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Introduction  
The Student Membership and Attendance Procedures Manual serves to provide local education 

agencies (LEAs) with clear guidance for obtaining student attendance. This manual does not 

represent specific legal advice. For specific legal advice, please contact your local board attorney.  

  

The manual includes a number of membership/attendance accounting procedures either required by 

legislative action or recommended by attendance supervisors and user technicians.  

  

Penny Schwinn  

Commissioner  

Department of Education  

State of Tennessee   
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VI-B – Additional Resources  

I. Attendance  

I-A. Attendance Procedures  

  

1. Attendance shall be marked daily, beginning with the first day of school, for pre- kindergarten 

through grade 12 (pre-K–12) students.  

  

2. A Personal Identification Number (PIN) shall be used to uniquely identify students upon entry 

into a Tennessee public school, i.e., 9 + the 3-digit school system number + 00001 to 99999.  

  

a. This uniquely assigned PIN must remain with the student throughout the student’s 

career in Tennessee public schools regardless of subsequent transfers within the 

school district or to other Tennessee school districts.  

  

3. Prior to the beginning of the school year, the principal shall provide teachers with an 

attendance packet that includes the district procedures for attendance accounting. The 

attendance packet shall also include all necessary attendance forms, the district's attendance 

policies, and the district's attendance symbols.  

  

4. Each teacher shall receive a list of students assigned to his or her class prior to the first day of 

the class (including homeroom teachers). Individual classroom teachers shall be responsible 

for keeping daily attendance for the students assigned to the class. Regardless of the number 

of students who pre-registered, only those students who are actually in attendance shall be 

counted present.  

  

5. Each teacher responsible for taking attendance when school convenes shall report any 

student who is absent to the office. The office shall distribute a daily absentee list to each 

teacher. A teacher shall then report any student who is absent from class but not included on 

the absentee list to the office.  

  

6. Students in grades pre-K–12 shall be present at least 50 percent of the scheduled school day 

in order to be counted present. In determining 50 percent of the scheduled school day, the 

beginning of the general instructional day must be used. Neither the arrival time of school 

buses, departure time of school buses, nor breakfast program, shall be considered part of the 

instructional day.  

  

7. Students receiving special education services may attend part-time days, alternating days, or 

for a specific amount of time as indicated in their IEP.  

  

8. Students not in school on any day for at least 50 percent of the scheduled school day shall be 

considered absent for state reporting. This includes students not present at least 50 percent 

of an abbreviated scheduled school day.  
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9. Students who are absent from school are included in Average Daily Membership (ADM)  

counts but excluded from Average Daily Attendance (ADA) counts.  

  

10. Students serving in-school suspension and receiving educational services; homebound 

students receiving homebound services; alternative school or program students; students 

serving as a page for the General Assembly; and students participating in school-sponsored 

events shall be counted present.  

  
11. Students serving out-of-school suspension shall be marked absent. Suspension is defined as 

dismissed from attendance at school for any reason not exceeding 10 consecutive days. The 

school district shall remain eligible to receive funding for a suspended student. The parent or 

legal guardian of a suspended student shall be notified in accordance with T.C.A. § 49-6-3401.  

  

a. Students receiving special education services may be suspended out of school without 

educational services for up to 10 cumulative days per school year. Educational 

services must be provided on all days subsequent to the exhaustion of the 10 

cumulative days. Consult your special education supervisor for specific guidance 

regarding procedural safeguards when considering suspending a child who is 

receiving special education services.  

  

12. Expulsion is defined as removal from attendance for more than 10 consecutive days or more 

than 15 days in a month of school attendance. The school district shall not be eligible to 

receive funding for an expelled student. The parent or legal guardian of an expelled student 

shall be notified in accordance with T.C.A. § 49-6-3401. Students who have been expelled:  

  

a. Shall not be reported in any attendance code to EIS during the period of expulsion. 

LEAs may choose to implement a local attendance code for expelled students;  

  

b. Shall be marked “E” for the disciplinary action code; and  

  

c. Shall have an end date entered for his or her class schedule beginning the first day of 

expulsion. When student returns after expulsion a new class schedule shall be 

submitted for the student.  

  

Please note pursuant to the federal IDEA, students with disabilities may be suspended from 

school without educational services for 10 cumulative days per school year. For any removal 

exceeding 10 days, the student must be provided educational services in an alternate setting.  

  

13. Districts may establish policies that include opportunities for students to attend make-up 

sessions outside the regular school day in order to regain credit due to absence from school. 

Make-up sessions outside the regular school day may not be used to allow students to regain 

lost time or “cancel-out” an absence.   
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14. After the first two weeks of school, the teacher must transfer any temporary attendance 

records to the teacher’s permanent attendance record. Attendance records must be 

maintained in the local school office.  

15. Prior to the end of the first 20-day reporting period, a list of students who have pre-

registered, but have not attended school, shall be submitted to the principal and/or 

attendance supervisor. The principal and/or attendance supervisor shall make a 

determination as to whether the student has moved or transferred and shall take action to 

enforce compulsory attendance laws, if necessary.  

  

16. Attendance on grade cards must align with school attendance records.  

  
17. Any student shall be considered a dropout after 10 consecutive days of unexcused absences 

and after all requirements for truancy intervention have been followed.  

  

18. A student who has dropped out or is withdrawn from a school’s enrollment shall be coded as 

a “withdrawal” beginning with the day following the last day of attendance. A student that was 

enrolled in a school the previous year, but did not return in the current year, shall be 

considered withdrawn as of the first day of school. Every effort should be made to determine 

what happened to students who leave the system in order to record the proper withdrawal 

code. A full list of withdrawal codes can be found in the EIS Appendices.  

  

19. Students who have dropped out or who have been withdrawn from a school’s enrollment 

shall not be deleted from a school’s record.  

