
Debt Adjusting Companies and Credit Services Businesses: 
Tennessee’s Requirements 

 
Tennessee law has separate provisions relative to debt adjusting companies and credit 
services businesses (see the definitions below) in the Consumer Protection Act.  Both 
Debt Adjusting Companies and Credit Services Businesses are discussed hererin. 

Debt Adjusting Companies.  Tennessee’s consumer protection laws make regulate 
certain actions of Debt Adjusting Companies.  “Debt adjusting” means doing business in 
debt adjusting, budget counseling, debt management, or debt pooling service or holding 
oneself out, by words of similar import, as providing services to debtors in the 
management of their debts to do any of the following: 

• Effect the adjustment, compromise, or discharge of any account, note or other 
indebtedness of the debtor;  

• Receive from the debtor and disburse to the debtor's creditors any money or other 
thing of value; or 

• Solicit business and advertise as a debt adjuster. 
 
Exemptions from “debt adjusting”.  The following persons are not considered 
adjusters:  (i)  Any attorney-at-law of this state; (ii)  Any person who is a regular, full-
time employee of a debtor, and who acts as an adjuster of the employer's debts; (iii)  Any 
person acting pursuant to any order or judgment of court, or pursuant to authority 
conferred by any law of this state or of the United States; (iv)  Any person who is a 
creditor of the debtor, or an agent of one or more creditors of the debtor, and whose 
services in adjusting the debtor's debts are rendered without cost to the debtor; (v)  Any 
person who, at the request of a debtor, arranges for or makes a loan to the debtor, and 
who, at the authorization of the debtor, acts as an adjuster of the debtor's debts in the 
disbursement of the proceeds of the loan, without compensation for the services rendered 
in adjusting the debts; and (vi)  Any charitable, religious or educational organization, 
determined to be exempt from taxation under § (501)(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code 
that is not in the business of debt adjusting. 
 
It is an unfair or deceptive practice under the T. C. A. § 47-18-104 to engage in the 
business of debt adjusting and to:  

• Fail to disburse all funds to the appropriate creditors within thirty (30) 
days of receipt of the funds from the debtor, less any contributions or fees 
not prohibited by law*; 

• Fail to maintain a separate trust account for the receipt of any funds from 
debtors and the disbursement of the funds to creditors on behalf of the 
debtors;  

• Accept a contribution or fee exceeding seventy-five dollars ($75)* from a 
debtor for an initial set up;  

• Accept a consultation contribution or fee exceeding fifty dollars ($50)* 
per calendar year from a debtor;  



• Accept a periodic contribution or fee from a debtor that exceeds the 
greater of eight and one half percent (8.5%) of the amount paid by a 
debtor each month for distribution to the debtor's creditors or thirty dollars 
($30)*;  

•  Charge the debtor a bad check handling fee in excess of twenty dollars 
($20)*;  

• Fail to obtain and at all times maintain insurance coverage for errors 
and omissions, employee dishonesty, depositor's forgery, and 
computer fraud, with a minimum limit of one hundred thousand 
dollars ($100,000) that names the division of consumer affairs of the 
department of commerce and insurance and the consumer protection 
division of the office of the attorney general as additional interested 
parties;  

• Fail to provide, prior to the execution of a contract, agreement debt 
management or adjustment plan, the following printed in bold and capital 
letters signed and dated by the consumer: WITH RESPECT TO MY CREDIT 
HISTORY, I UNDERSTAND THAT MY PARTICIPATION IN THE DMP MAY 
AFFECT MY CREDIT REPORT EITHER FAVORABLY OR UNFAVORABLY 
ACCORDING TO MY CREDITOR’S POLICIES WITH RESPECT TO THE DMP 
AND MY PAYMENT HISTORY PRIOR TO AND DURING MY 
PARTICIPATING IN THE DMP.  I ALSO UNDERSTAND THAT, FOR ANY 
JOINT ACCOUNTS, MY SPOUSE’S CREDIT RATING MAY AFFECT MY 
CREDIT RATING EITHER FAVORABLY OR UNFAVORABLY.  

Credit Services Businesses.   “Credit services business” means any person who, with 
respect to the extension of credit by others, sells, provides, or performs, or represents that 
such person can or will sell, provide, or perform any of the following services in return 
for the payment of money or other valuable consideration:   

• Improving a consumer’s credit record, history, or rating; 
• Obtaining an extension of credit for a consumer; or 
• Providing advice or assistance to a consumer with regard to either of these. 

