

2024 Summer Programming Instructional Time Requirements and Waiver Requests

Each of the three summer programming camps (Summer Learning Camps, STREAM Mini-Camps, and Learning Loss Bridge Camps) require a certain number of hours, days, and weeks for programming. The Commissioner of Education is granted limited authority to waive the specific requirements of the Tennessee Learning Loss Remediation and Student Acceleration Act, (T.C.A. § 49-6-1503).

Summer Learning Camps

Districts are required to provide Summer Learning Camps that meet the following requirements:

- Rising grades K, 1, 2, and 3
- 6 hours of daily programming
 - Daily programming must include 4 hours of reading and math instruction (with at least one hour of this block dedicated to math and at least one hour for reading)
 - o One hour of intervention
 - One hour of physical activity or "play"
- 5 days per week for 6 weeks

STREAM Mini Camps

Districts are required to provide STREAM Mini Camps that meet the following requirements:

- Rising grades K, 1, 2, and 3
- STREAM is "Science, Technology, Reading, Engineering, Arts, and Math"
- One hour of daily programming focused on a STREAM educational approach
- 4 days per week for 6 weeks, provided by a licensed teacher or a trained aspiring educator/alternative educator

Learning Loss Bridge Camps

Districts are required to provide Learning Loss Bridge Camps that meet the following requirements:

- Rising grades 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, and 9
- 6 hours of daily programming
 - Daily programming must include 4 hours of reading and math instruction (with at least one hour of this block dedicated to math and at least one hour for reading)
 - One hour of intervention
 - One hour of physical activity or "play"
- 5 days per week for 4 weeks



Summer Programming Waivers

The <u>Tennessee Learning Loss Remediation and Student Acceleration Act, codified at Tenn. Code Ann. Title</u> <u>49, Chapter 6, Part 15,</u> requires all school districts in Tennessee to offer in-person learning loss remediation and student acceleration programs. School districts and public charter schools may partner with each other to jointly establish the programs, and they may also seek assistance from public or non-profit community partners.

The Act allows the commissioner of education limited authority to waive the specific requirements of the <u>Tennessee Learning Loss Remediation and Student Acceleration Act.</u>

All waivers must be submitted at least one month prior to the start of summer programming and will not be approved until formal approval is given from the Tennessee Department of Education.

The law authorizes the Commissioner of Education to waive the following, only as necessary:

1. Number of weeks: districts may apply to waive camp length from a required 6 weeks to 4 weeks for Summer Learning Camps and STREAM camps

AND

2. Daily hour requirement: districts may apply to waive up to 1 hour of daily programming from Summer Learning Camps and Learning Loss Bridge Camps

OR

3. Number of days per week: districts may apply to waive up to 1 day per week of programming for Summer Learning Camps and Learning Loss Bridge Camps.