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Regulatory Overview 
The activities of Title Pledge Lenders are governed by the Tennessee Title Pledge Act (“Act”), 

codified at Tennessee Code Annotated (“TENN. CODE ANN.”) Title 45, Chapter 15. This report is 

provided pursuant to TENN. CODE ANN. § 45-15-109(c)(5), requiring a biennial analysis and 

recapitulation of the reports of calendar year 2014, for the purpose of reflecting the general 

results of operations of the industry. The compilation and analysis of information in this report 

was gathered from licensees in submission of their annual renewal applications. As part of the 

submission, licensees were required to attest, under oath, to the truthfulness and accuracy of 

the information. As a further measure to ensure the accuracy of information submitted, the 

Department selected a sampling of licensees for on-site audits of reports provided. 

The Department’s regulatory oversight includes reviewing all applications to ensure that 

licensing requirements are met, conducting periodic on-site examinations for compliance with 

the Act, issuing corrective enforcement actions, and investigating consumer complaints. In 

addition to the regulation of the Title Pledge industry, the Department’s Compliance Division is 

responsible for the licensing and regulatory supervision of other non-depository financial 

institutions and individuals operating in Tennessee including: Check Cashing Companies, 

Deferred Presentment Services Companies, Flexible Credit Companies, Industrial Loan and 

Thrift Companies, Insurance Premium Finance Companies, Money Transmission Companies, 

Residential Mortgage Lenders, Brokers, Servicers and Mortgage Loan Originators. 

Licensing 
Each application must meet the licensing eligibility requirements of TENN. CODE ANN. § 45-15-

106. Applicants shall demonstrate financial responsibility, financial condition, business 

experience, character and general fitness to reasonably warrant the belief that the business will 

be conducted lawfully and fairly. 

State law allows the Department up to 90 days to act on a complete application. Each 

application for a license must be accompanied by a nonrefundable supervision fee, as provided 

in TENN. CODE ANN. § 45-1-118(i).  A supervision fee of $629 per location is required at the time 

of filing for calendar year 2016.  The applicant must also provide a surety bond or irrevocable 

letter of credit in the amount of $25,000 per location, with the aggregate amount not to exceed 

$200,000 for any single title pledge lender. A complete application must be notarized and 

include a listing of the owners, along with their resumes and credit reports. 
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An applicant is required to submit a set of financial statements, including a balance sheet and 

income statement, prepared by a certified public accountant or public accounting firm not 

affiliated with the applicant and in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles. 

The applicant must meet and maintain a tangible net worth of at least $75,000 per location. 

Additional supporting documents may be requested to substantiate the value of assets 

reported. Licenses are non-transferable and must be renewed annually. 

Risk Focused Examination Program 
The Compliance Division has established a  risk  focused  regulatory program  for non-

depository financial institutions  that  bases  regulatory  scrutiny  on  compliance  benchmarks.  

The  primary  focus was  to develop  a method  of  identifying  characteristics  within  a  licensed  

entity  that  would  allow  for  an allocation  of  exam  resources  based  on  the  potential  risk  

of  harm  to  the  consumer.   Companies showing a need for greater regulatory scrutiny would 

be identified and examined with a greater frequency.  Likewise, companies showing a low risk 

to consumer would need less regulatory scrutiny.  

The risk program ensures compliance with governing law, but also considers various risk 

factors that have been determined are most relative to the potential for consumer harm such 

as prior exam results, repeat violations, violations leading to refunds, management experience, 

employee training and whether appropriate risk management systems are in place.    
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Figure 1. Title Pledge Locations Prior Years' Comparison 
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This rating system will allow the Department to focus on licensees that appear to have the 

greatest risk.   The goal of the Compliance Division is to assist management in reducing risk to 

consumers and helping licensees to be more successful. 

Examination, Corrective Actions and Refunds 
The regulatory oversight of licensees includes on-site compliance examinations conducted 

pursuant to TENN. CODE ANN. § 45-15-108. Cited violations represent instances in which the 

licensee did not comply with statutory requirements. On-site examinations have proven an 

effective tool in the detection and prevention of violations of the Act.  

Examiners document and present the examination findings to the licensee in a written report. 

The Department requests each licensee to respond to the examination in writing, detailing the 

actions taken to correct all violations. Most violations are resolved through the examination 

process. However, unresolved issues, systemic problems, significant refunds, unlicensed 

activity, repeat violations or apparent criminal activity are referred to the Chief Administrator of 

Examinations for appropriate follow-up action. 

