Dual Enrollment Grant
The Dual Enrollment Grant program is defined as a grant for study at an eligible postsecondary institution that is funded from net proceeds of the state lottery and awarded to students who are attending an eligible high school and who are also enrolled in college courses at eligible postsecondary institutions for which they will receive college credit.
The Dual Enrollment Grant program is funded by the Tennessee Lottery and administered by the Tennessee Student Assistance Corporation. This program provides opportunities for students to begin working toward a college degree, while still pursuing a high school diploma.
Dual Enrollment Grant Funding Requirements:
1. A student qualifies to receive the Dual Enrollment Grant for one course per semester by meeting the admission requirements of the institution the student plans to attend. To receive funding for up to two (2) additional courses per semester, the student
A. At a TN public high school or Category 1, 2, or 3 private high school must achieve a high school GPA of at least 3.0 or attain a minimum ACT composite score of 21 or a concordant equivalent score on the SAT. ACT Superscore results are not accepted.
B. At a TN home school program, students must attain a minimum ACT composite score of 21 or a concordant equivalent score on the SAT. ACT Superscore results are not accepted.
2. Dual enrollment students enrolled in high-need courses or programs as part of the Governor’s Investment in Vocational Education (GIVE) Act may receive higher funding amounts for up to four (4) courses under the following limitations
- Funding does not exceed the cost of maintenance fees established for community colleges by the state university and community college system; or
- Funding does not exceed the cost of maintenance fees associated with the average attempted clock hours weighted by program participation for Tennessee College of Applied Technology (TCAT) institutions, as determined by the state university and community college system.
3. Students may receive Dual Enrollment Grant funding for up to ten (10) courses over their junior and senior years. Students who receive funding for more than four (4) dual enrollment courses will have all amounts awarded for courses five (5) through ten (10) reduced from their Tennessee HOPE Scholarship on a dollar for dollar basis beginning with the first semester of college enrollment, and even the following semester of enrollment until the borrowing requirement is satisfied.
4. The number of years enrolled as a dual enrollment student does not count against the statutory five (5) year limitation for the Tennessee HOPE Scholarship program.
5. At 2-year and 4-year postsecondary institutions, the Dual Enrollment Grant shall not be used for upper division courses (generally numbered 300-400 or 3000-4000).
Dual Enrollment Courses 1 – 4 (Beginning with the Spring 2022 Semester)
- At an eligible 2-year and 4-year postsecondary institution, the first four dual enrollment courses may be awarded up to $543 per course.
- Dual enrollment students may receive up to $513 per course for the first four high-need courses taken as part of the GIVE Act.
- At a TCAT, the first four dual enrollment courses are paid:
- Up to $206 for 1-40 clock hours
- Up to $196, if one of the first four high-need courses as part of the GIVE Act
- Up to $284 for 41-80 clock hours
- Up to $264, if one of the first four high-need courses as part of the GIVE Act
- Up to $429 for 81-135 clock hours
- Up to $399, if one of the first four high-need courses as part of the GIVE Act
- Up to $206 for 1-40 clock hours
Note: Students can be paid up to four GIVE (high need) courses within the ten-lifetime course limit. GIVE course(s) paid in Courses 1 – 4 will reduce the number of GIVE courses paid in courses 5 – 10.
Dual Enrollment Courses 5 – 10 (Beginning with the Spring 2022 Semester)
- At an eligible 2-year and 4-year postsecondary institution, courses 5 – 10 will be paid at $100 per credit hour
- Unless any GIVE (high need) courses were paid among courses 1 - 4, students may receive $513 per course, not to exceed four high need courses paid within the ten-lifetime course limit
- At a TCAT, courses 5 – 10 are paid:
- Up to $100 for 1-40 clock hours
- Up to $196 as part of the GIVE Act, unless any high need courses were paid among courses 1 – 4, not to exceed four high need courses paid within the ten-lifetime course limit
- Up to $200 for 41-80 clock hours
- Up to $264 as part of the GIVE Act, unless any high need courses were paid among courses 1 – 4, not to exceed four high need courses paid within the ten-lifetime course limit
- Up to $300 for 81-135 clock hours
- Up to $399 as part of the GIVE Act, unless any high need courses were paid among courses 1 – 4, not to exceed four high need courses paid within the ten-lifetime course limit
- Up to $100 for 1-40 clock hours
Note: Any award amount received for courses 5 – 10 will be deducted from the student’s HOPE Scholarship beginning with the first semester of college enrollment, and even the following semester of enrollment until the borrowing requirement is satisfied.
