
Traffic Engineering Office 
FAQ 

 
Q: Why are the HOV lanes not enforced? 
A: The HOV lane system was implemented in Tennessee in 1993 to promote ridesharing and to reduce congestion on  

urban interstates. TDOT is always evaluating ways to achieve higher compliance with the HOV lane system, such as 
increasing awareness working with the Department of Safety on enforcement. Currently in TN the fine for violating 
the HOV lane is $50 with a maximum $10 court fee. This fine is set by the general assembly, not TDOT, however part 
of our initiatives will include an outreach to public officials concerning fines and their roles in effective HOV 
enforcement. For more information on HOV lanes: https://www.tn.gov/tdot/section/hov‐lane 

 
Q: How do I get a Slow. Children at Play Sign? 
A: This type sign is not considered an official traffic control device approved by the Federal Highway Administration's  

(FHWA).  Additionally, these signs are not recommended is that they do not give a specific warning or message to the 
driver and tend to or may create a false sense of security for parents and children who believe the signs provide an 
added degree of protection. Motorists, particularly local ones, actually pay little attention to these type signs.  Many 
people seem to believe such signs may help reduce speeds.  Studies and experiences indicate there is no evidence 
that these type signs actually prevent accidents or reduce the speed of vehicles. 

 
Q: A sign is missing or knocked down, who do I call? 
A: If you are within the city limits of an incorporated municipality, the city is responsible for traffic control devices  

(except on interstates) or outside the city limits but off the state highway system the county is responsible, please 
contacts your public works or highway department. Outside the city limits, but it is on the state highway system, 
contact your region traffic engineering office: http://www.tn.gov/tdot/article/local‐information 

 
Q: How do I get a highway sign for my business? 
A: If you are looking for a sign on the interstate, please contact our Logo Sign Contractor, Tennessee Logos, Inc. at  

844‐208‐5646 or 615‐650‐2729. If you are in a more rural setting looking for a smaller sign on a state highway, please 
contact our TODS Program Manager, Eric Jackson at 615‐741‐0802. All other inquiries contact Joseph Sweat at 615‐532‐
3431. 

 
Q: How do I get a driveway for my business? 
A: Please visit our website for information on obtaining a permit for a driveway:  

http://www.tn.gov/tdot/article/highway‐entrance‐permits For further questions please contact your regional traffic 
engineering office: http://www.tn.gov/tdot/article/local‐information 

 
Q: There is a problem with a traffic signal, who do I call? 
A: TDOT does not maintain any traffic signals; please contact your local public works or highway department. 
 
Q: Who do I call to change a speed limit? 
A: If you are within the city limits of an incorporated municipality, the city is responsible for traffic 

setting speed limits (except on interstates) or outside the city limits but off the state highway system the county is 
responsible, please contacts your public works or highway department. Outside the city limits, but it is on the state 
highway system, contact your region traffic engineering office to request a speed study: 
http://www.tn.gov/tdot/article/local‐information 

 
 
 
 
 
 