Based on examinations, lenders are not charging more than the statutory limit of 2% per 

month of interest, and a customary fee of no more than 1/5 of the principal amount of the loan; 

however refunds were made due to other violations of the Act. In calendar years 2014 and 2015 

the Department conducted 1,674 examinations, resulting in refunds of $271,169.08. During the 

same period the Department initiated 42 enforcement actions against Title Pledge Lenders 

resulting in civil money penalties totaling $27,158.79. The more prevalent examination findings 

are noted below. 

1) Inadequate Books and Records 

• Title pledge agreements and records are to be consecutively numbered and 

documented as required by the Act. All books and records must be preserved 

and made available to the Commissioner for a period of twenty-five (25) months 

on rejected applications and twenty-four (24) months on loans paid in full. 

2) Missing Renewal Statements/Disclosures 

• Title pledge agreements are structured as thirty (30) day written agreements, but 

may be renewed for an additional thirty (30) days for up to twenty-two (22) 

renewal periods. The consumer is limited to twenty-two (22) renewals, because 
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the statute requires the borrower to make a 5% reduction in the principal 

amount borrowed beginning with the third renewal period and each successive 

renewal period, until the loan principal is paid off. This principal payment is 

required along with the applicable interest and fees due the lender; however, 

with each principal reduction payment, the interest and fees charged are 

reduced with each subsequent renewal period. Lenders shall either hand deliver 

at the time of renewal or mail the renewal statement to the borrower at least 

five (5) days prior to the beginning of each renewal period. These statements are 

to be filed with the original title pledge agreement. Otherwise, consumer refunds 

will result if this documentation is missing. 

3) Unauthorized Charges 

• A title pledge lender may contract for and receive an effective interest rate not to 

exceed 2% per month plus a customary fee of no more than 1/5 of the original 

principal amount or of the total unpaid balance due at renewal. All other 

charges, other than the actual repossession charges and/or any direct costs 

incurred to sell the titled property, are unauthorized and subject to refunds. 

Examples of unauthorized charges include “fix up” costs such as replacing tires 

or detailing a vehicle. 

4) Taking Possession of the Collateral during an Active Renewal Period 

• If the lender takes possession of the titled property during a disclosed thirty (30) 

day renewal period, then the lender would be required to refund any interest 

and fees earned for the renewal period in which the repossession occurred. 

5) Exceeding $2500 limitation 

• A title pledge lender cannot enter into an agreement or agreements where the 

amount of money loaned when combined with the outstanding balance of other 

outstanding title pledge agreements exceeds $2500 when secured by a single 

certificate of title. 
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Consumer Complaints 
One of the purposes of the Consumer Resources Section is to investigate and attempt to 

resolve complaints filed against financial institutions chartered or licensed by the Department. 

Any person aggrieved by the conduct of a title pledge lender may file a written complaint with 

the Commissioner through the Consumer Resources Section. The Department will take 

appropriate action, once the complaint is fully investigated.   

For calendar years 2014 and 2015 the Consumer Resources Section processed forty-one (41) 

complaints involving title pledge lenders, as compared to thirty-one (31) in 2012, and 29 in 

2013. Twenty-five (25) complaints were investigated in 2014, of which seventy-two percent 

(72%) concerned the following issues. 

Complaint     Total 

• Repossession Issues    5 

• Title Pledge Overpayments   5 

• Customer Service Issues    3 

• Failure to Release Lien    3 

• Misrepresentation of Loan Terms  2 

In 2015, the Consumer Resources Section investigated 16 complaints. The more frequent ones, 

sixty – two percent (62%), concerned the following issues.  

Complaint     Total 

• Repossession Issues    3 

• Customer Service Issues   2 

• Pay History Disputes     2 

• Privacy Issues     2 

• Dispute of Verbal Agreement   1 
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Service complaints, as compared to violations of the Act, are very difficult to substantiate since 

they are much more subjective.  The complaints for 2014 resulted in refunds of $551.  There 

were no refunds in 2015.  The refunds from customer complaints are in addition to the refunds 

required from examinations. 

Analysis of Operations 
The data which follows was compiled from information provided by 149 title pledge lenders, 

representing 951 locations in Tennessee, and reflects the general results of operations for 

calendar year 2014. All renewing licensees that were required to file annual reports complied 

with this requirement. 

TENN. CODE ANN. § 45-15-106(i) provides that the licensing year shall end on December 31. The 

license renewal application must be filed with the Department on or before December 1. 

Licensees must submit, together with the renewal applications, supplemental financial reports 

for the preceding calendar year. This information, submitted for 2014, contributed to the data 

analysis and results of operations presented in the following tables and graphs. 

 

Companies engaging in more than one line of business were asked to segment their income 

and expenses and report such data exclusively for their title pledge business. TENN. CODE ANN. 

