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To:  All Tennessee Self-Insured Employers – Workers’ Compensation Self-Insured Program   

 

Re:  Third Party Administrator (“TPA”) Requirements  

 

A self-insured employer may not contract for services with a TPA unless the TPA holds a 

certificate of authority issued by the Commissioner of the Tennessee Department of Commerce 

and Insurance (“TDCI”). Any self-insured employer utilizing a licensed TPA for administrator 

services is required to file copies of each TPA contract with TDCI as listed below: 

  

1. Any amendment to the TPA contract must be filed for a renewal of a current TPA 

contract and is due on or before the expiration date of the existing TPA contract; 

 

2. If a complete TPA contract is not available on or before the expiration date of the 

existing contract, please submit a draft TPA contract; 

 

3. An Employer that changes its TPA shall notify the Commissioner at least thirty (30) 

days prior to any such change and shall file a copy of the new TPA contract at that 

time; 

 

4. A complete set of TPA contracts must be filed with TDCI within thirty (30) days from 

the expiration date. 

 

Pursuant to Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0780-01-83-.04(2)(c), Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs 0780-01-83-

.08(4), and Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs 0780-01-83-.13, failure to file the above required documents 

authorizes the Commissioner to assess a civil penalty of one hundred dollars ($100) per day for 

each day of delinquency or to suspend or revoke a self-insurer’s certificate of authority. 

 

Should you have any questions, please contact TDCI.Selfinsured1013@tn.gov.  

 

Sincerely, 

 

 

Kurt A. Polasko, CFE, ACI, APIR 

Insurance Financial Manager 
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REQUIREMENTS FOR SELF-INSURED WORKERS’ COMPENSATION 

SINGLE EMPLOYER 
(Pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-405 and Tenn. Comp. R & Reg. 0781-01-83) 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

 

Update Third Party Administrator (“TPA”) 
 

A self-insured employer may not contract for services with a TPA unless the TPA holds a 

certificate of authority issued by the Commissioner of the Tennessee Department of Commerce 

and Insurance (“TDCI”). Any self-insured employer utilizing a licensed TPA for administrator 

services is required to file copies of each TPA contract with TDCI as listed below: 

  

1. Any amendment to the TPA contract must be filed for a renewal of a current TPA 

contract and is due on or before the expiration date of the existing TPA contract; 

 

2. If a complete TPA contract is not available on or before the expiration date of the 

existing contract, please submit a draft TPA contract; 

 

3. An Employer that changes its TPA shall notify the Commissioner at least thirty (30) 

days prior to any such change and shall file a copy of the new TPA contract at that 

time; 

 

4. A complete set of TPA contracts must be filed with TDCI within thirty (30) days from 

the expiration date. 

 

Pursuant to Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0780-01-83-.04(2)(c), Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs 0780-01-83-

.08(4), and Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs 0780-01-83-.13, failure to file the above required documents 

authorizes the Commissioner to assess a civil penalty of one hundred dollars ($100) per day for 

each day of delinquency or to suspend or revoke a self-insurer’s certificate of authority. 

 

Should you have any questions, please contact TDCI.Selfinsured1013@tn.gov.  
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