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Notice of Rulemaking Hearing 
 

Hearings will be conducted in the manner prescribed by the Uniform Administrative Procedures Act, T.C.A. § 4-5-204. For 
questions and copies of the notice, contact the person listed below. 

 
Agency/Board/Commission: Tennessee Air Pollution Control Board 

Division: Air Pollution Control 
Contact Person: Lacey J. Hardin 

Address: 

William R. Snodgrass Tennessee Tower 
312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue, 15th Floor 
Nashville, Tennessee 37243 

Phone: (615) 532-0545 
Email: Lacey.Hardin@tn.gov 

 
Any Individuals with disabilities who wish to participate in these proceedings (to review these filings) and may 
require aid to facilitate such participation should contact the following at least 10 days prior to the hearing: 
 

ADA Contact: ADA Coordinator 

Address: 

William R. Snodgrass Tennessee Tower 
312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue, 22nd Floor 
Nashville, Tennessee 37243 

Phone: 
1-866-253-5827 (toll free) or 615-532-0200 
Hearing impaired callers may use the TN Relay Service 1-800-848-0298 

Email: Jennifer.Katzenmiller@tn.gov 
 
Hearing Location(s) (for additional locations, copy and paste table) 
 

Address 1: Conference Room D, 3rd Floor 
Address 2: William R. Snodgrass Tennessee Tower 

312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue 
City: Nashville, Tennessee 
Zip: 37243 

Hearing Date : 11/25/19 
Hearing Time: 9:30 A.M.   X  CST/CDT  ___EST/EDT  

 
Additional Hearing Information: 
 
If it is hard for you to read, speak, or understand English, TDEC may be able to provide translation or 
interpretation services free of charge.  Please contact (Lida Warden) at (615-532-0554) for more information. 
 
Smoke opacity is an indicator of pollution in certain circumstances, and some regulated entities are required to 
read smoke as part of proving compliance with the limitations in their permits. Smoke School is offered to industry 
representatives, environmental consultants, and the general public, and certifies qualifying attendees in “reading” 
the density of smoke (opacity). The Division has historically offered this course at a much lower cost than found in 
the private sector, and the cost will still be lower after this change. The Department is proposing a revised initial 
certification fee of $180.00 and a revised recertification fee of $150.00 for all attendees. Currently, the Department 
charges a lower fee to attendees located within the state than is charged to attendees from outside the state. 
 
Section 502(b)(3)(A) of the federal Clean Air Act (CAA) requires Tennessee, as a state approved by the 
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Environmental Protection Agency (“EPA”) to administer a Title V major source operating permit program (“Title V 
program”), to collect “an annual fee, or the equivalent over some other period, sufficient to cover all reasonable 
(direct and indirect) costs required to develop and administer the permit program requirements[.]” To comply with 
this requirement, the Department is proposing rule amendments that revise the magnitude of the dollar/ton ($/ton) 
fees, the base fee, and the minimum fee for electric utility generating unit (“EGU”) and non-EGU sources.  
 
The Department is proposing that the increases take place over a two-year period, state fiscal years 2020-2021 
and 2021-2022, to minimize the effects of the significant increases needed to continue funding the program as 
required by the CAA. The Department is proposing the fee structure that it has determined to be adequate for 
funding needs and the most responsive to comments received from stakeholders during the development 
process. At the end of the two-year period the proposal increases the existing base fee of $4,000 to $6,000, the 
existing minimum fee of $7,500 to $9,000, the dollar per ton for non-EGU sources from $33.50/ton allowable to 
$50.00 and from $53.50/ton actual to $80.00, and the dollar per ton for EGU sources from $47.00/ton allowable to 
$70.00 and from $75.00/ton actual to $112.00. In addition to the changes described above, the Division is 
clarifying certain other provisions in Chapter 1200-03-26 that apply to all sources, including, but not limited to:  
 

• Revising the payee for fee payments from “Division” to “State of Tennessee” throughout the chapter 
• Correction of grammatical and typographical errors 
• Revising current language to clarify application of the rules 

 
There will be a public hearing before the Technical Secretary of the Tennessee Air Pollution Control Board for the 
promulgation of amendments to the rule under the authority of Tennessee Code Annotated, section 68-201-105. 
The comments received at this hearing will be distributed to the members of the Tennessee Air Pollution Control 
Board for their review in regard to the proposed rule amendments. The hearing will be conducted in the manner 
prescribed by the Uniform Administrative Procedures Act, compiled in Tennessee Code Annotated title 4, chapter 
5, and will take place in Conference Room D of the William R. Snodgrass Tennessee Tower, 312 Rosa L. Parks 
Avenue, 3rd Floor, Nashville, Tennessee 37243 on November 25, 2019. 
 
Written comments not submitted at the public hearing will be included in the hearing record only if received by the 
close of business on November 25, 2019, at the following address: Technical Secretary, Tennessee Air Pollution 
Control Board, William R. Snodgrass Tennessee Tower, 312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue, 15th Floor, Nashville, 
Tennessee 37243. 
 
Any individuals with disabilities who wish to participate in these proceedings or to review these filings should 
contact the Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation to discuss any auxiliary aids or services 
needed to facilitate such participation. Such initial contact may be in person, by writing, telephone, or other 
means, and should be made no less than ten days prior to November 25, 2019 or the date such party intends to 
review such filings, to allow time to provide such aid or service. Contact the Tennessee Department of 
Environment and Conservation ADA Coordinator, William R. Snodgrass Tennessee Tower, 312 Rosa L. Parks 
Avenue, 22nd Floor, Nashville, Tennessee 37243, (615) 532-0200. Hearing impaired callers may use the 
Tennessee Relay Service (1-800-848-0298). 
 
If you have any questions about the origination of these rule changes, you may contact Lacey J. Hardin at (615) 
532-0545. For information about reviewing these documents, please contact Paul LaRock, William R. Snodgrass 
Tennessee Tower, 312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue, 15th Floor, Nashville, Tennessee 37243, telephone (615) 532-
0093. 
 
Revisions considered at this hearing may be adopted by the Tennessee Air Pollution Control Board under 
Tennessee Code Annotated section 68-201-105, which gives the Board general authority to promulgate rules.   
 