§ 45-15-109(c)(1)(D), requires a licensee to submit financial statements prepared by a non-
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affiliated CPA, or public accounting firm and consistent with generally accepted accounting 

practices. 

Market Share 
Title pledge lenders entered into 250,257 new agreements with consumers in calendar year 

2014, representing $230,652,734 in loan volume. As illustrated in the chart below, the top ten 

(10) companies, based on the number of locations in Tennessee, accounted for 647 or 68% of 

the 951 reporting locations. These top ten (10) companies entered into 200,188 new 

agreements, representing 80% of the market share. The remaining 139 reporting entities, 

representing 304 locations or 32% of total locations, entered into 50,069 of the new 

agreements, accounting for 20%. From this analysis, the top ten (10) companies controlled a 

major portion of the market in 2014. 

 

Demand for New Title Pledge Agreements 
For calendar year 2014, licensees entered into a total of 250,257 new title pledge agreements 

which does not include renewals of these initial agreements. Of the new agreements written, 

74% were for $1000 or less, whereas 6% were made for amounts between $2,251 and $2,500 

which is the maximum loan amount permitted by law. The following schedule presents the 

breakdown of new title pledge agreements by loan amount: 
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Analysis of Agreements Renewed 
From the following analysis, 163,040 agreements were renewed during calendar year 2014. Of 

these, approximately 14% were renewed only one time. The majority, 61%, were renewed seven 

times or less. Of the total number of agreements entered into in 2014, 27,685, or 15%, were 

paid in full after 30 days without renewing. 

 

 

Application of Principal Reduction Requirements 
Prior to the 2005 amendments to the Act, a title pledge loan could be renewed indefinitely and 

the interest and fees charged over the life of the loan were unlimited. With the amendments to 

Number % of Total
$250 or Less 26,185 10%
$251 - $500 74,420 30%
$501 - $750 39,455 16%
$751 - $1,000 44,195 18%
$1,001 - $1,250 14,544 6%
$1,251 - $1,500 17,401 7%
$1,501 - $1,750 5,584 2%
$1,751 - $2,000 11,476 5%
$2,001 - $2,250 1,573 1%
$2,251 - $2,500 15,424 6%
Total Number of Agreements 250,257 100%

New Agreements by Loan Amount

Number % of Total Number % of Total
1 Time 22,049 14% 12 Times 3,995 2%
2 Times 18,609 11% 13 Times 3,841 2%
3 Times 15,652 10% 14 Times 3,678 2%
4 Times 13,051 8% 15 Times 3,468 2%
5 Times 11,343 7% 16 Times 3,102 2%
6 Times 10,153 6% 17 Times 2,928 2%
7 Times 8,854 5% 18 Times 2,667 2%
8 Times 7,633 5% 19 Times 2,641 2%
9 Times 7,942 5% 20 Times 3,008 2%
10 Times 9,155 6% 21 Times 3,313 2%
11 Times 5,107 3% 22 Times 851 1%

Total Number of Agreements Renewed in 2014

Figure 4. Breakdown of New Agreements by Loan Amount 

Figure 5. Total Number of Agreements Renewed in 2014 
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the Act and pursuant to TENN. CODE ANN. § 45-15-113(d), the borrower is required to make a 

5% principal reduction beginning with the third renewal of the title pledge agreement. This 

enables the consumer to reduce the original loan amount by 5% with each payment, resulting 

in a decrease in interest and fees with each subsequent renewal.  All title pledge loan 

agreements are written for 30 days and are limited to twenty-two (22) renewals over the life of 

the loan, based on this statutory requirement of a 5% principal reduction. 

In the event the consumer cannot make the scheduled principal reduction(s), the lender may 

defer such payment(s) until the end of the title pledge agreement. However, the lender must 

still reduce the outstanding principal balance by 5% per month, beginning with the third 

renewal, and charge interest and fees based on the reduced principal amount. For year-end 

2014, the number of deferred principal reduction payments was 30,452, compared to 25,153 

deferrals in 2012. Again, a deferral of the principal reduction indicates the consumer cannot 

make the scheduled payment. (Refer to Exhibit A - Title Pledge Amortization Schedule) 

Consumer Default and Bad Debt Expense 
Under the accrual basis of accounting, title pledge lenders record revenue when the customer 

enters into an agreement to borrow money. The customer is legally obligated to pay back the 

principal, interest and fees. If the customer defaults, the lender’s recourse is limited to taking 

possession of the pledged collateral. In 2014, the industry took possession of 24,408 vehicles 

due to non-payment, compared to 21,947 in 2012. If the customer fails to redeem the titled 

property during a twenty-day holding period, the lender has 60 days to sell it. Proceeds from 

the sale must be applied against the outstanding loan balance and any surplus returned to the 

borrower. The industry returned a surplus of $710,595 to consumers in 2014, compared to 

$996,749 in 2012. 

