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Constitutionality of 2000 Tenn. Pub. Acts Chapter 909 (HB2688/SB2398)

UESTION

Does 2000 Tenn. Pub. Acts Ch. 909, Section 1 violate the due process clause of either the
United States Constitution or the Constitution of Tennessee by ether: (1) authorizing the Department
of Human Services to impose a civil penalty on any employer or other payer of income who after
prior warning notification by the Department fails to provide identifying information with child
support payments made to the centralized collection and disbursement unit or (2) authorizing the
Department of Human Services to assert alien against any employer or other payer of income who
after afinal determination fails to pay the assessment?

OPINION
No. Neither the civil penalty provisions nor the lien provisions of 2000 Tenn. Pub. Acts Ch. 909,
Section 1 violate the due process clause of either the United States Constitution or the Constitution
of Tennessee.
ANALYSIS
2000 Tenn. Pub. Acts Ch. 909, Section 1 provides as follows:

Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 36, Chapter 5, Part 1, is amended
by adding the following as a new section thereto:

Section (__). Payments and identifying information required for support payments made to
the centralized collection and disbursement unit.



() All payments to the centralized collection and disbursement unit by either the obligor
parent or a payer on behalf of the obligor parent shall include the following information:

(1) the name, social security number and return address of the obligor parent;

(2) the code identifier for the court for which the payment is being made and the docket
number of the case in which the support order was entered; and

(3) for casesinvolving deductions from compensation of the obligor by an employer or other
payer of income by income assignment, the date the payment was deducted from the employee’
sor other payee' s compensation.

(b) Asan dternative to compliance with subsection (a), an employer or other payer of support
on behalf of an obligor parent may submit a payment document provided by the Department of
Human Services on which the employer or other payer shal include the amount of income
withholding on each affected employee or other payee, and, if appropriate, shall provide the name
and address of any new employer of an affected employee or payeeif known to the employer or other

payer.

(c) Asan alternative to subsection (a), a self
-employed obligor parent, or an obligor parent whose employer or
other payer of income is unknown to the department, may submit a
payment coupon provided by the department to the parent with the
payment due.

(d) Any payment made to the centralized collection and disbursement unit that does not
comply with the requirements of subsection (a)
-(c) shall be subject to a penalty.

(e)(1) If, after prior warning notification by the
Department of Human Services of failure to provide
the information with the payments as required by this
section, any employer, or other payer of income, fails
or refuses to comply with the requirements of this
section, the violator shall be subject to acivil penalty
of one hundred dollars ($100) per individua for
whom the required information is not provided upon
thefirst failure to comply, two hundred dollars ($200)



per individual for the second failure to comply and
five hundred dollars ($500) per individual for each
occurrence thereafter. The warning notification shall
gpecifically state the information required to be
submitted and the information omitted by the
employer or other payer of income, shall provide a
telephone number for questions, and shall set forth the
penalties for failure to comply, referencing statutory
authority.

(2) If, after prior warning notification by the Department of Human Services of failure to
provide the information with the payments as required by this section, any obligor fails or refuses
to comply with the requirements of this section, the violator shall be subject to acivil penalty of one
hundred dollars ($100) or the amount equaling twenty

-five percent (25%) of the obligor’s monthly support
obligation, whichever is less, for the first failure to
provide the required information, two hundred dollars
($200), or the amount equaling fifty percent (50%) of
the obligor’s monthly obligation, whichever is less,
for the second failure to comply and five hundred
dollars ($500) or the obligor's monthly support
obligation, whichever is less, for each occurrence
thereafter. The warning notification shall specifically
state the information required to be submitted and the
information omitted by the obligor, shall provide a
telephone number for questions, and shall set forth the
penalties for failure to comply, referencing statutory
authority.

(3) Any employer, payer of income or obligor who
conspires not to provide the information required by
this section or who conspires to provide false or
incompleteinformation shall each be subject to acivil
penalty of five hundred dollars ($500).

(4) These penalties shall be assessed by the Commissioner of Human Services after written
noticeto theviolator. The notice shall provide fifteen (15) days from the mailing date of such notice
to file awritten request to the department for appeal of the civil penalty.

(5) If an apped is timely filed with the department by the employer, payer of income or
obligor, the department shall set an administrative hearing on the issue of the assessment pursuant
to the provisions of the Uniform Administrative Procedures Act, compiled in Title 4, Chapter 5,
relative to contested case hearings.



(6) Failureto timely apped the assessment of the civil penaty shal be final and conclusive
of the correctness of the assessment.

(7) Any amount found owing shall be due and payable not later than fifteen (15) days after
the mailing date of the determination.

(8)(A) Failureto pay an assessment shall result in alien against the real or personal property
of the employer, payer of income or the obligor in favor of the department. If the violator failsto
pay an assessment when it becomes final, the department may collect the amount of the civil penalty
by any available administrative enforcement procedures or by court action.

(B) The non
-prevailing party shall beliable for al court costs and
litigation taxes of the proceedings and shall be liable
to the department for the cost of any private, contract
or government attorney representing the state and for
the time of any of its Title IV-D or contractor staff
utilized in litigating the assessment.

(9) Any appeal of the action of the commissioner pursuant to this section shall be madein
conformity with §
36-5-1003.