  

a. A kindergarten student under the age of six may be deleted from a school’s record 

when the student leaves kindergarten within six weeks of initial enrollment and waits 

until the next school year to begin school, or when the child is pre-registered for 

kindergarten and never shows up.  

  

b. A pre-K student may be deleted from a school’s record when the student leaves pre- K 

within six weeks of initial enrollment and waits until the next school year to begin 

school, or when the child is pre-registered for pre-K and never shows up.  

  

20. Students who pass the GED within the same year that they drop out can be re-entered and 

considered completers. These students are coded as GED completers but are only included in 

the denominator of the graduation rate calculation and do not count as graduates.  

  

I-B. Excused and Unexcused Absences  

  

1. LEAs shall follow the State Board of Education’s School Attendance Policy 4.100 with regard to 

state requirements for excused and unexcused absences.  

  

https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/education/technology/EIS/eis_appendices_2018-19.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/education/technology/EIS/eis_appendices_2018-19.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/education/technology/EIS/eis_appendices_2018-19.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/education/technology/EIS/eis_appendices_2018-19.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/education/technology/EIS/eis_appendices_2018-19.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/stateboardofeducation/documents/policies/4000/4.100%20School%20Attendance%20Policy%2010-20-17.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/stateboardofeducation/documents/policies/4000/4.100%20School%20Attendance%20Policy%2010-20-17.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/stateboardofeducation/documents/policies/4000/4.100%20School%20Attendance%20Policy%2010-20-17.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/stateboardofeducation/documents/policies/4000/4.100%20School%20Attendance%20Policy%2010-20-17.pdf
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2. LEAs shall adopt a local policy outlining excused and unexcused absences in compliance 

with the School Attendance Policy 4.100.  

  

3. If conflicts between teacher records and other records relating to excused or unexcused 

absences occur, the information recorded in the school office data file shall prevail.  

4. Students with five or more unexcused absences shall be reported to the attendance 

supervisor. Parents or guardians must be notified each time a student has five unexcused 

absences pursuant to T.C.A. § 49-6- 3007. Additional notices must be sent after each 

successive accumulation of five unexcused absences. All requirements for truancy 

intervention shall be followed pursuant to T.C.A. § 49-6- 3009.  

  

I-C. Out-of-School Activities  

1.  Students participating in out-of-school activities shall be counted as present only when the 

activities are school directed, related to an instructional activity, and have prior approval of 

the local board of education.  

  

a. Allowable out-of-school activities may include: field trips, career and technical 

education student organization activities, school club member competitions (e.g., 

Forensics Club), athletic team participations, band contests, etc. For additional 

guidance on allowable out-of-school activities, see the State Board School Attendance 

Policy 4.100.  

  

b. Non-allowable out-of-school activities include: release of all students to attend athletic 

events, state tournaments, or Fair Day or exempting students from attendance on any 

of the instructional days for any type of reward (e.g., magazine sales, attendance, 

academic, etc.). Note: If a school releases all students for events that are non- 

allowable, the missed days must be made up by following the procedures for making 

up days outlined in section IV-I of this manual.  

  

I-D. Illegal Reporting of Attendance  

  

T.C.A. § 49-5-201 mandates that teachers accurately record the number of students present and 

absent each day. It is a violation of the law to change or falsify attendance reports.  

  

II. Enrollment and Membership  
  

II-A. Pre-Kindergarten Students  

  

1. LEAs shall keep attendance records in EIS for all students in an LEA-administered pre-K. All 

pre- K students in the school district should be enrolled, staff and classes scheduled, and 

attendance maintained, including any state-funded Voluntary Pre-K, special education, Title 1, 

fee-based, locally funded, or any other pre-K classes that the district offers.  

https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/stateboardofeducation/documents/policies/4000/4.100%20School%20Attendance%20Policy%2010-20-17.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/stateboardofeducation/documents/policies/4000/4.100%20School%20Attendance%20Policy%2010-20-17.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/stateboardofeducation/documents/policies/4000/4.100%20School%20Attendance%20Policy%2010-20-17.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/stateboardofeducation/documents/policies/4000/4.100%20School%20Attendance%20Policy%2010-20-17.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/stateboardofeducation/documents/policies/4000/4.100%20School%20Attendance%20Policy%2010-20-17.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/stateboardofeducation/documents/policies/4000/4.100%20School%20Attendance%20Policy%2010-20-17.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/stateboardofeducation/documents/policies/4000/4.100%20School%20Attendance%20Policy%2010-20-17.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/stateboardofeducation/documents/policies/4000/4.100%20School%20Attendance%20Policy%2010-20-17.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/stateboardofeducation/documents/policies/4000/4.100%20School%20Attendance%20Policy%2010-20-17.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/stateboardofeducation/documents/policies/4000/4.100%20School%20Attendance%20Policy%2010-20-17.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/stateboardofeducation/documents/policies/4000/4.100%20School%20Attendance%20Policy%2010-20-17.pdf
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2. LEAs shall enter all pre-K data in EIS in the same manner as K–12 data in regard to data 

collection and reporting, including student enrollment, creation of school calendars, set up of 

staff data, class scheduling, and attendance.  

3. LEAs that offer pre-K in community-based agencies shall set up the off-site class as though it 

were a class at an elementary school within the LEA.  

4. Special education pre-K programs that provide part-time services for students, such as 

speech twice a week for 30 minutes, should create a schedule, including setting up each class, 

assigning staff, assigning students to classes, and taking attendance for those students for the 

time that they are receiving services.  