Bad debt expense is an expense associated with a firm's inability to collect accounts receivable, 

classified usually as an administrative or selling expense. Unless all proceeds from the sale of 

pledged collateral offset the debt, the balance due is considered uncollectible by the lender and 

is subsequently charged-off. This amount is classified as bad debt expense on the income 

statement. Sometimes, the lender cannot locate the collateral and, therefore, the entire debt is 

deemed uncollectible and charged-off against revenue.   In 2014, lenders incurred bad debt 

expense of $43,099,679, due to non-payment of all or part of the original principal balance, 

representing 23% of total revenues. 
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Analysis of Profitability 
In analyzing profitability industry-wide, this report focuses on net income before tax and 

performs a break-even analysis based upon interest and fees charged. Net income before tax is 

revenues from operations less business expenses. In the industry, the revenues are made up of 

interest and customary fees, not to exceed 22% per month by law. Company expenses include, 

but are not limited to, salaries, repossessions, bad debt expense and other general expenses, 

such as rent, utilities, insurance, supplies and regulation. 

When comparing income between entities within the title pledge industry, net income before 

tax is a more pertinent measure than income after tax. Corporations, limited liability 

companies, partnerships and sole proprietorships essentially make up the title pledge 

industry. Although the administrative and operational expenses normally run consistent 

throughout the industry, the tax treatment from one business type to another may vary 

significantly. For instance, the income of a corporation is taxed at the corporate level before 

it is distributed to shareholders; whereas, proprietorships pay tax on income at the 

individual tax rate. Therefore, “income before tax” is a more appropriate comparative 

measure when analyzing profitability. The combined net income before tax, including 

owner compensation for the 149 companies (951 licensed locations) reporting was 

$49,616,360. 

In 2014, the amount of revenue earned was $188,561,805. Of this amount, 28% was paid 

toward general expenses including, but not limited to rent, utilities, advertising, regulation and 

supplies. The next largest expense category for the industry was bad debt which made up 23% 

of total revenues. Owner compensation was reported to be $5,617,403, or approximately 11% 

of net income. Although the industry as a whole was profitable, there was a wide disparity in 

the level of profitability within the industry. 

Industry Revenues and Expenses for 2014  
The following tables group the 951 reporting locations into three categories, by number of 

licensed locations, showing the income and expenses for each. 
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Figure 6. Breakdown of Companies by Number of Licensed Locations. Medium 2-25 Licensed Locations, 
Large 26 or More Licensed Locations  

Industry Single Medium Large
Revenue 188,561,805$          7,696,631$               25,525,861$            155,339,313$          
     Employee Salary 37,383,923$            1,571,130$               7,629,650$               28,183,143$            
     Bad Debt 43,099,679$            1,031,742$               4,385,799$               37,682,138$            
     Repossession Expense 6,134,853$               308,986$                  1,090,014$               4,735,853$               
     General Expense 52,326,990$            2,982,754$               8,406,425$               40,937,811$            
Total Expense 138,945,445$          5,894,612$               21,511,888$            111,538,945$          
Net Income Before Tax* 49,616,360$            1,802,019$               4,013,973$               43,800,368$            

Officer/Owner Compensation 5,617,403$               1,464,874$               1,622,105$               2,530,424$               

Industry Single Medium Large
     Employee Salary 20% 20% 30% 18%
     Bad Debt 23% 13% 17% 24%
     Repossession Expense 3% 4% 4% 3%
     General Expense 28% 39% 33% 26%
Total Expense 74% 77% 84% 72%
Net Income Before Tax* 26% 23% 16% 28%

Officer/Owner Compensation 3% 19% 6% 2%

Income Statement Summary

Percentage of Revenue

  *Net Income Before Tax Includes Officer/Owner Compensation

  *Net Income Before Tax Includes Officer/Owner Compensation

Figure 7. Income Statement Summary by Number of Licensed Locations.   
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Break-Even Analysis 
A break-even analysis provides an approximate level of price, or, for this report, interest and 

fees, at which there is neither a profit nor a loss. A major component of the break-even analysis 

is the profit margin. The profit margin ratio measures how much of every dollar of revenues a 

company keeps after expenses. The industry, as a whole, reported the following amounts on 

their financial reports as of December 31, 2014: 

 

In 2014, the title pledge industry had a profit margin ratio of 26%, calculated as net income of 

$49,616,360 divided by revenues of $188,561,805. This means that, on average, for every dollar 

of revenue earned, $.26 went to net income; whereas, $.74 was used to offset business 

expenses. Net income, often referred to as the “bottom line”, can be distributed among the 

owners or held as retained earnings. 

