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STATE OF TENNESSEE
DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND HOMELAND SECURITY
APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATE OF TRAILER INSPECTION

IS THIS TRAILER (CHECK ONE)

LICENSE # VIN # HOMEMADE | New [ ] usep[]
FORMER TITLE NUMBER STATE: MAKE: YEAR:
TRAILER: (CHECK ONE) # OF AXLES: TRAILER

semi[_] poLe [ uniuty [ LENGTH: WIDTH:
UNLADENED WEIGHT: MAX LOAD WEIGHT: CONSTRUCTION DATE:
RECONSTRUCTED DATE: HOMEMADE DATE:

NAME - PERSON, BUSINESS OR CORPORATION, RECONSTRUCTING OR MAKING TRAILER:

STREET ADDRESS OR R.E.D.=

CITY: COUNTY : STATE: ZIP:

OWNER ADDRESS: LAST NAME: FIRST NAME:

STREET ADDRESS OR R.E.D.:

CITY: COUNTY: STATE: ZIP:
OWNER PHONE # ( ) OWNER REP. PHONE #

OWNER DRIVER LICENSE #: STATE: PERFERRED CONTACT TIME (8AM-4:30 PM)

OTHER REPRESENTATIVES NAME:

INSPECTION LOCATION: (IF OTHER THAN OWNER’S ADDRESS ABOVE:

LAST NAME FIRST NAME

STREET ADDRESS OF R.E.D.:

CITY: COUNTY: STATE: ZIP:
INSPECTION LOCATION PHONE NUMBER: ( )

INSPECTION FEE: $25.00 CHECK # MONEY ORDER #

DO NOT SEND CASH: PLEASE ALLOW 4-6 WEEKS FOR PROCESSING AND INSPECTION FROM DATE OF
RECEIPT OF APPLICATION AT THE TENNESSEE DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND HOMELAND SECURITY
CASHIER’S OFFICE.

I CERTIFY THE INFORMATION GIVEN IS CORRECT: (SIGNATURE OF OWNER):

DATE:
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TRAILER INSPECTION APPLICATION T.C.A. 55-4-101(L)

l. APPLICANT INFORMATION - INSPECTION REQUIRED

a.

b.

Safety certification inspections are required by T.C.A. 55-4-101(L), and must be certified before operation upon
Tennessee roads and highways.

Trailers, semi-trailers and pole trailers domiciled in Tennessee that are homemade, materially reconstructed or
do not have a Vehicle Identification Number (VIN#) stamped on it, and are presently required to be registered or
titled under provisions of Section 55-4-101 are required to be safety inspected.

Your local county clerk of the State of Tennessee, Title and Registration office will advise you if the vehicle is
required to be titled or registered.

If the trailer is required to be titled or registered and is homemade, materially reconstructed or doesn’t have a
Vehicle Identification Number (VIN#) stamped on it, then it is required to be inspected by the Tennessee
Department of Safety and Homeland Security.

If the trailer is manufactured, transferred from another state and/or has a Vehicle Identification Number (VIN#)
stamped on it, and is required to be titled or registered, contact your county clerk.

1. SAFETY INSPECTION — APPLICATION AND PROCESSING

Accurately complete the application form. Please make sure you list: name, address, phone number where you
can be reached during business hours and fill out as much basic information on the trailer that you know.
Mail application form and the required $25.00 inspection fee for each requested inspection to:

Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security
Cashier’s Office
1150 Foster Avenue
Nashville, TN 37243

A Tennessee State Trooper will contact you utilizing the information provided on the application form. An
agreeable date and location of inspection will be established. Contact will be made by phone during normal
business hours or by mail. PLEASE ALLOW 4-6 WEEKS FOR PROCESSING AND INSPECTION FROM
DATE OF RECEIPT OF APPLICATION IN THE TENNESSEE DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND
HOMELAND SECURITY CASHIER’S OFFICE.

The Trooper will inspect the vehicle for compliance of T.C.A. Title 55, Chapter 9. T.C.A. 65-15-113 and the
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration Regulations.

After the inspection is completed, the Trooper will issue to the applicant an original and one copy of the Safety
Inspection Certificate indicating the vehicle as Certified or Rejected.

If marked “Certified”, the applicant must present to the county clerk (in the county to be titled or registered), the
original certificate to complete the process of registration.

Certificate marked “Rejected” will be accompanied by an Inspector’s report indicating corrections needed for
compliance.

If Rejected, the applicant must complete another request form; send the form and another $25.00 inspection fee
to the Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security, as previously stated.

1. GENERAL ASSISTANCE INFORMATION

g.

For information regarding requirements of registration or processing of registration, contact your local county
clerk.

For information regarding processing of request of inspection, scheduling of the Inspection verification process,
contact the Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security at 615-743-4971.

Trailers required to be registered are required to be inspected. Trailers not required to be registered are not
required to be inspected.

You may obtain inspection application forms from your local county clerk’s office, tn.gov/safety, tn.gov/revenue
or Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security at 615-743-4971.

DO NOT SEND CASH! PLEASE ALLOW 4-6 WEEKS FOR PROCESSING AND INSPECTION FROM DATE
OF RECEIPT OF APPLICATION IN THE TENNESSEE DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY AND HOMELAND
SECURITY CASHIER’S OFFICE.

Safety Inspectors cannot accept fees for inspections and cannot schedule any inspection prior to receiving a
completed application.

Take the original copy of the Inspection Certificate to the county clerk’s office and maintain a copy with the
vehicle inspected.
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