TENNESSEE MOTOR VEHICLE COMMISSION
BOARD MEETING
January 11, 2010 10:30 A.M.
CONFERENCE ROOM 160
DAVY CROCKETT TOWER, 500 JAMES ROBERTSON PKWY.
NASHVILLE, TENNESSEE 37243
ROLL CALL:

PRESENT ABSENT

BRENT SMITH

EDDIE ROBERTS
JOHN BARKER
GEORGE BASS
WILLIAM TARR
MELISSA BLANKENSHIP
KEVIN CULLUM
DONNIE HATCHER
NATE JACKSON
CHAD JONES

ALLEN LEWIS

TRAVIS MCDONOUGH
STAN MCNABB
FARRAR SCHAEFFER
BRENDA SPEER
RONNIE FOX
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The Tennessee Motor Vehicle Commission Meeting was called to order by Chairman
Brent Smith on January 11, 2010. Roll Call was taken with a total of (12) member’s
present.

This rulemaking hearing is called to Order.

Good Morning. My name is Tony Glandorf and I am Assistant General Counsel for the
Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance, Division of Regulatory Boards.
Would the agency representatives who are present introduce themselves for the record?

Today is Monday, January 11, 2010 and the time is 9:30 a.m.. This rulemaking hearing
is taking place pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 4-5-204, on the first floor
conference room of the Davey Crockett Tower, 500 James Robertson Parkway,
Nashville, Tennessee. The purpose of this rulemaking hearing is to afford all interested
persons or their representatives an opportunity to present facts, views or arguments
relative to the proposed rules.

A rule is defined as an agency statement of general applicability that implements or
prescribes law or policy or describes the procedures or practice requirements of the
agency. Proposed rules are filed with the office of the Secretary of State, notice is given
to the public for comment, and a rulemaking hearing is held. Upon conclusion of the
hearing and adoption of the proposed rules, the rules so adopted are forwarded to the



Attorney General’s Office for review of legality. If approved, they are filed with the
Secretary of State, which is responsible for publication, and the government operations
committee of the General Assembly. The rules must stay in the Secretary of State’s
Office for 90 days, the end of which time will be the effective date.

This agency will accept and consider all written comments relating to the proposed rules.
To the extent possible, the agency will also provide an opportunity for interested persons
or their representatives to present oral comments. However, only those persons that have
placed their names on the sign-up sheet will be provided an opportunity to speak. Oral
comments will not be accepted from any person whose name does not appear on this
sheet. Are their any persons present that desire to offer oral comments but who have not
signed the sheet? (If so, provide a few minutes to let them sign).

The notice of rulemaking hearing included the entire text of the proposed rules and was
filed with posted by the Secretary of State on its Tennessee Administrative Register
website on November 17, 2009 in accordance with Chapter 566 of the Public Acts of
2009.

I will read the substance of the proposed rule into the record. [can summarize or
paraphrase]. There will be time to comment after the reading of the rules.

1) Rule 0960-01-.03 — Clarifies that all charges made by a motor vehicle dealer to a
manufacturer or distributor for warranty work performed must be submitted
within 30 days after the repairs or service is completed (not claimed)

a. Provides manufactures or distributors with a similar 12 month period,
similar to that for warranty repair work, to disallow a payment previously
made to a dealer based upon a sales incentives.

2) Rule 0960-01-.14 —

a. Increases licensing fees for manufacturers, distributors, factory branch,
distributor branch from $800 to $1600

b. Creates a $50 fee upon each manufacturer and distributor for each

franchised dealer.

Increases licensing fees for motor vehicle dealers from $200 to $400.

Increase in fee for factory or distributor representatives from $200 to

$400.

Increase in licensing fee for dismantler and recyclers from $200 to $400.

Increase fee for automobile auctions from $400 to $800.

Increase in fee for vehicle show permits from $100 to $200.

Creates a fee for a name changes to $400.

Creates a $400 for each Re-inspection that is created by the action or

inaction of an applicant.

J-  Allows the Commission to keep 25% of all application fees, forwarding
the remaining to the applicant for applicants who fail to submit all
necessary documentation within 90 days.

