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Tennessee Water and Wastewater Operator Certification 
Examination Information 

 
The Tennessee Water and Wastewater Operator Certification Examinations are delivered at five 
locations in Tennessee and at PSI Test Centers geographically located throughout the United 
States. A current listing of PSI Test Centers, including addresses and driving directions, may be 
viewed at www.goAMP.com. The examinations are administered by appointment only, Monday 
through Saturday at 9:00 a.m. and 1:30 p.m.  
 
Nondiscrimination Policy 

PSI does not discriminate among candidates on the basis of age, gender, race, color, religion, 
national origin, disability, marital status or any other protected characteristic. 
 
Special Arrangements for Candidates with Disabilities 

PSI complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act and strives to ensure that no individual 
with a disability (as defined by the ADA as a person who has a physical or mental impairment 
that substantially limits one or more major life activities, a person who has a history or record of 
such an impairment, or a person who is perceived by others as having such an impairment) is 
deprived of the opportunity to take the examination solely by reason of that disability. PSI will 
provide reasonable accommodations for candidates with disabilities. Candidates requesting 
special accommodations must call PSI at 833-256-1420 to schedule their examination. 

1. Wheelchair access is available at all established Test Centers. Candidates must advise 
PSI at the time of scheduling that wheelchair access is necessary. 

2. Candidates with visual, sensory, physical or learning disabilities that would prevent them 
from taking the examination under standard conditions may request special 
accommodations and arrangements. 

Verification of the disability and a statement of the specific type of assistance needed must 
be made in writing to PSI at least 45 calendar days prior to your desired examination date 
by completing the two-page Request for Special Examination Accommodations form. PSI will 
review the submitted forms and will contact you regarding the decision for accommodations. 

 
Payments 

Payment may be made by credit card (Visa, MasterCard, American Express or Discover),  
company check, cashier’s check or money order made payable to PSI Services Inc. Cash and 
personal checks are not accepted.  

Credit card transactions that are declined will be subject to a $25 handling fee. A certified check 
or money order for the amount due, including the handling fee, must be sent to PSI to cover 
declined credit card transactions. 
 
To pay for your examination by money order or company check (personal checks, vouchers and 
purchase orders are not accepted), complete the examination registration form and include your 
examination fee payable to PSI Services Inc. Mail to; PSI, 18000 West 105th Street, Olathe, KS 
66061-7543. 
 
Examination fees are not refundable or transferable and are valid for 12 months. 
 

http://www.goamp.com/
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You may schedule the examination by one of the following methods. Be prepared to confirm  
a date and location for testing. Individuals are scheduled on a first-come, first-served basis. 
 
Online Scheduling:  
You may schedule an examination appointment online at any time at www.goAMP.com.  
To use this service on our website, follow these easy steps: 
 

•  Go to www.goAMP.com and select “Candidates.”  

•  Follow the simple, step-by-step instructions to choose your examination program and 
register for the examination. Please have your credit card available for online payment  
of examination fees. 

 
Telephone Scheduling:  
Call PSI at 833-256-1420 to schedule an examination appointment. This toll free number is 
answered from 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m. (Central Time) Monday through Thursday, 7:00 a.m. to 
7:00 p.m. on Friday and 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. on Saturday. Please have your credit card 
available for payment of examination fees. 
 

If you contact PSI by 3:00 p.m. 
Central Time on… 

Depending on availability, your examination  
may be scheduled beginning… 

Monday Wednesday 

Tuesday Thursday 

Wednesday Friday/Saturday 

Thursday Monday 

Friday/Saturday Tuesday 

 
 
Examination Rescheduling 

You may reschedule your examination once at no charge if you contact PSI at least two 
business days prior to your scheduled examination appointment online at www.goAMP.com  
or by calling PSI at 833-256-1420. The following schedule applies: 
 

If your examination is scheduled on… You must contact PSI by 3:00 p.m. 
Central Time to reschedule the examination 

by the previous… 

Monday Wednesday 

Tuesday Thursday 

Wednesday Friday/Saturday 

Thursday Monday 

Friday/Saturday Tuesday 

   

Missed Appointments / Forfeitures 

You will forfeit the examination registration and all fees paid under the following circumstances. 

• You wish to reschedule an examination but fail to contact PSI at least two business days 
prior to the scheduled testing session. 

• You wish to reschedule a second time. 

