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Notice of Rulemaking Hearing

Hearings will be conducted in the manner prescribed by the Uniform Administrative Procedures Act, T.C.A. § 4-5-204. For
questions and copies of the notice, contact the person listed below.

Agency/Board/Commission: Tennessee Air Pollution Control Board
Division: Air Pollution Control

Contact Person: Lacey J. Hardin

William R. Snodgrass Tennessee Tower
312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue, 15th Floor
Address: Nashville, Tennessee 37243

Phone: (615)532-0545
Email: Lacey.Hardin@tn.gov

Any Individuals with disabilities who wish to participate in these proceedings (to review these filings) and may
require aid to facilitate such participation should contact the following at least 10 days prior to the hearing:

ADA Contact: ADA Coordinator
William R. Snodgrass Tennessee Tower
312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue, 22nd Floor
Address: Nashville, Tennessee 37243
1-866-253-5827 (toll free) or 615-532-0200
Phone: Hearing impaired callers may use the TN Relay Service 1-800-848-0298

Email: Jennifer.Katzenmiller@tn.qgov

Hearing Location(s) (for additional locations, copy and paste table)

Address 1:  Conference Room D, 3" Floor
Address 2:  William R. Snodgrass Tennessee Tower
312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue
City: = Nashville, Tennessee

Zip: 37243
Hearing Date :  11/25/19
Hearing Time: 9:30 A M. _X CST/CDT __ EST/EDT

Additional Hearing Information:

If it is hard for you to read, speak, or understand English, TDEC may be able to provide translation or
interpretation services free of charge. Please contact (Lida Warden) at (615-532-0554) for more information.

Smoke opacity is an indicator of pollution in certain circumstances, and some regulated entities are required to
read smoke as part of proving compliance with the limitations in their permits. Smoke School is offered to industry
representatives, environmental consultants, and the general public, and certifies qualifying attendees in “reading”
the density of smoke (opacity). The Division has historically offered this course at a much lower cost than found in
the private sector, and the cost will still be lower after this change. The Department is proposing a revised initial
certification fee of $180.00 and a revised recertification fee of $150.00 for all attendees. Currently, the Department
charges a lower fee to attendees located within the state than is charged to attendees from outside the state.

Section 502(b)(3)(A) of the federal Clean Air Act (CAA) requires Tennessee, as a state approved by the
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Environmental Protection Agency (“EPA”) to administer a Title V major source operating permit program (“Title V
program”), to collect “an annual fee, or the equivalent over some other period, sufficient to cover all reasonable
(direct and indirect) costs required to develop and administer the permit program requirements[.]” To comply with
this requirement, the Department is proposing rule amendments that revise the magnitude of the dollar/ton ($/ton)
fees, the base fee, and the minimum fee for electric utility generating unit (‘EGU”) and non-EGU sources.

The Department is proposing that the increases take place over a two-year period, state fiscal years 2020-2021
and 2021-2022, to minimize the effects of the significant increases needed to continue funding the program as
required by the CAA. The Department is proposing the fee structure that it has determined to be adequate for
funding needs and the most responsive to comments received from stakeholders during the development
process. At the end of the two-year period the proposal increases the existing base fee of $4,000 to $6,000, the
existing minimum fee of $7,500 to $9,000, the dollar per ton for non-EGU sources from $33.50/ton allowable to
$50.00 and from $53.50/ton actual to $80.00, and the dollar per ton for EGU sources from $47.00/ton allowable to
$70.00 and from $75.00/ton actual to $112.00. In addition to the changes described above, the Division is
clarifying certain other provisions in Chapter 1200-03-26 that apply to all sources, including, but not limited to:

e Reuvising the payee for fee payments from “Division” to “State of Tennessee” throughout the chapter
¢ Correction of grammatical and typographical errors
e Revising current language to clarify application of the rules

There will be a public hearing before the Technical Secretary of the Tennessee Air Pollution Control Board for the
promulgation of amendments to the rule under the authority of Tennessee Code Annotated, section 68-201-105.
The comments received at this hearing will be distributed to the members of the Tennessee Air Pollution Control
Board for their review in regard to the proposed rule amendments. The hearing will be conducted in the manner
prescribed by the Uniform Administrative Procedures Act, compiled in Tennessee Code Annotated fitle 4, chapter
5, and will take place in Conference Room D of the William R. Snodgrass Tennessee Tower, 312 Rosa L. Parks
Avenue, 3rd Floor, Nashville, Tennessee 37243 on November 25, 2019.

Written comments not submitted at the public hearing will be included in the hearing record only if received by the
close of business on November 25, 2019, at the following address: Technical Secretary, Tennessee Air Pollution
Control Board, William R. Snodgrass Tennessee Tower, 312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue, 15th Floor, Nashville,
Tennessee 37243, )

Any individuals with disabilities who wish to participate in these proceedings or to review these filings should
contact the Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation to discuss any auxiliary aids or services
needed to facilitate such participation. Such initial contact may be in person, by writing, telephone, or other
means, and should be made no less than ten days prior to November 25, 2019 or the date such party intends to
review such filings, to allow time to provide such aid or service. Contact the Tennessee Department of
Environment and Conservation ADA Coordinator, William R. Snodgrass Tennessee Tower, 312 Rosa L. Parks
Avenue, 22nd Floor, Nashville, Tennessee 37243, (615) 532-0200. Hearing impaired callers may use the
Tennessee Relay Service (1-800-848-0298).

If you have any questions about the origination of these rule changes, you may contact Lacey J. Hardin at (615)
532-0545. For information about reviewing these documents, please contact Paul LaRock, William R. Snodgrass
Tennessee Tower, 312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue, 15th Floor, Nashville, Tennessee 37243, telephone (615) 532-
0093.

Revisions considered at this hearing may be adopted by the Tennessee Air Pollution Control Board under
Tennessee Code Annotated section 68-201-105, which gives the Board general authority to promulgate rules.

