Tennessee Archaeological Advisory Council January 17, 2020 1:30 p.m.

Tennessee Room, James Union Building Middle Tennessee State University Murfreesboro, Tennessee

AGENDA

Opening Remarks

Dr. Karen Petersen Dean, College of Liberal Arts, MTSU

Council Introductions

• Reports by Members

University of Tennessee System University of Memphis Middle Tennessee State University East Tennessee State University Vanderbilt University Native American Representatives

Public-at-Large Amateur Archaeological Organizations Tennessee Historical Commission Dr. Jan Simek Dr. David Dye Dr. Kevin Smith Dr. Chris Widga Dr. Betsey Robinson Ms. Cindy Yahola Dr. Rex Weeks Mr. Jeremy Kaunisto Ms. Lauren Webb Ms. Georgia Dennis Mr. Toye Heape

Dr. Kevin Smith-Chair

Division of Archaeology Report

FY19-20 Division Organization Chart

FY19-20 Budget

2019 Division Activities and Projects

Current NAGPRA Cases Ft. Loudoun David Davis Farm Chickasaw Nation inquiry

• Presentation to the Council on Hiring Process for State Archaeologist

- Open Discussion on Matters of Interest to the Council
- Comments from the Public

Michael C. Moore, State Archaeologist