• You appear more than 15 minutes late for an examination, or 

• You fail to report for an examination appointment. 

http://www.goamp.com/
http://www.goamp.com/
http://www.goamp.com/
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Inclement Weather/Power Failure/Other Emergency 

In the event of inclement weather or unforeseen emergencies on the day of an examination, PSI 
will determine whether circumstances warrant the cancellation, and subsequent rescheduling, of 
an examination. The examination will usually not be rescheduled if the Test Center personnel 
are able to open the Test Center.  
 
You may visit www.goAMP.com prior to the examination to determine if PSI has been advised 
that any Test Centers are closed. Every attempt is made to administer the examination as 
scheduled; however, should an examination be canceled at a Test Center, all scheduled 
candidates will receive notification following the examination regarding rescheduling or 
reapplication procedures. 
 
If power to a Test Center is temporarily interrupted during an administration, your examination 
will be restarted. The responses provided up to the point of interruption will be intact. 
 
Identification 

To gain admission to the Test Center, you must present two forms of identification. The 
primary form must be government issued, current and include your name, signature and 
photograph. No form of temporary identification will be accepted. You will also be required to 
sign a roster for verification of identity. 
 
• Examples of valid primary forms of identification are current: driver's license with 

photograph; state identification card with photograph; passport; military identification 
card with photograph. 

• The secondary form of identification must display your name and signature for signature 

verification (e.g., credit card with signature, social security card with signature, 
employment/student ID card with signature). 

• If your name on your registration is different than it appears on your identification, you 

must bring proof of your name change (e.g., marriage license, divorce decree or court 
order). 

 

You must have proper identification to gain admission to the Test Center. Failure to 

provide appropriate identification at the time of the examination is considered a missed 

appointment. There will be no refund of your testing fee. 

Security 

PSI administration and security standards are designed to ensure all candidates are provided 
the same opportunity to demonstrate their abilities. The Test Center is continuously monitored 
by audio and video surveillance equipment for security purposes. 
 
The following security procedures apply during the examination: 

• Examinations are proprietary. No cameras, notes, tape recorders, pagers or cellular/smart 
phones are allowed in the testing room. Possession of a cellular/smart phone or other 
electronic devices is strictly prohibited and will result in dismissal from the examination. 

• Only silent, non-programmable calculators without alphabetic keypads or printing capabilities 
are allowed in the testing room. 

• No guests, visitors or family members are allowed in the testing room or reception areas. 

http://www.goamp.com/
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Personal Belongings 

No personal items, valuables, or weapons should be brought to the Test Center. Only wallets 
and keys are permitted. Coats must be left outside the testing room. You will be provided a soft 
locker to store your wallet and/or keys with you in the testing room. You will not have access to 
these items until after the examination is completed. Please note the following items will not be 
allowed in the testing room except securely locked in the soft locker. 
 

 watches 

 hats 

 wallets 

 keys 
 
Once you have placed everything into the soft locker, you will be asked to pull out your pockets 
to ensure they are empty. If all personal items will not fit in the soft locker you will not be able to 
test. The site will not store any personal belongings. If any personal items are observed or 
heard (e.g., cellular/smart phones, alarms) in the testing room after the examination is started, 
the administration will be forfeited. 

Examination Restrictions 

 Pencils and ABC’s standard formula sheet will be provided during check-in. 

 You will be provided with one piece of scratch paper at a time to use during the examination, 
unless noted on the sign-in roster for a particular candidate. You must return the scratch 
paper to the supervisor at the completion of testing, or you will not receive your score report. 

 No documents or notes of any kind may be removed from the Test Center.  

 No questions concerning the content of the examination may be asked during the 
examination. 

 Eating, drinking or smoking will not be permitted in the Test Center. 

 You may take a break whenever you wish, but you will not be allowed additional time to 
make up for time lost during breaks. 

Misconduct 

If you engage in any of the following conduct during the examination you may be dismissed, 
your scores will not be reported and examination fees will not be refunded. Examples of 
misconduct are when you: 

 create a disturbance, are abusive, or otherwise uncooperative; 

 display and/or use electronic communications equipment such as pagers, cellular/smart 
phones; 

 talk or participate in conversation with other examination candidates; 

 give or receive help or are suspected of doing so; 

 leave the Test Center during the administration; 

 attempt to record examination questions or make notes; 

 attempt to take the examination for someone else; 

 are observed with personal belongings, or  

 are observed with notes, books or other aids without it being noted on the roster. 
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Taking the Examination 

Report to the Test Center no later than your scheduled appointment time. Look for signs 
indicating PSI Test Center Check-in. If you arrive more than 15 minutes after the scheduled 
testing time you will not be admitted. You may bring a non-programmable calculator to the 
examination. Calculators with printing capabilities, full alphabetic keypads or built into 
cellular/smart phones are not permitted in the Test Center. 
 