Materials concerning the proposed actions will be available at www.tn.gov/environment/topic/ppo-air and also for
public inspection during normal working hours starting on October 3, 2019, at the office of the Technical Secretary
and the public depositories listed below:

Air Pollution Control Division Pollution Control Division Air Pollution Control Division

15th Floor, WR Snodgrass TN Twr  Metropolitan Health Dept. Cookeville EFO

312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue 2500 Charlotte Avenue 1221 South Willow Avenue
Nashville, TN 37243 Nashville, TN 37209 Cookeville, TN 38506

Air Pollution Control Division Air Pollution Control Division Air Pollution Control Division
Knoxville EFO Johnson City EFO Jackson EFO
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3711 Middlebrook Pk., Suite 220 2305 Silverdale Road 1625 Hollywood Drive

Knoxville, TN 37921 Johnson City, TN 37601-2162 Jackson, TN 38305

Air Pollution Control Division Knox County Department of Air Pollution Control Program
Columbia EFO Air Quality Management Memphis /Shelby County Health Dept.
1421 Hampshire Pike 140 Dameron Avenue, Suite 242 814 Jefferson Avenue
Columbia, TN 38401 Knoxville, TN 37917 Memphis, TN 38105

Air Pollution Control Division Air Pollution Control Division Kingsport Public Library
Chattanooga EFO Nashville EFO 400 Broad Street

1301 Riverfront Parkway, Suite 206 711 R. S. Gass Boulevard Kingsport, TN 37660
Chattanooga, TN 37402 Nashville, TN 37243

Chattanooga-Hamilton County U.S. EPA, Region IV, c/o Mr. Scott Davis, Chief

Air Pollution Control Bureau APTMD - 12th Floor, Atlanta Federal Center

6125 Preservation Drive 61 Forsyth Street S.W.

Chattanooga, TN 37416 Atlanta, GA 30303

All persons interested in the air quality of the state of Tennessee are urged to attend and will be afforded the
opportunity to present testimony to the hearing officer regarding the promulgation of amendments to the rules.
Any person desiring to present lengthy comments should be prepared at the hearing to offer a written statement
to be incorporated into the record. Written statements not presented at the hearings will only be considered part
of the records if received by 4:30 p.m. CDT on November 25, 2019, at the office of the Technical Secretary,
Tennessee Air Pollution Control Board, William R. Snodgrass Tennessee Tower, 312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue, 15th
Floor, Nashville, Tennessee 37243.

Revision Type (check all that apply):
X Amendment

~ New
___ Repeal

Rule(s) (ALL chapters and rules contained in filing must be listed. If needed, copy and paste additional tables to
accommodate more than one chapter. Please enter only ONE Rule Number/Rule Title per row.)

Chapter Number = Chapter Title

1200-03-26 Administrative Fee Schedule
Rule Number Rule Title
1200-03-26-.01 Tennessee Visible Emission Evaluation Course Fees

1200-03-26-.02 Construction and Annual Emission Fees
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Place substance of rules and other info here. Statutory authority must be given for each rule change. For
information on formatting rules go to
https://sos.tn.gov/products/division-publications/rulemaking-guidelines.

Chapter 1200-03-26
Administrative Fee Schedule

Amendments

Paragraph (1) of Rule 1200-03-26-.01 Tennessee Visible Emissions Evaluation Course Fees is amended by
deleting it in its entirety and substituting instead the following:

M The effective date of the fee schedule in subparagraph (2)(b) of this rule shall be July 1, 2020. The fee
schedule in subparagraph (2)(a) of this rule continues to apply until June 30, 2020.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-202, et seq. and 68-201-105.

Paragraph (2) of Rule 1200-03-26-.01 Tennessee Visible Emissions Evaluation Course Fees is amended by
deleting it in its entirety and substituting instead the following:

(2) Fee schedules.
(a) Until June 30, 2020, the following course fees apply:

Initial Certification Tennessee Applicant $125.00
Recertification Tennessee Applicant $95.00

Initial Certification Out-of-State Applicant $175.00
Recertification Out-of-State Applicant $125.00

(b) Beginning July 1, 2020, the following course fees apply:

Initial Certification $180.00
Recertification $150.00

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-202, et seq. and 68-201-105.

Subparagraph (a) of paragraph (1) of Rule 1200-03-26-.02 Construction and Annual Emission Fees is amended
by deleting it in its entirety and substituting instead the following:

(a) It is the purpose of this rule to establish fees for sources subject to permitting pursuant to Division
1200-03 sufficient to supplement existing state and federal funding that covers reasonable costs
(direct and indirect) associated with the development, processing, and administration of the air
pollution control program. This will provide for better quality evaluation of the impact of air
emissions on the citizens of Tennessee, and timely permitting services for sources subject to
permitting requirements.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-201, et seq.; 4-5-202, et seq.; and 68-201-101, et seq.

Subpart (i) of part 5 of subparagraph (i) of paragraph (2) of Rule 1200-03-26-.02 Construction and Annual
Emission Fees is amended by deleting the language “subjected” and substituting instead the language “subject”
so that as amended the subpart shall read:

(iii) Any pollutant that is subject to any standard promulgated under section 111 of
the Federal Act;, provided, however, that any such pollutant shall not be a
regulated pollutant solely because the pollutant is a constituent of greenhouse
gases;

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-201, et seq.; 4-5-202, et seq.; and 68-201-101, et seq.

Part 12 of subparagraph (i) of paragraph (2) of Rule 1200-03-26-.02 Construction and Annual Emission Fees is
amended by deleting it in its entirety and substituting instead the following:
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12. Each hazardous air pollutant listed below actually emitted or allowed to be emitted from a
source subject to paragraph (11) of Rule 1200-03-09-.02.

