/24/2017

(18) Payment $116.00 $66.00 $50.00 $250.00
6/24/2017 Renewal $250.00 $50.00 $55.00 $105.00 7/24/2017

(19) Payment $105.00 $55.00 $50.00 $200.00
7/24/2017 Renewal $200.00 $50.00 $44.00 $94.00 8/23/2017

(20) Payment $94.00 $44.00 $50.00 $150.00
8/23/2017 Renewal $150.00 $50.00 $33.00 $83.00 9/22/2017

(21) Payment $83.00 $33.00 $50.00 $100.00
9/22/2017 Renewal $100.00 $50.00 $22.00 $72.00 10/22/2017

(22) Payment $72.00 $22.00 $50.00 $50.00
10/22/2017 Renewal $50.00 $50.00 $11.00 $61.00 11/21/2017

(23) Payment $61.00 $11.00 $50.00
Total $3,970.00 $2,970.00 $1,000.00

Title Pledge Amortization Schedule
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171 Companies 957 Locations 149 Companies 951 Locations 97 Companies 719 Locations
Amount % of Revenue Amount % of Revenue Amount % of Revenue

Revenue 168,521,593$      188,561,805$      146,491,993$      
     Employee Salary 37,990,528$         23% 37,383,923$         20% 27,835,390$         19%
     Bad Debt Expense 25,564,822$         15% 43,099,679$         23% 41,999,943$         29%
     Repossession Expense 5,833,787$           3% 6,134,853$           3% 4,619,398$           3%
     General Expense 56,823,234$         34% 52,326,990$         28% 46,095,850$         31%
Total Expense 126,212,371$      75% 138,945,445$      74% 120,550,580$      82%
Net Income Before Tax* 42,309,222$         25% 49,616,360$         26% 25,941,413$         18%

Income Statement Summary for Prior Years' Comparison

  *Net Income Before Tax Includes Officer/Owner Compensation

Calendar 2012 Calendar 2014 Calendar 2016
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County
Licensed 
Locations County

Licensed 
Locations County

Licensed 
Locations

Anderson 6 Hamilton 46 Morgan 2

Bedford 9 Hancock 1 Obion 5

Benton 2 Hardeman 3 Overton 4

Bledsoe 1 Hardin 4 Perry 1

Blount 10 Hawkins 4 Pickett 1

Bradley 15 Haywood 2 Polk 2

Campbell 5 Henderson 4 Putnam 14

Cannon 2 Henry 3 Rhea 5

Carroll 3 Hickman 1 Roane 8

Carter 6 Houston 1 Robertson 9

Cheatham 3 Humphreys 3 Rutherford 34

Chester 2 Jackson 1 Scott 2

Claiborne 3 Jefferson 8 Sequatchie 5

Clay 1 Johnson 2 Sevier 10

Cocke 7 Knox 37 Shelby 143

Coffee 8 Lake 0 Smith 2

Crockett 0 Lauderdale 2 Stewart 1

Cumberland 7 Lawrence 10 Sullivan 22

Davidson 80 Lewis 3 Sumner 17

Decatur 2 Lincoln 6 Tipton 7

Dekalb 3 Loudon 5 Trousdale 2

Dickson 10 Macon 3 Unicoi 2

Dyer 7 Madison 19 Union 1

Fayette 4 Marion 7 Van Buren 0

Fentress 1 Marshall 4 Warren 6

Franklin 4 Maury 14 Washington 18

Gibson 11 McMinn 14 Wayne 2

Giles 4 McNairy 2 Weakley 3

Grainger 0 Meigs 1 White 6

Greene 11 Monroe 11 Williamson 5

Grundy 1 Montgomery 21 Wilson 13

Hamblen 7 Moore 0 Out of State 1

Number of Title Pledge Locations by County for 2017
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