“Credit services business” does not include:  
• The making, arranging, or negotiating directly for a loan or extension of credit 

under the laws of this state or the United States; 
• Any bank, trust company, savings bank, or savings institution whose deposits or 

accounts are eligible for insurance by the federal deposit insurance corporation or 
any credit union organized and chartered under the laws of this state or the United 
States; 

• Any nonprofit organization exempt from taxation under Section 501(c)(3) of the 
Internal Revenue Code (26 U.S.C. § 501(c)(3)); 

 

*These fees may be adjusted on an annual basis by a formula using the consumer price index. 



• Any person licensed as a real estate broker by this state where the person is acting 
within the course and scope of that license; 

• Any person licensed to practice law in this state where the person renders services 
within the course and scope of that person's practice as a lawyer; 

• Any broker-dealer registered with the securities and exchange commission or the 
commodity futures trading commission where the broker-dealer is acting within 
the course and scope of that regulation; or 

• Any consumer reporting agency as defined in the Federal Fair Credit Reporting 
Act (15 U.S.C. §§ 1681-1681t). 

 
A credit services business, and its salespersons, agents and representatives, and 
independent contractors who sell or attempt to sell the services of a credit services 
business, shall not do any of the following: 

• (1)  Charge or receive any money or other valuable consideration prior to full and 
complete performance of the services that the credit services business has agreed 
to perform for or on behalf of the consumer, including all representations made 
orally or in writing. “Full and complete performance” means fulfillment of all 
items listed in the contract and other solicitations or communications to 
consumers; 

• (2)  Charge or receive any money or other valuable consideration solely for 
referral of the consumer to a retail seller or to any other credit grantor who will or 
may extend credit to the consumer, if the credit that is or will be extended to the 
consumer is upon substantially the same terms as those available to the general 
public; 

• (3)  Make, or counsel or advise any consumer to make, any statement that is 
untrue or misleading and which is known, or which by the exercise of reasonable 
care should be known, to be untrue or misleading, to a consumer reporting agency 
or to any person who has extended credit to a consumer or to whom a consumer is 
applying for an extension of credit, with respect to a consumer's creditworthiness, 
credit standing, or credit capacity; 

• (4)  Make or use any untrue or misleading representations in the offer or sale of 
the services of a credit services business or engage, directly or indirectly, in any 
act, practice, or course of business which operates or would operate as a fraud or 
deception upon any person in connection with the offer or sale of the services of a 
credit services business; or 

• (5)  Create, or assist or advise the consumer to create a new credit record by using 
a different name, address, social security number, or employee identification 
number; 

• (6)  Provide, in any manner, the services of a credit services business within this 
state, without registering a bond consistent with the provisions of § 47-18-1011; 

• (7)  Remove, assist or advise the consumer to remove or otherwise alter adverse 
information from the consumer's credit record which is accurate or not obsolete; 

• (8)  Create, assist or advise the consumer to request that positive information be 
inserted or included on the consumer's credit record which is false, inaccurate or 
obsolete; 

http://www.michie.com/tennessee/lpext.dll?f=FifLink&t=document-frame.htm&l=jump&iid=tncode&d=47-18-1011&sid=d0b0def.39af646.0.0#JD_47-18-1011


• (9)  Use a program or plan which uses or employs installment payments featuring 
payments charged directly to a credit card prior to full and complete performance 
of the services that the credit services business has agreed to perform for or on 
behalf of the consumer; or 

• (10)  Engaging in any violation of the federal Consumer Credit Protection Act. 
Before the execution of a contract or agreement between a consumer and a credit services 
business or the receipt by the credit services business of any money or other valuable 
consideration, whichever occurs first, the credit services business shall provide the 
consumer with an information statement in writing containing all of the information 
required under § 47-18-1005.  The credit services business shall maintain on file or 
microfilm for a period of two (2) years from the date of the consumer's acknowledgement 
an exact copy of the information statement personally signed by the consumer 
acknowledging receipt of a copy of the information statement. 
 