CAS No. Chemical name
75070 Acetaldehyde
60355 Acetamide
75058 Acetonitrile
98862 Acetophenone
53963 2-Acetylaminofluorene
107028 Acrolein
79061 Acrylamide
79107 Acrylic acid
107131 Acrylonitrile
107051 Allyl chloride
92671 4-Aminobiphenyl
62533 Aniline
90040 o-Anisidine
1332214 Asbestos
71432 Benzene (including benzene from gasoline)
92875 Benzidine
98077 Benzotrichloride
100447 Benzyl chloride
92524 Biphenyl
117817 Bis(2-ethylhexyl)phthalate(DEHP)
542881 Bis(chloromethyl) ether
75252 Bromoform
106990 1,3-Butadiene
166627 Calcium cyanamide
133062 Captan
63252 Carbaryl
75150 Carbon disulfide
56235 Carbon tetrachloride
463581 Carbonyl sulfide
120809 Catechol
133904 Chloramben
57749 Chlordane
7782505 Chlorine
79118 Chloracetic acid
532274 2-Chloroacetophenone
108907 Chlorobenzene
510156 Chlorobenzilate
67663 Chloroform
107302 Chloromethyl methyl ether
126998 Chloroprene
1319773 Cresols/Cresylic acid (isomers and mixture)
95487 o-Cresol
108394 m-Cresol
106445 p-Cresol
98828 Cumene
94757 2,4-D, salts and esters
3547044 DDE
334883 Diazomethane
132649 Dibenzofurans
96128 1,2-Dibromo-3-chloropropane
84742 Dibutylphthalate
106467 1,4-Dichlorobenzene(p)
91941 3,3-Dichlorobenzidene
S$S5-7037 (October 2018) RDA 1693
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111444
542756
62737
111422
121697
64675
119904
60117
119937
79447
68122
57147
131113
77781
534521
51285
121142
123911
122667
106898
106887
140885
100414
51796
75003
106934
107062
107211
151564
75218
96457
75343
50000
76448
118741
87683
77474
67721
822060
680319
110543
302012
7647010
7664393
123319
78591
58899
108316
67561
72435
74839
74873
71556
60344
74884
108101
624839
80626
1634044

Dichloroethyl ether (Bis(2-chloroethyl)ether)
1,3-Dichloropropene

Dichlorvos

Diethanolamine

N,N-Diethyl aniline (N,N-Dimethylaniline)
Diethyl sulfate

3,3-Dimethoxybenzidine

Dimethyl aminoazobenzene
3,3'-Dimethylbenzidine

Dimethyl carbamoyl chloride

Dimethyl formamide

1,1-Dimethyl hydrazine

Dimethyl phthalate

Dimethyl sulfate

4 6-Dinitro-o-cresol, and salts
2,4-Dinitrophenol

2,4-Dinitrotoluene

1,4-Dioxane (1,4-Diethyleneoxide)
1,2-Diphenylhydrazine

Epichlorohydrin  (1-Chloro-2,3-epoxypropane)

1,2-Epoxybutane

Ethyl acrylate

Ethyl benzene

Ethyl carbamate (Urethane)

Ethyl Chloride (Chloroethane)
Ethylene dibromide (Dibromoethane)
Ethylene dichloride (1,2-Dichlorethane)
Ethylene glycol

Ethylene imine (Aziridine)

Ethylene oxide

Ethylene thiourea

Ethylidene dichloride (1,1-Dichloroethane)
Formaldehyde

Hepotachlor

Hexachlorobenzene
Hexachlorobutadiene
Hexachlorocyclepentadiene
Hexachloroethane
Hexamethylene-1,6-diisocyanate
Hexamethylphosphoramide

Hexane

Hydrazine

Hydrochloric acid

Hydrogen fluoride (Hydrofluoric acid)
Hydroquinone

Isophorone

Lindane (all isomers)

Maleic anhydride

Methanoi

Methoxychlor

Methyl bromide (Bromomethane)
Methyl chioride (Chloromethane)
Methyl chloroform (1,1,1-Trichloroethane)
Methyl hydrazine

Methyl iodide (lodomethane)

Methyl isobutyl ketone (Hexone)
Methyl isocyanate

Methyl methacrylate

Methyl tert butyl ether

6

RDA 1693



S$8-7037 (October 2018)

101144
75092
101688
101779
91203
98953
92933
100027
79469
684935
62759
59892
56382
82688
87865
108952
106503
75445
7803512
7723140
85449
1336363
1120714
57578
123386
114261
78875
75569
75558
91225
106514
100425
96093
1746016
79345
127184
7550450
108883
956807
584849
95534
8001352
120821
79005
79016
95954
88062
121448
1582098
540841
108054
593602
75014
75354
1330207
95476
108383
106423
0

0

0

4,4-Methylene bis(2-chloroniline)
Methylene chioride (Dichloromethane)
Methylene diphenyl diisocyanate (MDI)
4, 4-Methylenedianilne

Naphthaiene

Nitrobenzene

4-Nitrobiphenyl

4-Nitrophenol

2-Nitropropane
N-Nitroso-N-methylurea
N-Nitrosodimethylamine
N-Nitrosomorpholine

Parathion

Pentachloronitrobenzene (Quintobenzene)
Pentachlorophenaol

Phenol

p-Phenylenediamine

Phosgene

Phosphine

Phosphorus

Phthalic anhydride

Polychlorinated biphenyls (Arochlors)
1,3-Propane sultone
beta-Propiolactone

Propionaldehyde

Propoxur (Baygon)

Propylene dichloride (1,2-Dichloropropane)
Propylene oxide

1,2-Propylenimine (2-Methyl aziridine)
Quinoline

Quinone

Styrene

Styrene oxide
2,3,7,8-Tetrachlorodibenzo-p-dioxin
1,1,2,2-Tetrachloroethane
Tetrachoroethylene (Perchloroethylene)
Titanium tetrachloride

Toluene

2,4-Toluene diamine

2,4-Toluene diisocyanate

o-Toluidine

Toxaphene (chlorinated camphene)
1,2,4-Trichlorobenzene
1,1,2-Trichloroethane
Trichloroethylene
2,4,5-Trichlorophenol
2,4,6-Trichlorophenol

