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LOCAL SALES TAX RATE CHANGE – Cities of Arlington, Bartlett, 

Collierville, Germantown, and Lakeland 
 

Notice #12-10 Sales and Use Tax August 2012 

 
 
 

 Effective October 

1, 2012, the local 
sales tax rate 
changes in 
Arlington, Bartlett, 
Collierville, 
Germantown, and 

Lakeland, 
Tennessee 

 
 
 
 
 New rate is 2.75% 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 Single article tax 

rate 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 
 
 
 
 

 
T.C.A. § 67-6-702 

 

INTRODUCTION 
 

This notice is intended to provide taxpayers and the general public with 

information concerning a recent change in the local sales and use tax rate in 

the Cities of Arlington, Bartlett, Collierville, Germantown, and Lakeland, 

Tennessee in Shelby County. 

 

Effective October 1, 2012, the governing bodies of the Cities of 

Arlington, Bartlett, Collierville, Germantown, and Lakeland, Tennessee 

have increased the local sales tax rate to 2.75% by means of a 

referendum approved by a majority of the voters. The new rate will 

apply to all taxable sales of tangible personal property made on or 

after October 1, 2012 and to the sale of taxable services for billing 

periods starting on or after October 1, 2012 by sellers located in the 

Cities of Arlington, Bartlett, Collierville, Germantown, and Lakeland, 

Tennessee.  

 

The corresponding local consumer use tax rate for persons in the Cities 

of Arlington, Bartlett, Collierville, Germantown, and Lakeland, 

Tennessee also increases to 2.75% 

 

 

DISCUSSION 
 

In the Cities of Arlington, Bartlett, Collierville, Germantown, and Lakeland, the 

local option tax rate is applicable to the first $1,600 of the sale price of any 

single article of tangible personal property sold, unless that item is specifically 

exempted from local tax or taxed at another rate by statute. The local tax cap 

on sales of single articles of tangible personal property will be $44. The local 

rate is also applicable to the total sales price of any taxable service.  

In addition, there is a state single article tax rate of 2.75% applicable to the 

sales price, from $1,600.01 up to and including $3,200, of any item of tangible 

personal property.  

 

 
 
 
 

 
 
The information provided here is current as of the date of publication but may change 
as a result of new statutes, regulations, or court decisions.  While this notice is intended 
to be comprehensive, events and situations unanticipated by this notice may occur. In 
such cases you should contact the department or your tax professional for further 
guidance.  