  
5. Pre-K students receiving Individual Education Program (IEP) services shall be counted present 

for the days attended in accordance with their IEPs when the child is in attendance at least 50 

percent of the time scheduled for the service(s) in the IEP. For example, a student who 

receives speech/language services for an hour a week would be counted as present only for 

the day the student receives speech when the child attends at least 50 percent of the 

scheduled day. If the student receiving IEP services is in attendance less than 50 percent of 

the time designated in the IEP for the service on the specified day, the student shall not be 

counted as present for any portion of the day.  

  

II-B. Students with Disabilities   

  

1. Students receiving special education services or provided protection under Section 504 may  

attend part-time days, alternating days, or for a specific amount of time as indicated in their 

IEP or 504 plan. Shortening a student’s day may only be done if the student continues to 

receive a free and appropriate public education (FAPE) and the student needs a shortened 

day to meet his or her individual need for an appropriate education.  

  

2. The following steps detail the enrollment process for students referred for evaluation or 

currently receiving special education services:  

  

a. Enroll the student into the school he or she would normally be zoned to attend.  

  

b. Enter all the preliminary required data from the state IEP data system (EasyIEP).  

  

c. On the first day of service, the student should be assigned a class and schedule. The 

effective date of the class period shall be the first day the child receivesservice.  

  

3. Students evaluated for special education for the first time or students served through 

Tennessee Early Intervention Services (TEIS) must be enrolled in EIS. To ensure that there are 

no gaps in service, children in TEIS shall be enrolled in EIS before they turn three years of age. 

Children served through TEIS shall not be assigned a schedule or class periodattendance.  
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Options of Special Education Services:  

  

Option of Service  Contact Hours  

Option 1  a. Documented consultation  

b. Less than 1 hour per week of direct instructional service  

c. Related services at least twice a month and less than 1 hour per 

week  

Option of Service  Contact Hours  

Option 2  1–3 hours per week of direct instructional services  

Option 3  4–8 hours per week of direct instructional services  

Option 4  9–13 hours per week of direct instructional services  

Option 5  14–22 hours per week of direct instructional services  

Option 6  4 or more hours per day in the general education classroom with direct 

service from a special education assistant  

Option 7  23 or more hours per week of direct instructional services  

Option 8  32.5 or more hours per week of direct instructional services, including 2 

related services  

Option 9  24 hours per day of residential services  

Option 10  3 or more hours per week of direct instruction in a home or hospital 

setting  

  

II-C. Homebound and Hospitalized Students  

  

1. Students with a physical or mental condition that is expected to cause the student to be 

absent for more than ten consecutive days should be placed on homebound status and 

provided homebound services. Homebound services shall begin as soon as possible in order 

to assure the student continuing educational support.  

  

2. A student requiring homebound placement may need to be evaluated for eligibility for 

Section 504 services.  

  

3. Homebound students shall receive at least three hours of direct instruction in a home or 

hospital setting per week. Homebound students receiving special education services shall 

receive direct instruction based on the number of hours determined by the student’s IEP.  

  

4. If a student with an IEP is placed on homebound status, an IEP team meeting should take 

place as soon as possible to verify that the appropriate service for the child is homebound 

services. An IEP team may return a homebound or hospitalized student to the regular 

classroom on a gradual basis. The student should be marked as homebound until that 
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student is in the regular classroom for at least 50 percent of the scheduled school day, at 

which time the homebound student is removed from the homebound/hospitalized census.  

  

5. At the beginning of the homebound period, the appropriate staff shall enter the start date 

and the estimated date of return. When the student returns, the estimated date of return 

shall be changed to the actual date. Homebound students shall not be dropped and re-

entered, but shall remain enrolled and be counted present. Homebound students and 

students who receive services under a section 504 plan, but are not IDEA eligible, are not 

included in the special education census.  

6. Homebound/hospitalized students are to be included in the regular grade-level count.  

7. Students with disabilities who are placed on homebound should also be included in the 

Option 10 count using a date range identifying the homebound period.  

  

a. An IEP team may return a homebound or hospitalized student to the 

regular classroom on a gradual basis. The student is marked as 

homebound until the student is in the regular classroom for at least half of 

the scheduled school day, at which time the student is removed from the 

homebound/hospitalized census.  

b. Special education personnel are responsible for reporting special education 

homebound students for each census period.  

  

II-D. Students Attending Virtual School  

  

1. Districts shall have a system for keeping and reporting attendance for students participating 

in virtual courses and students enrolled in a virtual school.  

  

2. On or before Aug. 1 of each year, the public virtual school shall notify all LEAs of the 

enrollment of students residing within the LEA’s jurisdiction. LEAs shall be notified within two 

weeks when changes occur relative to students residing within the LEA’s jurisdiction.  

  

3. Once a non-resident student has been accepted and enrolled in a public virtual school, it shall 

be the responsibility of the LEA that established the public virtual school to maintain 

enrollment of that student until the student is withdrawn by a parent or guardian.  

  

II-E. Students Enrolled in Home School  

  

1. Pursuant to T.C.A. § 49-6-3050, a parent-teacher conducting a home school shall maintain 

attendance records for the student.  

  

2. Attendance records for a home-school student shall be submitted to the director of 

schools for the LEA in which the home-school student resides at the end of each school 

year.  
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II-F. Students Attending Adult High Schools or Adult Education Programs  

  

1. The minimum length of the school day for adult high schools and adult education programs is 

four hours.  

  

2. A student must be in attendance at least 50 percent of the four-hour school day in order to be 

counted present.  

  

3. Adult high schools may operate 12 months per year and provide flexible scheduling 

necessary for both day and night programs.  

  

II-G. Students Enrolled in Adjoining States  

  

Pursuant to T.C.A. § 49-6-3108, boards of education located in counties which are adjacent to other  

states may contract with the appropriate or local state officials in the adjoining state for the education 

of children in kindergarten through grade twelve (K–12). These students shall be counted in computing 

ADM for purposes of receiving Tennessee state funds.  

