
 
STATE OF TENNESSEE 

DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE & INSURANCE 
DIVISION OF FIRE PREVENTION 

ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES SECTION 
PERMITS AND LICENSES UNIT 

500 JAMES ROBERTSON PARKWAY 
NASHVILLE, TN 37243-1159 

PHONE (615) 741-2981   FAX (615) 741-1583 
 
The following items are necessary to qualify for registration as an explosives blaster: 

 
1. Submit an application with a check made payable to the Department of Commerce and 

Insurance for three-hundred fifteen dollars ($315). Fifteen dollars ($15) of which is 
nonrefundable. 

 
2. The application must be completed in its entirety. A registration will not be issued without a 

completed application on file. 
  

3. The applicant must be at least twenty-one (21) years of age. 
 

4. The applicant must understand, speak and write the English language. 
 

5. Provide proof of having obtained one (1) year of previous practical experience under the 
supervision of a registered, experienced blaster by having the blaster fill out and sign a 
Blaster/Limited Blaster Experience Verification form. Alternately, provide the applicant’s 
blasting license from another state provided it has been possessed for at least one year prior 
to application in this state.  

 
6. Submit a copy of the applicant’s Tennessee handler’s registration if applicable. 

  
7. Schedule, take and pass a written examination after the application is reviewed by this office. 

Each blaster applicant must pass the exam.  An applicant who fails an examination may retake 
the examination thirty (30) days after the original test date without paying another application 
fee. An applicant who fails the examination twice shall reapply and pay the required application 
fee. 

 
8. If you are not an employee of a registered blasting firm, an explosives firm application and fee 

must be submitted with a certificate of liability insurance in the amount of one million dollars 
($1,000,000.00).  The insurance company must complete and sign the Certificate of Insurance 
and the words “Includes blasting/explosives” must appear on the certificate.  The “State of 
Tennessee, Department of Commerce and Insurance, Permits and Licenses Unit”, at the 
above address, must be listed as the certificate holder.  This certificate must be forwarded to 
this office. 

 
Continued… 

 
 



Requirements for continuing the registration: 
 
Certificates of registration expire three (3) years following the date of issuance or renewal and are 
invalid on that date unless renewed. You will receive a renewal form by mail prior to expiration. 
Submit the renewal form with a check for three-hundred dollars ($300) made payable to the 
Department of Commerce and Insurance. If you don’t receive the renewal form, call (615) 741-1322 
for instructions. It is the responsibility of the registrant to notify this office of all address changes to 
ensure renewal notices are received in a timely manner. 
 
A twenty-five dollar ($25) late fee is assessed for renewing up to one (1) year after expiration. After 
one (1) year, an initial application must be made and all requirements for initial registration must be 
met. 
 
A minimum of sixteen (16) hours of State Fire Marshal approved continuing education must be 
completed. Proof of completion of the course must be received prior to the expiration date. 
 
Laws and Rules 
 
Explosives laws can be found on the internet at www.tennessee.gov, put your cursor on Government, 
then move it over to State and click the TN Code link, navigating to Title 68, Safety, Chapter 105 
Blasting and Explosives. 
 
Explosives rules can be found at http://sos.tn.gov/effective-rules, then navigating to 0780 Commerce 
and Insurance, Fire Prevention, 0780-02-15. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

http://www.tennessee.gov/
http://sos.tn.gov/effective-rules
http://sos.tn.gov/effective-rules


 

STATE OF TENNESSEE                                                                          
DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE & INSURANCE 
DIVISION OF FIRE PREVENTION 
ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES SECTION 
PERMITS AND LICENSES UNIT 
500 JAMES ROBERTSON PARKWAY 
NASHVILLE, TN 37243-1159 
Phone: (615) 741-1322 Fax: (615) 741-1583 

 
BLASTER APPLICATION 

 
Registration Fee: $ 300 (3 Years)     
Application Fee: $ 15 (This is a non-refundable application fee) 
Total Fees Due:  $ 315 
 
NOTE: MAKE CHECK  PAYABLE TO DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE AND INSURANCE 
 
Blaster’s Full Name _________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

Mailing Address 
 

Street: ___________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
City: _______________________________ State: ______ Zip: __________ Telephone #: (            ) _________________ 
  
Email address:__________________________________           Fax #: (            ) _________________ 
 

Home Address (if different than mailing address) 
 

Street: ___________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
City: ________________________________ State: ______ Zip: ___________ Telephone #: (           )________________ 
 
Social Security # ________-______-__________      Date of Birth ________/_________/_______ 

             (Month/Day/Year) 
 
TN Handler’s Registration # ________________________ 
 
Are you currently employed by a Tennessee registered blasting firm?   Yes    No 
If yes, provide the name of the firm: 
 
Firm Name __________________________________________________ Firm’s TN Registration # _________________ 
 
Firm Address _____________________________________________________________________________________ 

(Street Number, or R.F.D. and P.O. Box) 
 

City ______________________________ State _______ Zip ___________ County ______________________________ 
 
If you are not employed by a registered blasting firm, make an application for an explosives firm, pay the fee, and submit a 
Certificate of Liability Insurance for at least one million dollars ($1,000,000.00). 
 
