Eﬁviroﬁment &
.Conservation

The Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation (TDEC) has jurisdiction over certain site activities that may impact air, land or water quality.* Permits and otherapprovals are designed to ensure
that Tennesseebusinesses and communities have access to high quality environmentalresources now andin the future. Without specific details of a project, it is difficult to identify necessary permits; however,
descriptions of TDEC permits that may be applicable in a business recruitment circumstance follow. For complex and significant projects TDEC encourages applicants to engage in pre-application meetings with
its divisions.

State Environmental Permitting Overview for Industry Recruitment

Generally, permit applications first undergo completeness review and determination followed by the actual permit writing and issuance process, which may by law require public notice. A number of permitting
factors vary considerably based on permit type as well as scope, complexity, location, and scale of proposed activities, including but not limited to:

e Issuance timetable

e Public notice and/or public hearing

e Duration of permit coverage

o Application fees

e Materials required to be deemed complete
If circumstances warranta public hearing, TDEC is required to circulate public notice for the hearing no less than 30 days in advance.

Air
APPLICATION
REQUIREMENT TIMING REGULATED ACTIVITY PUBLIC NOTICE ISSUANCE TIMETABLE NOTES
Construction 90 days prior to Construction of an air e  For aminor source, once an application has been e Under state regulation, a construction o Alist of activities that may occur prior to
Permit commencement of contaminant source or deemed complete, a public notice is issued with a 30- permit for a minor source must be issued issuance of a major source construction
on-site construction modification of an day comment period. An informal public meeting within 115 days after receipt of a complete permit is available on TDEC’s website.?
for minor sources. existing air contaminant may be held if requested but is not required by law application. e Achange in location usually requiresa
120 days prior to source or regulation. e For major source applications, the permit is new construction permit application.
commencement of e For a major source, a public notice with a 30-day to beissued within 180 days after receipt e Typically valid for one year.
on-site construction comment period is issued once a draft permit and of a complete application unless a longer
for major sources. preliminary determination is made that the permit time periodis agreedto in writing by the
can be issued. An informal public meeting may be applicant.
held if requested but is not required by law or
regulation.

1 This document is intended to reflect potential state environmental permits or approvals which might be required for new business recruitment, however, is not exhaustive. Additionally, this document does not reflectlocal
approvals which may be required from counties or municipalities.
2 https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/environment/air/documents/apc_permit-docs/apc_Construction-Activities-Prior-to-Permit-Issuance sep-5-2019.pdf.



https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/environment/air/documents/apc_permit-docs/apc_Construction-Activities-Prior-to-Permit-Issuance_sep-5-2019.pdf
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Operating
Permit

In preparation for or
after start of
operation

(see notes for
additional detail)

Operation of an air
contaminant source

For a major source, a public notice with a 30-day
comment period is issued once a draft permit and
preliminary determination is made that the permit
can be issued. A public hearing on the permit may be
held if requested.

For a minor source, once an application has been
deemed complete, a public notice with a 30-day
comment period is issued.

A minor source operating permit is typically
issued within 270 to 360 days of receipt of
a complete operating permit application.

A major source operating permit is typically
issued within 18 months of receipt of a
complete major source permit application.

A start-up notification and air quality
operating permit application must be
submitted within 30 days of start-up for a
minor source or within 60 days following
completion of a stack test if one is
required.

For major sources, a major source
operating permit application must be
submitted within 360 days of start-up.
An applicant may operate under the
authority and conditions of their
construction permit provided that a
start-up notification and operating
permit application is submitted within
the required time frame and the
applicant complies with the
requirements of the construction permit.
Minor area source operating permits
usually valid for 10 years.

Additional permittinginformation available at https://www.tn.gov/environment/program-areas/apc-air-pollution-control-home/apc/permit-air-home.html.

Water
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PUBLIC NOTICE
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NOTES

National
Pollutant
Discharge
Elimination
System
(NPDES)
Stormwater
Construction
Permit

30 days prior to
Construction

Construction activity
disturbing one or more
acres or less than one
acre but partof a
common plan of
development.
Disturbance of greater
than 50 acres require an
individual permit if
construction activities
cannot be phased.