Computer Login 

After your identification has been confirmed, you will be directed to a testing carrel. You will be 
instructed on-screen to enter your identification number. Your photograph, taken before 
beginning the examination, will remain on-screen throughout your examination session. This 
photograph will also print on your score report. 

 
Practice Examination 

Prior to attempting the examination, you will be given the opportunity to practice taking an 
examination on the computer. The time you use for this practice examination is NOT counted as 
part of your examination time or score. When you are comfortable with the computer testing 
process, you may quit the practice session and begin the timed examination. 
 
Timed Examination 

Before beginning the examination, instructions for taking the examination are provided on- 
screen. The computer monitors the time you spend on the examination. The examination will 
terminate if you exceed the time allowed. You may click on the “Time” box in the lower menu 
bar on the screen to monitor your time. A digital clock indicates the time remaining for you to 
complete the examination. The Time feature may be turned off during the examination. 
 
Only one examination question is presented at a time. The question number appears in the 
lower right portion of the screen. Choices of answers to the examination question are identified 
as A, B, C, or D. You must indicate your choice by either typing in the letter in the response box 
in the lower left portion of the computer screen or clicking on the option using the mouse. To 
change your answer, enter a different option by typing in the letter in the response box or by 
clicking on the option using the mouse. You may change your answer as many times as you 
wish during the examination time limit. 
 
To move to the next question, click on the forward arrow (>) in the lower right portion of the 
screen. This action will move you forward through the examination question by question. If you 
wish to review any question or questions, click the backward arrow (<) or use the left arrow key 
to move backward through the examination. 
 
An examination question may be left unanswered for return later in the examination session. 
Questions may also be bookmarked for later review by clicking in the blank square to the right of 
the Time button. Click on the double arrows (>>) to advance to the next unanswered or 
bookmarked question on the examination. To identify all unanswered and bookmarked 
questions, repeatedly click on the double arrows (>>). When the examination is completed, the 
number of examination questions answered is reported. If not all questions have been answered 
and there is time remaining, return to the examination and answer those questions. 
 
Candidate Comments 

During the examination, comments may be provided for any question by clicking on the 
Comment button to the left of the Time button. This opens a dialogue box where comments may 
be entered. Comments will be reviewed, but individual responses will not be provided. 
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Following the Examination 

After completing the examination, you are asked to answer a short evaluation of your 
examination experience. Then, you are instructed to report to the examination proctor to receive 
your score report.  

 
If You Pass the Examination 

Once a candidate passes the examination, he/she will receive a score report at the testing 
center indicating that the candidate has passed the examination. This information will be 
simultaneously transmitted to the Water and Wastewater Operator Certification staff, and the 
candidate will be mailed their official certification within 4-6 weeks. Certification staff will be 
able to verify that a candidate has passed the exam for employers, but the information will not 
appear on the TDEC website immediately. 

 
If You Fail the Examination 

Candidates who fail the examination will be given a score report at the testing center indicating 
they have failed the examination. It is important to note that scores are not finalized until the 
Water and Wastewater Operator Certification Board reviews all the challenged questions at its 
next regularly scheduled meeting following the examination. On occasion, some challenged 
questions are thrown out by the board which may improve an individual candidate’s score. 
Candidates will receive a final score determination letter and information regarding 
reapplication if applicable following the Board’s meeting.  
 
Failing to Report for an Examination 

If you fail to report for an examination, you will forfeit the registration and all fees paid to PSI  
to take the examination. Candidates who fail to appear for an examination that they have 
scheduled will need to register on a form provided by the Board in order to take the next 
regularly scheduled exam.   

Confidentiality 

Information about candidates for testing and their examination results are considered 
confidential. Studies and reports concerning candidates will contain no information identifiable 
with any candidate, unless authorized by the candidate. 

Duplicate Score Report 

Requests for a duplicate score report must be made in writing to PSI within one year of the 
examination date. The request must include the candidate’s name, mailing address, telephone 
number, date of examination and examination taken. Submit this information along with a fee of 
$25.00 payable to PSI Services Inc. by cashier’s check or money order. Duplicate score reports 
will be processed and mailed within approximately five business days following receipt of the 
request. 
 