  

II-H. Enrollment by Residents of Adjoining States  

Pursuant to T.C.A. § 49-6-403, local boards of education may admit students residing in adjoining 

states, but those students shall not be counted in computing the ADA for purposes of receiving state 

school funds. LEAs that admit students from adjoining states shall collect tuition at the same rate as 

the average cost per pupil in the district attended.  

  

II-I. Alternative Schools or Programs  

  

1. An alternative school or program should be considered a short-term intervention program 

designed to develop academic and behavioral skills for students who have been removed 

from the regular school program.  

  

2. Attendance shall be maintained at each alternative school. Students in attendance at least 50 

percent of the school day shall be counted as present and shall be included in ADA and ADM 

counts.  

  

3. Pre-K students should not be assigned to alternative schools.  

  

II-J. Transition Classes  

  

1. Transition classes are those classes composed of students who have not yet mastered the 

skills necessary for successful completion of the next highest grade level. Placement of a 

student in a transition class shall be viewed as a half-step promotion. Transition classes are 

used between K–1, 1–2, 2–3, 3–4, 4–5, 5–6, 6–7, and 7–8.  
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2. The instructional grade for students enrolled in a transition class shall be the higher of the 

two grades involved. For example, K–1 transition students will be counted in the first grade 

(i.e., K– 1=T–1= first grade). A full list of the instructional grade codes, including those for 

transitional classes, can be found in the EIS Appendices.  

  

II-K. Work-Based Learning (WBL)  

  

1. If a student is enrolled in a WBL placement for credit, the time spent at the WBL placement 

shall count toward the minimum six and one-half (6½)-hour school day.  

  

2. Any student participating in a WBL placement for credit shall be counted present if the student 

is in attendance (either at the WBL placement, school, or a combination thereof) for at least 50 

percent of the scheduled school day.  

3. The time of day actually attributed to WBL placement is immaterial (i.e., 1 p.m. to 3p.m. should 

be treated the same as 7 p.m. to 9 p.m.).  

II-L. Career and Technical Education (CTE) Classes  

  

1. Students may enroll in CTE courses outside of their primary school; however, attendance 

must be kept at the school where the student is enrolled full time.  

a. CTE instructors shall document students who leave early or arrive late.  

  

b. CTE instructors shall record all absences and report those absences to the student’s 

primary school.  

  

2. A CTE student must be in attendance for 50 percent of the scheduled school day in order to 

be counted present.  

  

II-M. Residential Mental Health (K-Student Classification)  

  
1. Students are coded with the K-residential mental health student classification provided that:  

  

a. The residential mental health facility operates as a Category I special purpose school 

pursuant to State Board of Education rules and regulations;  

  

b. The student admitted to the residential mental health facility is currently enrolled in 

the LEA and was enrolled in the LEA in the academic year immediately preceding 

admission to the mental health facility; and  

  

https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/education/technology/EIS/eis_appendices_2018-19.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/education/technology/EIS/eis_appendices_2018-19.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/education/technology/EIS/eis_appendices_2018-19.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/education/technology/EIS/eis_appendices_2018-19.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/education/technology/EIS/eis_appendices_2018-19.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/education/technology/EIS/eis_appendices_2018-19.pdf
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c. The student is admitted to the residential mental health facility under a signed, 

written order of a qualified physician licensed to practice medicine in this state, such 

order being based upon medical necessity.  

  
2. Students with the K-residential mental health student classification are considered present 

and are not coded as absent.  

  

3. Students with the K-residential mental health student classification are included in average 

daily membership (ADM) and average daily attendance (ADA).  

  

4. Students with the K-residential mental health student classification retain the course 

schedules/codes that existed prior to their placement in the residential mental health facility.  

  

5. For information regarding students with the K-residential mental health student classification 

and statewide achievement testing, please see the District Accountability Protocol.  

  

II-N. Qualified Court Ordered Day Treatment (QDT00-Student Classification)  

  

1. Students are coded with the QDT00-qualified court ordered day treatment student 

classification provided that:  

a. The educational facility operates as a Category I special purpose school pursuant to the 

State Board of Education rules and regulations;  

  

b. The facility provides a minimum of 32 hours per week of educational instructional services 

to the student;  

  

c. The student admitted to the facility was enrolled in the LEA in the academic year 

immediately preceding admission to the facility and is enrolled at the time of admittance;  

  

d. The student is admitted to the facility under a signed, written order of a qualified juvenile 

judge or magistrate of a juvenile court in this state, such order being based upon the 

juvenile judge or magistrate of a juvenile court's assessment that admittance is in the best 

interest of the student and the community;  

  

e. The student is not in the custody of the department of children's services; and  

  

f. The facility is a recipient of a juvenile justice prevention grant.  

  

g. For the 2018-19 school year, the following educational facilities meet the criteria stipulated 

in T.C.A. § 49-3-308:  

  

i. Carroll County Juvenile Court;  

 ii.  Montgomery County Juvenile Court; and  

https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/education/data/data_district_accountability_protocol_2017.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/education/data/data_district_accountability_protocol_2017.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/education/data/data_district_accountability_protocol_2017.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/education/data/data_district_accountability_protocol_2017.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/education/data/data_district_accountability_protocol_2017.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/education/data/data_district_accountability_protocol_2017.pdf


  14  

 iii.  Rutherford County Juvenile Court, Teen Learning Center (Genesis).  

  

2. Students with the QDT00 – qualified court ordered day treatment student classification are 

considered present and are not coded as absent.  

  

3. Students with the QDT00 – qualified court ordered day treatment student classification are 

included in average daily membership (ADM) and average daily attendance (ADA).  