Materials concerning the proposed actions will be available at www.tn.gov/environment/topic/ppo-air and also for 
public inspection during normal working hours starting on October 3, 2019, at the office of the Technical Secretary 
and the public depositories listed below: 
 
Air Pollution Control Division Pollution Control Division Air Pollution Control Division 
15th Floor, WR Snodgrass TN Twr Metropolitan Health Dept. Cookeville EFO 
312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue 2500 Charlotte Avenue 1221 South Willow Avenue 
Nashville, TN 37243 Nashville, TN 37209 Cookeville, TN 38506 
 
Air Pollution Control Division Air Pollution Control Division Air Pollution Control Division 
Knoxville EFO Johnson City EFO Jackson EFO 

http://www.tn.gov/environment/topic/ppo-air
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3711 Middlebrook Pk., Suite 220 2305 Silverdale Road 1625 Hollywood Drive 
Knoxville, TN 37921 Johnson City, TN 37601-2162 Jackson, TN 38305 
 
Air Pollution Control Division  Knox County Department of Air Pollution Control Program 
Columbia EFO Air Quality Management Memphis /Shelby County Health Dept. 
1421 Hampshire Pike 140 Dameron Avenue, Suite 242 814 Jefferson Avenue 
Columbia, TN 38401 Knoxville, TN 37917 Memphis, TN 38105 
 
Air Pollution Control Division Air Pollution Control Division Kingsport Public Library 
Chattanooga EFO Nashville EFO 400 Broad Street 
1301 Riverfront Parkway, Suite 206 711 R. S. Gass Boulevard Kingsport, TN 37660 
Chattanooga, TN 37402 Nashville, TN 37243 
 
Chattanooga-Hamilton County U.S. EPA, Region IV, c/o Mr. Scott Davis, Chief 
Air Pollution Control Bureau APTMD - 12th Floor, Atlanta Federal Center 
6125 Preservation Drive 61 Forsyth Street S.W. 
Chattanooga, TN 37416 Atlanta, GA 30303 
 
All persons interested in the air quality of the state of Tennessee are urged to attend and will be afforded the 
opportunity to present testimony to the hearing officer regarding the promulgation of amendments to the rules.  
Any person desiring to present lengthy comments should be prepared at the hearing to offer a written statement 
to be incorporated into the record.  Written statements not presented at the hearings will only be considered part 
of the records if received by 4:30 p.m. CDT on November 25, 2019, at the office of the Technical Secretary, 
Tennessee Air Pollution Control Board, William R. Snodgrass Tennessee Tower, 312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue, 15th 
Floor, Nashville, Tennessee 37243. 
 
Revision Type (check all that apply): 
X Amendment 
 New 
 Repeal 
 
 
Rule(s) (ALL chapters and rules contained in filing must be listed. If needed, copy and paste additional tables to 
accommodate more than one chapter. Please enter only ONE Rule Number/Rule Title per row.) 
 
Chapter Number Chapter Title 
1200-03-26 Administrative Fee Schedule 
Rule Number Rule Title 
1200-03-26-.01 Tennessee Visible Emission Evaluation Course Fees 
1200-03-26-.02 Construction and Annual Emission Fees 
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Place substance of rules and other info here. Statutory authority must be given for each rule change. For 
information on formatting rules go to  
https://sos.tn.gov/products/division-publications/rulemaking-guidelines. 
 

Chapter 1200-03-26 
Administrative Fee Schedule 

 
Amendments 

 
Paragraph (1) of Rule 1200-03-26-.01 Tennessee Visible Emissions Evaluation Course Fees is amended by 
deleting it in its entirety and substituting instead the following: 
 
(1) The effective date of this the fee schedule in subparagraph (2)(b) of this rule shall be July 16, 1990 July 1, 

2020. The fee schedule in subparagraph (2)(a) of this rule continues to apply until June 30, 2020. 
 
Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-202, et seq. and 68-201-105.  
 
Paragraph (2) of Rule 1200-03-26-.01 Tennessee Visible Emissions Evaluation Course Fees is amended by 
deleting it in its entirety and substituting instead the following: 
 
(2) Fee Schedule schedules.  
 

(a) Until June 30, 2020, the following course fees apply: 
 

Initial Certification Tennessee Applicant $125.00 
Recertification Tennessee Applicant $95.00 
Initial Certification Out-of-State Applicant $175.00  
Recertification Out-of-State Applicant $125.00 
 

(b) Beginning July 1, 2020, the following course fees apply: 
 

Initial Certification $180.00 
Recertification $150.00  

 
Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-202, et seq. and 68-201-105. 
 
Subparagraph (a) of paragraph (1) of Rule 1200-03-26-.02 Construction and Annual Emission Fees is amended 
by deleting it in its entirety and substituting instead the following: 
 

(a) It is the purpose of this rule to establish construction fees, annual emission fees, and permit 
review fees for sources subject to permitting pursuant to Division 1200-03 sufficient to 
supplement existing state and federal funding that covers reasonable costs (direct and indirect) 
associated with the development, processing, and administration of the air pollution control 
program. This will provide for better quality evaluation of the impact of air emissions on the 
citizens of Tennessee, and timely permitting services for sources subject to permitting 
requirements. 

 
Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-201, et seq.; 4-5-202, et seq.; and 68-201-101, et seq. 
 
Subpart (iii) of part 5 of subparagraph (i) of paragraph (2) of Rule 1200-03-26-.02 Construction and Annual 
Emission Fees is amended by deleting the language “subjected” and substituting instead the language “subject” 
so that as amended the subpart shall read: 
 

(iii) Any pollutant that is subjected subject to any standard promulgated under 
section 111 of the Federal Act; provided, however, that any such pollutant shall 
not be a regulated pollutant solely because the pollutant is a constituent of 
greenhouse gases; 

 
Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-201, et seq.; 4-5-202, et seq.; and 68-201-101, et seq. 
 
Part 12 of subparagraph (i) of paragraph (2) of Rule 1200-03-26-.02 Construction and Annual Emission Fees is 

https://sos.tn.gov/products/division-publications/rulemaking-guidelines
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amended by deleting it in its entirety and substituting instead the following: 
 

12. Each hazardous air pollutant listed below actually emitted or allowed to be emitted from a 
source subject to paragraph (11) of Rule 1200-03-09-.02.  