Are you a U. S. Citizen?   Yes    No 
 
Do you understand, speak and write the English language?  Yes    No 
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Are you currently under indictment for a Felony? 
 Yes    No   If yes, attach a copy of the court records including:  (1) date, (2) charge, (3) place, (4) court, 

(5) action taken. 
 
Have you ever been convicted of a Felony? 

 Yes    No   If yes, attach a copy of the court records including:  (1) date, (2) charge, (3) place, (4) court, 
(5) action taken. 
 
Do you suffer from mental or physical impairment that would interfere with the safe handling of explosives? 
 

 Yes    No   If yes, attach an explanation. 
 
I certify that all information provided is correct and all questions are answered truthfully.  I am aware that 
providing false information may result in the denial or revocation of my registration.  I am aware that a previous 
or future charge or violation of any explosives law or regulation may result in the denial or revocation of my 
registration. 
 
 
________________________________________   ________________________________________________ 
Signature of Applicant       Printed Name of Applicant 
 
 
________________________________________ 
Date 
 
 
IT IS THE RESPONSIBILITY OF THE LICENSEE TO NOTIFY THIS OFFICE OF ALL ADDRESS CHANGES TO 
ENSURE RENEWAL NOTICES ARE RECEIVED IN A TIMELY MANNER. 
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STATE OF TENNESSEE 

DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE & INSURANCE 
DIVISION OF FIRE PREVENTION 

ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES SECTION 
PERMITS AND LICENSES UNIT 

500 JAMES ROBERTSON PARKWAY 
NASHVILLE, TN 37243-1159 

PHONE (615) 741-1322 FAX (615) 741-1583 
 
 

 
 

Blaster/Limited Blaster Experience Verification 
 
 
 
 
 
Applicant Name:_____________________________________ 
 
The explosives user applicant named above has received one year of practical experience under my 
supervision that enables him or her to adequately store, handle, and use explosives. 
 
 
 
Name (print): __________________________________ TN Blaster Registration Number*: _______________ 
 
 
 
Signed: _______________________________________________ Date: ________________________ 
 
 
*See application instructions for out of state applicants. 
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500 James Robertson Parkway 

Nashville, TN 37243 

Tel: 615-741-2981 

http://www.tn.gov/commerce/ 
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ELIGIBILITY VERIFICATION FOR ENTITLEMENTS ACT ATTESTATION 

(Pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. § 4-58-103) 

 
The Eligibility Verification for Entitlements Act, passed in 2012, requires every state governmental entity to verify that 
each applicant who applies for a state public benefit is a United States citizen or lawfully present in the United States. 
As such, all individuals applying for a license, registration, certification, or other benefit from the Department of 
Commerce and Insurance, Division of Fire Prevention (“Division”) must complete this form. In addition, all owners of 
“pass-through entities” (such as sole proprietorships, partnerships, limited liability companies (“LLCs”), and S 
corporations) must complete the form. If you have questions as to whether you are required to complete this form, 
please contact the Division’s Permits and Licensing Section at (615) 741-2981 or SFMO.permits-licensing@tn.gov. 
 
I hereby attest under penalty of perjury that I am (select one): 
 

 A United States citizen, and my social security number is ______-_____-__________. 
 

 A qualified alien as defined in Tenn. Code Ann. § 4-58-102
1
 and I am providing one (1) or more forms of 

documentation of identity and immigration status listed on the following page.  
 

 A foreign national not physically present in the United States. (Further, I understand that should I ever 
become physically present in the United States while I hold this license, registration, or other benefit, I agree 
to immediately contact the issuing agency and provide documentation to confirm my status as a qualified 
alien.) 

 

I further attest that I understand that submitting false information or omitting pertinent or material information in 
connection with this application or any violation of the Eligibility Verification for Entitlements Act may result in the 
revocation of any license, registration, certification, or other benefit issued to the applicant. A person who willingly 
makes a false, fictitious, or fraudulent statement or representation of United States citizenship may be prosecuted 
under 18 U.S.C. § 911 and/or the False Claims Act, Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 4-18-101, et seq.  
 
