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START WITH RESEARCH

UTILIZE OUR CONSUMER TOOLS

The Tennessee Department of Commerce & Insurance
(TDCI) is dedicated to helping Tennessee consumers
make smart decisions. The Board for Licensing
Contractors, a section of TDCI's Regulatory Boards,
works to assure fair practices exist in all phases of the
construction industry.

Before signing a contract to authorize any
construction or repairs, consumers should first
educate themselves and verify the credentials of their
contractors:

* Visit verify.tn.gov to ensure that a contractor is
properly licensed to work in Tennessee.

* Check the complaint and disciplinary history of a
contractor by contacting the Contractor’s Board
by phone at (615) 741-8307 or by email at
contractors.home-improvement@tn.gov. Closed
complaints with disciplinary action can be found on
our website at www.tn.gov/commerce.

REVIEW LICENSE REQUIREMENTS

It's important to be aware that different types of work
or work with a higher cost may require different
licensure.

-

Projects $25,000 or More h ;
Contractor’s License - Building; Electrical;

Mechanical, Plumbing, HVAC; Masonry; Roofing;
Highways; Environmental; Specialties, etc.

ro'eﬁm”‘n 25,000 “"'

ome Improvement (HI) License ($3,000 and up)*
imited Licensed Electrician (LLE)

imited Licensed Plumber (LLP)

VAC - See Electrician or Contractor

, Davidson, Hamilton, Haywood,

CHECKYOURLIST

10 TIPS TO CONSIDER WHEN SELECTING A CONTRACTOR

Only hire licensed contractors. Use TDCl's online
Verify tool to easily check licensure.

Ask the contractor who will be performing the work:
contractor, his/her employee(s) or a subcontractor.

Get several bids. It's best to get at least three bids and
check references.

Get a written contract that includes the company's
name, address, and telephone number. The contract
should also include an anticipated start and
completion date.

Never pay more than one-third down and do not let
the payments get ahead of the work.

Do not pay with cash.
Never sign over your insurance check.

Make sure the contractor is insured to cover workers’

compensation, damage and general liability insurance.

Check with your local government for codes, permits,
inspections and business licenses. Make sure the
contractor obtains a permit for code inspections.
Check the contractor's record with the Better Business
Bureau in your area by visiting www.bbb.org.

REPORT VIOLATIONS

WATCH FOR RED FLAGS
When hiring a contractor, avoid:

* A person going door-to-door selling their
services.

* A person who offers services for a short time
only, which makes consumers feel rushed and
unable to research the contractor.

* Unmarked trucks or vans, or a refusal or reluctance to
set out complete and specific contract terms in writing.

* Being pressured to pay for more than half of the cost
up front.

FILE A COMPLAINT

Even after conducting research, you may experience
problems with the contractor that you selected.
Consumers are encouraged to file complaints with
TDCI when they feel they have been the victim of

an unfair or deceptive business practice, witness
unlicensed activity or see suspected misconduct or
other violations of respective law or rules.

Should you have problems when working with a
contractor in Tennessee, don't be embarrassed to

report them to us. N
B

Professional con-artists know how to manipulate and
take advantage of people. You can take control by
filing a complaint and reporting them before others
are harmed.

To file a complain
Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors,
visit the TDCI Regulatory Boards online at
www.tn.gov/commerce or call (615) 741-8307.

To vievMAa!lﬁcatlo i icenses

or to learn more about Tennessee contracting laws,
please visit our website.



