
SURFACE MINING STATUTES RELATED TO FINANCIAL ASSURANCE 

 

(NOTE: The information contained in this document was current as of July 2012 but is subject to 

change without notice. It is provided here only as a convenience. For the most complete and up-

to-date legal information, please access Tennessee Code Annotated here.) 

 

 

59-8-207. Performance bonds. 

 

(a) The bond filed with the commissioner shall be payable to the state of Tennessee and shall be 

executed by the operator and a corporate surety that is approved by the commissioner and 

properly authorized to act as corporate surety and licensed to do business in this state; provided, 

however, that the operator may elect to deposit cash, irrevocable letters of credit or certificates of 

deposit with the state treasurer in lieu of a corporate surety if the instruments are executed in 

accordance with guidelines set forth by the commissioner. The state treasurer shall receive and 

hold the deposits in the name of the state of Tennessee, in trust, for the purposes for which the 

deposit is made and shall at all times be responsible for the custody and safekeeping of the 

deposits. The operator making the deposit shall be entitled from time to time to demand and 

receive from the treasurer, on the written order of the commissioner, the whole or any portion of 

any instruments so deposited upon depositing with the treasurer, in lieu of the deposits, other 

instruments of the classes specified in this section having a value at least equal to the sum of the 

bond or instrument and also to demand and recover any interest income from instruments as the 

interest becomes due and payable. 

 

(b) The bond or cash deposit or marketable value of the securities, which shall be conditioned 

upon the faithful performance of the provisions of this part, shall not be less than six hundred 

dollars ($600) for each estimated acre or fraction thereof affected by the respective operation. 

Liability under such bond shall be continuous until the reclamation provisions of this part have 

been fulfilled. The amount of the bond shall be increased or decreased to take account of any 

change in the acreage covered by the permit as provided in § 59-8-205(a)(2). 

 

(c) In those counties requiring a performance bond of two thousand dollars ($2,000) or more per 

acre, the operator may at the operator's option present evidence of such bond to the 

commissioner in lieu of filing a bond with the commissioner. The commissioner may in the 

commissioner's discretion accept such evidence of the existence of such a performance bond in 

lieu of a bond filed with the commissioner. However, if the bond is released by county 

authorities prior to such time as the commissioner would normally release all or part of it, the 

commissioner may require a new performance bond to be filed as required by this section. 

 

(d) No performance bond shall be charged for land upon which overburden is deposited if, in the 

opinion of the commissioner, the deposition of such overburden amounts to reclamation of a 

previously mined area. 
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59-8-211. Notice of noncompliance -- Forfeiture of bond. 

 

(a) If any of the requirements of this part or rules and regulations adopted pursuant thereto or the 

orders of the commissioner have not been complied with within the time limits set by the 

commissioner or by this part, the commissioner shall cause a notice of noncompliance to be 

served upon the operator, or, where found necessary, the commissioner shall order suspension of 

a permit. Such notice or order shall be handed to the operator in person or served by certified 

mail addressed to the permanent address shown on the application for a permit. The notice of 

noncompliance or order of suspension shall specify in what respects the operator has failed to 

comply with this chapter or the regulations or orders of the commissioner. 

 

(b) If the operator has not reached an agreement with the commissioner or has not complied with 

the requirements set forth in the notice of noncompliance or order of suspension within time 

limits set therein, the permit may be revoked by order of the commissioner and the performance 

bond shall then be forfeited to the commissioner. When a bond is forfeited pursuant to the 

provisions of this part, the commissioner shall give notice to the attorney general who shall 

collect the forfeiture. 

 

59-8-408. Bond requirements. 

 

(a) (1) When an application is submitted, the applicant shall file with the commissioner, on a 

form prescribed and furnished by the commissioner, a bond payable to the state of Tennessee, in 

penal sum, and conditioned on the faithful performance of the provisions of the applicant's 

permit. 

 

(2) The bond shall cover that area of land within the permit area upon which the operator will 

initiate and conduct coal surface mining and reclamation operations. 

 

(3) The bond shall be executed by the operator and a corporate surety who is approved by the 

commissioner and properly authorized to act as such surety and licensed to do business in the 

state of Tennessee; provided, however, that the operator may elect to deposit cash or negotiable 

certificates of deposit assigned irrevocably to the state, or negotiable United States treasury 

bonds or negotiable general obligation municipal or corporate bonds, which municipal or 

corporate bonds have the highest rating by Moody's and/or Standard and Poor's rating services, 

with the treasurer of the state of Tennessee in lieu of a corporate surety. 

 

(4) The treasurer shall receive and hold such deposits in the name of the state of Tennessee, in 

trust, for the purposes for which such deposit is made, and shall at all times be responsible for the 

custody and safekeeping of such deposits. 

 

(5) The operator making the deposit shall be entitled from time to time to demand and receive 

from the treasurer, on the written order of the commissioner, the whole or any portion of any 

securities so deposited, upon depositing with the treasurer, in lieu thereof, other negotiable 

securities of the classes herein specified having a market value at least equal to the sum of the 

bond, and also to demand and recover the interest income from the securities as the same 

becomes due and payable; provided, however, that the treasurer, at the request of the operator, 



shall convert such securities into such other negotiable securities of the classes herein specified 

as may be designated by the operator. 

