Department of
Commerce &
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March 4, 2024
Re: Tennessee Code Annotated § 68-126-401 et seq.

To: Manufactured Home Retailers and Installers,

During the Manufactured Housing Section's (the “Section”) ongoing Installation Decal Audit it has
become clear that there are a great many instances where applicable law, Tennessee Code
Annotated 88 68-126-401 et seq., is not being followed. This has an overall negative effect for all
involved in the manufactured housing industry, the Section, and especially the consumers. | am
preparing this document as a refresher on what the Tennessee Code requires and how the
Section enforces these laws.

Tenn. Code Ann. § 68-126-406 (b) states, “The installer shall apply for an installation permit prior
to installing a manufactured home...” An installation decal shall be purchased for a home once it
is on-site and ready to be installed. Decals should not be purchased at the time a home is
purchased, at the time of delivery to a retail center, in bulk, or in any other manner.

Tenn. Code Ann. § 68-126-406 (e) states, “Each installer shall submit a report to the commissioner
on at least a weekly basis describing the homes installed by the installer that week.” When an
installation decal is placed in a home, this signifies the home is code and safety compliant and the
installation is complete. A weekly for a home shall be submitted to the Section within seven (7)
calendar days from placement of the decal.

Further, Tenn. Code Ann. § 68-126-406 (f) states; “Installers and retailers may purchase decals
from the county clerk; provided, however, that the commissioner shall account for all permits.”
The Section is required by statute to account for all installation decals. The Section accounts for
decals in several different ways such as through monitoring of weekly reports and decal audits.

Pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. § 68-126-406(g), “The state or local electrical inspector shall not
authorize electricity to be turned on at the home if no installation decal is on the home when the
electrical installation is done.” A home should never be energized on a permanent basis until the
installation is complete.

Tenn. Code Ann. 8 68-102-143(e)(1) provides, “A service release inspection is a temporary service
to allow for testing of equipment, environmental conditioning, and special operational equipment
for construction. The inspection is valid for a period of forty-five (45) days on designated circuits
only.” Additionally, Tenn. Code Ann. § 68-102-143(e)(1) provides, “A service release inspection
does not allow for occupancy of the structure.” Tenn. Code Ann. § 68-102-143(e)(2) further
clarifies, “A service release inspection may be issued for purposes of installation and inspection
of a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning system (HVAC) for a manufactured home or modular
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building. An anchoring decal shall not be required for a service release inspection.” If power is
needed to complete aspects of an installation, the forty-five (45) day service release option should
be utilized.

Lastly, Tenn. Code Ann. 8 68-126-406(h) states, “If a permit decal is lost or destroyed, the applicant
for a replacement decal shall pay to the county clerk a fee of forty-five dollars ($45.00), from which
the county clerk shall retain eight dollars ($8.00) and remit thirty-seven dollars ($37.00) to the
commissioner. The applicant for the replacement permit decal shall provide to the county clerk
an affidavit stating that the decal was lost or destroyed. The county clerk shall submit a copy of
the affidavit for any replacement permit decal issued with the monthly report to the
commissioner.” The Section’s process has been to accept an affidavit from the licensee on any
lost, damaged, or stolen decals. Tenn. Code Ann. § 68-126-406(h) should always be followed.

This document does not contain a full recitation of all applicable laws; however, | hope this
document will be a useful reminder of some key elements.

Sincerely,

Jim Hightower - Director

Department of Commerce and Insurance

Fire Prevention Division - TN State Fire Marshal's Office
Man. Housing, Mod. Bldg. & Licensing Section

Office phone - (615)-741-7192 / Cell phone - (615)-388-1460
Email - jim.hightower@tn.gov
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