  

4. Students with the QDT00 – qualified court ordered day treatment student classification retain 

the course schedules/codes that existed prior to their placement in the residential mental 

health facility.  

  

5. For information regarding students with the QDT00 – qualified court ordered day treatment 

student classification and statewide achievement testing, please see the District Accountability 

Protocol.  

  

III. Membership and Attendance Accounting  
III-A. Attendance Accounting  

  

1. Membership and attendance accounting for each student is on the basis of the amount of 

time a student is enrolled for an instructional day. For schools that do not utilize a schedule 

based on periods, a student who is enrolled for the entire day would be 1.0 ADM.  

  

a. Equal length periods: If the standard student day for a school consists of six 60- 

minute periods (excluding lunch), and the student is scheduled for all six periods, that 

student will be counted in membership for 6/6 of the day or 1.0 ADM. The student 

scheduled for only four periods will be counted in membership for 4/6 of the day or 

0.6667 ADM. If the standard student day for a school consists of four 90-minute 

periods (excluding lunch), and a student is scheduled for two periods, that student will 

be counted in membership for 2/4 of the day or 0.5000 ADM.  

  

b. Unequal length periods: If the standard student day for a school consists of six 

periods—four 45-minute periods and two 90-minute periods (360 minutes) (excluding 

lunch)—and a student is scheduled for all six periods, that student will be counted in 

membership for 6/6 of the day (360/360) or 1.0 ADM. The student scheduled for only 

four periods, three 45-minute periods and 1 one 90-minute period (225 minutes), will 

be counted in membership for 0.6250 ADM or 225/360.  

  

c. In no case is a student authorized to be counted as more than 1.0 ADM or ADA.  

  

d. Class change time of reasonable length will be considered a part of the instructional 

day and included in the calculation.  

https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/education/data/data_district_accountability_protocol_2017.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/education/data/data_district_accountability_protocol_2017.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/education/data/data_district_accountability_protocol_2017.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/education/data/data_district_accountability_protocol_2017.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/education/data/data_district_accountability_protocol_2017.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/education/data/data_district_accountability_protocol_2017.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/education/data/data_district_accountability_protocol_2017.pdf
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e. The amount of time allowed for lunch shall be excluded from the calculation of the 

instructional day. If homeroom is scheduled, it is considered instructional time.  

  

f. The resulting denominator used to calculate the instructional day may vary from one 

school/district to another because of class schedule configurations or other reasons. It 

is important to note, however, that the denominator used in the calculation will never 

be smaller than the numerator. No more than one day of instructional time will be 

funded for any given school day regardless of the length of the day.  

  

g. The calculation of ADA is unchanged except in the case of partial students in grades 9– 

12. ADA must be equal to or less than ADM for partial students. In no case can ADA be 

greater than ADM, except the additional calculation for CTE students in grades 9–12 

effectively reduces student ADA to a total which is not greater than student ADM.  

  

2. Average Daily Attendance (ADA) is calculated as follows:  

  

a. Divide the total number of days present by the number of days taught within the 

accounting period (20 days). Carry the decimal to four places. To calculate Full-Time 

Average Daily Attendance (FTEADA) for CTE classes, divide total hours attended by 120 

(i.e., 6-hour day x 20 days in the accounting period).  

b. For adult high schools, use the sum of the total hours of classroom attendance 

divided by 80. This is on the basis of a 4-hour day and a 20-day month.  

  

3. Average Daily Membership (ADM) is calculated as follows:  

  
a. The sum of total number of days enrolled divided by the number of days taught within  

the accounting period (20 days). Carry decimal to four places. To calculate Full-Time 

Average Daily Membership (FTEADM) for CTE classes, divide the total hours enrolled 

by 120 (i.e., 6-hour day x 20 days in the accounting period).  

  

b. For adult high schools, use the sum of the total hours of classroom attendance, plus 

the total hours of classroom absence, divided by 80. This is on the basis of a 4-hour 

day and a 20-day month. Students in unstructured classes will not have absences. 

Students may be counted more than one FTE per day.  

  

III-B. Career and Technical Education  

  

1. A CTE student must be in attendance for 50 percent of the scheduled school day in order to 

be counted present for ADA calculations. Attendance is then prorated between academic and 

career and technical education. If the student is not in attendance for 50 percent of the 

scheduled school day, the student may not be counted present for ADA purposes. Example: A 

student is enrolled in four hours of academic classes and two hours of CTE classes. The 
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student leaves school early and misses the two-hour CTE class. The student is still in 

attendance for 50 percent of the scheduled school day and receives funding for that day, 

which is prorated 4/6 academic and 2/6 CTE.  

  

2. CTE instructors shall keep accurate counts of all CTE students in each class, including Option 

7, 8, or 9 special education students. Students receiving special education will be counted 

separately during each of the 20-day school reporting periods.  

  

3. Districts shall calculate the prorated CTE attendance figures by career cluster. There are 16 

career clusters, or classifications, listed on the Superintendent’s Student  

Membership/Attendance Report. The CTE course number and corresponding career cluster, 

along with the period(s) that the student attends CTE class, must be entered before the end 

of the first reporting period in order for ADA and ADM to be calculated correctly.  

  

4. Since Option 7, 8, or 9 special education students cannot be counted in academic ADA/ADM, it 

is necessary to include their CTE ADA and ADM in the appropriate columns on the 

Superintendent’s Student Membership/Attendance Report. Example: If a student receiving 

special education also receives CTE training and is a part of the 23 hours of special education 

service, the student is counted in special education ADM and is not claimed for CTE  

FTEADA/ADM. However, if the CTE service is above the 23 hours of special education service, 

then funding for these hours is through CTE.  

