Professional Privilege Tax InformationTennessee State Board of Accountancy
Active licensees in professions are required to pay four hundred dollars ($400.00) to the Department of Revenue, which is due and payable by June 1st of each year. A list of professions subject to the professional privilege tax is available at tn.gov/revenue/taxes0/professional-privilege-tax. If you have received a notification pursuant to T.C.A. § 67-4-1704, regarding your license renewal being held in abeyance due to failure to pay Professional Privilege Tax, you must provide confirmation to the Board of Accountancy when you have satisfied this tax.
From the TNTAP home page, go to the header that says Look up Information & Requests then select Professional Privilege Account Status. You will need to provide the account number, license number, and license type, and then click Search. The information generated can be provided to the Board to confirm that the professional privilege tax has been paid. Please submit the confirmation of payment by mail or by email to firstname.lastname@example.org. Please provide this confirmation only if your license renewal is being held in abeyance due to failure to pay Professional Privilege Tax.
Revenue Contact Information:
For general questions regarding the professional privilege tax, please contact the Department of Revenue Call Center at (800) 342-1003 for in-state calls or (615) 253-0600 for local or out-of-state calls or visit Revenue Support.
For questions regarding electronic filing, please contact the Electronic Commerce Unit at (866) 368-6374 for in-state calls or (615) 253-0704 for local or out-of-state calls.
For other questions see the Department of Revenue's website.
State law requires all professional privilege tax returns to be filed electronically. Taxable professionals holding an active license in Tennessee must pay the $400 tax, which is due June 1 each year. More information on electronic filing can be found in Tenn. Code Ann. Section 67-1-115.
Professional privilege tax returns can be filed electronically either by individuals or by companies that file and pay for multiple individuals. Read more about the Department of Revenue’s online filing mandate for certain taxes here.
To electronically file the professional privilege tax return, you must have either your Social Security Number or your professional privilege tax account number.
View general TNTAP How-to Videos here.