 
CAS No. Chemical name 

 
75070 Acetaldehyde 
60355 Acetamide 
75058 Acetonitrile 
98862 Acetophenone 
53963 2-Acetylaminofluorene 
107028 Acrolein 
79061 Acrylamide 
79107 Acrylic acid 
107131 Acrylonitrile 
107051 Allyl chloride 
92671 4-Aminobiphenyl 
62533 Aniline 
90040 o-Anisidine 
1332214 Asbestos 
71432 Benzene (including benzene from gasoline)  
92875 Benzidine 
98077 Benzotrichloride 
100447 Benzyl chloride 
92524 Biphenyl 
117817 Bis(2-ethylhexyl)phthalate(DEHP) 
542881 Bis(chloromethyl) ether 

75252 Bromoform 
106990 1,3-Butadiene 
156627 Calcium cyanamide 
133062 Captan 
63252 Carbaryl 
75150 Carbon disulfide 
56235 Carbon tetrachloride 
463581 Carbonyl sulfide 
120809 Catechol 
133904 Chloramben 
57749 Chlordane 
7782505 Chlorine 
79118 Chloracetic acid 
532274 2-Chloroacetophenone 
108907 Chlorobenzene 
510156 Chlorobenzilate 
67663 Chloroform 
107302 Chloromethyl methyl ether 
126998 Chloroprene 
1319773 Cresols/Cresylic acid (isomers and mixture)  
95487 o-Cresol 
108394 m-Cresol 
106445 p-Cresol 
98828 Cumene 
94757 2,4-D, salts and esters 
3547044 DDE 
334883 Diazomethane 
132649 Dibenzofurans 
96128 1,2-Dibromo-3-chloropropane 
84742 Dibutylphthalate 
106467 1,4-Dichlorobenzene(p) 
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91941 3,3-Dichlorobenzidene 
111444 Dichloroethyl ether (Bis(2-chloroethyl)ether)  
542756 1,3-Dichloropropene 
62737 Dichlorvos 
111422 Diethanolamine 
121697 N,N-Diethyl aniline (N,N-Dimethylaniline)  
64675 Diethyl sulfate 
119904 3,3-Dimethoxybenzidine 
60117 Dimethyl aminoazobenzene 
119937 3,3'-Dimethylbenzidine 
79447 Dimethyl carbamoyl chloride 
68122 Dimethyl formamide 
57147 1,1-Dimethyl hydrazine 
131113 Dimethyl phthalate 
77781 Dimethyl sulfate 
534521 4,6-Dinitro-o-cresol, and salts  
51285 2,4-Dinitrophenol 
121142 2,4-Dinitrotoluene 
123911 1,4-Dioxane (1,4-Diethyleneoxide) 
122667 1,2-Diphenylhydrazine 
106898 Epichlorohydrin    (1-Chloro-2,3-epoxypropane) 
106887 1,2-Epoxybutane 
140885 Ethyl acrylate 
100414 Ethyl benzene 
51796 Ethyl carbamate (Urethane) 
75003 Ethyl Chloride (Chloroethane)  
106934 Ethylene dibromide (Dibromoethane) 
107062 Ethylene dichloride (1,2-Dichlorethane)  
107211 Ethylene glycol 
151564 Ethylene imine (Aziridine) 
75218 Ethylene oxide 
96457 Ethylene thiourea 
75343 Ethylidene dichloride (1,1-Dichloroethane)  
50000 Formaldehyde 
76448 Hepotachlor 
118741 Hexachlorobenzene 
87683 Hexachlorobutadiene 
77474 Hexachlorocyclepentadiene 
67721 Hexachloroethane 
822060 Hexamethylene-1,6-diisocyanate 
680319 Hexamethylphosphoramide 
110543 Hexane 
302012 Hydrazine 
7647010 Hydrochloric acid 
7664393 Hydrogen fluoride (Hydrofluoric acid)  
123319 Hydroquinone 
78591 Isophorone 
58899 Lindane (all isomers) 
108316 Maleic anhydride 
67561 Methanol 
72435 Methoxychlor 
74839 Methyl bromide (Bromomethane) 
74873 Methyl chloride (Chloromethane) 
71556  Methyl chloroform (1,1,1-Trichloroethane)  
60344  Methyl hydrazine  
74884  Methyl iodide (Iodomethane)  
108101  Methyl isobutyl ketone (Hexone)  
624839  Methyl isocyanate  
80626  Methyl methacrylate  
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1634044  Methyl tert butyl ether  
101144  4,4-Methylene bis(2-chloroniline)  
75092  Methylene chloride (Dichloromethane)  
101688  Methylene diphenyl diisocyanate (MDI)  
101779  4,4-Methylenedianilne  
91203  Naphthalene  
98953  Nitrobenzene  
92933  4-Nitrobiphenyl  
100027  4-Nitrophenol  
79469  2-Nitropropane  
684935  N-Nitroso-N-methylurea  
62759  N-Nitrosodimethylamine  
59892  N-Nitrosomorpholine  
56382  Parathion  
82688  Pentachloronitrobenzene (Quintobenzene)  
87865  Pentachlorophenol  
108952  Phenol  
106503  p-Phenylenediamine  
75445  Phosgene  
7803512  Phosphine  
7723140  Phosphorus  
85449  Phthalic anhydride  
1336363  Polychlorinated biphenyls (Arochlors)  
1120714  1,3-Propane sultone  
57578  beta-Propiolactone  
123386  Propionaldehyde  
114261  Propoxur (Baygon)  
78875  Propylene dichloride (1,2-Dichloropropane)  
75569  Propylene oxide  
75558  1,2-Propylenimine (2-Methyl aziridine)  
91225  Quinoline  
106514  Quinone  
100425  Styrene  
96093  Styrene oxide  
1746016  2,3,7,8-Tetrachlorodibenzo-p-dioxin  
79345  1,1,2,2-Tetrachloroethane  
127184  Tetrachoroethylene (Perchloroethylene)  
7550450  Titanium tetrachloride  
108883  Toluene  
95807  2,4-Toluene diamine  
584849  2,4-Toluene diisocyanate  
95534  o-Toluidine  
8001352  Toxaphene (chlorinated camphene)  
120821  1,2,4-Trichlorobenzene  
79005  1,1,2-Trichloroethane  
79016  Trichloroethylene  
95954  2,4,5-Trichlorophenol  
88062  2,4,6-Trichlorophenol  
121448  Triethylamine 
1582098  Trifluralin  
540841  2,2,4-Trimethylpentane  
108054  Vinyl acetate  
593602  Vinyl bromide  
75014  Vinyl chloride  
75354  Vinylidene chloride (1,1-Dichloroethylene)  
1330207  Xylenes (isomers and mixture)  
95476  o-Xylenes  
108383  m-Xylenes  
106423  p-Xylenes  
0  Antimony Compounds  
0  Arsenic Compounds (inorganic including arsine)  
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0  Beryllium Compounds  
0  Cadmium Compounds  
0  Chromium Compounds  
0  Cobalt Compounds  
0  Coke Oven Emissions  
0  Cyanide compounds

1 
 

0  Glycol ethers
2
, 

6 
 

0  Lead Compounds  
0  Manganese Compounds  
0  Mercury Compounds  
0  Fine mineral fibers

3 
 

0  Nickel Compounds  
0  Polycyclic Organic Matter

4 
 

0  Radionuclides (including radon)
5 
 

0  Selenium Compounds  
 

_____________________________________________________________________________________ 
1 X'CN where X = H' or any other group where a formal dissociation may occur. For example KCN or Ca(CN)2  
2 Include mono- and di-ethers of ethylene glycol, diethylene glycol, and triethylene glycol R-(OCH2CH2)n- OR’.  
Where:  
n = 1, 2, or 3:  
R = alkyl C7 or less; or  
R = phenyl or alkyl substituted phenyl;  
R’ = H or alkyl C7 or less; or  
OR’ consisting of carboxylic acid ester, sulfate, phosphate, nitrate, or sulfonate.  
This action deletes each individual compound in a group called the surfactant alcohol ethoxylates and their 

derivatives (SAED) from the glycol ethers category in the list of hazardous air pollutants (HAP) established by 
section 112(b)(1) of the Clean Air Act (CAA).  