For an individual permit, a public notice is issued on
the TDEC web site and distributed via the Division of
Water Resources’ mailing list. The applicant must
also place a division-approved legal notice in a local
newspaper and post a placard near the projectsite. A
public hearing on the permit may be held if
requested.

For activities qualifying under a general
permit, notice of coverage sent to the
applicant within 30 days of receivinga
complete notice of intent and Storm Water
Pollution Prevention Plan.

For activities requiringan individual permit,
issuance may take up to 180 days after
receiptof a complete application.

Notice of intent must be submitted at
least 30 days prior to work
commencing.

Notice of Termination required when
site is stabilized.



https://www.tn.gov/environment/program-areas/apc-air-pollution-control-home/apc/permit-air-home.html
https://www.tn.gov/environment/program-areas/apc-air-pollution-control-home/apc/permit-air-home.html

REQUIREMENT

APPLICATION
TIMING

REGULATED ACTIVITY

PUBLIC NOTICE

ISSUANCE TIMETABLE

NOTES

Aquatic
Resource
Alteration
Permit
(ARAP)/Section
401
Certification

90 days prior to
Construction

Activity that results in
the physical alteration of
waters — streams, rivers,
lakes, or wetlands — of
the State.

General permit vs
individual permit
dependentupon size of
each type of alteration.

For an individual permit, public notice with a 30-day
comment period issued on the TDEC web site and
distributed via mailing list. The applicant must also
place a division-approved legal notice in a local
newspaper and post a placard near the projectsite.
During the public comment period, a public hearing
must be held if requested.

For activities qualifying under a general
permit, notice of coverage is issued within
30 days.

For an individual permit application, the
division must take action to issue ordeny a
permit within 90 days after receiptof a
completed application or the fee can be
refunded.

Listing of activities covered by general
permit available TDEC’s website.
Individual permit may require
mitigation to offset impacts to waters of
the state.

In most cases, individual permits are
processed in less than 90 days.

A federal §404 permit may also be
required from the U.S. Army Corps of
Engineers for projects that include the
discharge of dredged or fill material into
waters of the U.S. including wetlands.
When a §404 permit is required from
the Corps, a §401 certification must first
be obtained from TDEC.

Notice of Termination required when
site is stabilized.

Discharge
permits
through
publicly owned
treatment
works (POTW)

Prior to Operation

Discharge (other than
domestic sewage) into
local POTW system.

Publicly owned treatment works
standards and requirementsare
specifiedin local sewer ordinances.
Contact municipality.

NPDES
Individual
Permit

180 to 90 days prior

to Operation,

depending on activity

type.

Discharge of pollutants
directly from point
sourcesinto surface
waters of the state.

A public notice with a 30-day comment period is
issued once a draft permit and preliminary
determination is made that the permit can be issued.
A public hearing on the permit may be held if
requested.

A major facility (>1 million gallons of
wastewater per day) permit must be issued

within 1 year of receiptof a complete permit

application.

A minor facility (<1 million gallons of
wastewater per day) permit must beissued
within 180 days of receiptof a complete
permit application.

A complete application for a new
discharge will require engineering
documentation detailing why the option
to discharge to a POTW is not feasible
and must provide sufficient detail about
the proposed discharge and likely
impacts to water quality. Water quality
modeling may be required for oxygen
demanding pollutants (BOD5, CBODS,
ammonia).




APPLICATION

REQUIREMENT TIMING REGULATED ACTIVITY PUBLIC NOTICE ISSUANCE TIMETABLE NOTES
State 180 days priorto Operation of a sewage, e A public notice with a 30-day comment period is Prior to application, discussion must be held Examples might include pump and haul
Operating Operation industrial waste or other issued once a draft permit and preliminary with Division of Water Resources. system operation, temporary collection
Permit waste treatment system determination is made that the permit can be issued. Application must be submitted at least 180 and holding of wastewater, or land
that does not discharge A public hearing on the permit may be held if days prior to starting any new activity. application by spray or drip irrigation
to surface or subsurface requested. Permit issuance typically takes between 5
waters. and 9 months.
Tennessee Prior to Operation Stormwater runofffrom For activities qualifying under a general Individual permit is also an option
Multi-Sector e Notice of Intent an industrial activity. permit, notice of coverage sent to the
Permit (TSMP) for TSMP must applicant within 30 days of receivinga
(NPDES be submitted at complete notice of intent and Storm Water
Industrial least 5 days prior Pollution Prevention Plan.
Stormwater to beginning
Permit) industrial
activity.

