Skip to Main Content

Contact Us

If you are experiencing a mental health emergency, call 855-CRISIS-1 (1-855-274-7471)
Trained professionals are available to help 24 hours a day, seven days a week

If you have concerns about yourself or a loved one, contact our Helpline 
Hours: Monday-Friday: 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Phone: 800-560-5767
Email: OCA.TDMHSAS@tn.gov

Department Operator
(615) 532-6500

Commissioner's  Office
Commissioner Marie Williams, LCSW, (615) 532-6500, Marie.Williams@tn.gov
Executive Assistant Kris Jernighan, (615) 770-0468, Kristosser.A.Jernighan@tn.gov
Deputy Commissioner of Operations and Hospital Services William (Bo) Turner, Ph.D, (615) 532-5006, Bo.Turner@tn.gov
Deputy Commissioner of Behavioral Health Community Programs Matt Yancey, (615) 253-5443, Matt.Yancey@tn.gov

Division of Administrative & Regulatory Services
Assistant Commissioner's Office - Cynthia Tyler, (615) 532-6670, Cynthia.Tyler@tn.gov
Director of Office of Licensure - Alex King, J.D., (615) 532-6589, Alex.King@tn.gov
East Tennessee Office of Licensure - Kristi Douglas, (865) 594-6551, Kristi.Douglas@tn.gov; Complaints: (866) 777-1250
Middle Tennessee Office of Licensure - LeAnn Duncan, (615) 532-6590, LeAnn.Duncan@tn.gov; Complaints: (866) 797-9470
West Tennessee Office of Licensure - Nicole Rivers, (901) 543-7442, Nicole.Rivers@tn.gov; Complaints: (866) 344-0858
Director of Subrecipient Monitoring & Audit - Paul Havlicek, (615) 770-0434, Paul.Havlicek@tn.gov
Fiscal Monitor, Middle & West Regions - Paul Havlicek, (615) 770-0434, Paul.Havlicek@tn.gov
Fiscal Monitor, East Region - Dennis Wright, (865) 594-2817, Dennis.Wright@tn.gov

Division of Mental Health Services
Assistant Commissioner (Interim) - Rob Cotterman, (615) 741-3032, Rob.Cotterman@tn.gov
Behavioral Health Safety Net (BHSN of TN) -  (615) 532-6505
Office of Children, Young Adults, and Families - Heather Taylor Griffith, (615) 253-4800, Heather.Taylor.Griffith@tn.gov
Consumer Affairs and Peer Recovery Services - Lisa Ragan, (615) 532-6732, Lisa.Ragan@tn.gov
Wellness and Employment - Contact Assistant Commissioner
Crisis Services and Suicide Prevention Services - Morenike Murphy, (615) 253-7306, Morenike.Murphy@tn.gov
Housing and Homeless Services - Michael Davis, (615) 253-8401, Michael.J.Davis@tn.gov
Statewide System of Care (SOC) Initiatives - Keri Virgo, (615) 770-0462, Keri.Virgo@tn.gov
Older Adults, Disaster Services & PASRR - Dennis Temple, (615) 253-5558, Dennis.Temple@tn.gov
Operations - Justine Bass, (615) 253-6893, Justine.Bass@tn.gov
Office of Research - Ellen Omohundro, Ph. D., (615) 770-1789, Ellen.Omohundro@tn.gov

Division of Substance Abuse Services
Assistant Commissioner - Taryn Harrison Sloss (615) 532-7793, Taryn.Sloss@tn.gov
Office of Criminal Justice Services - Ellen Abbott, (615) 253-7837, Ellen.L.Abbott@tn.gov
Office of Prevention Services - Contact Assistant Commissioner
Office of Treatment and Recovery Services - Linda McCorkle, (615) 532-7803, Linda.McCorkle@tn.gov
Office of Faith-Based Initiatives and Special Projects – Monty Burks, (615) 770-1783, Monty.Burks@tn.gov
Office of Opioid Treatment Services – Ira Lacy, (615) 532-7802, Ira.Lacy@tn.gov

Division of Hospital Services
Deputy Assistant Commissioner - Melissa Sparks, (615) 253-4641, Melissa.Sparks@tn.gov
Director of Hospital Services Rob Cotterman, (615) 741-3032, Rob.Cotterman@tn.gov
Memphis Mental Health Institute - (901) 577-1800, CEO Josh Carter, Josh.Carter@tn.gov
Middle Tennessee Mental Health Institute - (615) 902-7400, CEO Joyce Kovacs, LCSW, Joyce.Kovacs@tn.gov
Moccasin Bend Mental Health Institute - (423) 265-2271, CEO Mary C. Young, Mary.C.Young@tn.gov
Western Mental Health Institute - (731) 228-2000, CEO Roger PursleyRoger.Pursley@tn.gov
Office of Forensic and Juvenile Court Services - Jeff Feix, Ph. D., (615) 532-6747, Jeff.Feix@tn.gov

Division of General Counsel
Acting General Counsel/Assistant Commissioner - Ty Thornton, (615) 532-6520, Ty.Thornton@tn.gov
Office of Contracts - Leandra Mitchell, (615) 532-6520, Leandra.Mitchell@tn.gov or MHSAS.Contracts@tn.gov

Division of Clinical Leadership
Medical Director/Assistant Commissioner - Terry Holmes, M.D., (615) 532-6564, Terry.Holmes@tn.gov
Statistical Research Specialist/Licensed Psychologist - Edwina Chappell, Ph. D., (615) 741-9476, Edwina.Chappell@tn.gov
Education & Development Director/Civil Rights Compliance Coordinator - Gwen Hamer, (615) 532-6510, Gwen.Hamer@tn.gov
Chief Pharmacist/State Opioid Treatment Authority - Wesley Geminn, PharmD, (615) 532-6736, Wesley.Geminn@tn.gov

Division of Planning, Policy, and Legislation
Assistant Commissioner - Kurt Hippel, (615) 532-6717, Kurt.Hippel@tn.gov
Office of Planning - Avis Easley, (615) 253-6397, Avis.Easley@tn.gov
Legislative Liaison/Rules Coordinator - Jim Layman, (615) 532-6717, Jim.Layman@tn.gov

Division of Fiscal Services
Department Controller - Michael Walden, (615) 770-0464, Michael.Walden@tn.gov
Accounts Payable - Tina Manning, (615) 532-6649, Tina.Manning@tn.gov
Grants Accounts Payable - Mike Drewry, (615) 253-4731, Mike.Drewry@tn.gov
Policy 03 and Cost Allocation Plans - Mike Drewry, (615) 253-4731, Mike.Drewry@tn.gov

Office of Communications
Director/Media Contact - Matthew Parriott, Office: (615) 532-6597, Cell: (615) 943-3172, Matthew.Parriott@tn.gov
Assistant Director of Communications - Leslie Judson, (615) 770-0466, Leslie.Judson@tn.gov

Office of Human Resources  Ph: (615) 532-6580

Location and Mailing Address
Andrew Jackson Building- 6th Floor
500 Deaderick Street | Nashville, TN 37243