 
___________________________________________________   
Printed Name                           
 
 

___________________________________________________  _________________________ 
Applicant’s Signature                         Date 

                                                           
1 Qualified alien means “a qualified alien as defined by 8 U.S.C. § 1641(b)” or “an alien or nonimmigrant eligible to receive state or local public 

benefits under 8 U.S.C. § 1621(a).” Pursuant to those statutes, this status includes, but is not necessarily limited to: 

 An alien who is lawfully admitted for permanent residence under the Immigration and Nationality Act [8 U.S.C. § 1101 et seq.]; 

 An alien who is granted asylum under Section 208 of the Immigration and Nationality Act [8 U.S.C. § 1158]; 

 A refugee who is admitted to the United States under Section 207 of the Immigration and Nationality Act [8 U.S.C. § 1157]; 

 An alien who is paroled into the United States under Section 212(d)(5) of the Immigration and Nationality Act [8 U.S.C. § 1182(d)(5)’ for a 
period of at least one (1) year; 

 An alien whose deportation is being withheld under Section 243(h) of the Immigration and Nationality Act [8 U.S.C. § 1253] (as in effect 
immediately before the effective date of Section 307 of Division C of Public Law 104-208 or Section 241(b)(3) of the Immigration and 

Nationality Act [8 U.S.C. § 1231(b)(3)] (as amended by Section 305(a) of Division C of Public Law 104-208); 

 An alien who is granted conditional entry pursuant to Section 203(a)(7) of the Immigration and Nationality Act [8 U.S.C. § 1153(a)(7)] as 

in effect prior to April 1, 1980; 

 An alien who is a Cuban and Haitian entrant (as defined in Section 501(e) of the Refugee Assistance Act of 1980); 
 A nonimmigrant under the Immigration and Nationality Act [8 U.S.C. § 1101, et seq.]; 

 An alien who is paroled into the United States under Section 212(d)(5) of the Immigration and Nationality Act [8 U.S.C. § 1182(d)(5)] for 
less than one year.  

http://www.tn.gov/commerce/section/regulatory-boards


 

 

 

 

500 James Robertson Parkway 

Nashville, TN 37243 

Tel: 615-741-2981 
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Additional Required Documentation: 

 
If you are claiming United States citizenship, you must present one (1) of the following: 

 Social security number (If you provided your social security number on the pervious page, no 
additional documentation is required. However, please be aware that efforts may be made to verify any 

such number.);  

 A valid Tennessee driver’s license or photo identification issued by the Department of Safety; 

 A valid driver’s license or photo identification license from another state where the issuance requirements 
are at least as strict as those in Tennessee, as determined by the Department of Safety; 

 An official birth certificate issued by a state, jurisdiction, or territory of the United States, including Puerto 
Rico, United States Virgin Island, Northern Mariana Islands, American Samoa, Swains Island, or Guam 
(except that Puerto Rican birth certificates issued before July 1, 2010, shall not be recognized); 

 A United States government-issued certified birth certificate; 

 A valid, unexpired United States passport; 

 A United States certificate of birth abroad (DS-1350 or FS-545); 

 A report of birth abroad of a citizen of the United States (FS-240); 

 A certificate of citizenship (N560 or N561); 

 A certificate of naturalization (N5550, N570, or N578); 

 A United States citizen identification card (I-197, I-179); or 

 Any successor document of those listed at Tenn. Code Ann. § 4-58-103(c)(4)-(9). 
  
If you are claiming qualified alien status, you must present two (2) of the following forms of documentation of 
identity and immigration status, as determined by the United States Department of Homeland Security to be 

acceptable for verification through the SAVE program: 

 I-327 (Reentry permit); 

 I-551 (Permanent Resident Card); 

 I-571 (Refugee Travel Document); 

 I-766 (Employment Authorization Card); 

 Certificate of Citizenship; 

 Naturalization Certificate; 

 Machine Readable Immigrant Visa (with Temporary I-551 Language); 

 Temporary I-551 Stamp (on passport or I-94); 

 Unexpired foreign passport; 

 WT/WB Admission Stamp in unexpired foreign passport; 

 I-20 (Certificate of Eligibility for Nonimmigrant (F-1) Student Status); 

 DS-2019 (Certificate of Eligibility for Exchange Visitor (J-1) Status); or 

 Any other document determined by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security to be acceptable through the 
Systematic Alien Verification for Entitlements (SAVE) Program created pursuant to the federal Immigration 
Reform and Control Act of 1986. 

 Note: Neither a driver’s license nor a social security number or card are acceptable forms of 
documentation.  

 
If you are claiming qualified alien status but are unable to present two (2) forms of documentation listed 
above (for the claim of qualified alien status), then you shall present at least one (1) such document, which shall then 

be verified through the SAVE program. Failure to provide two (2) forms of documentation will result in a delay to 
determining eligibility for licensure.  
 
If you are claiming that you are a foreign national not physically present in the United States, please contact 

the program issuing the license, registration, certification, or other benefit for which you are applying to provide such 
documentation as may be required to verify such status.  

http://www.tn.gov/commerce/section/regulatory-boards
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