Additional permittinginformation available at https://www.tn.gov/environment/permit-permits/water-permits.html.

Solid & Hazardous Waste
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REGULATED ACTIVITY

PUBLIC NOTICE

ISSUANCE TIMELINE

NOTES

Special Waste
Approval

Prior to disposal

Disposal or processing
of special wastes.

Approval typically received within 30 days of
receiptof a completed request.

Will need recertification every three
years.

Special wastes are solid wastes that are
either difficult or dangerous to manage
and may include sludges, bulky wastes,
pesticide wastes, medical wastes,
industrial wastes, hazardous wastes
which are not subject to regulations
under Rule 0400-12-01-.03 through
0400-12-01-.07, liquid wastes, friable
asbestos wastes, and combustion
wastes.

Hazardous
Waste Permit

Prior to operation

Treatment, storage, or
disposal of a hazardous
waste (not under
generator exclusions)

Multiple public notices
Public hearing may be held if requested

14 to 25 months depending on type of
facility, community involvement, public
hearings, revisions, etc.

Two-part application process.
A facility may also be requiredto get an
EPA ID number



https://www.tn.gov/environment/permit-permits/water-permits.html
https://www.tn.gov/environment/permit-permits/water-permits.html
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ISSUANCE TIMELINE

NOTES

Solid Waste
Permit-by-Rule

Prior to operation

Change to the chemical
or physical
characteristics of a
solid waste by a solid
waste processing
facility. Other activities
that must have a
Permit-by-Rule are coal
ash fill areas, tire
storage facilities,
convenience centers
and transfer stations.

Some PBRs may require public notice

Approval typically received within 60 days of
areceipt of a completed request.

Multiple operations at the same
location can operate under one permit.

Notification of
Hazardous
Waste Activity

Within 90 days of
initial generation of
hazardous waste

Generation of 100 kg
(220 1bs.) of hazardous
waste or more or more
than 1 kg (2.2 Ibs.) of
acutely hazardous
waste generated in a
month. Generators of
less than above
quantities are not
required to notify but
are encouragedto do
SO.

Annual report requirementfor Small
and Large Quantity Generators
Annual report encouraged for Very
Small Quantity Generators, but not
required.

Additional permittinginformation available at https://www.tn.gov/environment/permit-permits/waste-permits0.html.

There are severalways an applicant can ensure efficient processing of permit applications, including:
e Turningin a complete application
e Having a defined plantlayout
e Communicatingregularly with the agency
e Communicating early and regularly with impacted community

Early engagement with EPA if necessary, for permit type (specificto certain air related permits)

e Runningconcurrent public notices
e Accurate estimate/quantification of emissions for facility

The National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) requires federalagencies and those working on behalf of federal agencies to considerimpacts of proposed actions and reasonable alternatives to those actions
through the preparation of an environmentalassessment (EA), environmentalimpact statement (EIS), or determination of a categorical exclusion (CE). TDEC participatesin the NEPA process by reviewing and



https://www.tn.gov/environment/permit-permits/waste-permits0.html
https://www.tn.gov/environment/permit-permits/waste-permits0.html

commentingon NEPA documents prepared by federalagencies (i.e., "cooperatingagency"). The state of Tennessee does not have regulatory requirements establishing a state-level comprehensive
environmentalreview process for projects, similar to some states, like California and Connecticut. If your projectis subjectto NEPA requirements, you can submit NEPA documents for review to TDEC by visiting
the NEPA Comment Request Portal page and fully completing the submittal information — https://www.tn.gov/environment/program-areas/opsp-policy-and-sustainable-practices/policy/opsp-national-
environmental-policy-act-at-tdec.html.

Additionally, TDEC’s Small Business Environmental Assistance Program (SBEAP) provides non-regulatory, confidential, and multi-media assistance to help Tennessee small businesses understand and comply
with environmental regulations. Additional information about SBEAP is available at https://www.tn.gov/environment/program-areas/sbeap-small-business-environmental-assistance.html.
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