3 Includes mineral fiber emissions from facilities manufacturing or processing glass, rock, or slag fibers (or other 
mineral derived fibers) of average diameter 1 micrometer or less.  

4 Includes organic compounds with more than or equal to 100°C which have a boiling point greater than or equal to 
100°C  

5 A type of atom which spontaneously undergoes radioactive decay.  
6 The substance ethylene glycol monobutyl ether (EGBE, 2-Butoxyethanol) (Chemical Abstract Service (CAS) 

Number 111-76-2) is deleted from the list of hazardous air pollutants established by 42 U.S.C. § 7412(b)(1). 
 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-201, et seq.; 4-5-202, et seq.; and 68-201-101, et seq. 
 
Subparagraph (b) of paragraph (3) of Rule 1200-03-26-.02 Construction and Annual Emission Fees is amended 
by deleting it in its entirety and substituting instead the following: 
 

(b) On or after December 1, 1991, all All annual emission fees must be paid in full by the due date 
dates specified in paragraph subparagraph (6)(c) and paragraph (9) of this rule. Major sources 
subject to the provisions of paragraph 1200-03-26-.02(9) shall continue to pay annual emission 
fees under the provisions of paragraph 1200-03-26-.02(6) until July 1, 1994. In the year of their 
transition from the provisions of the aforementioned paragraph to the provisions of paragraph 
1200-03-26-.02(9), the major source must pay the fractional balance of their schedule I fee 
calculation period (number of months from the due date to July 1, 1994 divided by 12, that 
quotient being multiplied against the appropriate annual emission fee from Schedule III). 
Thereafter, the provisions of paragraph 1200-03-26-.02(9) shall apply. 

 
Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-201, et seq.; 4-5-202, et seq.; and 68-201-101, et seq. 
 
Subparagraph (i) of paragraph (3) of Rule 1200-03-26-.02 Construction and Annual Emission Fees is amended by 
deleting it in its entirety and substituting instead the following: 
 

(i) Where more than one (1) allowable emission limit is applicable to a regulated pollutant, the 
allowable emissions for the regulated pollutants shall not be double counted.  

 
1. Major sources subject to the provisions of paragraph 1200-03-26-.02(9) of this rule shall 

apportion their emissions as follows to ensure that their fees are not double counted.  
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(i) Sources that are subject to federally promulgated hazardous air pollutant 

standards that can be imposed under Chapter 1200-03-11, or Chapter 1200-03-
31, or Chapter 0400-30-38 will place such regulated emissions in the specific 
hazardous air pollutant under regulation. If the pollutant is also in the family of 
volatile organic compounds or the family of particulates, the pollutant shall not be 
placed in that respective family category.  

 
(ii) A miscellaneous category of hazardous air pollutants shall be used for hazardous 

air pollutants listed at part 1200-03-26-.02(2)(i)12 of this rule that do not have an 
allowable emission standard under Chapter 1200-03-11, Chapter 1200-03-31, or 
Chapter 0400-30-38. A pollutant placed in this category shall not be subject to 
being placed in any other category such as volatile organic compounds or 
particulates.  

 
(iii) Each individual hazardous air pollutant and the miscellaneous category of 

hazardous air pollutants is subject to the 4,000 ton cap provisions of 
subparagraph 1200-03-26-.02(2)(i) of this rule.  

 
(iv) Major sources that wish to pay annual emission fees for PM10 on an allowable 

emission basis may do so if they have a specific PM10 allowable emission 
standard. If a major source has a total particulate emission standard, but wishes 
to pay annual emission fees on an actual PM 10 PM10 emission basis, it may do 
so if the PM10 actual emission levels are proven to the satisfaction of the 
Technical Secretary. The method to demonstrate the actual PM10 emission 
levels must be made as part of the source’s major source operating permit in 
advance in order to exercise this option. The PM10 emissions reported under 
these options shall not be subject to fees under the family of particulate 
emissions. The 4,000 ton cap provisions of subparagraph 1200-03-26-.02(2)(i) of 
this rule shall also apply to PM10 emissions. 

 
Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-201, et seq.; 4-5-202, et seq.; and 68-201-101, et seq. 
 
Subparagraph (c) of paragraph (4) of Rule 1200-03-26-.02 Construction and Annual Emission Fees is amended 
by deleting it in its entirety and substituting instead the following: 
 

(c) The Division shall denote the date that all applications for construction permits are received in its 
Nashville office. Applications received after 4:30 p.m. local time will be stamped considered as 
being received the next working day. 

 
Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-201, et seq.; 4-5-202, et seq.; and 68-201-101, et seq. 
 
Subparagraph (d) of paragraph (4) of Rule 1200-03-26-.02 Construction and Annual Emission Fees is amended 
by deleting it in its entirety and substituting instead the following: 
 

(d) Upon receipt of a construction permit application, the Division must examine it to insure ensure 
that it is complete and within 30 days. If the application is found to be incomplete, advise the 
applicant in writing of its findings via certified mail parts 1 through 4 of this subparagraph apply. 
Thirty (30) days will be allowed for the review. The thirty (30) days completeness evaluation time 
period is extended to ninety (90) days for minor and conditional major sources of the 
nonattainment pollutant or its precursor pollutants as identified in part (4)(b)47 of Rule 1200-03-
09-.01 located within the boundary of a nonattainment area so designated by the Board and/or 
the United States Environmental Protection Agency. [Note: For ozone nonattainment the pollutant 
is Volatile Organic Compounds (VOC) and/or oxides of nitrogen.]  

 
1. If an application for a construction permit is determined to be incomplete, the Division 

must notify the applicant in writing via certified mail of the finding with a brief explanation 
of the deficiencies. The application filing/processing fee shall be retained by the Division.  

