
BEFORE THE COMMISSIONER OF THE TENNESSEE 
DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE AND INSURANCE 

IN THE MATTER OF: 

ORVILLE VON REAGAN, III DOCKET NO. 12.01-130643J 

NOTICE 

ATTACHED IS AN INITIAL ORDER RENDERED BY AN ADMINISTRATIVE 
JUDGE WITH THE ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES DIVISION. 

THE INITIAL ORDER IS NOT A FINAL ORDER BUT SHALL BECOME A FINAL 
ORDER UNLESS: 

1. THE ENROLLEE FILES A WRITTEN APPEAL, OR EITHER PARTY FILES 
A PETITION FOR RECONSIDERATION WITH THE ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES 
DIVISION NO LATER THAN August 20, 2015. 

YOU MUST FILE THE APPEAL, PETITION FOR RECONSIDERATION WITH THE 
ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES DIVISION. THE ADDRESS OF THE 
ADMINISTRA TlVE PROCEDURES DIVISION IS: 

SECRETARY OF STATE 
ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES DIVISION 

WILLIAM R. SNODGRASS TOWER 
312 ROSA PARKS A VENUE, gth FLOOR 
NASHVILLE, TENNESSEE 37243-11 02 

IF YOU HAVE ANY FURTHER QUESTIONS, PLEASE CALL THE ADMINISTRATIVE 
PROCEDURES DIVISION, 6151741-7008 OR 741-5042, FAX 6151741-4472. PLEASE 
CONSULT APPENDIX A AFFIXED TO THE INITIAL ORDER FOR NOTICE OF APPEAL 
PROCEDURES. 



THE STATE OF TENNESSEE 
BEFORE THE COMMISSIONER OF COMMERCE AND INSURANCE 

TENNESSEE INSURANCE DIVISION, 
Petitioner. 

vs. 

ORVILLE VON REAGAN, III, 
Respondent. 

) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 
) 

APD No. 12.01-130643J 
TID No. 14-183 

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

This matter came to be heard before the Administrative Law Judge ("ALJ") Anthony 

Adgent, assigned by the Secretary of State, Administrative Procedures Division ("APD"), to sit 

for the Commissioner of the Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance 

("Commissioner"). Stephanie M. Crenshaw, Assistant General Counsel, represented the 

Insurance Division of the Tennessee Department of Commerce and I11surance ("Division") in 

this matter. Respondent, Orville Von Reagan, III ("Reagan") did not appear, and was not 

represented by an attorney. 

The subject of this hearing was the proposed revocation of Reagan's Tennessee Resident 

Insurance Producer License No. 0890739 ("License"), and a request for monetary penalties in 

response to Reagan 's alleged violations ofTenn. Code Ann.§§ 56-6-1 12(a)(2) and (6) and 56-6-

119(b). After consideration of the argument of counsel and the record in this matter, it is 

determined that Reagan's License is REVOKED and he is ORDERED to pay a Five Thousand 

Dollar ($5,000) civil penalty. This decision is based upon the below Findings of Fact and 

Conclusions of Law. 



SUMMARY OF THE EVIDENCE 

One (1) witness testified at the hearing on behalf of the Division: Frank Borger-Gilligan, 

Director of Fraud Investigations. Three (3) exhibits were entered into evidence: Exhibit 1, 

Collective Proof of Service; Exhibit 2, Affidavit of Kimberly Biggs; and Exhibit 3, Certified 

copies of criminal documents. 

FINDINGS OF FACT 

1. On October 6, 2014, Reagan was charged with and pled guilty to three (3) counts 

of felony theft in the Circuit Court for Sevier County, Tennessee. Reagan was placed on 

probation for four (4) years, ordered to perform fifty (50) hours of community service and 

ordered to pay two thousand eight hundred sixty-five dollars and seventy-one cents ($2,865.71) 

in restitution. 

2. Reagan's convictions stem from complaints that Regan took premmms from 

consumers, but never bound the insurance coverage with Burns & Wilcox, Ltd. or Certain 

Underwriters at Lloyd's as Reagan had represented to the consumers. 

3. Reagan failed to notify the Commissioner of the pending charges against him 

within thirty (30) days of the initial pretrial hearing date or of the order resulting from the 

hearing. 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

4. Tenn. Code Ann. § 56-6-112(a) authorizes the Commissioner to place on 

probation, suspend, revoke, or refuse to issue or renew a license issued under Title 56, Chapter 6, 

Part 1 and/or levy a monetary civil penalty for: 
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(2) Violating any law, rule, regulation, subpoena or order of the commissioner 

or of another state's commissioner; [and] 

(6) Having been convicted of a felony[.] 

5. Tenn. Code Ann. § 56-6-JI 9(b) states that within thirty (30) days of the initia l 

pretrial hearing date, a producer shall report to the commissioner any criminal prosecution of the 

producer taken in any jurisdiction, including a copy of the initial complaint, the order resulting 

from the hearing, and any other relevant legal documents. 

6. Tenn. Code Ann. § 56-6-11 2(g) provides, in pertinent part, that if after providing 

notice consistent with the process established by § 4-5-320(c), and providing the opportunity for 

a contested case hearing held in accordance with the Uniform Administrative Procedures Act, the 

Commissioner finds that any person required to be licensed, permitted, or authorized by the 

Division of Insurance has violated any statute, rule or order, the commissioner may order: 

(1) The person to cease and desist from engaging in the act or 
practice giving rise to the violation; 

(2) Payment of a monetary penalty of not more than one 
thousand dollars ($ 1 ,000) for each violation, but not to 
exceed an aggregate penalty of one hundred thousand 
dollars ($ 1 00,000). This subdivision (g)(2) shall not apply 
where a stah1te or rule specifically provides for other civil 
penalties for the violation. For purposes of this subdivision 
(g)(2), each day of continued violation shall constitute a 
separate violation; and 

(3) The suspension or revocation of the person's license. 

