

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE December 1, 2020 #20-54

CONTACT: Samantha Fisher 615.741.5860

samantha.fisher@ag.tn.gov

## AG SLATERY URGES CONGRESS TO PASS EXTENSION FOR CARES ACT

Nashville- Attorney General Herbert H. Slatery III has joined a coalition of attorneys general representing 43 states, the District of Columbia and 5 U.S. territories, urging Congress to extend the Coronavirus Aid, Relief and Economy (CARES) Act funding until the end of 2021.

"Extending the CARES Act would go a long way toward supporting unemployed workers and the Tennessee economy as we continue to deal with the vast financial impact of the pandemic," said General Slatery.

With several pending measures, including bipartisan extension measures in both the House and Senate, the attorneys general urge Congress to pass one of these measures to give states and local communities additional time to utilize COVID-relief resources.

COVID-19 has negatively impacted nearly every facet of American society. In anticipation of unprecedented costs and economic disruption stemming from the pandemic, Congress passed the CARES Act in March. The move provided more than \$2 trillion in economic stimulus to state and local governments in an effort to combat the impacts of the pandemic.

"This time frame likely made sense in late March when the CARES Act was passed, but we have learned a great deal about COVID-19 in the past seven months," the letter states. "Among other things, we know that the pandemic will continue to challenge communities well beyond December 30, 2020 – a deadline that now seems unreasonable."

As the pandemic continues to set record infections, states and local communities will continue to incur COVID-related expenses next year. By extending the deadline, communities nationwide will be able to be more strategic with the use of CARES Act funds, the attorneys general said.

To read the letter, click here:

https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/attorneygeneral/documents/pr/2020/pr20-54-letter.pdf

The letter was signed by attorneys general in: Alaska, American Samoa, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Northern Mariana Islands, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon,





Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Utah, Vermont, Virgin Islands, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, and Wisconsin.

###