3) Rule 0960-01-.15 —

a. Amends the previous liability insurance requirement for motor vehicle
dealers by requiring dealers to obtain comprehensive garage liability
insurance in the amount of $300,000 per occurrence.
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b. Creates a rule which requires all motor vehicle dealers to comply with

existing TN workers compensation laws.
4) Rule 0960-01-.21

a. Creates a rule that requires all motor vehicle dealers licensed on or after
July 1, 2010 to have a business facility that does not connect to more than
one other business facility.

b. Clarifies that motor vehicle dealer facilities must have 15 parking spaces
for the dealer’s product line, not including customer and staff parking.

Tenn. Code Ann. § 4-5-403 requires, as part of the rulemaking process for any rule that
may have an impact on small businesses, that the agency prepare an economic impact
statement. Please consider following proposed economic impact statement:

Economic Impact Statement:

1. The type or types of small business and an identification and estimate of the number
of small businesses subject to the proposed rule that would bear the cost of, or directly
benefit from the proposed rule;

All small businesses that are motor vehicle dealers and automotive dismantler and
recyclers doing business within the State of Tennessee will be directly affected.

2. The projected reporting, recordkeeping and other administrative costs required for
compliance with the proposed rule, including the type of professional skills necessary for
preparation of the report or record;

There are possible foreseeable administrative cost increases for those small businesses
who currently do not comply with the applicable worker’s compensation laws of this
state. There are no foreseeable increased reporting or recordkeeping requirements and
therefore, increase costs to small businesses are not expected.

3. A statement of the probable effect on impacted small businesses and consumers;

New small business or dismantlers and recyclers may experience an increased cost in
acquiring facilities that are not connected to more than one other business. Increased
licensure fees and fees for the transfer of dealership ownership, re-inspections are newly
created and as such, will be an additional expense of ownership changeover to small
businesses. The increased coverage of garage liability insurance will increase costs to
small businesses. While the increased costs will create a greater economic burden upon
small businesses, it is not foreseeable that their ability to operate or continue to operate
will be affected by the licensure and insurance increases.



4. A description of any less burdensome, less intrusive or less costly alternative methods
of'achieving the purpose and objectives of the proposed rule that may exist, and to what
extent the alternative means might be less burdensome on small businesses;

The proposed changes to the existing rules are minimally burdensome/intrusive to small
businesses. The necessary costs to small businesses to implement the changes required
by the proposed amendments and additions to the rules are offset by the protections
provided to citizens of Tennessee.

5. A comparison of the proposed rule with any federal or state counterparts;

There are no federal counterparts to the issues addressed by these rules.

6. Analysis of the effect of the possible exemption of small businesses from all or any
part of the requirements contained in the proposed rules.

In order to ensure the health, safety and welfare of the citizens of Tennessee, it is
imperative that small businesses are held to the same standards as larger businesses
regarding the disallowance of service claims, increased garage liability insurance,
increased licensure fees and additional fees for ownership changeover, line-make
additions, re-inspections and compliance with the state worker compensation laws. An
exemption to small businesses would jeopardize the state’s effectiveness in its ability to
provide consumer protection for the purchase and sale of motor vehicles.

“The Motor Vehicle Commission conducted a Rule-Making hearing pursuant to TCA 4-
5-204 to afford all interested persons or their representatives an opportunity to present
facts, views or arguments relative to the proposed rules. Public comments were heard by
the Commission. The Commission voted upon and accepted all rule amendments as filed
with the Secretary of State’s office in the Notice of Rulemaking Hearing dated November
17, 2009 except for proposed amendment to Rule 0960-01-.14(1)(1) and Rule 0960-01-
21(2).”

COMMISSION MEETING IS CALLED TO ORDER

A Motion was made by Commissioner George Bass, and seconded by Commissioner
Farrar Schaeffer, to approve the minutes from the October meeting.

MOTION PASSED UNANIMOUSLY



REVIEW COMMITTEE

The Review Committee advised the Commission that the Committee had discussed the
attached legal report with counsel and moved that the Commission adopt the attorney’s
recommendations.

