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Instructions for Preparation of the Tennessee Health Care
Liability Counsel for Claimant Reporting Form for
the Reporting Period of January 1, 2017 through
December 31, 2017

Applicable Law

To determine the information required from counsel for health care liability claimants,
please refer to TENN. CODE ANN. § 56-54-105.

TENN. CODE ANN. 88 56-54-101, et seq., may be viewed by entering the statute number in
the “Search” box at the following web address:

http://www.lexisnexis.com/hottopics/tncode/.

Penalties

Failure to submit all required information in the reporting form prescribed by the
Commissioner on or before the March 1 deadline may subject a reporting attorney to a
penalty of one hundred dollars ($100) per day in accordance with TENN. CODE ANN. §
56-54-109. For those reporting in a timely manner, the Division will notify you if there
are questions or if corrections are necessary. You will be allowed fourteen (14) days
from the date of the notification to answer or correct the issues before penalties of one
hundred dollars ($100) per day may begin accruing.

Information and Guidelines for the 2017 Counsel for Claimant
Reporting Form due March 1, 2018:

The reporting form is a Microsoft Excel workbook that contains three (3) worksheets.
All data submitted in the reporting form must be submitted on a compact disk (“CD”) or
through electronic mail at the address listed at the end of these instructions. The
complete and compliant report must be received at the contact address listed at the end of
these instructions on or before March 1, 2018. The reporting attorney’s name must be
clearly marked on the CD.  Reporting attorneys must use Excel software, version
2010 or later, when completing this form. The form can be found on our web site at
https://www.tn.gov/commerce/insurance/consumer-resources/health-insurance-
information.html. Please be assured that the report shall not identify any individual entity
or health care provider pursuant to TENN. CODE ANN. 8 56-54-111.

e The reporting form shall contain information identifying any claims which were
contained in a prior report as a pending claim, in addition to any open, pending
and closed claims.

e There is no definition by statue or rule for an open claim. The Department
interprets an open claim to include any claim that resulted in an attorney opening
a case file, regardless of whether a lawsuit is filed. Absent further clarification in
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the law the Department defers to the attorneys reporting the open claims to
determine what constitutes an open case file based on their own practices and
procedures.

e Transferred and/or Moved Cases are required to be reported. If there was no
resolution on the case when transferred or moved, report the old docket number
on the closed tab of the reporting form and choose “Transferred/Moved” as the
resolution type. Then, report the new docket number on the appropriate tab,
pending, if no resolution and monies have been paid; closed, if there has been a
resolution or dismissal and/or monies paid, even if not disbursed.

e Out-of-State attorneys are only required to report incidents that occurred within
the State of Tennessee.

e If no attorney received, or will receive, any portion of case-specific fees, the lead
counsel for the case shall report all fees. All other attorneys who worked, or will
work, on the case but did not, or will not, receive a portion of the case-specific
fees should be listed on the “Multiple Attorney” tab of the reporting form, along
with all information requested. A separate line should be used for each attorney.

e If only one attorney within a firm received, or will receive, case-specific fees that
particular attorney is required to report the total fees. All other attorneys who
worked, or will work, on the case but did not, or will not, receive a portion of the
case-specific fees should be listed on the “Multiple Attorney” tab of the reporting
form, along with all information requested. A separate line should be used for
each attorney.

e Each claimant attorney who received, or will receive, any portion of the case-
specific fees shall report fee arrangements, even if pro bono, less case-specific
expenses. A separate reporting form prescribed by the Commissioner must be
submitted by each attorney who received, or will receive, case-specific fees.

e The reporting attorneys must complete the contact information at the top of the
reporting form on both the pending and closed tabs. This information is required
to confirm compliance with the law.

e There is a “pending” and a “closed” tab on the 2017 Form. Once the form is
open, folder-like tabs should be seen at the bottom of the computer screen. The
form should open on the “pending” tab where all open and pending cases should
be reported. To report any closed cases, click on the “closed” tab before entering
data. A case opened but not taken is considered a “closed” case; and, “Case Not
Taken” should be the resolution type chosen.

e The reporting form will expand to include additional rows as needed to
accommodate the number of cases to be reported. Begin entering data on row
nine (9), the first blank line, of the reporting form.

e Cases in which resolutions have been reached by all defendants and all monies
have been received, even if not disbursed, should be reported on the “closed” tab
of the form. If more monies are expected to be received or there are other
defendants who have not reached a resolution, report the case as “pending.”

e Fees paid from an annuity policy, should be reported in the year payment is
received. These cases should be reported as pending until the final payment is
received. Once the final payment has been made, report the case as closed.
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Instructions have been embedded within the reporting form. To view the
instructions for filling out the form, hold the cursor over each cell under the
column headings. These instructions explain the correct formatting and the type
of data required. In some instances, if the attorney attempts to include
information in a format other than the established format, an error message will
occur.