Companies Charging 22% Exclusively 
Since the break-even analysis is designed to determine an approximate level of interest and 

fees necessary to be profitable, it is appropriate to look at those title pledge lenders charging 

22% (2% interest/20% customary fee), the maximum amount allowable by law, versus a lower 

amount. It was determined that 80 companies, (331 locations/35%) charged 22% on all 

agreements. The following amounts were compiled from their income statements. 

 

Lenders who charged 22% exclusively on their loans reported $21,154,785 in interest and 

customary fees resulting in a profit margin ratio of 41%. The profit margin ratio of 41% means 

that for every dollar earned $.41 went to net income. Therefore, a $100 loan at 22%, would earn 

$22, of which $9.02 ($22 x 41% profit margin ratio) went to net income, and $12.98 ($22 x 59% 

expense ratio) covered expenses. The following analysis translates the profit margin into the 

actual amount of interest and fees necessary for the company to break-even assuming that 

costs remain the same as reported. 

Revenue 188,561,805$     100%
   Expense 138,945,445$     74%
Net Income 49,616,360$        26% Profit Margin Ratio

Revenue 21,154,785$        100%
   Expense 12,468,725$        59%
Net Income 8,686,060$          41% Profit Margin Ratio
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In 2014, it appears, on average, that the break-even for lenders charging 22% exclusively was 

13%. 

Companies Not Charging 22% Exclusively 
Rates for the remaining 69 companies (620 locations/65%) varied from 4% to 22%, and from the 

following table, $.76 of every dollar was used to offset expenses; whereas, $.24 went to profit. 

 

Lenders who did not charge 22% exclusively on their loans reported $167,407,020 in interest 

and customary fees resulting in a profit margin ratio of 24%. The profit margin ratio of 24% 

means that for every dollar earned $.24 went to net income. Therefore, a $100 loan at 22%, 

would earn $22, of which $5.28 ($22 x 24% profit margin ratio) went to net income, and $16.72 

($22 x 76% expense ratio) covered expenses. The following analysis translates the profit margin 

into the actual amount of interest and fees necessary for the company to break-even assuming 

that costs remain the same as reported. 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Revenue 21,154,785$        22% Rate Cap.
   Expense 12,468,725$        ÷ 21,154,785$        = 59% x 22% = 13% Break-Even
Net Income 8,686,060$          ÷ 21,154,785$        = 41% x 22% = 9%

Revenue 167,407,020$     100%
   Expense 126,476,720$     76%
Net Income 40,930,300$        24% Profit Margin Ratio

Revenue 167,407,020$     22% Rate Cap.
   Expense 126,476,720$     ÷ 167,407,020$     = 76% x 22% = 17% Break-Even
Net Income 40,930,300$        ÷ 167,407,020$     = 24% x 22% = 5%
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Comparison of Companies Charging 22% or Less 
According to the following charts, it appears that companies charging 22% exclusively had a 

higher profit margin than those averaging lower rates. 

 

 
A table with the distribution of all Title Pledge Lenders throughout the State of Tennessee is 

provided at the end of this Report. (Refer to Exhibit C – Number of Title Pledge Locations by 

County For 2015). 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Revenue 21,154,785$        100% Revenue 167,407,020$     100%
   Expense 12,468,725$        59%    Expense 126,476,720$     76%
Net Income 8,686,060$         41% Net Income 40,930,300$       24%

Charging 22% Exclusively
80 Companies / 331 Locations

Not Charging 22% Exclusively
69 Companies / 620 Locations

Figure 8. Comparison of Companies Charging 22% Exclusively to Companies Not Charging 22% Exclusively. 
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Conclusion 
Title Pledge lending in Tennessee continues to be a significant segment of the financial services 

sector. Based on reported information covering calendar year 2014, there were 250,257 new 

title pledge agreements entered into during the reporting period. This compares to 233,424 

new agreements for calendar year 2012 and 209,155 new agreements for calendar year 2010. 

This represents a 7% increase in the number of new agreements since 2012 and a 20% increase 

since 2010. The total dollar loan volume of these new agreements in 2014 amounted to 

$230,652,734, compared to $202,547,916 in 2012 and $158,647,157 in 2010. From calendar 

year 2012 to 2014, the percentage increase in dollar loan volume was 14% and 45% since 2010. 

