
Notice of Rulemaking Hearing 
Department of Commerce and Insurance 

Board of Licensing Contractors 
0(>,..\ ... , 

There will be a hearing before the Board of Licensing Contractors to consider the promulgation of ~fe'l;Jr.~\18;_1lt}o 
Tenn. Code Ann. §62-6-108. The hearing will be conducted in the manner prescribed by the Unfforlii' ::· 
Administrative Procedures Act, Tenn. Code Ann. § 4-5-204, and will take place at the Marriott Knoxville, 500 Hill " 
Avenue, S.E., Knoxville, Tennessee 37915 at 9:00a.m. on the 24th day of September, 2008. 

Any individuals with disabilities who wish to participate in these proceedings (to review these filings) should 
contact the Department of Commerce and Insurance to discuss any auxiliary aids of services needed to facilitate 
such participation. Such initial contact may be made no less than ten (10) days prior to the scheduled meeting date 
(the date the party intends to review such filings), to allow time for the Department of Commerce and Insurance to 
determine how it may reasonably provide such aid or service. Initial contact may be made with Don Coleman, the 
Department's ADA Coordinator, at 500 James Robertson Parkway, 5th Floor, Nashville, Tennessee 37243 at (615) 
741-0481. 

For a copy of this notice of rulemaking hearing, contact Carolyn Lazenby, Executive Director of the Board of 
Licensing Contractors at 710 James Robertson Parkway, Andrew Johnson Tower, 3rd Floor, Nashville, Tennessee 
37243, telephone (615) 741-8307. 
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0680-1-.25 Contracting in Correct Name 

Chapter 0680-1 
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New Rules 
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0680-1-.25 CONTRACTING IN CORRECT NAME. 

Upon receiving certificate of licensure from this Board, the licensee has an affmnative responsibility to 
enter into contracts and operate its related contracting business under the name in which it is licensed in order to 
notify and prevent confusion on the part of the public at large of an entity's licensure status. Contracting in a name 
different than that in which an entity is licensed by this Board is considered a violation of this chapter, and will be 
subject to discipline accordingly. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§62-6-108(a) and 62-6-115. 
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0680-7-.01 FEES. 

(1) Initial application and license fee (biennial) .............................................. $250.00 per business location 

(2) Renewal fee (biennial) ................................................................................ $200.00 per business location 

(3) Late renewal fee .......................................... $10.00 each month; not to exceed three (3) months 

(4) Duplicate license fee for one lost, destroyed or mutilated ............................................................... $10.00 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 62-6-504 and 62-6-513(3). 

0680-7-.02 DEFINITIONS. 

The definitions contained in T. C.A. § 62-6-501, are incorporated into these regulations by references as 0680-
7-.02. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 62-6-513(3). 

0680-7-.03 LICENSE FOR HOME IMPROVEMENT CONTRACTORS. 

All home improvement contractors required to be licensed shall have licenses on and after January 1, 19 8 9. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 62-6-502 and 62-6-513(3). 

0680-7-.04 ADVERTISING. 

(I) A licensed home improvement contractor may not solicit home improvement business by way of 
advertisement in a newspaper, magazine, circular, or printed document, or by way of television or 
radio announcement, unless the name and license number of the contractor is stated in the 
advertisement. 
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(2) A licensee may not directly or indirectly publish any advertisement relating to home improvements, 
including finance or credit terms, that contains an assertion, representation, or statement of fact that is 
false, deceptive or misleading. 

(3) General statements, such as "Factory to You," "Direct to You," "Buy from the Manufacturer," "Save the 
Middleman's Profit," or phrases of similar meaning may not be used unless the advertiser is actually the 
maker or producer of the merchandise advertised or offered for sale. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 62-6-510(9) and 62-6-513(3). 

0680-7-.05 NOTICE OF CHANGE OF LICENSING INFORMATION. 

A licensee shall notify the Board in writing within thirty (30) days of any change of control in ownership, 
management, address or trade name. Upon notification of a substantial change in control of ownership, the Board 
reserves the right to require a new application for licensure. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 62-6-506(h) and 62-6-513(3). 

0680-7-.06 TIME LIMITATIONS FOR FILING COMPLAINTS. 

The Board may summarily dismiss any complaint brought against a licensee after one (1) year from the date of 
the home improvement contract for the work from which the complaint arises, unless the Board fmds that the delay 
was justified and does not result in an undue burden for the licensee. ' 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 62-6-513(3) and 62-6-513(4). 

