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NATURAL DISASTER RELIEF REFUND  
 

Notice #12-15 Sales and Use Tax October 2012 

 
 
 A claimant may 

file a claim for 
refund of sales 
tax paid to 

replace 

damaged or 
destroyed items 

 
 Individuals must 

demonstrate 
that they 

received 
assistance from 
FEMA 

 
 
 
 

 

 
 
 The Department 

of Revenue may 
assess a civil 
penalty up to 

$25,000 against 
any person that 
knowingly files a 
false or 
fraudulent claim 
for refund  

 
 
 A claimant must 

keep all invoices 

and proof of 
payments for 
three years. 

 
 

 
 
PC 1013 (2012) 

TCA § 67-6-396 

 

INTRODUCTION 
This notice is intended to provide taxpayers and the general public with information 
concerning relief available to individuals affected by any federally declared natural disaster 
that occurred in Tennessee on or after January 1, 2012.    
 

A claimant may file one (1) claim for refund for sales tax paid on major appliances and 
residential furniture purchased to replace damaged or destroyed items used in the individual’s 
primary residence, and for sales tax paid on the purchase of residential building supplies used 
for the purposes of restoration, repair, replacement, or rebuilding the individual’s primary 
residence due to any federally declared natural disaster that occurred in Tennessee. The 

maximum amount of refund available to any one residence is $2,500.   
 

DISCUSSION 
A “claimant” is any natural person receiving disaster assistance from the Federal Emergency 
Management Agency (FEMA) as a result of a federally declared natural disaster that occurred 
in Tennessee on or after January 1, 2012.  A claimant may request a refund of Tennessee 
sales tax paid on certain items purchased to replace damaged or destroyed items.  Claimants 
will be asked to provide documentation verifying the assistance they received from FEMA.   

 
Eligible items purchased by a contractor to use when making repairs to the claimant’s home 
may also be claimed by the individual.  The contractor must provide to the individual an 
invoice listing the items they purchased and the amount of Tennessee sales tax paid by the 
contractor on those purchases. 
 

Below are the steps for claiming a refund of sales tax paid on eligible items purchased on or 
after the date of the disaster.  The claim for refund must be filed within one (1) year from 

the date shown on the FEMA decision letter received by the claimant.  Only one (1) claim per 
primary residence may be filed.   
 

Step 1. Gather the following items:  

 Natural Disaster Claim for Refund form – available at www.TN.gov/revenue  

 Copy of your FEMA decision letter stating that you received disaster assistance.  

(You should retain the original letter.)   

 Receipts (including contractor invoices, if applicable) showing payment of 

Tennessee sales tax on eligible items*.  Other payment documents – (if store 
receipts are not available.) 

 

Step 2. Complete the Natural Disaster Claim for Refund form, making sure that all lines are 
completed and legible. Attach additional schedules as necessary. The maximum 

amount of refund per residence is $2,500.   
 

Step 3. Attach a copy of your FEMA decision letter to the claim for refund form.  

 

Step 4. Mail the completed form and FEMA decision letter to: 

ATTN:  Natural Disaster Refund Claim 
Tennessee Department of Revenue 
Andrew Jackson State Office Building 
Nashville, TN 37242  
 

Step 5. Keep all receipts and invoices for a period of 3 years from December 31 of the year in 

which the claim for refund was filed.  Do not send receipts and invoices with the claim 
for refund to the department.  If needed, the receipts and invoices will be requested. 

http://www.tn.gov/revenue
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 Major 

appliances 

eligible for 

sales tax 

refund 

 

 

 

 Residential 

furniture 

eligible for 

sales tax 

refund 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Residential 

building 

supplies 

eligible for 

sales tax 

refund 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
*Below are examples of items eligible for refund of Tennessee sales tax paid 

 
Major appliances purchased to replace appliances damaged or destroyed  

with a purchase price of $3,200 or less per item 
 

Dishwasher  Microwave Stove 

Dryer Oven Vacuum 

Fan Range Washer 

Freezer Refrigerator Water heater 

 

Residential furniture purchased to replace furniture damaged or destroyed  

with a purchase price of $3,200 or less per item 
 

Bedroom suits Lamps Dining set 

Book shelves  Desks Sofa 

Entertainment cabinet Chairs Tables 

 

Televisions, DVD players, computers, stereos, and other 
electronic items are not considered residential furniture.  

 

Residential building supplies used to restore, repair, replace, or rebuild  

with a purchase price of $500 or less per item 
 

Boxes Insulation 

Trash bags Paint 

Drywall Sheetrock 

Roofing shingles Roofing paper 

Gutters Vents 

Downspouts Doors 

Windows  

Construction tools 
 Air compressor ▪ Chisels 

 Bits and blades     ▪ Hammer 
 Drills   ▪ Ladders 

 Level   ▪ Miter saw 
 Nail gun   ▪ Pry bar  
 Pliers   ▪ Screwdriver 
 Sanders  ▪ Square 
 Jig saw   ▪ Wrenches 
 Circular saws  ▪ Hand saw 
 Reciprocating saw   

Paint materials 
 Brushes       ▪ Drop cloths 

 Masking tape       ▪ Paint guide 
 Paint pail       ▪ Putty knife 

 Roller       ▪ Roller tray and grid 
 Sandpaper       ▪ Scraper 
 Spackling paste  
 

Flooring ($500 limit is applied to the per 

unit price of the product) 

 Area rug  Hardwood 
 Carpet  Laminate 
 Tile   Vinyl  
 Linoleum  

 

Other building materials 
 Doors  Brick 
 Faucets  Concrete block 
 Countertops  Lumber 
 Cabinetry  Plywood  

 Sinks   Siding 
 Toilets  Trim 

 Baseboards  
 

Hardware  
 Bolts 
 Cabinet pulls 

 Door knobs 
 Hinges 
 Nails 
 Screws 
 Staples 
 

Cleaning & disinfecting supplies 
 Chlorine bleach 
 Detergent  

 Disinfectant (e.g. Clorox, Pine Sol, 
Lysol, etc)  

 Garden hose and/or sprayer 
 Mask 
 Rags, sponges and brushes 
 Rubber gloves 

 Shovels  
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 Items not 

eligible for 

sales tax 

refund 

 
 

Below are examples of items that are not eligible for refund of Tennessee sales tax  
 

 Any appliance with purchase price more than $3,200 
 Any furniture with purchase price more than $3,200 

 Any supplies with purchase price more than $500 
 Clothing 
 Computers 
 Dehumidifiers 
 Dishes 

 DVD Players 
 Fertilizer  
 Flooring with unit price of more than $500 
 Flowers 
 Food 
 Generator 

 Grills 
 HVAC/Heating and Air Units 

 Mulch 
 Outdoor furniture 
 Outdoor lawn and garden equipment – chainsaw, mower, weedeater, trimmer, edger, 

tiller, pressure washer 
 Outdoor lawn and garden tools – hoe, spade, rake 

 Potting soil 
 Pumps 
 Storage units 
 Stereos 
 Swingsets 
 Televisions 

 

 
 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 

The information provided here is current as of the date of publication but may change as a 
result of new statutes, regulations, or court decisions.  While this notice is intended to be 
comprehensive, events and situations unanticipated by this notice may occur. In such cases 
you should contact the department or your tax professional for further guidance.  

 