The largest companies, by number of licensed locations, appear to continue to dominate the 

industry, as measured by the number of new agreements entered into, accounting for 80% of 

new agreements during 2014. The number of locations for the top ten companies increased 

from 602, in 2012, to 647, in 2014; whereas, the number of single location licensees decreased 

from 111 to 94, respectively. We believe that the largest companies frequently offer rates less 

than 22%, often at times significantly less. A lowering of rates could be a consideration that 

might still permit a segment of the industry to operate, depending on the level of rate 

reduction. Bad debt expense, as a percentage of revenues, ranged from 13% to 24%, whereas, 

the industry average for employee salaries was 20%. There appears to be little variance in the 

other expense categories among companies of various sizes. It may be the case that 

competitive market forces influence rates and fees in urban areas, where there is a high 

concentration of title pledge lenders, versus rural areas, where there are comparatively few 

licensees. Currently, 42% of title pledge lender locations are in five counties (Knox, Hamilton, 

Davidson, Rutherford, and Shelby). Please refer to Exhibit C for a complete list of the counties 

and the corresponding number of locations. In those areas of the state where there is little or 

no competition, rates are not likely to move downward by market pressure. 

This report cannot make a judgment on the efficiency of licensee operations. Employee salaries 

and other expenses, including utilities, rent, advertising, and office supplies, are generally 

consistent from year-to-year. Bad debt expense for the industry as a whole, comprising 23% of 

revenues for calendar year 2014, 15% of revenues for calendar year 2012 and 14% of revenues 

for calendar year 2010. As a percentage of revenues, total expenses decreased from 75% in 

2012, to 74% in 2014. This compares to 79% in 2010 and 88% in 2008. 
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While attention, deservedly so, is placed on the rates and practices of title pledge lenders, we 

also see a more fundamental need facing a segment of Tennessee consumers. The lack of 

financial literacy among some citizens is a serious concern and we believe it is often a root 

problem for some of the ills we see in the financial services sector. We understand that some 

individuals are hampered by circumstances outside of their control such as a serious illness 

that may force a short term need for immediate credit, but we also know anecdotally of 

individuals who do not understand that title pledge transactions are not meant for long-term 

financing of basic necessities. Ironically, we have received complaints from borrowers who do 

not like the principal reduction feature of the Act because it interferes with their desire or need 

to enter into long term transactions, even though principal reduction helps to prevent such 

borrowers from being mired in long term debt. With the exception of unexpected events that 

may seem to force some to seek out immediate credit, we believe that a lack of a basic 

understanding of financial concepts has permeated generations of Tennessee families and has 

created an environment that perhaps supports some of the numbers reported herein. 

We are hopeful that a personal finance class which has become mandatory in Tennessee 

schools will pay long term dividends. Financial literacy continues to be an important segment of 

our core operations, and the Department has reached out with workshops and partnerships 

with other public and private entities. The Department has worked for many years with 

organizations such as Smart Tennessee, the Tennessee Jumpstart Coalition, and others that 

have done much to promote financial literacy. The Department also supports and is a member 

of the Tennessee Financial Literacy Commission, the mission of which is to equip Tennesseans 

to make sound financial decisions when it comes to planning, saving and investing. The 

Tennessee Financial Literacy Commission reports that a number of teachers and children have 

been reached through their efforts to train Tennessee teachers. Not only is financial literacy a 

key for the welfare of the individual, but we believe it is a key factor for the health of well-

meaning financial institutions and ultimately for the Tennessee economy. 

At the writing of this report, we are awaiting the release of rules by the Consumer Financial 

Protection Bureau that according to the Bureau’s own economic impact study could affect the 

ability of the title pledge and other industries to survive in large part. 

In light of this the Department is focused on a three (3) part response. First, we are working 

with depository institutions in Tennessee to determine if some might be in a position to 

increase small dollar loans to the public. Second, more efforts should be placed on financial 

literacy and we will work with the Tennessee Financial Literacy Commission to determine what 
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could be done in that regard. Finally, the Department has created a new Risk Focus Exam 

program that allows us to risk profile over 5,000 non-bank licensees as to potential consumer 

risk. This program is giving us the data to expedite examinations of high risk companies by 

deferring exams to an extent on low risk licensees. Examining high risk licensees more often 

helps consumers and the industry alike. Over time, the goal is to demonstrate improvement in 

the risk profile of entire industries. 