 
2. After receiving notice from the Division that the application was incomplete, the applicant 

shall have one hundred eighty (180) calendar days to correct the deficiencies. If properly 
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corrected, the application will be processed and no additional fee is required. The permit 
will then be granted or denied in accordance with Division Rules this chapter and Rule 
Chapter 1200-03-09. If the deficiencies are not corrected within the one hundred eighty 
(180) 180-day correction period, the fee will be forfeited in its entirety to the Division and 
the Division will officially deny the permit based on the incomplete permit application. If 
the applicant re-applies, a new application/processing fee must be paid in full along with 
the re-application.  

 
3. It is the express intent of the Board that the one hundred eighty (180) 180-day permit 

application correction period is not to be construed by an applicant as permission to 
construct or modify a source without the permit required by Division Rules Chapter 1200-
03-09.  

 
 
4. Upon receipt of a corrected application revised pursuant to part 1., 2., or 3. 1, 2, or 3 of 

this subparagraph, the Division shall re-evaluate the application and notify the applicant 
of its finding as to whether or not the application is considered to be complete. If the 
application is still deemed incomplete the source has the remainder of the initial one 
hundred eighty (180) 180-day period to correct the deficiencies or forfeit the fee in its 
entirety. Unless a determination that a corrected application is not complete is made by 
the Division and communicated to the applicant via certified mail within thirty (30) days of 
receipt, the corrected application shall be deemed to be complete for the purpose of 
starting the Division’s permit processing deadline schedule. However, if additional 
information is still needed to process the permit, the applicant has a duty to furnish said 
information or face denial of the permit. 

 
Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-201, et seq.; 4-5-202, et seq.; and 68-201-101, et seq. 
 
Subparagraph (a) of paragraph (5) of Rule 1200-03-26-.02 Construction and Annual Emission Fees is amended 
by deleting it in its entirety and substituting instead the following: 
 

(a) On and after October 24, 1991, a responsible official applying for the construction permit [i.e. 
construction as defined in subparagraph rule 1200-03-26-.02(2)(j) of this rule] required by rule 
Rule 1200-03-09-.01 must pay a construction permit application filing/processing fee as set forth 
in subparagraph (5)(g), Schedule A, of this rule unless they are exempted from construction 
permit fees pursuant to subparagraph 1200-03-26-.02(9)(a) of this rule. The fee determined from 
subparagraph (5)(g), Schedule A of this rule shall be calculated based on increases in emissions 
of regulated pollutants. 

 
Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-201, et seq.; 4-5-202, et seq.; and 68-201-101, et seq. 
 
Subparagraph (c) of paragraph (5) of Rule 1200-03-26-.02 Construction and Annual Emission Fees is amended 
by deleting it in its entirety and substituting instead the following: 
 

(c) On and after October 24, 1991,a A responsible official applying to make a change to a source or 
permit such that a new construction permit is required, must pay a permit filing/processing fee 
equal to one-half the Schedule A fee corresponding to the applicant’s anticipated maximum 
emission rate, not to exceed $500. This fee is determined by the anticipated maximum increase 
in emissions from the anticipated maximum emission rate of the previous construction permit for 
the source.  

 
Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-201, et seq.; 68-1-1301; and 68-25-105. 
 
Subparagraph (f) of paragraph (5) of Rule 1200-03-26-.02 Construction and Annual Emission Fees is amended 
by deleting it in its entirety and substituting instead the following: 
 

(f) In the event that the Division fails to process the construction permit application within the time 
lines established in subparagraph (e) of this paragraph, the Division will refund the permit 
filing/processing fee to the applicant in full. The refund will be made within thirty (30) days 
following the date that the deadline for a decision on that particular permit application was 
established. For refunds in excess of $1,000, additional time to permit allow review and approval 
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of the refund by the Tennessee Attorney General’s Office Office of the Attorney General and 
Reporter shall be allowed.  

 
Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-201, et seq.; 68-1-1301; and 68-25-105. 
 
Paragraph (6) of Rule 1200-03-26-.02 Construction and Annual Emission Fees is amended by deleting it in its 
entirety and substituting instead the following: 
 
(6) ANNUAL EMISSION FEES FOR MINOR AND CONDITIONAL MAJOR SOURCES AND PERMIT 

REVIEW FEES FOR CONDITIONAL MAJOR SOURCES Annual Fees for Minor and Conditional Major 
Sources.  

 
(a) A responsible official of a minor source and/or a conditional major source must pay an annual 

emission fee to the Division State of Tennessee. The annual emission fee shall be based on the 
source’s allowable emissions as defined in subparagraph 1200-03-26-.02(2)(d) of this rule.  

 
(b) 1. The minor source and conditional major source annual emission fee must be calculated 

as using the sum of the allowable emissions of all regulated pollutants at a source. Upon 
mutual agreement of the responsible official and the Technical Secretary, a more 
restrictive regulatory requirement may be established to minimize the allowable 
emissions and thus the annual emission fee. The more restrictive requirement must be 
specified on in the permit, and must include the method(s) used to determine compliance 
with the limitation(s). The documentation procedure to be followed by the source owner 
or operator must also be included to insure ensure that the limit is not exceeded. 
Exceedances of the mutual agreement limit will be considered by the Board as 
circumvention of the required annual emissions fee and a matter in which enforcement 
action must be pursued.  

 
2. To reduce the amount of the fee as provided in part 1 of this subparagraph, the 

responsible official must submit a letter to the Technical Secretary requesting reduced 
allowable emissions and providing the method or methods that will be used to ensure 
compliance with the requested limit or limits. This request must be received at least 
ninety (90) days prior to the applicable due date of the annual emission fee. Any request 
received after that deadline may only apply to the fee for the following year and not for 
the year being invoiced.  

 
(c) Beginning December 1, 1991 all All minor and conditional major source annual emission fees are 

due and payable to the Division State of Tennessee in full according to Schedule I of this 
subparagraph. The county that in which a source is located in determines when the minor source 
source’s annual emission fee is due. If a source is located on contiguous property in more than 
one county, the county appearing earliest in the calendar year shall be used to determine the due 
date of the annual emission fee. Due to seasonal operations, cotton gin source annual fees are 
due and payable annually to the State of Tennessee by December 1 of each year regardless of 
the county in which the source is located. The fee must be paid to the Division State of 
Tennessee in full by the first (1st) day of the month that the fee is due. The Technical Secretary 
may extend this due date an additional ninety (90) days where he finds that the minor source 
owner or operator’s fee notice was mailed by the Division Department to an incorrect mailing 
address. 

