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To:  All Tennessee Self-Insured Employers – Workers’ Compensation Self-Insured Program   

 

Re:  Excess Policy Requirements  

 

The Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance (“TDCI”) requires all self-insured 

employers to submit the documents listed below related to the required maintenance of excess 

insurance pursuant to Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0780-01-83-.06: 

  

1. An Acord, Binder, or Certificate page must be submitted for a renewal of a current 

excess policy and is due on or before the expiration date of the existing policy; 

 

2. An Acord, Binder, or Certificate page must be submitted when an excess policy is 

issued by a new insurance carrier and is due on or before the expiration date of the 

existing policy; 

 

3. An Acord, Binder, or Certificate page must be submitted when the Self-Insured 

Retention (“SIR”) level with the current insurance carrier is changed; 

 

4. An SIR certification signed by a qualified actuary must be submitted and is due on or 

before the expiration date of the existing policy; 

 

5. The complete set of excess policy information must be filed with TDCI within 90 days 

from the expiration date; 

 

6. A non-renewal of a policy is required to be reported at least 60 days before the end of 

the policy. 

 

Pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-405(b)(4) and Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs 0780-01-83-.13(2), 

failure to file the above required documents authorizes the Commissioner to assess a civil penalty 

of one hundred dollars ($100) per day for each day of delinquency or to suspend or revoke a self-

insurer’s certificate of authority.  

 

Should you have any questions, please contact TDCI.Selfinsured1013@tn.gov.  

 

Sincerely, 

 

 

Kurt A. Polasko, CFE, ACI, APIR 

Insurance Financial Manager 
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REQUIREMENTS FOR SELF-INSURED WORKERS’ COMPENSATION 

SINGLE EMPLOYER 
(Pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-405 and Tenn. Comp. R & Reg. 0780-01-83) 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

 

Updates of Excess Policy Information 
 

The Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance (“TDCI”) requires all self-insured 

employers to submit the documents listed below related to the required maintenance of excess 

insurance pursuant to Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0780-01-83-.06: 

 

1. An Acord, Binder, or Certificate page must be submitted for a renewal of a current 

excess policy and is due on or before the expiration date of the existing policy; 

 

2. An Acord, Binder, or Certificate page must be submitted when an excess policy is 

issued by a new insurance carrier and is due on or before the expiration date of the 

existing policy; 

 

3. An Acord, Binder, or Certificate page must be submitted when the Self-Insured 

Retention (“SIR”) level with the current insurance carrier is changed;  

 

4. An SIR certification signed by a qualified actuary must be submitted and is due on or 

before the expiration date of the existing policy; 

 

5. The complete set of excess policy must be filed with TDCI within 90 days from the 

expiration date; 

 

6. A non-renewal of a policy is required to be reported at least 60 days before the end of 

the policy. 

 

Pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-405(b)(4) and Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs 0780-01-83-.13(2), 

failure to file the above required documents authorizes the Commissioner to assess a civil penalty 

of one hundred dollars ($100) per day for each day of delinquency or to suspend or revoke a self-

insurer’s certificate of authority.  

 

Should you have any questions, please contact TDCI.Selfinsured1013@tn.gov.  
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