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PURPLE HEART LICENSE PLATES 
 

Notice #08-18 Vehicle Title and Registration Notice September 2008 

 

� Holders of the 

Purple Heart may 

purchase more 

than the two free 

plate limit 

 

� Holders of the 

Purple Heart are 

able to be issued  

special memorial 

license plates 

 

� Up to two free 

license plates are 

available for purple 

heart recipients  

 

� Additional license 

plates may be 

purchased 

 

 

 

 

� Assistance is 

available from 

Revenue if you 

have questions 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

T.C.A. § 55-4-202 

T.C.A. § 55-4-203 

T.C.A. § 55-4-239 
 

 

 

INTRODUCTION 

 
This notice is intended to provide county clerks and motor vehicle owners with 

information concerning recent changes in Tennessee’s Motor Vehicle laws related to the 
Purple Heart memorial license plates.   
 
Effective July 1, 2008, a qualified holder of the Purple Heart Medal may 

purchase additional plates exceeding the two free plate limit.  

 
DISCUSSION 

 
Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 55-4-202, 55-4-203, and 55-4-239 allow recipients of the Purple 
Heart Medal to receive special memorial license plates.   
 
As of July 1, 2007, Purple Heart license plates are no longer subject to the $25.00 
special fee, and should be issued or renewed free of charge after that date.  The Purple 
Heart recipient may elect to receive up to two (2) special Purple Heart memorial plates 

free of charge for their motor vehicles or recreational vehicles. 
 
Effective July 1, 2008, Tenn. Code Ann. § 55-4-239 was amended to allow a qualified 
holder of the Purple Heart Medal to purchase additional plates exceeding the two free 
plate limit. The initial cost of the additional plate is $25.75, with the renewal fee being 
$21.50.  These fees are subject to change each year and do not include local 
county fees.  

  
Additional Information: 

 
For more information regarding vehicle registration in Tennessee, please call our vehicle 
services call center at 888/871-3171 or 615/741-3101.  Assistance for county clerks is 
available by contacting Revenue’s county clerk support staff - Billy Trout (615/741-
4177), Kathy Duncan (615/532-6908), or Belinda Boddie (615/253-4073). More 

information is available on our Web site, www.Tennessee.gov/revenue.  

 
 
 
 

 
 
 

 

The information provided here is current as of the date of publication but may change 

as a result of new statutes, regulations, or court decisions.  While this notice is intended 
to be comprehensive, events and situations unanticipated by this notice may occur. In 

such cases, you should contact the department for further guidance.  

 