 

(b) The amount of bond or cash deposit or marketable value of the securities shall be ten 

thousand dollars ($10,000). Liability under each bond shall be continuous until the reclamation 

provisions of this part and regulations have been fulfilled. 

 

(c) Local governmental entities and state agencies may execute their own bonds as surety. 

 

 

59-8-414. Release of bond. 

 

(a) The commissioner may release all or part of the bond or deposit when the commissioner is 

satisfied that the reclamation covered by the bond or deposit or portion thereof has been 

accomplished as required by this part. Releases and partial releases shall be accomplished as 

follows: 

 

(1) When the operator completes the backfilling, regrading, topsoiling, drainage control, site 

preparation, soil treatments, mulching, and initial planting of the vegetative cover in accordance 

with the approved plan as noted on a completion report, the commissioner shall issue to the 

operator and the operator's surety a partial release of seventy percent (70%) of the bond. The 

remaining bond shall be held for one (1) year, at a minimum, to assure that all reclamation 

requirements have been successfully met. 

 

(2) The permittee shall not be denied access to the mining site for the purposes of completing or 

maintaining reclamation work because of the expiration of the permittee's lease, until all of the 

permittee's performance bond has been released. 

 

(b) If the commissioner disapproves the application for release of the bond or portion thereof, the 

commissioner shall notify the permittee and the permittee's surety, stating the reasons for 

disapproval and recommending specific corrective actions necessary to secure the release, and 

allowing the permittee an opportunity for a hearing before the board of reclamation review 

[repealed. See the Compiler's Notes]. This notice and recommendation shall be handed to the 

operator in person, or served by certified mail addressed to the permanent address shown on the 

application for a permit. The notice shall specify in what respects the operator has failed to 

comply with this part, or the regulations of the commissioner. 

 

59-8-416. Permit revocation and bond forfeiture proceedings. 

 

(a) Whenever the commissioner determines that remedial action required by any notice of 

noncompliance or cease order is not being carried out satisfactorily, the commissioner may 

revoke the permit and commence bond forfeiture proceedings consistent with this section. The 

commissioner shall recommend such proceedings whenever the remedial action required under a 

cease order issued pursuant to § 59-8-415(a) is not satisfactorily completed within sixty (60) 

days of issuance of the cease order. 

 



(b) (1) Permit revocation and bond forfeiture proceedings shall be commenced by issuing a 

notice of intent to revoke the permit and forfeit the bond. 

 

(2) The notice shall be sent to the permittee and the permittee's surety. 

 

(3) The permittee or the permittee's surety may request a public informal meeting with the 

commissioner or the commissioner's designee to review the notice of intent. Such meeting must 

be requested within ten (10) days of receipt of the notice or the meeting will not be held. 

 

(4) All such meetings must be held within twenty (20) days of receipt of the request. 

 

(c) If a person fails to timely request an informal meeting pursuant to subsection (b), the notice 

of intent shall become the final order of permit revocation and bond forfeiture. 

 

(d) After conducting an informal meeting pursuant to subsection (b), the commissioner or the 

commissioner's designee may take any of the following actions: 

 

(1) Issue a final order of permit revocation and bond forfeiture; 

 

(2) Withdraw revocation and forfeiture proceedings; or 

 

(3) Enter into an agreement with the permittee or the permittee's surety for complete reclamation, 

under the following conditions: 

 

(A) No such agreement may exceed thirty (30) days for backfilling, grading, and initial seeding; 

and 

 

(B) If the commissioner or the commissioner's designee determines that the agreement is not 

being complied with, either person may issue a final order of permit revocation and bond 

forfeiture. 

 

(e) When a notice of intent to revoke the permit and forfeit the bond becomes final because of 

failure to appeal, or if the commissioner issues a final order to revoke the permit and forfeit the 

bond, the permittee shall immediately tender or cause to be tendered the bond to the 

commissioner. 

 

(f) (1) Any person, who is aggrieved by a final order of revocation and forfeiture, may appeal the 

decision to the board of reclamation review pursuant to § 59-8-321(g) [repealed. See the 

Compiler's Notes]. 

 

(2) Such person shall make a request for appeal and tender the amount of the bond to the 

commissioner within thirty (30) days from service of the final order. 

 

(3) If the bond is other than cash, the bond must be converted to cash and deposited with the 

commissioner. 

 



(4) Failure to request an appeal and submit the bond amount within thirty (30) days shall result in 

a waiver of all rights to contest the permit revocation and bond forfeiture and any underlying 

violations which may have led to the revocation and forfeiture. 

 

(g) (1) After the permit is revoked and the bond is forfeited, the commissioner may collect the 

bond. If judicial action is required to collect the bond, it shall be the duty of the attorney general 

and reporter upon request of the commissioner to take appropriate action to collect the bond. 

 

(2) All proceeds from the bonds shall be placed in the surface mining reclamation fund 

established in § 59-8-326. 

 

(h) The commissioner is authorized once the bond is tendered or otherwise collected to use the 

proceeds for such reclamation as is necessary, regardless of whether or not an appeal is requested 

or hearing is pending. If, through administrative or judicial review, it is determined that no 

violation occurred or that the bond should otherwise be released, the commissioner shall within 

thirty (30) days remit the appropriate amount to the operator, with interest, at the rate of six 

percent (6%) or at the prevailing department of treasury rate, whichever is greater. 