 
SCHEDULE I 

 
Month the Annual Emissions Fee is Due (Accounting Period) 

Counties in the Monthly Grouping 
 

January Anderson, Bedford, Benton, Bledsoe, Blount, Bradley and Campbell 

February Cannon, Carroll, Carter, Cheatham, Chester, Claiborne, Clay and 
Cocke 
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March Coffee, Crockett, Cumberland, Davidson, Decatur, DeKalb, Dickson, 
Dyer and Fayette 

April Fentress, Franklin, Gibson, Giles, Grainger, Greene and Grundy 

May Hamblen, Hamilton, Hancock, Hardeman, Hardin, Hawkins, Haywood 
and Henderson 

June Henry, Hickman, Houston, Humphreys, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, 
Knox, Lake, Lauderdale, Lawrence and Lewis 

July Lincoln, Loudon, McMinn, McNairy, Macon and Madison 

August Marion, Marshall, Maury, Meigs, Monroe, Montgomery, Moore and 
Morgan 

September Obion, Overton, Perry, Pickett, Polk, Putnam and Rhea 

October Roane, Robertson, Rutherford, Scott, Sequatchie, Sevier, and Shelby 

November Smith, Stewart, Sullivan, Sumner, Tipton, Trousdale, Unicoi and Union 

December Van Buren, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Weakley, White, Williamson 
and Wilson 

 
(d) A newly constructed minor and or conditional major source beginning operation subsequent to 

the annual accounting period for the county in which it is located shall not be required to pay an 
annual emission fee for the remainder of the annual accounting period. A minor or conditional 
major source company ceasing operations during the annual accounting period will not receive a 
refund for annual emission fees paid.  

 
(e) The appropriate annual emissions fee for minor and conditional major sources in operation on or 

after July 1, 1993, shall be calculated at an emission fee rate of $18.75 per ton of allowable 
emissions of regulated pollutants. Sources with allowable emissions less than 10 (ten) tons will 
not be subject to this fee, provided that such source has not taken a limitation on their permit that 
would render them a conditional major or synthetic minor  source.  

 
(f) Deleted.  
 
(g) Deleted.  
 
(h) Deleted. 
 
(i) The responsible official must pay an annual emission fee as per subparagraph (e) of this 

paragraph. The annual emission fee will be calculated on no more than 4,000 tons per year of 
each regulated pollutant. An annual emission fee will not be charged for carbon monoxide or for 
emissions of a pollutant solely because the pollutant is a constituent of greenhouse gases.  

 
(j) Deleted.  
 
(k) Beginning one (1) month after the effective date of the rule amendment that added this 

subparagraph (k), conditional Conditional major sources must pay a an annual permit review fee 
in accordance with the table below in addition to the minor source annual emission fees specified 
in subparagraph (6)(e) of this rule paragraph. This fee is due and payable to the Division State of 
Tennessee according to Schedule 1 I found in subparagraph (6)(c) of this rule paragraph. When 
determining the permit review fee, the allowable tons per year shall be calculated in accordance 
with subparagraph (b) of this paragraph except that When determining the allowable tons per 
year, carbon monoxide emissions shall be included.  

 
Allowable Tons Per Year Review Fee 
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0-50 $250 
50.1-100 TPY $500 
100.1-250 TPY $1,000 
250.1 and up $2,000 

 
Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-201, et seq.; 68-1-1301; and 68-25-105. 
 
Paragraph (7) of Rule 1200-03-26-.02 Construction and Annual Emission Fees is amended by deleting it in its 
entirety and substituting instead the following: 
 
(7) PAYMENT OF FEES. Payment of Fees.  
 

(a) All fees regulated by this chapter shall be payable to the Division of Air Pollution Control State of 
Tennessee.  

 
(b) Fees not paid, late fees, and returned checks are subject to the provisions of paragraph 1200-03-

26-.02(8).  
 
(c) Returned checks for any reason (i.e. insufficient funds, account closed, etc.) are considered 

failure to pay until such time collected funds are forwarded to the Division State of Tennessee. 
Returned checks are subjected to an additional $20.00 handling charges.  

 
(d) Annual emission fee payments and permit review fee payments shall be clearly identified with the 

“Emission Source Reference Number” or “Facility ID” specified in the source’s permit(s) and the 
invoice number, if available, or by an alternative method proposed by the source and agreed to 
by the Technical Secretary. Major sources paying fees on more than one SIC code at their facility 
shall denote the SIC code on their check for the account upon which they are paying. Delivery of 
the payment shall be to the location prescribed by the Technical Secretary.  

 
(e) When a fee overpayment has been made as a result of an error by the source, an owner or 

operator may seek a credit or refund for such fee overpayment within One one year from the date 
on which the Division of Air Pollution Control State of Tennessee received payment of the fee.  

 
(f) Online payment can be made to the State of Tennessee for annual fees by following the 

established State of Tennessee online payment process. Online payments require the inclusion 
of the customer identification number and the invoice number, if available, to ensure proper 
crediting of payment. 

 
Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-201, et seq.; 68-1-1301; and 68-25-105. 
 
Subparagraph (b) of paragraph (8) of Rule 1200-03-26-.02 Construction and Annual Emission Fees is amended 
by deleting it in its entirety and substituting instead the following: 
 

(b) If any part of any fee imposed under this Rule 1200-03-26-.02 is not paid within fifteen (15) days 
of the due date, a late payment penalty of five percent (5%) of the amount due shall at once 
accrue and be added thereto. Thereafter, on the first day of each month during which any part of 
any fee or any prior accrued late payment penalty remains unpaid, an additional late payment 
penalty of five percent (5%) of the then unpaid balance shall accrue and be added thereto. In 
addition, the fees not paid within fifteen (15) days after the due date, shall bear interest at the 
maximum lawful rate from the due date to the date paid, compounded monthly. The Division will 
consult with the State of Tennessee’s Department of Finance and Administration to determine the 
appropriate rate of interest. 

 
Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-201, et seq.; 68-1-1301; and 68-25-105. 
 
Paragraph (9) of Rule 1200-03-26-.02 Construction and Annual Emission Fees is amended by deleting it in its 
entirety and substituting instead the following: 
 
(9) ANNUAL EMISSION FEES FOR MAJOR SOURCES AND SOURCES SUBJECT TO PARAGRAPH 11 

OF RULE Annual Fees for Major Sources and Sources Subject to Paragraph (11) of Rule 1200-03-09-
.02.  



SS-7037 (October 2018)  RDA 1693 
14 

 
(a) 1. A responsible official of a major source or a source subject to paragraph (11) of Rule 

1200-03-09-.02 (hereinafter, “Paragraph 11 source”) must pay an annual emission fee to 
the Division State of Tennessee. A major source or Paragraph 11 source is not subject to 
the minor and conditional major source annual emission fees of paragraph (6) of this rule 
on or after July 1, 1994. Once a major stationary source or Paragraph 11 source begins 
to pay major source annual emission fees pursuant to this paragraph (9), it will not be 
subject to the construction permit fees of paragraph (5) of this rule for any additional 
construction occurring at the source as long as the source remains a major source or 
Paragraph 11 source.  

