TENNESSEE BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY
Policy Statement: Continuing Competence

A Physical Therapist and Physical Therapist Assistant in Tennessee are required to
demonstrate continuing competence by oblaining a minimum number of continuing
competence credits in the twenty-four (24) months that precede the licensure renewal month.
For Physical Therapists, thirty (30) hours are required for the twenty-four (24) months that
precede the licensure rencwal month. For Physical Therapist Assistants, twenty (20) hours are
required for thc twenty-four (24) months that precede the licensure renewal month.
(Please refer to the Board’s rule Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 1150-1-.12 for complete
information regarding the continuing cducation requirements.)

Should the Tennessee licensed Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant fail to
comply with the continning competence requirement for the two (2) calendar year
period preceding the licensure rencwal year, the following shall occur:

If a Physical Therapist has at least eight (8) or Physical Therapist Assistant has
at least five (5) of the required continuing competence hours:

1. The liccnsee must pay a civil penalty in the amount of one hundred
dollars ($100.00) per hour he/she is lacking. Payment must be rendered
within thirty (30) days of notification from the Board.

2. The licensce must make up the amount of continuing competence credit
hours that he/she is lacking. The deficient hours must be submitted with
documented proof within sixty (60) days of notification from the Board.

If a Physical Therapist has less than eight (8) or Physical Therapist Assistant has
less than (5) of the required continuing competence hours:

1. The licensee must pay a civil penalty in the amount of one hundred
dollars ($100.00) per hour he/she is lacking. Payment must be rendered
within thirty (30) days of notification from the Board.
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The licensee must make up the amount of continuing compcilence credit
hours that he/she is lacking. The deficient hours must be submitted with
documented proof within sixty (60) days of notification from the Board.

3. The license of the Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant will
be suspended for a period of not less than forty-five @5) days and will
continue to be suspended until licensee submits documented proof of all
continuing competence credit hours he/she is lacking.

Failure to comply with the continuing competence requirement may result in disciplinary
action. Failure to respond to a Board request for documentation or to make up deficient
continuing competence credit hours after notification by the Board may result in disciplinary
action. Licensees found to be in noncompliance with continuing compctence requircments
will be subject to a subsequent audit and cannot use continuing credit hours submitted for
past deficient hours for current continuing competence compliance.

The Board of Physical Therapy adopted this revised policy on March 9, 2015.