1. Case No.: 2008026701 & 2009003331

Complainant/dealer alleges that he purchased a vehicle from Respondent at
auction where the mileage of the vehicle was announced that “miles unknown,
possible Rollback, seller is going to guarantee the mileage and fix it.” At the
time, the vehicle listed 116,000+ miles. The complainant bought the car at
auction and sold it to a consumer who later by ECM diagnostic found that the
vehicle had in excess of 350,000+ miles on it. The Complainant purchased the
vehicle back from the consumer. The Respondent states that he purchased the
vehicle from another dealer who informed him that a Carfax report noted the
discrepancy of mileage but based upon the condition of vehicle believed it to be
true mileage. Based upon this information, Respondent announced that he would
“fix” the mileage believing it was the true mileage.

The foregoing acts of failing to advise the next purchaser of the Carfax report and
guaranteeing to fix the mileage and subsequently not doing so are deceptive acts.

Recommendation: Authorize a civil penalty of Two thousand dollars
($2,000) ($1,000 x 2 acts) to be settled by Consent Order and authorization of
a formal hearing.

Commission Action: Revocation of motor vehicle dealer license

2. Case No.: 2009002131

Complainant/consumer alleges that Respondent/dealer sold her a vehicle that did
not have operable airbags. Complainant stated the vehicle could not be registered
in the state of New York due to lack of airbags after inspection. Respondent had
purchased the vehicle as salvaged and after replacing various parts applied for and
received a Rebuilt Vehicle Title that passed the appropriate inspection conducted
by the Dept. of Revenue. Respondent stated that he did not replace the airbags,
but only replaced the airbag covers. Respondent did not make the appropriate
notation (which is required) of replacing the airbag covers when applying for a
Rebuilt Vehicle Title. Respondent stated he was not aware of any law requiring
him to replace the airbag. Respondent subsequently repossessed the vehicle and
sold the vehicle to another consumer with similar inoperable airbags concealed by
COVers.

These acts violate TCA § 55-3-208 and 55-3-212 which require any person who
applies for a Rebuilt Vehicle Title to provide an affidavit subject to penalty of
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perjury that the vehicle has been rebuilt to manufacturer’s specification.
Similarly, the act is in violation of TCA § 55-9-108 which creates a misdemeanor
for “any person who knowingly installs or reinstalls any object in lieu of an
airbag that was designed in accordance with federal safety regulations for the
make, model and year of the vehicle as part of the vehicle inflatable restraint
system...” — Enforcement of these violations by the Commission is granted under
Rule 0960-1-.19

The foregoing involves four (4) acts of unlawful conduct: 1 — fraudulent
application for rebuilt title, 2- failing to install airbags, 3 — deceptive act to
customer 1 for sale of vehicle, 4 — deceptive act to customer 2 for sale of vehicle.

Recommendation: Imposition of a four thousand dollar ($4,000) civil penalty
with authorization to settle by Consent Order and Formal Hearing if
necessary.

Commission Action: Revocation of motor vehicle dealer license

35. Case No.: 2009015021

Complainant/consumer alleged that on March 9, 2009, she negotiated the
purchase of a vehicle for $7,000 including taxes from Respondent/dealer. On
March 10, 2009, paid a down payment of $500 and was given a receipt (but no
Bill of Sale). On March 11, 2009 paid $6,500 cash balance from funds withdrawn
from her checking account. Complainant states that Respondent requested the
$500 receipt back and gave her a Bill of Sale evidencing the purchase of the
vehicle for $2000, taxes included to be financed and that this was to pay less sales
tax. Respondent allegedly promised title in two weeks. Respondent did not
provide title. Complainant states that in April, upon going back to dealership,
Respondent insisted that Complainant pay the total amount shown on the Bill of
Sale in order to get the title, an additional $2,654.24. Complainant refused to pay
and Respondent did not obtain title. Complainant hired an attorney who
eventually received the actual title, but was only endorsed into the Complainant’s
name on the back of'title. The sale amount states $7,000 and written on the title is
“Buyer is responsible for Taxes”. The county clerk’s office would not process the
title for dealer’s failure to pay sales tax. An investigation was conducted.
Respondent failed to meet the investigator at an agreed upon date. Respondent
stated he did not have a deal file on this transaction. Respondent stated in an
affidavit that the vehicle was to be transported out of country and therefore did
not collect sales tax, however he had no evidence of this. Respondent stated that
he would process the title only if Complainant paid the sales tax to do so.

