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 Effective January 1, 

2015, the 911 
surcharge on 
prepaid wireless 
calling service 
increased to $1.16.  

 
 
 
 Prepaid wireless 

includes prepaid 
wireless phone 
cards and prepaid 
cell phones.  

 
 
 
 
 Retailers must collect 

the fee at the point 
of sale of each 
prepaid wireless 
calling service of $10 
or more that is 
subject to Tennessee 
sales tax. 

 
 The fee is not 

subject to sales or 
business tax. 

 
 
 The fee should not be 

collected on 
purchases for resale. 

 
 The 911 fee must 

be separately 
stated. 

 
 
 Changes in the 

sales and use tax 
return have been 
made for reporting 
and paying the 
prepaid wireless 
911 surcharge.  

 
INTRODUCTION 
 
This notice provides information about an increase in the 911 surcharge collected from 
consumers of prepaid wireless calling services.  
 
Because of a change in the law, the 911 surcharge retailers collect from consumers on 
sales of prepaid wireless calling services that cost $10 or more increases to $1.16 from 
53 cents. The 911 Funding Modernization and IP Transition Act of 2014 requires the fee 
increase. 
 
DISCUSSION 
 
The new emergency communications law imposes a uniform $1.16 911 emergency 
surcharge on monthly communication services and prepaid wireless calling services.  
However, because the Department of Revenue only receives the surcharges on prepaid 
wireless calling services, this notice only addresses that surcharge. 
 
Prepaid wireless calling service is a prepaid telecommunications service that provides 
the right to use a mobile wireless service.  Examples include prepaid wireless phone 
cards, recharge or refill authorization codes, and prepaid cell phones or other prepaid 
wireless devices preloaded with airtime minutes.  Prepaid long-distance calling cards are 
not considered prepaid wireless calling services. 
 
The money collected from the increase in the surcharge will fund advancements in 
technology needed to provide Tennesseans with better emergency services.   
 
Collecting the 911 Surcharge 
Retailers collect the 911 surcharge from consumers at the time of the sale of prepaid 
wireless calling services.  It is only collected on prepaid wireless sales of $10 or more 
that are subject to the Tennessee sales tax.  However, the surcharge is not included in 
the sales price, which is subject to sales and use tax, or gross receipts, which is subject 
to business tax.  
 
All users of prepaid wireless calling services must pay the surcharge.  Accordingly, the 
surcharge must be collected on every sale of prepaid wireless calling services, even if 
consumers, such as non-profits, claim a sales tax exemption.  However, retailers may 
use valid sales and use tax resale certificate to purchase prepaid wireless calling 
services for resale without paying the surcharge. In such cases, the purchaser will be 
responsible for collecting the 911 surcharge from its retail customers. 
 
Retailers must separately state the 911 surcharge on the invoice, receipt or other sales 
document given to the purchaser.  If more than one separately priced prepaid wireless 
item is sold, each item is subject to the 911 surcharge.  For example, if two prepaid 
wireless phone cards are sold to a consumer for $20 each, the retailer must collect a 
911 surcharge from the consumer in the amount of $2.32 ($1.16 for each retail sale). 
 
Reporting the 911 Surcharge  
Once collected, the 911 surcharge is reported and paid on the sales and use tax return 
(line 18) or the TV programming and telecommunications sales and use tax return (line 
21).  Retailers may keep three percent of the 911 surcharges that they collect as an 
administrative fee.   
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It is important to note that 911 surcharges collected from consumers of wireline and 
non-prepaid wireless telecommunications are not reported and paid to the Department 
of Revenue.  Telecommunications service providers should not use the TV programming 
and telecommunications sales and use tax return to report and pay 911 surcharges 
collected on wireline and wireless telecommunications services that are not prepaid 
wireless calling services. Instead, the 911 surcharges on wireline and non-prepaid 
wireless services should be collected, reported, and paid directly to the Tennessee 
Emergency Communications Board.  For additional information, visit 
http://www.tn.gov/emergency/. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

The information provided here is current as of the date of publication but may change 
as a result of new statutes, regulations, or court decisions.  While this notice is intended 
to be comprehensive, events and situations unanticipated by this notice may occur. In 
such cases you should contact the Department or your tax professional for further 
guidance.  
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