Triethylamine

Trifluralin

2,2,4-Trimethylpentane

Vinyl acetate

Viny! bromide

Vinyi chloride

Vinylidene chloride (1,1-Dichloroethylene)
Xylenes (isomers and mixture)
o-Xylenes

m-Xylenes

p-Xylenes

Antimony Compounds

Arsenic Compounds (inorganic including arsine)
Beryllium Compounds

RDA 1693
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Cadmium Compounds
Chromium Compounds
Cobalt Compounds
Coke Oven Emission1$

Cyanide comEoeunds

Gilycol ethers ,

Lead Compounds
Manganese Compounds
Mercury Compoungs

Fine mineral fibers
Nickel Compounds

Polycyclic Organic Matter

5
Radionuclides (including radon)
Selenium Compounds

OO O OO0 OO0 O OOOO

1 X'CN where X = H' or any other group where a formal dissociation may occur. For example KCN or Ca(CN)2

2 Include mono- and di-ethers of ethylene glycol, diethylene glycol, and triethylene glycol R-(OCH2CH2)n- OR’.

Where:

n=1,2,o0r3:

R = alkyl C7 or less; or

R = phenyl or alkyl substituted phenyl;

R’ =H or alkyl C7 or less; or

OR'’ consisting of carboxylic acid ester, sulfate, phosphate, nitrate, or sulfonate.

This action deletes each individual compound in a group called the surfactant alcohol ethoxylates and their
derivatives (SAED) from the glycol ethers category in the list of hazardous air pollutants (HAP) established by
section 112(b)(1) of the Clean Air Act (CAA).

3 Includes mineral fiber emissions from facilities manufacturing or processing glass, rock, or slag fibers (or other
mineral derived fibers) of average diameter 1 micrometer or less.

4 Includes organic compounds with more than or equal to 100-C which have a boiling point greater than or equal to
100-C

5 A type of atom which spontaneously undergoes radioactive decay.

6 The substance ethylene glycol monobutyl ether (EGBE, 2-Butoxyethanol) (Chemical Abstract Service (CAS)
Number 111-76-2) is deleted from the list of hazardous air pollutants established by 42 U.S.C. § 7412(b)(1).

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-201, et seq.; 4-5-202, et seq.; and 68-201-101, et seq.

Subparagraph (b) of paragraph (3) of Rule 1200-03-26-.02 Construction and Annual Emission Fees is amended
by deleting it in its entirety and substituting instead the following:

(b) All annual fees must be paid in full by the due dates specified in subparagraph (6)(c) and
paragraph (9) of this rule.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-201, et seq.; 4-5-202, et seq.; and 68-201-101, et seq.

Subparagraph (i) of paragraph (3) of Rule 1200-03-26-.02 Construction and Annual Emission Fees is amended by
deleting it in its entirety and substituting instead the following:

(i) Where more than one allowable emission limit is applicable to a regulated pollutant, the allowable
emissions for the regulated poliutants shall not be double counted.

1. Major sources subject to the provisions of paragraph (9) of this rule shall apportion their
emissions as follows to ensure that their fees are not double counted.

(i Sources that are subject to federally promulgated hazardous air pollutant
standards that can be imposed under Chapter 1200-03-11, Chapter 1200-03-31,
or Chapter 0400-30-38 will place such regulated emissions in the specific
hazardous air pollutant under regulation. If the poliutant is also in the family of
volatile organic compounds or the family of particulates, the poliutant shall not be
placed in that respective family category.
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(ii) A miscellaneous category of hazardous air pollutants shall be used for hazardous
air pollutants listed at part (2)(i)12 of this rule that do not have an allowable
emission standard under Chapter 1200-03-11, Chapter 1200-03-31, or Chapter
0400-30-38. A pollutant placed in this category shall not be subject to being
placed in any other category such as volatile organic compounds or particulates.

(iii) Each individual hazardous air pollutant and the miscellaneous category of
hazardous air pollutants is subject to the 4,000 ton cap provisions of
subparagraph (2)(i) of this rule.

(iv) Major sources that wish to pay annual fees for PM10 on an allowable emission
basis may do so if they have a specific PM10 allowable emission standard. If a
major source has a total particulate emission standard, but wishes to pay annual
fees on an actual PM10 emission basis, it may do so if the PM10 actual emission
levels are proven to the satisfaction of the Technical Secretary. The method to
demonstrate the actual PM10 emission levels must be made as part of the
source’s major source operating permit in advance in order to exercise this
option. The PM10 emissions reported under these options shall not be subject to
fees under the family of particulate emissions. The 4,000 ton cap provisions of
subparagraph (2)(i) of this rule shall also apply to PM10 emissions.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-201, et seq.; 4-5-202, et seq.; and 68-201-101, et seq.

Subparagraph (c) of paragraph (4) of Rule 1200-03-26-.02 Construction and Annual Emission Fees is amended
by deleting it in its entirety and substituting instead the following:

(c) The Division shall denote the date that all applications for construction permits are received in its
Nashville office. Applications received after 4:30 p.m. local time will be considered as being
received the next working day.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-201, et seq.; 4-5-202, et seq.; and 68-201-101, et seq.

Subparagraph (d) of paragraph (4) of Rule 1200-03-26-.02 Construction and Annual Emission Fees is amended
by deleting it in its entirety and substituting instead the following:

(d) Upon receipt of a construction permit application, the Division must examine it to ensure that it is
complete within 30 days. If the application is found to be incomplete, parts 1 through 4 of this
subparagraph apply. The 30 days completeness evaluation time period is extended to 90 days for
minor and conditional major sources of the nonattainment pollutant or its precursor pollutants as
identified in part (4)(b)47 of Rule 1200-03-09-.01 located within the boundary of a nonattainment
area so designated by the Board and/or the United States Environmental Protection Agency.

1.

4.
SS§-7037 (October 2018)

If an application for a construction permit is determined to be incomplete, the Division
must notify the applicant in writing via certified mail of the finding with a brief explanation
of the deficiencies. The application filing/processing fee shall be retained by the Division.

