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This Bulletin is written to update the Department's position regarding attachment points related 

to the offering of excess stop-loss coverage for Large Group plans. All other aspects of the other 

Bulletins regarding excess stop-loss coverage previously issued by the Department remain intact 

and unaffected.  

The Department, in reference to the NAIC Stop Loss Insurance Model Act (MDL-092), has reviewed 

its position regarding the offering of excess stop-loss coverage. Catastrophic coverage for Large 

Group plans issued to groups of 500 lives or more will be defined as coverage with individual 

specific attachment limits of at least $10,000 and with an aggregate attachment point of 110% of 

expected claims for the entire plan for one contract year.  Catastrophic coverage for Large Group 

plans issued to groups of 499 lives or less, Small Group plans, and individual plans will continue to 

be defined as coverage with individual specific attachment limits of at least $10,000 and with an 

aggregate attachment point of 120% of expected claims for the entire plan for one contract year. 

It is the Department's position that it will not approve an excess stop-loss policy for an authorized 

carrier that is offering less than catastrophic coverage. Any policy issued to cover less than this 

catastrophic threshold will be considered a group health policy and must meet all standards set 

forth in Tennessee law for such coverage.  

Tennessee Code Annotated § 56-2-201(1) defines accident and health insurance as "…providing 

aggregate or excess stop-loss coverage in connection with employee welfare benefit plans, 

managed care organizations participating in commercial plans or the TennCare program, or both, 

health maintenance organizations, long-term care facilities, physician-hospital organizations as 

defined in § 56-32-102 and provider aggregate or per-patient stop-loss protection insurance 

coverage as authorized by § 56-32-104."  

Tennessee Code Annotated § 56-26-102 requires approval of all policies covering accident and 

sickness prior to issuance or delivery in the State of Tennessee. It is contrary to state law for the 



Commissioner to approve accident and health policies for issuance by unauthorized carriers, 

therefore, excess stop-loss coverage may only be purchased through an insurance company 

holding a valid certificate of authority issued by this Department. This type of insurance is not 

available through a surplus lines insurer as defined in the Surplus Lines Insurance Act, Tennessee 

Code Annotated § 56-14-101 et seq., due to health coverage being widely available through 

authorized carriers. 

Any questions concerning this bulletin may be directed to Bill Huddleston, Director of Insurance 
at 615-360-4467 or Bill.Huddleston@tn.gov.  
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