There are embedded formulas in columns 12-23 checking for the presence of
correct entries. If information has been correctly entered, a prompt of “Good”
should appear in columns 12-23 of each row where information was entered. If
“Not Good” appears in prompt columns, check the column heading for the
affected column number and change information in those columns as appropriate.
“Good” should then appear in the prompt columns. If not, repeat the process until
the incorrect information is located and corrected, and “Good” appears in columns
12-23.

All data entered in columns should be in alpha-numeric format unless otherwise
stated. When using numeric data, round to the nearest dollar amount or enter zero
(0), when appropriate.

If a column requires currency data and money was not paid and/or fees were not
received, leave the dash programmed in the column and tab over to the next
column. The currency columns are formatted as “accounting” so when a zero (0)
is entered, the format is automatically changed to a dash. DO NOT leave a
currency cell blank.

The Department expects attorneys to use due diligence to discern the facts
required to be reported.

COLUMN DESCRIPTION OF DATA TECHNICAL FORMATING
HEADING SOUGHT OF DATA SOUGHT
(1) This should be the docket number | Data should be in alpha-
Docket Number | assigned to the case if a lawsuit numeric format.
was filed.
(2 This should be the type and/or Date should be in alpha-
Court Where name of court where the case will numeric format.

Docket is Set

be held, i.e. Shelby Co. Circuit
Court

(3) This should be the internal Data should be in alpha-
Your Internal File | identifier assigned to the file in numeric format.
Identifier your office.
4) This should be the date on which Data should be in Gregorian

Date of Incident

the incident occurred that was the
proximate cause of the health care
liability case.

USA format with a four (4)
digit year (MM/DD/YYYY).
This means a two (2) digit
month (with leading zeroes
when necessary), a slash (/), a
two (2) digit day (with leading
zeroes when necessary), a slash
(/), and a four (4) digit year.
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(5) This should be a “yes” or “no” Data should be selected from
Was a Lawsuit answer. the drop down menu provided
Filed? on the reporting form.
(6) This should be a “yes” or “no” Data should be selected from
Will or Did answer in most cases. the drop down menu provided
TennCare Make a on the reporting form.
Payment to
Healthcare
Provider?
(7) This should be the type of Data should be selected from
Resolution Type in | resolution reached in the case in the | the drop down menu provided
2017 year of 2017. on the reporting form.
(8) This should be the total awarded Data should be presented as

Total Amount
Received During

amount paid to claimant, including
all expenses and attorney fees,

currency data in units of U.S.
dollars rounded to the nearest

2017 during 2017, even if disbursements | dollar amount.
have not been made.
9 This should be the portion of fee Data should be presented as
Portion of Amount | received in 2017 by the reporting currency data in units of U.S.
Received By attorney even if disbursements dollars rounded to the nearest
Claimant’s have not been made. dollar amount.
Counsel as Fees in
2017
(10) This should be the total amount Data should be presented as
Cumulative paid to claimant, including all currency data in units of U.S.
Amount Received | expenses and attorney fees, from dollars rounded to the nearest
from Claim the beginning of the claim date thru | dollar amount.
Inception Date thru | 2017, even if disbursements have
2017 not been made.
(11) This should be the portion of fee Data should be presented as
Cumulative received by reporting attorney from | currency data in units of U.S.

Amount Received
by Claimant’s
Counsel as Fees
From Claim
Inception Date thru
2017

the beginning of the claim date thru
2017 even if disbursements have
not been made.

dollars rounded to the nearest
dollar amount.
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Contact Information

Questions should be sent in writing via U.S. Mail, hand delivered, facsimile, or electronic
message to the following:

Tennessee Health Care Liability Reporting

c/o Ms. Jacquie Fortenberry

Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance
Insurance Division — Policy Analysis Section

Davy Crockett Tower

500 James Robertson Parkway

Nashville, Tennessee 37243-1133

Telephone: (615) 532-5340

Facsimile: (615) 741-0648
Jacquie.Fortenberry@tn.gov
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