After receiving notice from the Division that the application was incomplete, the applicant
shall have 180 calendar days to correct the deficiencies. If properly corrected, the
application will be processed and no additional fee is required. The permit will then be
granted or denied in accordance with this chapter and Rule Chapter 1200-03-09. If the
deficiencies are not corrected within the 180-day correction period, the fee will be
forfeited in its entirety to the Division and the Division will officially deny the permit based
on the incomplete permit application. If the applicant re-applies, a new
application/processing fee must be paid in full along with the re-application.

It is the express intent of the Board that the 180-day permit application correction period
is not to be construed by an applicant as permission to construct or modify a source
without the permit required by Chapter 1200-03-09.

Upon receipt of a corrected application revised pursuant to part 1, 2, or 3 of this

RDA 1693
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subparagraph, the Division shall re-evaluate the application and notify the applicant of its
finding as to whether or not the application is considered to be complete. If the
application is still deemed incomplete the source has the remainder of the initial 180-day
period to correct the deficiencies or forfeit the fee in its entirety. Unless a determination
that a corrected application is not complete is made by the Division and communicated to
the applicant via certified mail within 30 days of receipt, the corrected application shall be
deemed to be complete for the purpose of starting the Division’s permit processing
deadline schedule. However, if additional information is still needed to process the
permit, the applicant has a duty to furnish said information or face denial of the permit.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-201, et seq.; 4-5-202, et seq.; and 68-201-101, et seq.

Subparagraph (a) of paragraph (5) of Rule 1200-03-26-.02 Construction and Annual Emission Fees is amended
by deleting it in its entirety and substituting instead the following:

(a) On and after October 24, 1991, a responsible official applying for the construction permit [i.e.
construction as defined in subparagraph (2)(j) of this rule] required by Rule 1200-03-09-.01 must
pay a construction permit application filing/processing fee as set forth in subparagraph (5)(g),
Schedule A of this rule unless exempted from construction permit fees pursuant to subparagraph
(9)(a) of this rule. The fee determined from subparagraph (5)(g), Schedule A of this rule shall be
calculated based on increases in emissions of regulated pollutants.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-201, et seq.; 4-5-202, et seq.; and 68-201-101, et seq.

Subparagraph (c) of paragraph (5) of Rule 1200-03-26-.02 Construction and Annual Emission Fees is amended
by deleting it in its entirety and substituting instead the following:

(c) A responsible official applying to make a change to a source or permit such that a new
construction permit is required must pay a permit filing/processing fee equal to one-half the
Schedule A fee corresponding to the applicant's anticipated maximum emission rate, not to
exceed $500. This fee is determined by the anticipated maximum increase in emissions from the
anticipated maximum emission rate of the previous construction permit for the source.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-201, et seq.; 68-1-1301; and 68-25-105.

Subparagraph (f) of paragraph (5) of Rule 1200-03-26-.02 Construction and Annual Emission Fees is amended
by deleting it in its entirety and substituting instead the following:

{f) In the event that the Division fails to process the construction permit application within the time
lines established in subparagraph (e) of this paragraph, the Division will refund the permit
filing/processing fee to the applicant in full. The refund will be made within 30 days following the
date that the deadline for a decision on that particular permit appfication was established. For
refunds in excess of $1,000, additional time to allow review and approval of the refund by the
Office of the Attorney General and Reporter shall be allowed.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-201, et seq.; 68-1-1301; and 68-25-105.

Paragraph (6) of Rule 1200-03-26-.02 Construction and Annual Emission Fees is amended by deleting it in its
entirety and substituting instead the following:

(6) Annual Fees for Minor and Conditional Major Sources.

(a) A responsible official of a minor source and/or a conditional major source must pay an annual fee
to the State of Tennessee. The annual fee shall be based on the source’s allowable emissions as
defined in subparagraph (2)(d) of this rule.

(b) 1. The minor source and conditional major source annual emission fee must be calculated
using the sum of the allowable emissions of all regulated pollutants at a source. Upon
mutual agreement of the responsible official and the Technical Secretary, a more
restrictive regulatory requirement may be established to minimize the allowable
emissions and thus the annual emission fee. The more restrictive requirement must be
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specified in the permit, and must include the method(s) used to determine compliance
with the limitation(s). The documentation procedure to be followed by the source owner
or operator must also be included to ensure that the limit is not exceeded. Exceedances
of the mutual agreement limit will be considered by the Board as circumvention of the
required annual emissions fee and a matter in which enforcement action must be
pursued.

To reduce the amount of the fee as provided in part 1 of this subparagraph, the
responsible official must submit a letter to the Technical Secretary requesting reduced
allowable emissions and providing the method or methods that will be used to ensure
compliance with the requested limit or limits. This request must be received at least 90
days prior to the applicable due date of the annual fee. Any request received after that
deadline may only apply to the fee for the foilowing year and not for the year being
invoiced.

All minor and conditional major source annual fees are due and payable to the State of
Tennessee in full according to Schedule | of this subparagraph. The county in which a source is
located determines when the source’s annual fee is due. If a source is located on contiguous
property in more than one county, the county appearing earliest in the calendar year shall be
used to determine the due date of the annual fee. Due to seasonal operations, cotton gin source
annual fees are due and payable annually to the State of Tennessee by December 1 of each year
regardless of the county in which the source is located. The fee must be paid to the State of
Tennessee in full by the first day of the month that the fee is due. The Technical Secretary may
extend this due date an additional 90 days where the source owner or operator’s fee notice was
mailed by the Department to an incorrect mailing address.