Contents of the information statement.  The required information statement shall 
include all of the following:  
(1)a.  A complete and accurate statement of the consumer's right to review any file on the 
consumer maintained by any consumer reporting agency, and the right of the consumer to 
receive a copy of a consumer report containing all information in that file as provided 
under the Federal Fair Credit Reporting Act (15 U.S.C. § 1681g); and   
b.  A statement that a copy of the consumer report containing all information in the 
consumer's file will be furnished free of charge by the consumer reporting agency, if 
requested by the consumer within thirty (30) days from receipt of the consumer's request; 
and 
c.   A statement that a nominal charge, not to exceed eight dollars ($8), may be imposed 
on the consumer by the consumer reporting agency for a copy of the consumer report 
containing all information in the consumer's file, if the consumer has not been denied 
credit within sixty (60) days from receipt of the consumer's request. 
(2) A complete and accurate statement of the consumer's right to dispute the 
completeness or accuracy of any item contained in any file on the consumer that is 
maintained by any consumer reporting agency, as provided under the Federal Fair Credit 
Reporting Act (15 U.S.C. § 1681(i)); 
(3)  A complete and detailed description of the services to be performed by the credit 
services business for or on behalf of the consumer, and the total amount the consumer 
will have to pay, or become obligated to pay, for the services; 
(4)  a.  Name and address of the surety company which issued the bond in accordance 
with § 47-18-1011  
 b.  A statement explaining the consumer's right to proceed against the bond; and 
(5)  A complete and accurate statement of the availability of non-profit credit counseling.  
 
All contracts between a consumer and a credit services business for the purchase of the 
services of the credit services business must be in writing, dated, signed by the consumer, 
and must include all of the following: 

(1) A conspicuous statement in size equal to at least ten (10) point bold type, in 
immediate proximity to the space reserved for the signature of the consumer, as 
follows: “You, the buyer, may cancel this contract at any time prior to twelve o'clock 
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midnight (12:00) of the fifth business day after the date of the transaction. See the attached 
notice of cancellation form for an explanation of this right.” 

(2) The terms and conditions of payment, including the total of all payments to be 
made by the consumer, whether to the credit services business or to some other 
person; 

(3) A complete and detailed description of the services to be performed and the 
results to be achieved by the credit services business for or on behalf of the 
consumer, including all guarantees and all promises of full or partial refunds and a 
list of the adverse information appearing on the consumer's credit report that the 
credit services business expects to have modified; and 

(4) The principal business address of the credit services business and the name and 
address of its agent in this state authorized to receive service of process. 

 
b)  (1)  The contract shall be accompanied by a completed form in duplicate, captioned 
“NOTICE OF CANCELLATION,” which shall be attached to the contract and easily 
detachable, and which shall contain in at least ten (10) point bold type the following 
statement: 
 

NOTICE OF CANCELLATION 
You may cancel this contract, without any penalty or obligation, at any time prior to twelve o’clock 
midnight (12:00) of the fifth business day after the date the contract is signed. 
If you cancel, any payment made by you under this contract will be returned within ten (10) days 
following receipt by the seller of your cancellation notice. 
To cancel this contract, mail or deliver a signed and dated copy of this cancellation notice, or any 
other written notice, to (Name of Seller) at (Address of Seller) (Place of Business) not later than 
twelve o’clock midnight (12:00) (Date) 

I HEREBY CANCEL THIS TRANSACTION. 
Date       (Buyer’s Signature) 
 
A copy of the fully completed contract and all other documents the credit services 
business requires the consumer to sign shall be given by the credit services business to 
the consumer at the time they are signed. 
 
In order to provide a degree of protection to customers of credit services businesses, 
each credit services business shall post a bond of one hundred thousand dollars 
($100,000) with the department of commerce and insurance (any credit services 
business that was registered with the division of consumer affairs in the department 
of commerce and insurance on May 1, 1998, in this state shall only be required to 
post a bond in the amount of ten thousand dollars ($10,000). Such bond may be made 
through deposit of cash, a certificate of deposit, securities, or with a bond issued by a 
corporate surety acceptable to the commissioner. The bond must be maintained for two 
(2) years following the date on which the credit services business ceases to conduct 
business in this state.   In addition to the private lawsuits authorized by law, the state 
attorney general may enforce the provisions of this act and has the right to request that 
the total amount of the bond posted by the credit services business be awarded to the state 
for consumer restitution or civil penalties. A list of credit services businesses that have 
complied with the bond requirement above on the web at 
http://www.state.tn.us/consumer/documents/CreditServicesBusinessesList.pdf . 



 
If you feel you have been the victim of unfair or deceptive business practices by a credit 
repair company or counseling service, you may file a complaint with the Division of 
Consumer Affairs at 1-800-342-8385 or online at www.tn.gov/consumer. 
 


