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Authority 
 

Tennessee Department of Correction (TDOC) will administer a Sign-On Bonus (SOB) which 
provides a cash award to eligible employees.  The sole purpose of a Sign-On Bonus 
Program is to enhance TDOC’s recruitment and retention efforts.  This program is solely for 
newly hired employees that are employed at a facility owned and operated by TDOC. 

 

 

 

History 
 

Recruitment and retention of Correctional Officers, as well as Nurses, are TDOC’s top 
priorities, as these are critical positions in which substantial shortages have been seen on an 
historical basis.  TDOC has recently implemented several recruitment initiatives; however, 
these initiatives have not had the expected outcomes across the board in the facilities.  
Therefore; the department will implement a Sign-On Bonus as an additional tool in making 
the job offer more attractive to qualified candidates and to offer supplementary compensation 
for new hires.  

 

 

 

Guidelines 
 

A Sign-On Bonus is an installment payment that serves as a recruitment incentive to aid in 
the employment of individuals in critical positions in which substantial amount of shortages 
affect the business needs of the agency, and impair the delivery of essential services. 

 

Sign-On Bonuses have been proven to be one of the most effective ways of recruiting and 
retaining qualified employees.  Studies shows SOB programs produce employees who are 
more productive on the job. 

 

If the employee voluntarily participates in the Sign-On Bonus Program, he/she must 
complete the Sign-On Bonus Application in its entirety.  The approval of funds will be 
dispersed at the specified times. 
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Amount and Method of Payment 
 

TDOC agrees to pay the participating employee an amount of six hundred dollars ($600.00) 
as a sign-on bonus, contingent upon the employee’s agreement to remain employed with 
TDOC for a minimum of one (1) year.  If the employee agrees to participate in the program, 
the sign-on bonus will be paid in two separate installments for a total of six hundred dollars 
($600.00).  The employee shall receive the first installment in the amount of two hundred 
dollars ($200.00) upon being hired, and that installment will be paid during the employee’s 
firs pay period of employment at TDOC.  This payment will be dispersed in a separate check 
from the employee’s regularly paid salary.  The second installment of four hundred dollars 
($400.00) will be awarded to the employee after he/she has successfully completed training 
from the Tennessee Correction Academy.  

 

 

 

Eligibility for Sign-on Bonus 
 

All newly employed, permanent, full-time and part-time Correctional Officers or Nurses are 
eligible for participation in the Sign-On Bonus Program. 

 

An employee is not eligible or becomes ineligible for the Sign-On Bonus if: 
 

 The employee has been previously employed by TDOC; 

 The employee separates voluntarily or involuntarily from the agency before the 
completion of his/her probationary period; 

 The employee subsequently transfers to another agency before the completion of 
his/her probationary period. 

 
Note:  If an employee is promoted within TDOC during their initial probationary period, no 
penalties will occur concerning repayment of the Sign-On Bonus.  However, if the employee 
is promoted to a classification outside of the Correctional Officer or Nursing series, and the 
second installment of the Sign-On Bonus has not been paid, the employee is no longer 
eligible for this payment. 
 

 

 

 

Payment of Sign-On Bonus 
 

An employee who terminates employment with the agency, either voluntarily or involuntarily, 
before the completion of his or her probationary period, which is one (1) year, will be required 
to provide repayment of any amount of the Sign-On bonus that has been paid, up to six 
hundred dollars ($600.00). 
 
The amount due shall be deducted in full from the employee’s final paycheck. 

 