SCHEDULE |

Month the Annual Emissions Fee is Due (Accounting Period)
Counties in the Monthly Grouping

January

February

March

April

May

June

July

August

September
October
November

December

88-7037 (October 2018)

Anderson, Bedford, Benton, Bledsoe, Blount, Bradley and Campbell

Cannon, Carroll, Carter, Cheatham, Chester, Claiborne, Clay and
Cocke

Coffee, Crockett, Cumberland, Davidson, Decatur, DeKalb, Dickson,
Dyer and Fayette

Fentress, Franklin, Gibson, Giles, Grainger, Greene and Grundy

Hamblen, Hamilton, Hancock, Hardeman, Hardin, Hawkins, Haywood
and Henderson

Henry, Hickman, Houston, Humphreys, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson,
Knox, Lake, Lauderdale, Lawrence and Lewis

Lincoln, Loudon, McMinn, McNairy, Macon and Madison

Marion, Marshall, Maury, Meigs, Monroe, Montgomery, Moore and
Morgan

Obion, Overton, Perry, Pickett, Polk, Putnam and Rhea
Roane, Robertson, Rutherford, Scott, Sequatchie, Sevier, and Shelby
Smith, Stewart, Sullivan, Sumner, Tipton, Trousdale, Unicoi and Union

Van Buren, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Weakley, White, Williamson
and Wilson
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(d)

(€)

A newly constructed minor or conditional major source beginning operation subsequent to the
annual accounting period for the county in which it is located shall not be required to pay an
annual fee for the remainder of the annual accounting period. A minor or conditional major source
ceasing operations during the annual accounting period will not receive a refund for annual fees
paid.

The appropriate annual emissions fee for minor and conditional major sources in operation on or
after July 1, 1993, shall be calculated at an emission fee rate of $18.75 per ton of allowable
emissions of regulated pollutants. Sources with allowable emissions less than 10 tons will not be
subject to this fee, provided that such source has not taken a limitation on their permit that would
render them a conditional major or synthetic minor source.

Deleted.
Deleted.
Deleted.

The annual emission fee will be calculated on no more than 4,000 tons per year of each regulated
pollutant. An annual emission fee will not be charged for carbon monoxide or for emissions of a
pollutant solely because the pollutant is a constituent of greenhouse gases.

Deleted.

Conditional major sources must pay an annual permit review fee in accordance with the table
below in addition to the annual emission fees specified in subparagraph (e) of this paragraph.
This fee is due and payable to the State of Tennessee according to Schedule | found in
subparagraph (c) of this paragraph. When determining the permit review fee, the allowable tons
per year shall be calculated in accordance with subparagraph (b) of this paragraph except that
carbon monoxide emissions shall be included.

Allowable Tons Per Year Review Fee
0-50 $250
50.1-100 TPY $500
100.1-250 TPY $1,000
250.1 and up $2,000

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-201, et seq.; 68-1-1301; and 68-25-105.

Paragraph (7) of Rule 1200-03-26-.02 Construction and Annual Emission Fees is amended by deleting it in its
entirety and substituting instead the following:

(7) Payment of Fees.

All fees regulated by this chapter shall be payable to the State of Tennessee.

Fees not paid, late fees, and returned checks are subject to the provisions of paragraph 1200-03-
26-.02(8).

Returned checks for any reason (i.e. insufficient funds, account closed, etc.) are considered
failure to pay until such time collected funds are forwarded to the State of Tennessee. Returned
checks are subjected to additional handling charges.

Annual fee payments and permit review fee payments shall be clearly identified with the
‘Emission Source Reference Number” or “Facility ID” specified in the source’s permit(s) and the
invoice number, if available, or by an alternative method proposed by the source and agreed to
by the Technical Secretary. Major sources paying fees on more than one SIC code at their facility
shall denote the SIC code on their check for the account upon which they are paying. Delivery of
the payment shall be to the location prescribed by the Technical Secretary.

SS-7037 (October 2018) RDA 1693
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(e) When a fee overpayment has been made as a result of an error by the source, an owner or
operator may seek a credit or refund for such fee overpayment within one year from the date on
which the State of Tennessee received payment of the fee.

(f) Online payment can be made to the State of Tennessee for annual fees by following the
established State of Tennessee online payment process. Online payments require the inclusion
of the customer identification number and the invoice number, if available, to ensure proper
crediting of payment.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-201, et seq.; 68-1-1301; and 68-25-105.

Subparagraph (b) of paragraph (8) of Rule 1200-03-26-.02 Construction and Annual Emission Fees is amended
by deleting it in its entirety and substituting instead the following:

(b) If any part of any fee imposed under this Rule 1200-03-26-.02 is not paid within 15 days of the
due date, a late payment penalty of 5% of the amount due shall at once accrue and be added
thereto. Thereafter, on the first day of each month during which any part of any fee or any prior
accrued late payment penalty remains unpaid, an additional late payment penalty of 5% of the
then unpaid balance shall accrue and be added thereto. In addition, the fees not paid within 15
days after the due date, shall bear interest at the maximum lawful rate from the due date to the
date paid, compounded monthly. The Division will consult with the State of Tennessee's
Department of Finance and Administration to determine the appropriate rate of interest.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-201, et seq.; 68-1-1301; and 68-25-105.

Paragraph (9) of Rule 1200-03-26-.02 Construction and Annual Emission Fees is amended by deleting it in its
entirety and substituting instead the following:

9) Annual Fees for Major Sources and Sources Subject to Paragraph (11) of Rule 1200-03-09-.02.

(a) 1. A responsible official of a major source or a source subject to paragraph (11) of Rule
1200-03-09-.02 (hereinafter, “Paragraph 11 source”) must pay an annual fee to the State
of Tennessee. A major source or Paragraph 11 source is not subject to the minor and
conditional major source annual fees of paragraph (6) of this rule on or after July 1, 1994.
Once a major stationary source or Paragraph 11 source begins to pay major source
annual fees pursuant to this paragraph (9), it will not be subject to the construction permit
fees of paragraph (5) of this rule for any additional construction occurring at the source as
long as the source remains a major source or Paragraph 11 source.