 
2. Effective January 1, 2018, the following shall apply:  
 

(i) Sources choosing to pay annual emission fees on an allowable emissions basis 
pursuant to subparagraph (b) of this paragraph shall pay one hundred percent 
(100%) of the fee due pursuant to subparagraph (d) of this paragraph:  

 
(I) No later than April 1 of the year immediately following the annual 

accounting period for which the fee is due for sources paying on a 
calendar year basis pursuant to subparagraph (b) of this paragraph; or  

 
(II) No later than April 1 of the current fiscal year for sources paying on a 

fiscal year basis pursuant to subparagraph (b) of this paragraph.  
 

(ii) Sources choosing to pay annual emission fees on an actual emissions basis or a 
combination of actual and allowable emissions basis and on a calendar year 
basis pursuant to subparagraph (b) of this paragraph shall pay one hundred 
percent (100%) of the fee due pursuant to subparagraph (d) of this paragraph no 
later than April 1 of the year immediately following the annual accounting period 
for which the fee is due, except as allowed by part (g)3. (g)3 of this paragraph.  

 
(iii) Sources choosing to pay annual emission fees on an actual emissions basis or a 

combination of actual and allowable emissions basis and on a fiscal year basis 
pursuant to subparagraph (b) of this paragraph shall pay an estimated sixty-five 
percent (65%) of the fee due pursuant to subparagraph (d) of this paragraph no 
later than April 1 of the current fiscal year. The remainder of the annual emission 
fee is due July 1 of each year, except as allowed by part (g)3. (g)3 of this 
paragraph.  

 
(b) 1. On or before December 31 of the annual accounting period, the responsible official must 

submit to the Division in writing the responsible official’s determination to pay the annual 
emission fee based on: 

 
(i) Either a calendar year or state fiscal year; and  
 
(ii) Actual emissions, allowable emissions, or a mixture of actual and allowable 

emissions of regulated pollutants. 
 

2. If the responsible official does not declare a fee payment choice as provided in subparts 
1.(i) 1(i) or (ii) of this subparagraph, then the basis of the annual fee payment shall be the 
same as the responsible official’s most recent choice of fee payment, or, if no such 
previous choice was made, the basis of the annual fee payment shall be that specified in 
the source’s current major source operating permit.  

 
3. If the responsible official wishes to restructure allowable emissions for a major source or 

Paragraph 11 source for the purpose of lowering the annual emission fee, then an 
application must be filed at least ninety (90) days prior to December 31 of the annual 
accounting period as provided in subparagraph (g) of this paragraph.  

 
4. The responsible official of a newly constructed major source, Paragraph 11 source, or 

minor source modifying its operation such that the source becomes a major source or 
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Paragraph 11 source shall pay an initial annual emission fee based on a calendar year 
and allowable emissions for the fractional remainder of the calendar year commencing 
upon the source’s start-up.  

 
5. For purposes of the payment of annual emission fees due July 1, 2016, parts 1 and 2 of 

this subparagraph shall not apply. Annual emission fees due July 1, 2016, shall be based 
on the state fiscal year and the annual fee basis (actual emissions, allowable emissions, 
or a mixture) specified in a source’s current major source operating permit. If a source 
does not have an effective major source operating permit on July 1, 2016, then the 
source’s responsible official shall pay the annual emission fee based on the state fiscal 
year and allowable emissions.  

 
(c) Reserved. 
 
(d) 1. Notwithstanding the emission fee rates established by part 2 of this subparagraph, a 

responsible official of any source subject to this paragraph (9) shall pay an annual base 
emission fee of $4,000 $5,000 for fees due in calendar year 2021 and an annual base fee 
of $6,000 for fees due on or after January 1, 2022. This base emission fee shall be paid 
in addition to the annual emission fee established by part 2 subpart 2(iii) of this 
subparagraph, but shall be counted toward the applicable minimum fee set forth in 
subpart 2.(ii) 2(ii) of this subparagraph.  

 
2. (i) For purposes of this part, an electric utility generating unit (EGU) means any 

steam electric generating unit or stationary combustion turbine that is constructed 
for the purpose of supplying more than one-third of its potential electric output 
capacity and more than 25 MW net-electrical output to any utility power 
distribution system for sale. Also, any steam supplied to a steam distribution 
system for the purpose of providing steam to a steam electric generator that 
would produce electrical energy for sale is considered in determining the 
electrical energy output capacity of the affected EGU.  

 
(ii) Notwithstanding the annual emission fee rates established by subpart (iii) of this 

part, the annual emission fee required to be paid by a responsible official of any 
source subject to this paragraph (9) shall be no less than: 

 
(I) $5,500 for sources (once in always in or OIAI sources) subject to this 

paragraph (9) solely due to the May 16, 1995 EPA memorandum 
entitled, ‘‘Potential to Emit for MACT Standards—Guidance on Timing 
Issues,’’ from John Seitz, Director, Office of Air Quality Planning and 
Standards (OAQPS), to EPA Regional Air Division Directors, provided 
that the source has permitted allowable emissions below the major 
source thresholds found in part 14. of subparagraph (b) of paragraph 
(11)(b)14 of Rule 1200-03-09-.02. If the source’s permitted allowable 
emissions are not below those major source thresholds as of October 31 
of the annual accounting period for which fees are due under this part, 
then item (II) of this subpart applies; and  

 
(II) $7,500 $9,000 for all other sources subject to this paragraph (9) for fees 

due on and after January 1, 2021. 
 

(iii) The emission fee rates applied to calculate the annual emission fee assessed 
pursuant to subparagraph (a) of this paragraph shall be as follows:  

 
(I) Fee based on actual emissions: $53.50 per ton for non-EGU sources 

and $75.00 per ton for EGU sources; and For fees due in calendar year 
2021: 

 
I. Fee based on actual emissions: $69.50 per ton for non-EGU 

sources and $97.50 per ton for EGU sources; and 
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II. Fee based on allowable emissions: $43.50 per ton for non-EGU 
sources and $61.00 per ton for EGU sources. 

 
(II) Fee based on allowable emissions: $33.50 per ton for non-EGU sources 

and $47.00 per ton for EGU sources For fees due on and after January 
1, 2022: 

 
I. Fee based on actual emissions: $80.00 per ton for non-EGU 

sources and $112.00 per ton for EGU sources; and 
 
II. Fee based on allowable emissions: $50.00 per ton for non-EGU 

sources and $70.00 per ton for EGU sources.  
 