5. The CTE classes counted as part of the minimum hours of service for special education 

Option 7 shall not be counted for CTE FTEADA/ADM. Classes above the 23 hours of special 

education services each week shall be counted for CTE FTEADA/ADM. In order for Option 7 

students to be counted in appropriate CTE classes above the 23 hours of special education 

services, additional entries must be made in the attendance data showing this attendance.  

  
III-C. Transportation  

  

1. Students who attend school any portion of the school day will be counted for transportation 

funding.  

  

2. If a student rides the same bus in both the morning and the afternoon, the student is counted 

present once for the a.m. bus and once for the p.m. bus.  

  

3. If a student rides only the morning bus, the student is counted present only for the a.m. bus.  

  

4. If a student rides only the afternoon bus, the student is counted present only for the p.m. 

bus.  

  

5. If a student rides different buses in the morning and afternoon, the student is counted 

present once for the a.m. bus and once for the p.m. bus.  
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IV. School Calendar  

IV-A. School Year  

  

1. Each district shall maintain a term of at least 180 days for classroom instruction.  

  

2. If a school’s graduation ceremony occurs prior to the last day of school, students must continue 

to attend school until the last day of the school term. Any student not in attendance for at least 

50 percent of the school day shall be marked absent.  

  

3. Districts may elect to use staggered (flexible) scheduling for kindergarten classes by policy of 

the local board of education. Staggered (flexible) scheduling is where kindergarten students are 

separated into groups and scheduled for school registration on different days during the first 

10 days of school. Districts using flexible scheduling will stagger the attendance of kindergarten 

students during the first 10 days and count those students present who are not scheduled to 

attend. Students who are scheduled to attend on any given day who are not present at least 50 

percent of the day shall be counted absent. Districts using staggered scheduling shall ensure all 

students have the opportunity to attend school for 180 days.  

  

4. Districts may elect to use staggered (flexible) scheduling for pre-K classes for a maximum of 10 

days per school year. All 10 days may be used at the beginning of the school year for staggered 

scheduling and/or home visits or the district may stagger five of the 10 days at other times 

during the school year. However, districts may not use a staggered schedule during the last 30 

days of the school year. Districts using flexible scheduling will stagger the attendance of pre-K  

students during the 10 days and count those students present who are not scheduled to attend. 

Students who are scheduled to attend on any given day who are not present at least 50 percent 

of the day shall be counted absent. Districts using staggered scheduling shall ensure that all 

students have the opportunity to attend school for 180 days.  

  
5. A list of event codes for calendar events can be found in the EIS Appendices.  

  

IV-B. School Day  

  

1. The minimum length of the school day for grades one through twelve (1–12) is six and one-

half (6½) hours.  

  

2. The minimum length of the school day for kindergarten is four hours, five days a week, for a 

minimum of 180 instructional days. Double sessions in any kindergarten program may be 

permitted so long as both sessions meet all legal requirements for kindergarten programs.  

  

3. The minimum length of the school day for Voluntary Pre-K (VPK) is five and one-half (5½) 

hours per day (exclusive of nap time), five days a week, for a minimum of 180 instructional 

https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/education/technology/EIS/eis_appendices_2018-19.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/education/technology/EIS/eis_appendices_2018-19.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/education/technology/EIS/eis_appendices_2018-19.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/education/technology/EIS/eis_appendices_2018-19.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/education/technology/EIS/eis_appendices_2018-19.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/education/technology/EIS/eis_appendices_2018-19.pdf
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days. Other locally and federally funded pre-K classes, including special education programs 

and services, may have different requirements for the length of the school year and day.  

  

IV-C. Year-Round Schools  

  

Year-round schools shall:  

  

1. be based on a 200-day calendar that ends by June 30;  

  

2. submit to the local board of education approval of the year-round calendar;  

  

3. be in session on Dec. 1 to accommodate the Federal Census for Special Education;  

  

4. participate in the same testing windows for state-mandated tests; and  

  

5. submit all required state reports.  

  

IV-D. Abbreviated Days  

  

1. Any school day shorter than six and one-half (6½) hours for grades one through twelve (1– 12) 

and four hours for kindergarten is considered an abbreviated day.  

  

2. Any school day shorter than five and one-half (5½) hours for VPK is considered an abbreviated 

day.  

  

3. Districts may schedule any three of the 180 instructional days as abbreviated days. These  

dates shall be specified on the 200 Day Accountability Report. The dates of these abbreviated  

days must be approved by the local board of education.  

4. Abbreviated days must be included in the district and school calendar.  

  

IV-E. Use of Stockpile Days for Dangerous or Extreme Conditions  

1. Districts may elect to extend the school day to seven hours for the full academic year for the 

purpose of accumulating additional instructional time not to exceed 13 days.  

  

2. Districts may extend the school day beyond seven hours; however, for computing stockpile 

days, only the 30 minutes above the six and-one-half (6½) hours may be accumulated. 

Districts may not accumulate more than 13 stockpile days.  

  

3. The stockpiled days can be applied toward meeting instructional time requirements missed 

due to dangerous or extreme weather conditions. Prior approval from the commissioner is 

not required to use stockpile days for dangerous or extreme weather conditions, such as a 

snow day.  
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4. Districts must seek approval by the commissioner to use stockpile days in cases of natural 

disaster, serious outbreaks of illness affecting or endangering students or staff, or dangerous 

structural or environmental conditions rendering a school unsafe for use.  

  

a.  To request approval in these circumstances, directors of schools shall email 

Commissioner.Schwinn@tn.gov explaining the nature of the request and a list of days 

that school will be dismissed.  

  

5. Any unused accumulated days for excess instructional time shall not carry over to a school 

year other than the year in which the time was accumulated and shall not be used to end the 

school year early.  

  

6. A district may not extend the school day to seven hours by adding 30 minutes of study hall to 

the regular school program.  