2. Effective January 1, 2018, the following shall apply:

(i) Sources choosing to pay annual fees on an allowable emissions basis pursuant
to subparagraph (b) of this paragraph shall pay 100% of the fee due pursuant to
subparagraph (d) of this paragraph:

) No later than April 1 of the year immediately following the annual
accounting period for which the fee is due for sources paying on a
calendar year basis pursuant to subparagraph (b) of this paragraph; or

) No later than April 1 of the current fiscal year for sources paying on a
fiscal year basis pursuant to subparagraph (b) of this paragraph.

(ii) Sources choosing to pay annual fees on an actual emissions basis or a
combination of actual and allowable emissions basis and on a calendar year
basis pursuant to subparagraph (b) of this paragraph shall pay 100% of the fee
due pursuant to subparagraph (d) of this paragraph no later than April 1 of the
year immediately following the annual accounting period for which the fee is due,
except as allowed by part (g)3 of this paragraph.

(iii) Sources choosing to pay annual fees on an actual emissions basis or a
combination of actual and allowable emissions basis and on a fiscal year basis
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(b) 1.

pursuant to subparagraph (b) of this paragraph shall pay an estimated 65% of
the fee due pursuant to subparagraph (d) of this paragraph no later than April 1
of the current fiscal year. The remainder of the annual fee is due July 1 of each
year, except as allowed by part (9)3 of this paragraph.

On or before December 31 of the annual accounting period, the responsible official must
submit to the Division in writing the responsible official's determination to pay the annual
fee based on:

(i) Either a calendar year or state fiscal year; and

(i) Actual emissions, allowable emissions, or a mixture of actual and allowable
emissions of regulated pollutants.

If the responsible official does not declare a fee payment choice as provided in subparts
1(i) or (ii) of this subparagraph, then the basis of the annual fee payment shall be the
same as the responsible official's most recent choice of fee payment, or, if no such
previous choice was made, the basis of the annual fee payment shall be that specified in
the source’s current major source operating permit.

If the responsible official wishes to restructure allowable emissions for a major source or
Paragraph 11 source for the purpose of lowering the annual fee, then an application must
be filed at least 90 days prior to December 31 of the annual accounting period as
provided in subparagraph (g) of this paragraph.

The responsible official of a newly constructed major source, Paragraph 11 source, or
minor source modifying its operation such that the source becomes a major source or
Paragraph 11 source shall pay an initial annual fee based on a calendar year and
allowable emissions for the fractional remainder of the calendar year commencing upon
the source’s start-up.

For purposes of the payment of annual fees due July 1, 2016, parts 1 and 2 of this
subparagraph shall not apply. Annual fees due July 1, 2016, shall be based on the state
fiscal year and the annual fee basis (actual emissions, allowable emissions, or a mixture)
specified in a source’s current major source operating permit. If a source does not have
an effective major source operating permit on July 1, 2016, then the source’s responsible
official shall pay the annual fee based on the state fiscal year and allowable emissions.

(c) Reserved.

d 1.

S§S-7037 (October 2018)

Notwithstanding the fee rates established by part 2 of this subparagraph, a responsible
official of any source subject to this paragraph (9) shall pay an annual base fee of $5,000
for fees due in calendar year 2021 and an annual base fee of $6,000 for fees due on or
after January 1, 2022. This base fee shall be paid in addition to the annual emission fee
established by subpart 2(iii) of this subparagraph, but shall be counted toward the
applicable minimum fee set forth in subpart 2(ii) of this subparagraph.

(i) For purposes of this part, an electric utility generating unit (EGU) means any
steam electric generating unit or stationary combustion turbine that is constructed
for the purpose of supplying more than one-third of its potential electric output
capacity and more than 25 MW net-electrical output to any utility power
distribution system for sale. Also, any steam supplied to a steam distribution
system for the purpose of providing steam to a steam electric generator that
would produce electrical energy for sale is considered in determining the
electrical energy output capacity of the affected EGU.

(ii) Notwithstanding the annual emission fee rates established by subpart (iii) of this
part, the annual fee required to be paid by a responsible official of any source
subject to this paragraph (9) shalt be no less than:

RDA 1693
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H $5,500 for sources (once in always in or OIAl sources) subject to this
paragraph (9) solely due to the May 16, 1995 EPA memorandum
entitled, “Potential to Emit for MACT Standards—Guidance on Timing
Issues,” from John Seitz, Director, Office of Air Quality Planning and
Standards (OAQPS), to EPA Regional Air Division Directors, provided
that the source has permitted allowable emissions bhelow the major
source thresholds found in part (11)(b)14 of Rule 1200-03-09-.02. If the
source’s permitted allowable emissions are not below those major
source thresholds as of October 31 of the annual accounting period for
which fees are due under this part, then item (Il) of this subpart applies;
and

(1n $9,000 for all other sources subject to this paragraph (9) for fees due on
and after January 1, 2021.

(iii) The emission fee rates applied to calculate the annual fee assessed pursuant to
subparagraph (a) of this paragraph shall be as follows:

N For fees due in calendar year 2021:

I Fee based on actual emissions: $69.50 per ton for non-EGU
sources and $97.50 per ton for EGU sources; and

I Fee based on allowable emissions: $43.50 per ton for non-EGU
sources and $61.00 per ton for EGU sources.

(1 For fees due on and after January 1, 2022:

l. Fee based on actual emissions: $80.00 per ton for non-EGU
sources and $112.00 per ton for EGU sources; and

I Fee based on allowable emissions: $50.00 per ton for non-EGU
sources and $70.00 per ton for EGU sources.

(iv) The fees and fee rates enumerated in this subparagraph (d) must be supported
by the Division’s annual workioad analysis that is approved by the Board.

The fees and fee rates specified in this subparagraph (d) shall remain in effect until the
effective date of an amendment to this subparagraph (d). Any revision to the fees and fee
rates must result in the collection of sufficient fee revenue to fund the activities identified
in subparagraph (1)(c) of this rule and must be supported by the Division’s annual
workload analysis that is approved by the Board.

An emission cap of 4,000 tons per year per regulated pollutant per major source SIC
code shall apply to actual or allowable based emission fees. A major source annual
emission fee will not be charged for emissions in excess of the cap(s) or for carbon
monoxide.