As we have for many years, this Department will continue to concentrate on the licensee-

focused areas of applications, examinations and enforcement actions. While these three 

traditional areas of operation are very important, we realize that more attention needs to be 

placed directly on consumers before the receipt of consumer complaints. The risk focus 

program is intended to help provide fair and appropriate access to credit for all citizens.  
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$50.00
$1,000.00
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Transaction 
Date

Payment or 
Renewal Total Paid To Interest To Principal

Principal 
Balance

5% Principal 
Reduction

Renewal
Fee Due

Ax22%=C

Minimum
Amount Due

B+C=D Renewal Date

1/1/2014 Initial Loan $1,000.00 $220.00 $220.00 1/31/2014
(1) Payment $220.00 $220.00 $0.00 $1,000.00

1/31/2014 Renewal $1,000.00 $220.00 3/2/2014
(2) Payment $220.00 $220.00 $0.00 $1,000.00

3/2/2014 Renewal $1,000.00 $220.00 4/1/2014
(3) Payment $220.00 $220.00 $0.00 $1,000.00

4/1/2014 Renewal $1,000.00 $50.00 $220.00 $270.00 5/1/2014
(4) Payment $270.00 $220.00 $50.00 $950.00

5/1/2014 Renewal $950.00 $50.00 $209.00 $259.00 5/31/2014
(5) Payment $259.00 $209.00 $50.00 $900.00

5/31/2014 Renewal $900.00 $50.00 $198.00 $248.00 6/30/2014
(6) Payment $248.00 $198.00 $50.00 $850.00

6/30/2014 Renewal $850.00 $50.00 $187.00 $237.00 7/30/2014
(7) Payment $237.00 $187.00 $50.00 $800.00

7/30/2014 Renewal $800.00 $50.00 $176.00 $226.00 8/29/2014
(8) Payment $226.00 $176.00 $50.00 $750.00

8/29/2014 Renewal $750.00 $50.00 $165.00 $215.00 9/28/2014
(9) Payment $215.00 $165.00 $50.00 $700.00

9/28/2014 Renewal $700.00 $50.00 $154.00 $204.00 10/28/2014
(10) Payment $204.00 $154.00 $50.00 $650.00

10/28/2014 Renewal $650.00 $50.00 $143.00 $193.00 11/27/2014
(11) Payment $193.00 $143.00 $50.00 $600.00

11/27/2014 Renewal $600.00 $50.00 $132.00 $182.00 12/27/2014
(12) Payment $182.00 $132.00 $50.00 $550.00

12/27/2014 Renewal $550.00 $50.00 $121.00 $171.00 1/26/2015
(13) Payment $171.00 $121.00 $50.00 $500.00

1/26/2015 Renewal $500.00 $50.00 $110.00 $160.00 2/25/2015
(14) Payment $160.00 $110.00 $50.00 $450.00

2/25/2015 Renewal $450.00 $50.00 $99.00 $149.00 3/27/2015
(15) Payment $149.00 $99.00 $50.00 $400.00

3/27/2015 Renewal $400.00 $50.00 $88.00 $138.00 4/26/2015
(16) Payment $138.00 $88.00 $50.00 $350.00

4/26/2015 Renewal $350.00 $50.00 $77.00 $127.00 5/26/2015
(17) Payment $127.00 $77.00 $50.00 $300.00

5/26/2015 Renewal $300.00 $50.00 $66.00 $116.00 6/25/2015
(18) Payment $116.00 $66.00 $50.00 $250.00

6/25/2015 Renewal $250.00 $50.00 $55.00 $105.00 7/25/2015
(19) Payment $105.00 $55.00 $50.00 $200.00

7/25/2015 Renewal $200.00 $50.00 $44.00 $94.00 8/24/2015
(20) Payment $94.00 $44.00 $50.00 $150.00

8/24/2015 Renewal $150.00 $50.00 $33.00 $83.00 9/23/2015
(21) Payment $83.00 $33.00 $50.00 $100.00

9/23/2015 Renewal $100.00 $50.00 $22.00 $72.00 10/23/2015
(22) Payment $72.00 $22.00 $50.00 $50.00

10/23/2015 Renewal $50.00 $50.00 $11.00 $61.00 11/22/2015
(23) Payment $61.00 $11.00 $50.00

Total $3,970.00 $2,970.00 $1,000.00

Title Pledge Amortization Schedule

Principal Reduction:
Amount Financed:
Interest Rate/Customary Fee:

Exhibits
Exhibit A



179 Companies 762 Locations 171 Companies 957 Locations 149 Companies 951 Locations
Amount % of Revenue Amount % of Revenue Amount % of Revenue