  

7. For the purposes of this section, “instructional day” includes lunch period, activities period, 

assembly period, recess period, etc.  

  

IV-F. Use of Stockpile Days for Professional Development  

  

1.  LEAs and schools may provide for professional development during the school day under one 

of the following options:  

  

a. LEAs that elect to extend the school day to at least seven (7) hours for the purpose of 

meeting instructional time requirements missed due to dangerous or extreme 

weather conditions may allocate a portion of that extension for the purpose of faculty 

professional development, Individualized Education Program (IEP) team meetings, 

school-wide or system-wide instructional planning meetings, parent/teacher 

conferences, or other similar meetings under the following conditions:  

i. Prior to the beginning of the school year, districts shall designate how many 

days shall be allocated for dangerous or extreme weather conditions and how 

many shall be allocated for student dismissals for faculty professional 

development, Individualized Education Program (IEP) team meetings, school-

wide or system- wide instructional planning meetings, parent/teacher 

conferences, or other similar meetings. The total number of days shall not 

exceed 13.  

 ii. Prior to the beginning of the school year, districts shall submit an LEA Stockpiled Professional Development 

Days Application and agenda for the allocation of excess time for faculty professional 

development to the commissioner of education for approval.  

  

b. LEAs may adopt policies providing for individual schools to have school days of at 

least seven hours in order to accumulate instructional time to be used for periodic 

https://www.tn.gov/education/lea-operations/data-quality-integrity.html
https://www.tn.gov/education/lea-operations/data-quality-integrity.html
https://www.tn.gov/education/lea-operations/data-quality-integrity.html
https://www.tn.gov/education/lea-operations/data-quality-integrity.html
https://www.tn.gov/education/lea-operations/data-quality-integrity.html
https://www.tn.gov/education/lea-operations/data-quality-integrity.html
https://www.tn.gov/education/lea-operations/data-quality-integrity.html
https://www.tn.gov/education/lea-operations/data-quality-integrity.html
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early student dismissals for the purpose of faculty professional development. The 

following conditions shall apply to districts exercising this option:  

  

i. Early dismissals shall not exceed the equivalent of 13 days and shall not 

exceed three and one-half (3½) hours in any week.  

 ii. Students shall attend school for at least 180 days.  

  

3.  Stockpile professional development dates scheduled prior to attendance start or after attendance 

end shall not be substituted for an instructional day.  

  

IV-G. School Closure on Election Day  

  

Schools chosen as a polling place for a regular November election shall be closed for instruction on the 

Election Day. The LEA may use the day as an in-service day for school personnel. Districts must still 

schedule 180 instructional days for students.  

  

IV-H. Waiver of Instructional Day  

  

In the event of a natural disaster or serious outbreaks of illness affecting or endangering students or 

staff during a school year, the commissioner of education may waive for that school year the 

requirement of 180 days of classroom instruction.  

  

IV-I. Early Dismissal  

  

1. Schools may dismiss students early when dangerous or extreme weather conditions arise. If 

students are dismissed early from school, determination of whether the day can be counted 

as a full instructional day is based on the earliest class in session within your district. Example: 

School is in session, and the students were released due to snow at 10:30 a.m. The earliest 

class started at 7 a.m. at the high school. Therefore, the entire district is credited for an 

instructional day, because some students were in class for the minimum three and one-half  

(3½) hours.  

  

2. If a school has met the minimum requirement for half the state minimum school day and 

must dismiss for inclement weather, the day does not have to be made up. However, if school 

must be dismissed because of inclement weather prior to the school having met the half-day 

requirement, a stockpiled day must be used, or the entire day must be made up.  

  

3. Students may be dismissed early for parent conferences provided that the parent 

conferences are scheduled in the school's master calendar and provided that the classroom 

instruction time is made up in full.  

IV-J. Make-Up Days  
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1. A make-up day is an instructional day that is used to make up instructional time missed. The 

following methods may be used to make up a missed instructional day:  

  

a. Extend the length of school day by a minimum of 30 minutes for a period adequate to 

accumulate the equivalent of the days lost.  

  

b. Schedule classes on Saturday or Sunday.  

  

c. Schedule classes on a day previously designated as a holiday.  

  

d. Reduce time scheduled for spring break.  

  

e. Extend the school year. (The school year may legally be extended to June 30.)  

  

2. A district may not use study hall in order to make up instructional time.  

  

IV-K. Assessment Accounting Procedures  

  

1. School districts should address student absences on days used to administer state-mandated 

assessments in the same manner as they would address a student’s failure to participate in 

any other mandatory activity at school by applying the district’s or school’s attendance 

policies.  

  

2. Students shall be counted absent if they are not in attendance for at least 50 percent of the 

school day.  

  

3. Days spent on state-mandated assessments are included in the required 180-day school 

term.  

  

V. Documentation and Record Keeping  

V-A. Documentation  

  

The following documentation must be on file at the district central office (CO) or the individual school (IS) 

as indicated:  

  

1. The LEA’s attendance policies that have been approved by the local school board (CO)  

  

2. Copies of the Academic Attendance Report and the Director’s Monthly Student Membership/ 

Attendance Report, including all worksheets (CO)  

  

3. Documentation (sign-in/out roster) that CTE and total students are properly counted  
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in compliance with the "half of the state scheduled school day" attendance policy (IS)  

4. Teacher attendance records that include all absences recorded in compliance with local board 

policy (IS)  

  

5. Daily absentee sheets with sign-in/out rosters attached clearly indicating those students who 

are present or absent for at least 50 percent of the scheduled school day (IS)  

  

6. WBL agreements for any student who is participating in an off-site, credit-bearing WBL 

placement (IS)  

  

7. Copies of all granted attendance waivers approved by the commissioner (CO)  

  