0680-7-.07 APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE AS HOME IMPROVEMENT CONTRACTOR. 

(1) An application for licensure as a home improvement contractor, whether it is in the name of an individual, 
partnership, proprietorship, or corporation, may not be accepted, if the name under which the licensee will 
be trading is the name being used by an existing licensee, or is so similar to the name being used by an 
existing licensee that it will cause confusion on the part of the public at large, unless the applicant has 
obtained exclusive use of this name under the federal trademark laws. 

(2) If the applicant's mailing address is a post office box, the applicant must also include a physical address 
for the business location. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 62-6-506(c) and 62-6-513(3). 

0680-7-.08 TEMPORARY LICENSES. 

(1) Pursuant to T.C.A. § 62-6-506(d), the Executive Director may grant an application for a home 
improvement license a temporary license pending a fmal decision of the Board on the Application for a 
permanent license if: 

(a) Applicant has properly filed for a permanent license and has paid the requisite license fee; 

(b) Applicant has filed a bond or evidence of financial responsibility in accordance with T. C.A. 
§62-6-506(h). 

(c) Applicant submits a written request for a temporary license to the Executive Director; and 
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(d) Executive Director determines that granting the applicant a temporary license is in the public 
interest and that granting the applicant a temporary license does not pose a substantial risk of 
harm to owners for whom the applicant would do home improvement work. 

(2) As soon as reasonably possible after receiving a written request for a temporary license, but not more 
than forty-five (45) days after receiving the request, the Executive Director shall inform the applicant 
in writing whether the Executive Director has denied or granted the applicant a temporary license. If 
the Executive Director grants an applicant a temporary license, the writing to the applicant shall state 
that the temporary license terminates automatically when the Board decides to issue or deny the 
applicant a permanent license and that the Executive Director can terminate the temporary license at 
any time before final action on the application for a permanent license. Notwithstanding the above, a 
temporary license shall automatically expire after sixty (60) days from the effective date, and may not 
be renewed. If an additional application for a temporary license is filed within thirty (30) days after 
expiration of a previously issued temporary license, then the fee shall be twenty-five dollars ($25.00). 

(3) When the Executive Director issues a temporary license to an applicant, the Executive Director shall 
issue the applicant a license which is specially marked as temporary. This temporary license may be in 
the form of a letter from the Executive Director. The Executive Director shall state in this letter the 
effective date of the temporary license. 

(4) A temporary license shall automatically expire if the Board issues a Final Order denying the 
applicant's request for a permanent license. 

(5) The Executive Director or the Board may terminate a temporary license at any time for any reason 
which is not arbitrary or capricious. When the Executive Director or the Board terminates a temporary 
license, it shall take effect upon receipt by the applicant of the notice of termination, or 10 days after 
the mailing of the notice of termination, or whichever comes first. 

Authority: TC.A. §§ 62-6-506(c), 62-6-506(d) and 62-6-513(3). 

0680-7-.09 LICENSE RENEWALS. 

(I) An application for a license previously issued which is received within one (1) year from the date of 
issue shall be presumed to be an application for a renewal of that license; no renewal application will 
be accepted more that ninety (90) days after the expiration of the license. 

(2) An application for a license previously issued which is received more than ninety (90) days from the 
date of the previously issued license's expiration shall be presumed to be an application for a new 
license. 

(3) Effective Date of Renewals. A license renewed pursuant to this regulation may not be retroactive to 
the date that the previously issued license expired, but shall take effect on the date that the applicant 
fulfills the Board's requirements for renewal. The license shall expire two (2) years from the date on 
which the previously issued license expired. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 62-6-506(g), 62-6-513(3) and 62-6-507(d). 

0680-7-.10 CREDIT REPORTS. 

(I) The Board in its discretion may require an applicant for an original contractor's license to submit to the 
Board a credit report from an approved credit reporting agency and a statement of all outstanding 
judgements against the applicant. 
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(2) The Board shall consider this credit report and statement in determining whether the applicant has 
demonstrated financial solvency. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 62-6-506(a) and 62-6-513(3). 

0680-7-.11 FINANCIAL STATEMENT. 

The Board may require any applicant to submit a reviewed financial statement attested to by either a certified 
public accountant or licensed public accountant; or on a form prescribed by the Board with a notarized affidavit, in 
order to determine the applicant's financial stability. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 62-6-506(a) and 62-6-513(3). 

0680-7-.12 FILING OF SECURITY PRIOR TO ISSUANCE OF LICENSE. 