7. Tenn. Code Ann. § 56-6-1 12(h) provides that the Commissioner shall consider the 

following in determining the amount of penalty to assess: 
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(1) Whether the person could have reasonably interpreted such 
person's actions to be in compliance with the obligations 
required by a statute, rule or order; 

(2) Whether the amount imposed wi ll be a substantial economic 
deterrent to the violator; 

(3) The circumstances leading to the violation; 
( 4) The severity of the violation and the risk of harm to the 

public; 
(5) The economic benefits gained by the violator as a result of 

noncompliance; 
(6) The interest of the public; and 
(7) The person's efforts to cure the violation. 

8. The Division met its burden of proof by a preponderance of the evidence that 

Reagan committed three (3) violations of Tenn. Code Ann. § 56-6- 11 2(a)(6) for being 

convicted of three (3) counts of felony theft in the Circuit Court for Sevier County, Tennessee, 

on October 6, 2014. 

9. The Division met its burden of proof by a preponderance of the evidence that 

Reagan violated the law by failing to report the pending charges to the Commissioner within 

thirty (30) days of the initial pretrial hearing date or of the order resulting from the hearing, 

thereby, violating Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 56-6-112(a)(2) and 56-6-119(b). 

It is therefore ORDERED that the resident insurance producer license number 0890739 

issued to Orville Von Reagan, III, be REVOKED and Reagan be ORDERED to pay One 

Thousand Dollars ($ 1 ,000) for each violation stated above, for a total of Five Thousand Dollars 

($5,000). 

This Initial Order entered and effective this 
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~ayof f1-l1§(1-JL 20 15. 

~kit/ 
Anthony Adgent 
Administrative Law Judge 



Filed in the Administrative Procedures Division, Office of the Secretary of State, this .5_ ~ 
day of & '--l Gt , 2015. 

J chard Collier, Director 
Administrative Procedures Division 
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APPEN DIX A TO INITIAL ORDER 
NOTICE OF APPEAL PROCEDURES 

Review of Initial Order 

This Initial Order shall become a Final Order (rev iewable as set forth below) fifteen ( 15) 
days after the entry date of this Initial Order, unless ei ther or both of the following actions are 
taken: 

( I) A party files a petition for appeal to the agency, stating the basis of the appeal, or the 
agency on its own motion gives written notice of its intention to review the Initial Order, within 
fifteen ( 15) days after the entry date of the Initial Order. If ei ther of these actions occurs, there is 
no Final Order until review by the agency and entry of a new Final Order or adoption and entry 
of the Initial Order, in whole or in part, as the Final Order. A petit ion for appeal to the agency 
must be fi led within the proper time period with the Administrative Procedures Division of the 
Office of the Secretary of State, glh Floor, Wil liam R. Snodgrass Tower, 312 Rosa L. Parks 
Avenue, Nashville, Tennessee, 37243-1102. (TelephoneNo. (6 15) 741-7008). See Tennessee 
Code Annotated, Section (T.C.A. §) 4-5-315, on review of initial orders by the agency. 

(2) A party files a petition for reconsideration of this Initial Order, stating the specific 
reasons why the Initial Order was in error within fifteen ( 15) days after the entry date of the 
Initial Order. This petition must be filed with the Administrative Procedures Division at the 
above address. A petition for reconsideration is deemed denied if no action is taken within 
twenty (20) days of filing. A new fifteen (15) day period fo r the filing of an appeal to the agency 
(as set forth in paragraph ( l ) above) starts to run from the entry date of an order disposing of a 
petition fo r reconsideration, or from the twentieth day after filing of the petition, if no order is 
issued. See T.C.A. §4-5-3 17 on petitions for reconsideration. 

A party may petition the agency fo r a stay of the Initial Order within seven (7) days after 
the entry date of the order. See T.C.A. §4-5-316. 

Review of Final Order 

Within fifteen (1 5) days after the Initial Order becomes a Final Order, a party may file a 
petition for reconsideration ofthe Final Order, in which peti tioner shall state the specific reasons 
why the Initial Order was in error. If no action is taken within twenty (20) days of filing of the 
petition, it is deemed denied. See T.C.A. §4-5-317 on petitions for reconsideration. 

A party may petition the agency for a stay of the Final Order within seven (7) days after 
the entry date ofthe order. See T.C.A. §4-5-3 16. 
YOU WILL NOT RECEIVE FURTHER NOTICE OF THE INITIAL ORDER BECOMING A 
FINAL ORDER 

A person who is aggrieved by a final decision in a contested case may seek judicial 
review of the Final Order by filing a petition for review in a Chancery Court having jurisdiction 
(generally, Davidson County Chancery Court) wi thin sixty (60) days after the entry date of a 
Final Order or, if a petition for reconsideration is granted, within sixty (60) days of the entry date 
of the Final Order disposing of the petition. (However, the filing of a petition for reconsideration 
does not itself act to ex tend the six ty day period, if the petition is not granted.) A reviewing 
court also may order a stay of the Final Order upon appropri ate terms. See T.C.A. §4-5-322 and 
§4-5-3 17. 