Y ou have asked whether the statute may constitutionally provide that the Commissioner’s
notice to the employer or other payer of income becomes final if the employer or other payer of
income fails to request a hearing within fifteen days from the date of mailing of the notice. As
guoted above, subsection (€)(6) of the statute provides that "failure to timely appeal the assessment
of the civil penalty shall be final and conclusive of the correctness of the assessment.” Y our primary
concerns are: (1) whether it is constitutional to grant the Commissioner the power to make an
assessment of civil penalties without an initial hearing that then becomes final where the employer
or other payer of income does not request a hearing, and (2) whether it is constitutional to provide
that alien arisesin favor of the Department against the real and personal property of the employer,
other payer, or obligor when the assessment is not paid within fifteen (15) days after the mailing date
of the determination.

Thereal question iswhether the process set forth in the statute violates the due process rights
of an employer, other payer of income, or the obligor. The Constitution of the United States prevents
any state from depriving "any person of life, liberty, or property, without due process of law. . .."
U.S. Const. Amend. 14, 8 1. Likewise, Article I, Section 8 of the Tennessee Constitution states
"that no man shall be taken or imprisoned, or disseized of his freehold, liberties or privileges, or



outlawed or exiled, or in any manner destroyed or deprived of hislife, liberty or property, but by the
judgment of his peers or the law of the land." The Tennessee Supreme Court has held that Article
I, 8 8 of the Tennessee Constitution confers the same protections as the Federal Congtitution. Brown
v. Campbell County Bd. of Education, 915 SW.2d 407, 413 (Tenn, 1995), cert. denied, 116 S.Ct.
1852, 134 L.Ed.2d 952 (1996). The Tennessee Supreme Court has also held that the "law of the
land" provision of Article |, Section 8 is synonymous with the "due process of law" provisions of the
Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments to the United States Constitution. Burford v. Sate, 845 SW.2d
204, 207 (Tenn. 1992). Whether any particular procedure satisfies due process requirements under
the United States and Tennessee Constitutions depends on the particular facts and circumstances.
The United States Supreme Court has stated, "due process is flexible and calls for such procedural
protections as the particular situation demands.” Morrissey v. Brewer, 408 U.S. 471, 481 (1972).
To determine what standard is used, courts have developed a balancing test to be applied in
connection with the protected interest. In Mackey v. Montrym, 443 U.S. 1 (1979), the Supreme Court
considered the following factors:

First, the private interest that will be affected by the official action;
second, the risk of an erroneous deprivation of such interest through
the procedures used, and the probable value, if any, of additional or
substitute procedural safeguards;, and finally the Government’s
interest, including the function involved and the fiscal and
administrative burdens that the additional or substitute procedural
requirement would entail.

443 U.S. at 10, quoting Matthews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319, 335 (1976).

The statute provides for assessment of acivil penalty by the Commissioner of the Department
for repeated violations of the requirement to provide identifying information on child support
payments. Such an assessment cannot be made until after a prior warning notification by the
Department to the employer, other payer of income or the obligor for a previous violation of the
statute. 2000 Tenn. Pub. Acts Ch. 909, Section 1, Subsections (€)(1) and (2). Subsections(e)(1) and
(2) of the statute specifically provide that the warning notification "shall specificaly state the
information required to be submitted and the information omitted . . ., shall provide a telephone
number for questions, and shall set forth the penalties for failure to comply, referencing statutory
authority." Thus, prior to the imposition of an assessment for civil penalties, the employer, other
payer of income or the obligor will have been provided with notice of the statutory requirements and
potential penaltiesfor further violations. After the assessment isissued, the employer, other payer
or obligor hasfifteen daysto request an administrative hearing in writing from the Department. 2000
Tenn. Pub. Acts Ch. 909, Section 1, Subsection (€)(4). 2000 Tenn. Pub. Acts Ch. 922, Section 25,
which is to be codified as Tenn. Code Ann. 8§ 36-5-1001(a)(1)(K) provides an opportunity for an
employer or other payer of income to dispute the Commissioner’ s assessment in an administrative
hearing. The statute provides for an administrative "review of civil penalties for failure to provide
proper information for the distribution of child support payments pursuant to § 36-5-120." As
mentioned in subsection 9 of Public Chapter 909, an employer or other payer of income also hasthe
right to appea the Department’ s decision on the assessment of civil penalties in accordance with
Tenn. Code Ann. 8 36-5-1003. Tenn. Code Ann. 8 36-5-1003(a) provides for judicial review of



administrative actions of the Department by the court having jurisdiction of the underlying child
support order. Therefore, it appears that the process created by the statute provides both notice and
an opportunity for a hearing as required by constitutional due process considerations.

Further, under the statute, the Department may obtain a lien against an employer or other
payer of income’s property for any civil penalties assessed that are not paid within fifteen (15) days
after the mailing date of the final determination. In Connecticut v. Doehr, 501 U.S. 1 (1991), the
United States Supreme Court held that a statute authorizing a party to a lawsuit to obtain a lien
against the defendant’1 Accordingly,
it isthe opinion of this Office that the process set forth in 2000 Tenn. Pub. Acts Ch. 909, Section
1 complies with constitutional due process requirements.
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