(1) The requirements of T.C.A.§ 62-6-506(h) must be effective and evidence thereof filed with the Board 
prior to issuance of the contractor's license. 

(2) Upon cancellation of an instrument described in T.C.A. § 62-6-506(h) the licensee must notify the 
Board in writing within ten (1 0) days of such cancellation. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 62-6-506(h) and 62-6-513(3). 

0680-7-.13 BONDS. 

(1) Bonds shall be written on a form approved by the Insurance Commissioner, available through the 
Board, which shows the name of the principal as it appears on the license application. 

(2) Description ofBonds. 

(a) Cash Bonds. 
Cash bonds may not include personal checks. 
Cash bonds may include: 

1. Currency, which shall be deposited with the State Treasurer, subject to the order 
of the Board, and which may not earn interest; 

2. Cashier's check, certificate of deposit for a term of at least 2 years or certified 
check: 

(i) Issued by a financial institution; 

(ii) Showing the name of the purchaser, and 

(iii) Assigned and payable to the Board. 

3. Savings and loan association certificates, passbook or share accounts, credit 
union or share accounts, passbook savings or other similar accounts assigned 
and payable to the Board, which shall be issued for periods of not less than 1 
year and accompanied by delivery of the certificate passbook, share account, 
certificate, passbook or other similar account to the Board. 
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(b) Property Bond 

1. A property bond shall be the assignment to the Board by an owner applicant of 
an interest of ten thousand dollars ($10,000.00) in real property located in 
Tennessee; and submission of a title search showing any encumbrances on the 
property. 

2. The Board may require the applicant to submit an appraisal of the property to 
ascertain that the unencumbered value of the property is at least ten thousand 
dollars ($10,000). 

(c) Surety Bond. 

1. A surety bond shall be in the amount often thousand dollars ($10,000), issued to 
a home improvement contractor by an approved insurance company authorized 
to do business in Tennessee, for the benefit of a claimant, who has been 
damaged by the contractor's breach of a home improvement contract. If the 
bond ceases to be in effect, the home improvement contractor's license shall 
become invalid. 

2. The Board may refuse to accept a bond written for a home improvement 
contractor by a surety which has failed to meet its obligations under this subtitle. 

(d) Letter of Credit. 

1. A bond in the form of an irrevocable letter of credit shall be an agreement, 
between a financial institution and a home improvement contractor on record at 
the Board wherein the FDIC insured fmancial institution agrees to extend an 
irrevocable line of credit amounting to ten thousand dollars ($10,000), for the 
purpose of honoring claims filed with the Board. 

2. The irrevocable letter of credit shall show the name of the financial institution 
extending the credit and the name of the applicant or home improvement 
contractor to whom the letter of credit was issued as it appears on the applicant's 
or home improvement contractor's license application. 

(3) Release ofBond. 

A bond may not be released until whichever occurs last: 

(a) One year after the inactivation, expiration or revocation of home improvement 
contractor's license; 

(b) After the pending claims against the licensee filed during the period described in 3(a) 
4ave been heard and satisfied, or dismissed. 

Authority: T.C.A. §§ 62-6-506(h) and 62-6-513(3). 
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0680-7-.14 COUNTY ADOPTION OF HOME IMPROVEMENT LAW 

(1) Effective July 1, 2007, the Home Improvement license requirement is required in the counties of: 
Bradley, Davidson, Hamilton, Haywood, Johnson, Knox, Robertson, Rutherford and Shelby. 

(2) The legislative body of the county may, by two-thirds (2/3) majority vote, adopt the home 
improvement license law. Such county must notify the Board in writing of the effective date to 
implement the requirements to home improvement contractors. 

Authority: T.C.A. §62-6-516(b). 
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I certify that this is an accurate and complete representation of the intent and scope of the rulemaking proposed by 
the Board of Licensing Contractors. 

~~k· 
S. Elizabeth Oschack Tarter ~ 

Counsel for Board for Licensing Contractors 
Department of Commerce and Insurance 

(615) 741-3072 

~Qs ribed and sworn to before me this --=S;....o...l __ day of_"""c..,..J""'"vtYM--"---+\ _______ , 2008. 

"P My Commission · 
Expires ,fl. _ c-,.___/:) (\"" • ......l9--.. 

September 25, 2010 ~ V\0} \...p ~ c:-
Notary Public 

My Commission expires on the ____ day of _________ _ 

The notice of rulem g hea 'ng set out herein was properly filed in the Department of State on this the 

'J; (day of_+-i~-~-------' 2008 . 

. : '. -~ .. :. 
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