No annual fee under this paragraph (9) will be charged for emissions of a pollutant solely
because the pollutant is a constituent of greenhouse gases.

f) In the case where a source is shut down such that it has operated only during a portion of the
annual accounting period and the source’s permits are forfeited to the Technical Secretary, the
appropriate fee shall be calculated on a prorated basis over the period of time that the source
was operated in the annual accounting period. The responsible official of a major source or
Paragraph 11 source that is shut down, but wishes to retain its permits, shall pay a maintenance
fee equivalent to 40% of the fee that would be charged had the responsible official determined to
base the annual fee on allowable emissions. If the responsible official chooses this option in the
midst of an annual accounting period, then the fee will be prorated according to the number of
months that the source was in the maintenance fee status. However, in no case shall the annual
fee be less than the minimum annual fee established in subpart (d)2(ii) of this paragraph. The
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responsible official shall notify the Division no later than December 31 of the annual accounting
period so that the Division will have sufficient time to adjust billing records for the maintenance
fee status.

>

(9) Responsible officials required to pay the major source or Paragraph 11 source annual fee
pursuant to subparagraph (a) of this paragraph must conform to the following requirements with
respect to fee payments:

1.

S§S-7037 (October 2018)

(i)

(if)

If a responsible official paying the annual fee based on allowable emissions
wishes to restructure the allowable emissions of a major source or Paragraph 11
source for the purpose of lowering the annual fee, then upon mutual agreement
of the responsible official and the Technical Secretary, a more restrictive
regulatory requirement may be established to minimize the allowable emissions
and thus the annual fee. The more restrictive reguiatory requirement, the method
used to determine compliance with the limitation, and the documentation
procedure to be followed by the major source or Paragraph 11 source to ensure
that the limit is not exceeded must be included in the application and specified in
a permit through either the permit modification processes of paragraph (11) of
Rule 1200-03-09-.02, or the construction permit processes of Rule 1200-03-09-
.01, or both. The more restrictive requirement shali be effective for purposes of
lowering the annual fee upon agreement by both the responsible official and the
Technical Secretary and for all other purposes shall be effective upon issuance
of the permit, modification, or both.

To reduce the amount of the fee as provided in subpart (i) of this part, the
responsible official must file a complete permit modification or construction permit
application with the Division at least 90 days prior to December 31 of the annual
accounting period.

The responsible official shall file an analysis of actual emissions, allowable emissions, or
both actual and allowable emissions, whichever is appropriate due to the basis of the
annual fee payment, with the Technical Secretary on or before the date the fee is due
pursuant to subparagraph (a) of this paragraph. The analysis shall summarize the
emissions of all regulated pollutants at the air contaminant sources of the major source or
Paragraph 11 source facility and shall be used to calculate the amount of the annual fee
owed pursuant to subparagraph (a) of this paragraph.

(i)

(i)

An annual fee based on both actual emissions and allowable emissions shall be
calculated utilizing the 4,000 ton per year cap specified in subparagraph (2)(i) of
this rule. In determining the tonnages to be applied toward the regulated pollutant
4,000 ton cap in a mixed base fee, the responsible official shall first calculate the
actual emission-based fees for a regulated pollutant and apply that tonnage
toward the regulated pollutant's cap. The remaining tonnage available in the
4,000 ton category of a regulated pollutant shall be subject to allowable emission
based fee calculations. Once the 4,000 ton per year cap has been reached for a
regulated pollutant, no additional fee for that pollutant shall be required.

If the responsible official chooses to base the annual fee on actual emissions,
then the responsible official must prove the magnitude of the source’s emissions
to the satisfaction of the Technical Secretary.

Responsible officials choosing to pay the annual fee based on actual emissions
or a mixture of actual and allowable emissions may request an extension of time
for filing the emissions analysis with the Technical Secretary. The extension may
be granted by the Technical Secretary for up to 90 days after the fee is due
pursuant to subparagraph (a) of this paragraph. The request for extension must
be received by the Division no later than 4:30 p.m. on April 1 or the request for
extension shall be denied. The request for extension to file must state the reason
for the request and provide an adequate explanation. An estimated annual fee
payment of no less than 65% of the annual fee must accompany the request for
extension to avoid penalties and interest on the underpayment of the annual fee.
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(ii)

(h) Reserved.

(i) Reserved.

The remaining balance due must accompany the emission analysis. If there has
been an overpayment, the responsible official may request a refund in writing to
the Division or the amount of the overpayment may be applied as a credit toward
the next annual fee.

A responsible official choosing to pay the annual fee based on allowable
emissions is not eligible for the extension of time authorized by subpart (i) of this
part.

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-201, et seq.; 4-5-202, et seq.; and 68-201-101, et seq.

The title of Rule 1200-03-26-.02 is amended by changing the title from “Construction and Annual Emission Fees”
to “Construction and Annual Fees.”

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-202, et seq. and 68-201-105.

The table of contents to Chapter 1200-03-26 Administrative Fee Schedule is amended by changing the title of
Rule 1200-03-26-.02 from “Construction and Annual Emission Fees” to “Construction and Annual Fees,” so that
as amended the table of contents shall read:

1200-03-26-.01 Tennessee Visible Emissions Evaluation Course Fees
1200-03-26-.02 Construction and Annual Fees

1200-03-26-.03 Repealed
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I certify that the information included in this filing is an accurate and complete representation of the intent and
scope of rulemaking proposed by the agency.

Date: October 4, 2019

Signature:
Name of Officer: Michelle W. Owenby d’
OF
TENNESSEE Title of Officer: _Director, Tennessee Division of Air Pollution Control

NOTARY
PUBLIC

Subscribed and sworn to before me on: @0{7}‘90"" ’f 20 /ﬁ

Notary Public Signature: d(ﬂ'}) 'M'z//t/

My commission expires on: 9 é/z 2-

Department of State Use Only

Filed with the Department of State on:

Tre Hargett
Secretary of State
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