(iv) The emission fees and fee rates enumerated in subpart (iii) of this part this 
subparagraph (d) must be supported by the Division’s annual workload analysis 
that is approved by the Board.  

 
3. The emission fees and fee rates specified in this subparagraph (d) shall remain in effect 

until the effective date of an amendment to part 2 of this subparagraph (d). Any revision 
to the emission fees and fee rates must result in the collection of sufficient fee revenue to 
fund the activities identified in subparagraph (1)(c) of this rule and must be supported by 
the Division’s annual workload analysis that is approved by the Board.  

 
(e) 1. An emission cap of 4,000 tons per year per regulated pollutant per major source SIC 

code shall apply to actual or allowable based emission fees. A major source annual 
emission fee will not be charged for emissions in excess of the cap(s) or for carbon 
monoxide.  

 
2. No annual emission fee under this paragraph (9) will be charged for emissions of a 

pollutant solely because the pollutant is a constituent of greenhouse gases.  
 

(f) In the case where a source is shut down such that it has operated only during a portion of the 
annual accounting period and the source’s permits are forfeited to the Technical Secretary, the 
appropriate fee shall be calculated on a prorated basis over the period of time that the source 
was operated in the annual accounting period. The responsible official of a major source or 
Paragraph 11 source that is shut down, but wishes to retain its permits, shall pay a maintenance 
fee equivalent to 40% of the fee that would be charged had the responsible official determined to 
base the annual emission fee on allowable emissions. If the responsible official chooses this 
option in the midst of an annual accounting period, then the fee will be prorated according to the 
number of months that the source was in the maintenance fee status. However, in no case shall 
the annual fee be less than the minimum annual fee established in subpart (d)2(ii) of this 
paragraph. The responsible official shall notify the Division no later than December 31 of the 
annual accounting period so that the Division will have sufficient time to adjust billing records for 
the maintenance fee status. 

 
(g) Responsible officials required to pay the major source or Paragraph 11 source annual emission 

fee pursuant to subparagraph (a) of this paragraph must conform to the following requirements 
with respect to fee payments:  

 
1. (i) If a responsible official paying the annual emission fee based on allowable 

emissions wishes to restructure the allowable emissions of a major source 
subject to paragraph (11) of Rule 1200-03-09-.02 or Paragraph 11 source for the 
purpose of lowering the annual emission fee, then upon mutual agreement of the 
responsible official and the Technical Secretary, a more restrictive regulatory 
requirement may be established to minimize the allowable emissions and thus 
the annual emission fee. The more restrictive regulatory requirement, the method 
used to determine compliance with the limitation, and the documentation 
procedure to be followed by the major source or Paragraph 11 source to ensure 
that the limit is not exceeded must be included in the application and specified in 
a permit through either the permit modification processes of paragraph (11) of 
Rule 1200-03-09-.02, or the construction permit processes of Rule 1200-03-09-



SS-7037 (October 2018)  RDA 1693 
17 

.01, or both. The more restrictive requirement shall be effective for purposes of 
lowering the annual emission fee upon agreement by both the responsible official 
and the Technical Secretary and for all other purposes shall be effective upon 
issuance of the permit, modification, or both.  

 
(ii) To reduce the amount of the fee as provided in subpart (i) of this part, the 

responsible official must file a complete permit modification or construction permit 
application with the Division at least ninety (90) days prior to December 31 of the 
annual accounting period.  

 
2. The responsible official shall file an analysis of actual emissions, allowable emissions, or 

both actual and allowable emissions, whichever is appropriate due to the basis of the 
annual emission fee payment, with the Technical Secretary on or before the date the fee 
is due pursuant to subparagraph (a) of this paragraph. The analysis shall summarize the 
emissions of all regulated pollutants at the air contaminant sources of the major source or 
Paragraph 11 source facility and shall be used to calculate the amount of the annual 
emission fee owed pursuant to subparagraph (a) of this paragraph.  

 
(i) An annual emission fee based on both actual emissions and allowable emissions 

shall be calculated utilizing the 4,000 ton per year cap specified in subparagraph 
(2)(i) of this rule. In determining the tonnages to be applied toward the regulated 
pollutant 4,000 ton cap in a mixed base fee, the responsible official shall first 
calculate the actual emission-based fees for a regulated pollutant and apply that 
tonnage toward the regulated pollutant’s cap. The remaining tonnage available in 
the 4,000 ton category of a regulated pollutant shall be subject to allowable 
emission based fee calculations. Once the 4,000 ton per year cap has been 
reached for a regulated pollutant, no additional fee for that pollutant shall be 
required.  

 
(ii) If the responsible official chooses to base the annual emission fee on actual 

emissions, then the responsible official must prove the magnitude of the source’s 
emissions to the satisfaction of the Technical Secretary.  

 
3. (i) Responsible officials choosing to pay the annual emission fee based on actual 

emissions or a mixture of actual and allowable emissions may request an 
extension of time for filing the emissions analysis with the Technical Secretary. 
The extension may be granted by the Technical Secretary for up to ninety (90) 
days after the fee is due pursuant to subparagraph (a) of this paragraph. The 
request for extension must be received by the Division no later than 4:30 p.m. on 
April 1, or the request for extension shall be denied. The request for extension to 
file must state the reason for the request and provide an adequate explanation. 
An estimated annual emission fee payment of no less than sixty-five percent 
(65%) of the annual emission fee must accompany the request for extension to 
avoid penalties and interest on the underpayment of the annual emission fee. 
The remaining balance due must accompany the emission analysis. If there has 
been an overpayment, the responsible official may request a refund in writing to 
the Division or the amount of the overpayment may be applied as a credit toward 
the next annual emission fee.  

 
(ii) A responsible official choosing to pay the annual emission fee based on 

allowable emissions is not eligible for the extension of time authorized by subpart 
(i) of this part.  

 
(h) Reserved.  
 
(i)  Reserved. 

 
Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-201, et seq.; 4-5-202, et seq.; and 68-201-101, et seq. 
 
The title of Rule 1200-03-26-.02 is amended by changing the title from “Construction and Annual Emission Fees” 
to “Construction and Annual Fees.” 
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Authority: T.C.A. §§ 4-5-202, et seq. and 68-201-105. 
 
The table of contents to Chapter 1200-03-26 Administrative Fee Schedule is amended by changing the title of 
Rule 1200-03-26-.02 from “Construction and Annual Emission Fees” to “Construction and Annual Fees,” so that 
as amended the table of contents shall read: 
 
1200-03-26-.01 Tennessee Visible Emissions Evaluation Course Fees 
1200-03-26-.02 Construction and Annual Emission Fees 
1200-03-26-.03 Repealed 
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scope of rulemaking proposed by the agency. 
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