To be eligible for the Dual Enrollment Grant program, a student enrolled in an eligible high school must be admitted to and enrolled in an eligible postsecondary institution. Institutional admission requirements will govern the initial grant eligibility of dual enrollment students. A student must be a Tennessee resident, as defined by regulations promulgated by the Tennessee Board of Regents under TCA §49-8-104.
To be eligible, the student must:
- Have completed all the academic requirements of the 10th grade (high school sophomore) and be classified as an 11th grader (high school junior) or 12th grader (high school senior) by the student’s high school.
- Apply for the grant as a junior and/or senior prior to high school graduation;
- Complete and submit the Dual Enrollment Grant application on-line by the deadline date as indicated below;
- Meet admissions criteria for dual enrollment for the postsecondary institution to which the student will enroll as a dual enrolled student;
- Enrollment at the postsecondary institution requires no minimum number of hours.
- Comply with United States Selective Service System requirements for registration, if such requirements are applicable to the student;
- Comply with federal drug-free rules and laws for receiving financial assistance;
- Not be in default on a federal Title IV educational loan or Tennessee educational loan;
- Not owe a refund on a federal Title IV student financial aid program or a Tennessee student financial aid program;
- Not be incarcerated;
- Not have already received a high school diploma, revised General Education Development (GED) diploma or HiSET;
- Be attending an eligible postsecondary institution. Click Here for listing.
Length of Eligibility
A student's participation in the Dual Enrollment Grant program is limited to the remaining amount of time normally required to complete the high school diploma, from the time of initial participation in the program. The grant is available for the summer terms, prior to graduation from high school.
Credit Hours and Grade Average Determination Rule
- The grade point average is the numbered grade average calculated using a 4.00 grading scale, calculated to the hundredth decimal.
- The postsecondary cumulative grade point average used to determine eligibility for a renewal of a Dual Enrollment Grant must be calculated by the institution the student is currently attending, utilizing its institutional grading policy and must be based on all credit hours attempted, except as otherwise provided in these rules.
- Courses in which a student enrolls as an audit student for which no college credit will be received cannot be paid with a Dual Enrollment Grant award.
- Students who obtain a grade change shall notify the Registrar’s Office at the postsecondary institution within thirty (30) calendar days of the grade change. If the grade change makes the student eligible for a Dual Enrollment Grant, the student can be awarded retroactively in the current award year. If the grade change affects the student’s eligibility from the previous award year, the award may be adjusted in the current award year.
- Semester hours attempted under the Dual Enrollment Grant program grant shall not count toward the total semester hours attempted at postsecondary institutions for purposes of Tennessee HOPE Scholarship eligibility.
- The corresponding grades for the postsecondary credit hours taken as a dual enrollment credits shall not be included in the postsecondary cumulative grade average for purposes of the Tennessee HOPE Scholarship program.
- To be eligible for a Dual Enrollment Grant for any semester beyond the first semester of receipt, the student shall continue to meet all eligibility requirements for the grant and shall achieve a cumulative college grade point average of 2.75 for all postsecondary courses attempted while participating in the Dual Enrollment Grant program.
- A student enrolled in a matriculating status at an eligible postsecondary institution shall qualify for an award payment for distance learning courses; if all other eligibility requirements are met.
Two-year and Four-year Eligible Postsecondary Institutions:
- September 15 – Fall Semester
- February 1 – Spring Semester
- May 15 – Summer Semester
Tennessee College of Applied Technology Institutions:
- November 1 – Fall Trimester
- March 1 – Spring Trimester
- May 15 – Summer Trimester