The foregoing constitute violations for 1) TCA 55-17-114 fraudulent/deceptive
activity for sale of vehicle for $7000 and providing Bill of Sale indicating $2,000
price with sales tax paid (55-3-108); 2) TCA 55-17-114 Deceptive activity for
failing to pay sales tax after sale 55-3-105); 3) TCA 55-17-114
Fraudulent/deceptive activity for requesting Complainant to pay an extra
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$2,654.24 in order to obtain title; 4) TCA 55-17-114 Stating in affidavit that the
“sales tax” would need to be paid in order to process the title; 5) Rule 0960-1-
.11(1) Failure to meet investigator for inspection of records; 6) Rule 0960-1-
.11(2) Failure to keep business records.

Recommendation: Imposition of a civil penalty of four thousand five
hundred dollars $4,500 ($1,000 x 4 fraudulent acts; $250 x 2 business
records, failure to allow inspection) with authorization to settle by Consent
Order and a Formal Hearing.

Commission Action: Revocation of motor vehicle dealer license by voluntary
revocation or formal hearing.
48.  Case No.: 2006035861

Respondent is a licensed salesperson who was denied a change of employer
license in December 2008 due to a felony conviction. He appealed his denial at
the January 2009 meeting, wherein the Commission granted him a salesperson
license. At the time the Commission granted his license on appeal, this
Complaint was outstanding and has not been closed. A timeline of events
appears below:

- December 1989 — Respondent was issued an insurance producer’s
license by Dept. of Comm. & Ins.

- December 2004 — Respondent improperly held and misappropriated
worker’s compensation insurance funds forwarded to his employer,
insurance company.

- July 2006 — Respondent issued a motor vehicle dealer license

- September 2006 - Respondent signed a Consent Order agreeing to
voluntary Revocation of his insurance producer license and further
agreeing that the Order could be used against him to revoke all
professional licenses held.

- September 2006 — This complaint was opened against Respondent
based upon the Consent Order for revocation of the insurance
producer license.

- July 2007 — This Commission authorized the revocation of
Respondent’s motor vehicle dealer license. A Consent Order was
delivered and never returned.

- August 2008 — Respondent convicted of Theft over $10,000, a Class
C felony and sentenced to 4 years to be served by 7 years of
Supervised Probation for acts done in 2004.

- December 2008 — Respondent’s change of employer application
denied.

- January 2009 — MVC granted Respondent a salesman license with
new employer.

Recommendation: Board discussion to either Close the Complaint or to
continue revocation of the salesman license.

Commission Action: Revocation of salesperson license by formal hearing.




APPEALS
The following appeals were heard by Commission.

Shawn LaFever-Hickory Hollow Kia, Nashville, TN
Staff denied application

Motion made by Commissioner Brenda Speer, and seconded by Commissioner
Ronnie Fox to grant the license.

VOICE VOTE

Brent Smith Abstain
George Bass Yes
Bill Tarr Yes
Melissa Blankenship Yes
Kevin Cullum Yes
Ronnie Fox Yes
Donnie Hatcher Yes
Nate Jackson No
Chad Jones No
Farrar Schaeffer No
Eddie Roberts No
Brenda Speer Yes

Seven (7) yes’s, four (4) no’s, and one (1) abstaining. Vote passes to grant the license.
Majed Nayef Massad-Clive’s Auto Sales, Mt. Juliet, TN
Staff denied application

Motion was made by Commissioner Eddie Roberts, and seconded by Nate Jackson
to grant the license.