Revenue 127,369,178$     168,521,593$     188,561,805$     
     Employee Salary 29,058,158$        23% 37,990,528$        23% 37,383,923$        20%
     Bad Debt 18,488,686$        14% 25,564,822$        15% 43,099,679$        23%
     Repossession Expense 3,317,938$          3% 5,833,787$          3% 6,134,853$          3%
     General Expense 49,795,472$        39% 56,823,234$        34% 52,326,990$        28%
Total Expense 10,060,254$        79% 126,212,371$     75% 138,945,445$     74%
Net Income Before Tax* 26,708,924$        21% 42,309,222$        25% 49,616,360$        26%

Officer/Owner Compensation 9,207,673$          7% 9,091,223$          5% 5,617,403$          3%

Exhibits
Exhibit B

Income Statement Summary for Prior Years' Comparison

  *Net Income Before Tax Includes Officer/Owner Compensation

Calendar 2010 Calendar 2012 Calendar 2014



County
Licensed 
Locations

County 
Population

Ratio of 
Locations to 
Population County

Licensed 
Locations

County 
Population

Ratio of 
Locations to 
Population

Anderson 8 75,129 0.011% Lauderdale 2 27,815 0.007%
Bedford 10 45,058 0.022% Lawrence 11 41,869 0.026%
Benton 2 16,489 0.012% Lewis 4 12,161 0.033%
Bledsoe 1 12,876 0.008% Lincoln 8 33,361 0.024%
Blount 12 123,010 0.010% Loudon 7 48,556 0.014%
Bradley 17 98,963 0.017% Macon 4 22,248 0.018%
Campbell 7 40,716 0.017% Madison 20 98,294 0.020%
Cannon 3 13,801 0.022% Marion 7 28,237 0.025%
Carroll 3 28,522 0.011% Marshall 6 30,617 0.020%
Carter 6 57,424 0.010% Maury 21 80,956 0.026%
Cheatham 4 39,105 0.010% McMinn 14 52,266 0.027%
Chester 2 17,131 0.012% McNairy 3 26,075 0.012%
Claiborne 5 32,213 0.016% Meigs 1 11,753 0.009%
Clay 1 7,861 0.013% Monroe 11 44,519 0.025%
Cocke 7 35,662 0.020% Montgomery 27 172,331 0.016%
Coffee 13 52,796 0.025% Moore 0 6,362 0.000%
Crockett 0 14,586 0.000% Morgan 3 21,987 0.014%
Cumberland 9 56,053 0.016% Obion 7 31,807 0.022%
Davidson 108 626,681 0.017% Overton 4 22,083 0.018%
Decatur 2 11,757 0.017% Perry 1 7,915 0.013%
Dekalb 3 18,723 0.016% Pickett 1 5,077 0.020%
Dickson 12 49,666 0.024% Polk 2 16,825 0.012%
Dyer 7 38,335 0.018% Putnam 17 72,321 0.024%
Fayette 4 38,413 0.010% Rhea 7 31,809 0.022%
Fentress 1 17,959 0.006% Roane 10 54,181 0.018%
Franklin 6 41,052 0.015% Robertson 12 66,283 0.018%
Gibson 11 49,683 0.022% Rutherford 44 262,604 0.017%
Giles 5 29,485 0.017% Scott 3 22,228 0.013%
Grainger 0 22,657 0.000% Sequatchie 5 14,112 0.035%
Greene 12 68,831 0.017% Sevier 11 89,889 0.012%
Grundy 1 13,703 0.007% Shelby 146 927,644 0.016%
Hamblen 8 62,544 0.013% Smith 2 19,166 0.010%
Hamilton 59 336,463 0.018% Stewart 1 13,324 0.008%
Hancock 1 6,819 0.015% Sullivan 22 156,823 0.014%
Hardeman 3 27,253 0.011% Sumner 19 160,645 0.012%
Hardin 4 26,026 0.015% Tipton 7 61,081 0.011%
Hawkins 5 56,833 0.009% Trousdale 2 7,870 0.025%
Haywood 3 18,787 0.016% Unicoi 3 18,313 0.016%
Henderson 4 27,769 0.014% Union 0 19,109 0.000%
Henry 3 32,330 0.009% Van Buren 0 5,548 0.000%
Hickman 1 24,690 0.004% Warren 8 39,839 0.020%
Houston 1 8,426 0.012% Washington 18 122,979 0.015%
Humphreys 3 18,538 0.016% Wayne 2 17,021 0.012%
Jackson 1 11,638 0.009% Weakley 3 35,021 0.009%
Jefferson 8 51,407 0.016% White 5 25,841 0.019%
Johnson 2 18,244 0.011% Williamson 5 183,182 0.003%
Knox 45 432,226 0.010% Wilson 16 113,993 0.014%
Lake 0 7,832 0.000%

Number Of Title Pledge Licensed Locations by County for 2015

Exhibits
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