8. Documentation indicating procedures for notifying parents and/or the attendance supervisor 

of students' absences (CO)  

  

9. Sufficient documentation of reasoning for any student’s withdrawal (This may include 

documentation provided by relatives, court documents, record requests, etc., and this 

documentation should be kept in the student’s permanent record.) (IS)  

  

10. Documentation that the names of students between the ages of 15 and 17 (inclusive), who do 

not have satisfactory academic progress or do not meet attendance standards as stated in 

T.C.A. § 49-6-3017, have been submitted to the Tennessee Department of Safety (IS)  

  

11. Cumulative folder for each active student on the roll (Inactive cumulative folders are to be 

filed separately.) (IS)  

  

12. A copy of the previous year’s membership/attendance reports for all reporting periods (CO)  

  

V-B. Retention of Records  

  

The following documents must be permanently retained:  

  

1. A cumulative folder for each student that includes:  

  

a. the student’s name, address, parents’ names and occupations, complete school  

record, achievement test results, health record, school activities, and counselors’  

notes;   
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b. a copy of the student’s birth certificate, if provided;  

  

c. a copy of the student’s Home Language Survey, if available; and  

  

d. documentation of a student’s withdrawal, if applicable, including the signature of the 

parent of guardian requesting withdrawal, and to the extent possible, the student’s 

future destination.  

  
2. A file including demographic and event data for each student.  

  

The following documents must be retained for a period of five years:  

  

1. Director’s Monthly Student Membership/Attendance Report;  

  

2. Director’s Annual Student Membership/Attendance Report;  

  

3. Principal’s Monthly Membership/Attendance Report or equivalent;  

  

4. Monthly Attendance Detail;  

  

5. Attendance Records;  

  

6. Director’s Report of Special Education Identified and Served Average Daily Membership by 

Primary and Secondary Options (EasyIEP Special Education Report); and  

  

7. Annual Pupil Transportation Report.  

  

V-C. Transfer of Records  

  

Pursuant to T.C.A. § 49-6-3001(c)(1) and the Federal Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA), if 

a student transfers from one school to another school in the same LEA, the LEA shall remit copies of 

the student’s records, including the student’s disciplinary records, to the school to which the student 

transfers. If a student transfers from an LEA to another LEA, then the LEA from which a student 

transfers shall remit copies of the student's records, including the student’s disciplinary records, to the 

LEA to which the student transfers. All records shall be remitted in accordance with FERPA, compiled in 

20 U.S.C. §1232g.  

  

V-D. Student Data Privacy  

  

Pursuant to T.C.A. § 10-7-504(a)(4), Title 49, Chapter 1, Part 7, and FERPA, personally identifiable 

student information must be kept confidential. Allowing student assistants or parent volunteers to 

handle such information violates these rules.  
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Provisions must be made to safeguard the confidentiality and security of all data so that only  

authorized personnel of the institution have access to or authority to process such information.  

  
VI. Reporting Requirements and Additional Resources  

VI-A. Reporting Requirements  

  
1.  The reports listed below shall be reported in EIS and prepared in compliance with the state 

reporting schedule. For more information, see Section VII Reports located on the 

department’s EIS home page.  

  

a. 200 Day Accountability Report  

  

b. Annual Dropout Report  

  

c. Director’s Annual Membership/Attendance Report  

  

d. Director’s Annual Report Special Education Options by Primary and Secondary Average 

Daily Membership by School and District  

  

e. Director’s Annual Vocational Class Full Time Equivalent Average Daily Membership 

Report by School and District  

  

f. Director’s Monthly Student Membership/Attendance Report by School and District  

  

g. Director’s Monthly Special Education Options by Primary and Secondary Average Daily 

Membership by School and District  

  

h. Director’s Monthly Vocational Class Full Time Equivalent Average Daily Attendance 

Report by School and District  

  

i. Director’s Monthly Vocational Class Full Time Equivalent Average Daily Membership 

Report by School and District  

  

j. End of Month Membership Report  

  

k. Net Enrollment Report  

  

l. Number of Promotions and Retentions Report by School and District  

  

m. Preliminary School Report—Grades PK–12  

  

https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/education/technology/EIS/eis_all_reports.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/education/technology/EIS/eis_all_reports.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/education/technology/EIS/eis_all_reports.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/education/technology/EIS/eis_all_reports.pdf
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n. Preliminary Staff Report  

  

o. Report of 12th Graders  

p. Special Education Number of Promotions and Retentions Report  

  

q. Special Education Report of 12th Graders  

  

r. Suspension, Expulsion, and Remands Report by School and District  

  

s. Transportation ADT Report  

  

t. Roster of Graduates  

  

VI-B. Additional Resources  

  

 1.  The following resources shall be used in conjunction with this report:  

  

a. Section VII Reports  

  

b. EIS Appendices  

  

c. State Board School Attendance Policy 4.100  

https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/education/technology/EIS/eis_all_reports.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/education/technology/EIS/eis_all_reports.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/education/technology/EIS/eis_all_reports.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/education/technology/EIS/eis_all_reports.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/education/technology/EIS/eis_appendices_2017-18.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/education/technology/EIS/eis_appendices_2017-18.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/education/technology/EIS/eis_appendices_2017-18.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/education/technology/EIS/eis_appendices_2017-18.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/stateboardofeducation/documents/policies/4000/4.100%20School%20Attendance%20Policy%207-27-18.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/stateboardofeducation/documents/policies/4000/4.100%20School%20Attendance%20Policy%207-27-18.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/stateboardofeducation/documents/policies/4000/4.100%20School%20Attendance%20Policy%207-27-18.pdf
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/stateboardofeducation/documents/policies/4000/4.100%20School%20Attendance%20Policy%207-27-18.pdf