VOICE VOTE

Brent Smith Yes
George Bass No

Bill Tarr Abstain
Melissa Blankenship Yes
Kevin Cullum Yes
Ronnie Fox Yes
Donnie Hatcher Abstain
Nate Jackson Yes
Chad Jones No
Farrar Schaeffer Yes
Eddie Roberts Yes
Brenda Speer Yes



Eight (8) yes’s, and two (2) abstaining. Vote passes to grant the license.

DIRECTORS REPORT

Since the last Commission meeting in October 2009 the following actions have been
taken:

Dealers Opened, or Relocated .................. 139

Active Licensees as of January 1, 2010

Dealers.......coooooviiiiiiiiiiil. 4208
Applications in Process.............. 58
Distributions/Manufacturers ........... 200
AUCIONS. ... 32
Representatives..............cceeeennnnn.. 514
Salespeople........ccooveiiiiiiiiiiinn. 12469
Dismantlers................ccooeeiinnn.l. 355
RV Dealers..........cooviiiiiiiiiii. 20
RV Manufacturers......................... 53

Motor Vehicle Show Permits Issued Since Oct., 2009....... 7
Revenue Received $ 700.00

Presented dates for Commission meetings for the up coming year. Januaryl1, April 12,
July 12, October 11, 2010. The following dates were also added for Formal Hearing,
April 13, and July 13, 2010.

Vote was unanimous to approve the dates that are listed.

Old Business
None

New Business

Show Permits- Rules Committee had voted in the past for one show permit to be issued
and one permit to be renewed. The intention was not to have one issued and one renewed
continuously for one location. This will be brought up again with the Rules Committee
again at the next Rules Committee meeting.

Legal Report
Review Committee Chairman Eddie Roberts went over the recommendations that the

Review Committee made.



Motion was made by Commissioner Donnie Hatcher, and seconded by
Commissioner George Bass to approve these recommendations.

Motion passed unanimous.

Attorney Tony Glandorf brought up the subject of an Administrative Law Judge holding
Formal Hearings. Right now there are three cases that need to be brought before the
Commission for a formal hearing. One has already been brought formal charges on, that
will be heard in April. It needs to be heard in the April meeting. Other dates have been
approved that we can go ahead and file charges against the other two cases. These would
be heard in afternoon sessions after the regular Commission meetings are held possibly
on the July and October dates. My concern is I expect to have five to ten cases to come
available for a formal hearing. The length of time to prosecute these cases can vary
greatly from one case to another depending on the charges involved, and the amount of
proof. In the case of the hearing at the meeting in April, with the proof that we have it
could take 3 to 4 hours of course it will be presented by our Litigation Attorney Richard
Averwater. Since we have the other dates approved for the rest of the year, if we could
hear 4 to 6 more cases in the afternoons. We may need at least two more dates to commit
to between the April and October meetings. That way we could hear these cases and not
get a back log. It is very important to have dates set so as they come up, we can file to
have them heard on those dates. The Commission sets the dates, and then they are heard
before an Administrative Law Judge. I would like to propose to the Commission that they
would allow an Administrative Law Judge to hear certain types of cases that it would not
be of interest to the Commission to hear. An example may be an unpaid citation where
they had an open title, and have ignored the citation. The Litigator could bring cases
before the judge of different cases of open titles where the dealer is still open and has not
paid the citations. He would put all of these cases together and bring them before the
Judge to hear in one afternoon. The Commission would not have to come in, and listen to
these cases. Or a second kind of case would be unlicensed activity where they have not
been licensed as a dealer, this may be a person that is curbstoning out there. These types
of cases would be very straight forward and not be hard to prosecute. I think in the future
these types of cases would be good for our Mr. Averwater to bring in front of a Law
Judge and not take up the time of the Commission. That way it would leave the type of
cases to be brought up in front of the Commission cases that are fraudulent or deceptive
acts upon consumers. The Commission asked if the Judges order is final, and Mr.
Glandorf explained that there is an appeal process that would then come before the
Commission. The Commission voted to set dates for the Administrative Judge to hear
cases on April 13, and July 13, 2010.

Meeting Adjourned.

Brent Smith, Chairman
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Leon Stribling, Executive Director
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